This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings

This dinnerware is inspired by authentic diner pieces. It was originally made by the Buffalo China company of New York, founded in 1901 to produce china items offered as premiums by a soap manufacturer. Extremely durable, the stoneware dinnerware became popular at roadside diners along the new U.S. highways and has since become a classic. Ours is inspired by a pattern that dates from the 1940s. The creamy white is the natural color of the clay. Oven, microwave and dishwasher safe. A 4-piece place setting includes a 10 1/2" diam. dinner plate; 8" diam. salad plate; 10-oz., 9" diam. soup bowl and a 7-oz. mug. A 5-piece place setting includes a 10 1/2" diam. dinner plate; 8" diam. salad plate; 10-oz., 9" diam. soup bowl, 8-oz. cup and 6" diam. saucer. 16-piece set, four 4-piece place settings. 20-piece set, four 5-piece place settings. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marilynsg1
April 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love Buffalo China
April 19, 2014
I have a service for 12 of Buffalo China that I have been using for 5 years!! Love it!! It is sturdy and holds up to a dishwasher like a pro!! It doesn't stain, takes a beating and looks like new all the time. I wouldn't trade it for anything else!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 2 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ardee
,Washburn
,ND
October 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
simply beautiful
October 11, 2013
the dishes look very much as pictured online....they are not bright white, but rather a soft creamy white....I ordered the cup and saucer combo with my dish set because the saucer offers protection for the table.....the cups are a nice size and easy to hold and handle.....I am enjoying these dishes....the simple classic style offers a neutral background for seasonal table linens and centerpieces...and they look beautiful displayed in a glass door cabinet!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight, classic design
Review 3 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsSuzycue
,Chester County
,PA
April 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Made to last!
April 6, 2013
I bought these several years ago from Williams Sonoma and we use them and abuse them every day. After YEARS there is still not one chip or crack in any pieces and we bought service for 8. It is really easy to find fun accessories (old restaurant ware) in flea markets and thrift shops that pair well with the base set and give it a retro look. The only down side is that they were not packed well for shipping and a a cup arrived broken but was promptly replaced by WS.
Review 4 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sbclarknc
,Durham
,NC
March 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Buffalo China
March 21, 2013
I love my new dishes. I only wish there were serving pieces to go along with them.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: no serving pieces
Review 5 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vsmith
,East Hampton
,NY
January 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nice plates
January 16, 2013
Very happy with the Buffalo China. Nice looking and not too heavy
Review 6 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjmoore
,Oswego
,IL
December 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect for Any Occasion & Everyday
December 30, 2012
Love the creamy white color....goes with everything and any occasion. Doesn't compete with other table decorations. The only complaint would be the small size of the cereal bowls. The nice glazing allows for easy washing and prevents utensil markings which I've experienced in other high-end names.
Pros: beautiful glazing
Cons: cereal bowls too small
Review 7 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sissy10
,Chapel hill
,NC
December 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Cheaply made and not the same quality
December 10, 2012
Not the same buffalo china that I was trying to replace pieces for. Different color and style. Glaze is poorly done. Quality is nothing like what they used to sell. Not worth the price. Sent me broken pieces from a box labeled "broken"!
Pros: none
Cons: made in china
Review 8 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Suze12345
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Not the Same-Poor Quality
April 22, 2012
The Buffalo China offered now is not the same as the Buffalo China that was offered previously by Wm. Sonoma.
I have a set of the original Buffalo China that I purchased six or seven years ago that I absolutely love. I ordered four new dinner plates and the quality difference is apparent. The new plates are manufactured in China. They are thinner and the color isn't as creamy as it was before. The biggest difference is the glaze. If you hold a plate on an angle in the light you can see drips and imperfections. I kept these plates, and the difference wouldn't be apparent to a dinner guest, but they are not the same. I won't order again.
Cons: quality not the same, thinner than original, glaze imperfections
Review 9 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
retrocat
,st paul
,MN
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Quality everyday setting
January 17, 2012
Love the Buffalo China sets ordered. Great retro style and a durability that is outstanding. This dinnerware is an instant favorite classic that suits our family perfectly. The day the dinnerware arrived we were delighted of course, but even more so when we were watching a classic B/W movie and we spotted our mugs in one of the shots!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: wish it was available in store!