Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings

This dinnerware is inspired by authentic diner pieces. It was originally made by the Buffalo China company of New York, founded in 1901 to produce china items offered as premiums by a soap manufacturer. Extremely durable, the stoneware dinnerware became popular at roadside diners along the new U.S. highways and has since become a classic. Ours is inspired by a pattern that dates from the 1940s. The creamy white is the natural color of the clay. Oven, microwave and dishwasher safe. A 4-piece place setting includes a 10 1/2" diam. dinner plate; 8" diam. salad plate; 10-oz., 9" diam. soup bowl and a 7-oz. mug. A 5-piece place setting includes a 10 1/2" diam. dinner plate; 8" diam. salad plate; 10-oz., 9" diam. soup bowl, 8-oz. cup and 6" diam. saucer. 16-piece set, four 4-piece place settings. 20-piece set, four 5-piece place settings. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
22 of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ardee
,Washburn
,ND
October 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simply beautiful
October 11, 2013
the dishes look very much as pictured online....they are not bright white, but rather a soft creamy white....I ordered the cup and saucer combo with my dish set because the saucer offers protection for the table.....the cups are a nice size and easy to hold and handle.....I am enjoying these dishes....the simple classic style offers a neutral background for seasonal table linens and centerpieces...and they look beautiful displayed in a glass door cabinet!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight, classic design
Review 2 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsSuzycue
,Chester County
,PA
April 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made to last!
April 6, 2013
I bought these several years ago from Williams Sonoma and we use them and abuse them every day. After YEARS there is still not one chip or crack in any pieces and we bought service for 8. It is really easy to find fun accessories (old restaurant ware) in flea markets and thrift shops that pair well with the base set and give it a retro look. The only down side is that they were not packed well for shipping and a a cup arrived broken but was promptly replaced by WS.
Review 3 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sbclarknc
,Durham
,NC
March 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buffalo China
March 21, 2013
I love my new dishes. I only wish there were serving pieces to go along with them.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: no serving pieces
Review 4 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vsmith
,East Hampton
,NY
January 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice plates
January 16, 2013
Very happy with the Buffalo China. Nice looking and not too heavy
Review 5 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjmoore
,Oswego
,IL
December 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Any Occasion & Everyday
December 30, 2012
Love the creamy white color....goes with everything and any occasion. Doesn't compete with other table decorations. The only complaint would be the small size of the cereal bowls. The nice glazing allows for easy washing and prevents utensil markings which I've experienced in other high-end names.
Pros: beautiful glazing
Cons: cereal bowls too small
Review 6 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sissy10
,Chapel hill
,NC
December 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheaply made and not the same quality
December 10, 2012
Not the same buffalo china that I was trying to replace pieces for. Different color and style. Glaze is poorly done. Quality is nothing like what they used to sell. Not worth the price. Sent me broken pieces from a box labeled "broken"!
Pros: none
Cons: made in china
Review 7 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Suze12345
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the Same-Poor Quality
April 22, 2012
The Buffalo China offered now is not the same as the Buffalo China that was offered previously by Wm. Sonoma.
I have a set of the original Buffalo China that I purchased six or seven years ago that I absolutely love. I ordered four new dinner plates and the quality difference is apparent. The new plates are manufactured in China. They are thinner and the color isn't as creamy as it was before. The biggest difference is the glaze. If you hold a plate on an angle in the light you can see drips and imperfections. I kept these plates, and the difference wouldn't be apparent to a dinner guest, but they are not the same. I won't order again.
Cons: quality not the same, thinner than original, glaze imperfections
Review 8 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
retrocat
,st paul
,MN
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality everyday setting
January 17, 2012
Love the Buffalo China sets ordered. Great retro style and a durability that is outstanding. This dinnerware is an instant favorite classic that suits our family perfectly. The day the dinnerware arrived we were delighted of course, but even more so when we were watching a classic B/W movie and we spotted our mugs in one of the shots!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: wish it was available in store!
Review 9 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MMHL
,New Canaan
,CT
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
20of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still a classic but quality has decreased
December 15, 2011
I bought a set of Buffalo China from W-S four years ago. I love it for its beautiful simplicity and versatility and we use it everyday.
I recently ordered another 4 place settings to replace a couple of pieces that had broken. The minute I took them out of the box, I could tell they were not the same. Each piece is just a teeny tiny bit thinner, smaller and lighter than my original set. The color is also just slightly more gray and less creamy. The difference will not be noticeable to any guests so I have decided to keep them. But I am disappointed.
