Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4

Inspired by authentic diner pieces, these bowls were originally made by the Buffalo China company of New York, founded in 1901 to produce dining pieces that were offered as premiums by a soap manufacturer. Extremely durable, the stoneware became popular at roadside diners along the new U.S. highways and has since become a classic. The signature creamy white hue is the natural color of the clay with a resilient, clear glaze. Made of high-fired stoneware. Oven, microwave and dishwasher safe. Sets of four.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
Review 1 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Tx
November 15, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Buffalo China
November 15, 2015
PLEASE, PLEASE...stop getting things from China, particularly, replicas of what you carried in the past....and things that were originally made in America. I was going to buy these until I saw the review about how that are not as heavy as in the past. I needed to buy a crib for guests and I could not find any that were built in USA. Reviews showed things were breaking, not fitting and not lasting. I would pay more for quality.
Review 2 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Ca
December 31, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
They don't make them like they used to
December 31, 2014
I found the quality and heft of these bowls to be less than satisfactory. I have another set by the same maker that I ordered a few years ago that is of much better quality. I should have paid closer attention to the dimension given in the description because they really are much to small for my purpose. I will be returning them.
Cons: Size
Review 3 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Longmont
,CO
February 6, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Favorite Bowl!
February 6, 2014
Everyone in our family loves these for cereal, oatmeal, snacks, ice cream, salads. This is a sturdy, good-in-the-hand-feeling bowl that is irreplaceable in our home. Classic style and color that everyone will love.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 4 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New Orleans
,LA
New Orleans
October 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not the same as previous cereal bowls
October 10, 2013
I purchased these bowls to add to my Buffalo China set started many years ago. I love the dishes, especially the mugs, as they remind me of the heavy dishes used in diners across the country, and I believe Cafe du Monde has something similar. These cereal bowls are smaller and lighter than the previous ones I purchased. The difference is quite noticeable, therefore, I had to send them back.
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: not the same as older product
Review 5 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Ann Arbor
,MI
May 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very nice bowls
May 7, 2013
These bowls are the perfect size and hold the correct portion of cereal. Was surprised the color of the china is actually off white, and not the brighter white as pictured. Nice sturdy, heavy china. Good quality.
Pros: small size, heavy china
Cons: color is not white but off white
Review 6 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
April 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Not like it used to be
April 13, 2013
I ordered the Buffalo Cereal Bowls to replace bowls I had broken over the years. I was disappointed as the bowls were not as heavy as the previous bowls I had ordered years ago. They are still very beautiful, just not as heavy.
Review 7 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oceanside
,CA
January 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect size and color
January 11, 2013
Every bowl I had was too large. The ones that might have worked were pure white. I looked for an "off white" color to go with my dishes, and found none until these. They are perfect.
Review 8 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CHARLOTTE
,NC
September 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful every day dishes
September 25, 2012
We absolutely love these dishes. They are attractive and sturdy. The coffee cups and cereal bowls are the perfect size. I just wish they made pasta bowls.
Pros: attractive and sturdy
Review 9 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
June 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Buffalo china bowls not as good as before
June 13, 2012
Quality has gone down since I bought these before. They are much thinner and lighter than the quality bowls offered a few years ago.
Review 10 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fairfield
,ca
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Our Oatmeal Bowls
March 19, 2012
I had already review other comments and had expected the bowls to be smaller but they are perfect for our oatmeal breakfasts. Love them for the memories they bring on Uncle Roy's Livermore ranch house. Also strong and sturdy for everyday use and abuse.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Buffalo China Cereal Bowls, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Saint Louis
,MO
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not the original
January 14, 2012
I had bought these bowls (along with plates and cups) from WIlliams-Sonoma years ago and love them. The ones that I had bought were from the original New York company. Unfortunately these were not - these were made in China. I'm sure they are fine but I sent them back. I wanted the original US made product.