Bottom line: This is still a good set if you are looking for classic everyday dinnerware but if you already own Buffalo China from previous years, you will be disappointed in the decreased quality.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: quality & size & color changed from previous years
Review 10 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chefmomma
Los Angeles, CA
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+20points
22of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
August 29, 2011
I own a set of Buffalo China, ordered from Williams Sonoma from 10 years ago. I loved it and needed to order more. Upon receipt of dishes, I have found that they are very different from the "original" Buffalo China they had sold.
After using this product, I have found that the bottoms seem unfinished and course and tend to scratch my glass table. I have found the weight of the items to be flimsy and poor and that the color and size of the item to be a bit off from their original set.
I wish that they could bring back the original vendor. The old set was amazing.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TarragonKate
Fresno, CA
Posted December 6, 2011
Thank you
Thank you for the alert. I, too, have a set of Buffalo china that I bought about ten years ago. I have always loved it, and planned to add to my collection this year. But I'm very disappointed to read about the decline in quality. I guess I will make do with what I have rather than buy something I know I won't like if it compares unfavorably with what was available in the past.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MJMM
New Jersey
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not like it use to be......
April 4, 2011
The first set I ordered came with a number of dishes broken and William Sonoma quickly shipped me a new set. However, I ordered the Buffalo China set, thinking it would match my previously purchased Buffalo China from a couple years ago. The color is not even close to what it was in the past or how it appears in the catalog/online. This China use to be a nice warm creamy white color and now it is more like a dull oatmeal color. Additionally, ALL of pieces are much smaller than they were in the past, particularly the cereal bowls. These bowls are the size you would serve to an infant / toddler for rice cereal. They are incredibly small and they are definitely NOT ADULT cereal bowls.
Pros: Versatile, Weight
Cons: Quality, Color, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SusanDL
Dallas
Posted May 21, 2011
It would be nice to hear from Williams Sonoma
Why the change? Shouldn't Williams Sonoma alert its customers?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AKGrandma
Soldotna, AK.
March 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our favorite dinnerware ever
March 30, 2011
Great that dinnerware is dishwasher, oven and microwave safe. Very durable. Food looks very appealing on these place settings.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smokermama
Rockville, Maryland
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my dishes
February 26, 2011
The first set came with a number of dishes broken. No problem. William Sonoma quickly shipped me a new set which we've been using everyday. They're durable, the perfect size, and attractive for all occasions.
Review 14 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bencliffe
Newton, MA
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as They Appear
February 26, 2011
I ordered this set and some additional pieces, and returned them all immediately. Their color is not even close to how they appear in the catalog or online -- they are much more dirty beige than white (or creamy white, as described). While they felt sturdy (and I'm sure they are), they also looked quite cheap. Rather than looking like $15/plate, they looked like something my grandma may have once gotten by saving and redeeming grocery store "stamps."
Lastly, as others have noted, the cereal bowls are ridiculously small -- more like rice bowls than cereal bowls.
Review 15 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
helwhells
west islip, NY
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My "Memory Lane" Dishes!
February 23, 2011
These dishes are a throw back to the old diner dishes - love them! Especially love the "diner mugs". Well worth the cost - simply divine!
Review 16 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fabulousfinds
woodstock, illinois
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
classic look
February 21, 2011
Just love the Buffalo China dinnerware!! It reminds me of the vintage china used in diners! Very good quality. Looks great with all my table top linens. Hope that in the future we will be able to buy serving pieces like vegetable bowls, meat platter,cream and sugar bowl.
Review 17 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caden
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
buffalo china
February 20, 2011
i love this china ithink the food tastes better in it and i use the soup bowls for cereal .
Review 18 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodFood4All
Davis, California
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my buffalo china
February 15, 2011
I bought these dishes about 7 years ago, and I have loved them! I have granite counter tops, and STILL these dishes have held up against the hardness of my stone counters that break, or chip, so many other dishes. I also have 3 young children that help set the table and unload the dishwasher, and STILL these dishes HOLD UP! I love that they go with everything, and I can add in an accent salad plate if I chose to do that. They have been a very good investment because they are durable and hold up wonderfully! And they also look lovely and go with everything! I agree that having some serving pieces would be a nice addition.
Review 19 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nonametoshare
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buffalo China Cereal Bowls
January 6, 2011
These bowls are the size I would serve to my infant / toddler for rice cereal. They are so incredibly small there is no way the rest of my family can eat a bowl of cereal in these bowls.
Review 20 for Buffalo China Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdhawthorne
Apache Junction, Arizona
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Durable Dinnerware
January 1, 2011
I bought the Buffalo China dinnerware place settings for my wife as a Christmas present. . She has been very pleased with them to the extent that she plans to purchase additional items. Overall, I feel it was a good investment.
page1 2 next