This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Buche de Noel

The buche de noel is a French holiday favorite, inspired by the giant Yule logs that were traditionally burned on Christmas Eve. Our is handcrafted of moist chocolate genoise cake, rolled with creamy chocolate ganache and finished with chocolate truffle buttercream "bark." Delicate meringue "mushrooms" and real greenery add realistic finishing touches. 4" diam., 12" long (serves 12-14). Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
19 of 24(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BookLover
,Lake Arrowhead
,CA
Lake Arrowhead, CA
January 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful Christmas Cake
January 7, 2012
The recipient of this gift called to rave about how delicious this cake was; she told us we had to order one for ourselves next year. The cake is large enough to last a family of 6 for several nights.
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dcafarel
,Boston
,MA
January 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not worth it
January 1, 2012
The cake came frozen but when thawed as directed the cake was dry. The mushrooms broke a part. It was not worth the money spent.
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
win40
,Bartonville
,TX
December 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Yule Log
December 30, 2011
This was an instant hit at our family gathering. It was so rich and decadent and looked lovely on the desert table. I was asked if I had made it and I had to 'fess up and say the bakers at Williams Sonoma made it!!
Pros: so good, will buy again
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Figgy
Fort Lauderdale
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointed
December 9, 2010
Although I won't taste the cake until Christmas, initially I am disappointed by its size. Its much smaller than I expected for the price. Does not appear to be a good value. It says it feeds 12-14, but I doubt it. I am usually pleased with all my WS purchases.
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OnlineShoppingQueen1
Hoboken, NJ
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Yummy Xmas Cake
October 27, 2010
I have ordered this cake last year for Christmas/Holiday dinner for my guests and we loved it. I will order it again this year, I wish the cake alittle bit more decorations on it though. A gummy/sugar snowman , santa or deear would make it very charming.
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LingerMom
Winnetka, IL
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic Cake
January 14, 2010
The cake was outstanding. I ordered it on 12/14 and it did not arrive till 12/24 at 12 noon. It was shipped priority, but I was quite worried......
It should have come a few days ahead as it was frozen solid.
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MNanney
Greenville, NC
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Like Christmas at home!
January 13, 2010
During our childhood years, my mother enjoyed making all holidays and events extra special. Every Christmas, she ordered a buche de Noel. We hardly ever ate the whole thing because it was so pretty.
I couldn't be with the rest of my family this Christmas so I sent it to them as a treat.
My nieces loved it. My sister loved it and I still don't know if Ma got a piece!!
Review 8 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LadyD
Lake Forest, CA
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Heavenly Log
January 7, 2010
Rich and appealing. Pine needles were dry and had to be picked off the buche before eating. The needles also gave the buche a slight pine flavor. Otherwise, really wonderful.
Review 9 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monta1
Rock Island, IL
January 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Dessert!
January 3, 2010
This cake arrived very promptly after ordering. We kept it frozen for approximately 2 weeks and when served on Christmas day it looked perfect and was moist, rich and delicious. The "mushrooms" were in excellent condition and added just the right touch. This is the second time we have ordered this cake and will do so again. I plan to send this to family who will not be able to join us for the holidays next year. My only suggestion is that before serving, you check for any loose pine needles as they can slip under the cake and get caught in the chocolate. Highly recommended - wonderful dessert for your holiday meal.
Review 10 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel
Elk Creek, Ca
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tradition
January 2, 2010
I served this last year and it was so pretty and delicious that I bought it again this year! It will continue to have a center at our family's Christmas table.
Review 11 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cubbie
md
January 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
pretty but not worth it
January 1, 2010
looks beautiful, held up well with the thawing, but the taste wasn't worth it
Review 12 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PICKYBUYER
Glendora, CA
December 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Buche de Noel - Delicious!
December 26, 2009
I received this cake as a Christmas gift and I had so many desserts prepared for the day, that I thought we wouldn't enjoy it.
It was by far the biggest hit of our Christmas party. Our guests raved about it, and I must admit....I got up in the middle of the night to have another piece. Although I am near 60, this was the best chocolate cake I have EVER had. Thanks Kathy and Dan!
Review 13 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KALange
Fresno, CA
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Christmas Cake Ever
December 21, 2009
I purchased this cake to sample before I decided if we wanted to have it for our dessert on Christmas eve and it was so good that I bought more. The chocolate cake is sponge like and the ganache is very good. It seems like it would be heavy but it was very light. A perfect ending to our Christmas eve dinner.
Review 14 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PatBRNJ
NJ
December 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Overpriced and Dissappointing
December 11, 2009
It looks like I may be the exception, but I was very dissapointed with this cake. It is smaller than I expected for the high price and just not that good/special. The packaging is suboptimal (same as for the cupcakes) - think plastic wrap on a foil covered cardboard "plate" - - not easy to freeze, so I had to serve it upon getting. Really not that tasty, as I would expect from WS - love the croissants (worth every penny) but have to say, this was not a smart purchase. I guess the good news is that I won't be addicted and have to buy another one :)
Review 15 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chocolate4Me
Southern California
November 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delish!
November 6, 2009
This cake is worth the cost! It is so rich and delicious; a small slice is more than enough even for a chocoholic. The cake is moist, and the frosting is perfect; fudgy and creamy!
I ordered it last year, and am ordering it again this year for my mom. The cake arrives just in time for the holiday and comes out of the packaging beautifully.
I definitely recommend this cake - it's pure bliss!
Review 16 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
N2WINEPATTY
SPARKS NV
March 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
THE BEST CHRISTMAS DESSERT
March 1, 2009
THIS WAS SO DELECTABLE, THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I HAVE TASTED. IT LOOKED SO PERFECT TOO. I AM NOT A CHOCOLATE LOVER, BUT THIS WAS TO DIE FOR. I WOULD GET IT AGAIN.
Review 17 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patgc
Staten Island, NY
February 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Christmas Favorite Dessert
February 25, 2009
Buche de Noel - something that my family looks forward to for Christmas dessert.
This is my treat to them and myself, of course, as I dont have to spend all day in the kitchen baking one myself.
Review 18 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dhazelbaker
Tracy, CA
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not worth the money
February 5, 2009
We ordered this as one of the desserts for Christmas and I was not impressed. The first cake that arrived was not packaged correctly and had a light layer of ice all over it. The customer service provided was great and they sent us a new one that arrived in time but the cake itself was not great. I expected much more from such a prominent bakery.
Review 19 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GratefulMom
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Christmas Dessert
February 5, 2009
Christmas Eve dinner had a perfect ending with this wonderful dessert. You can tell by the extra care that was taken in the shipping, that WilliamsSonama wanted to make sure that my money was well spent in ordering this expensive dessert. And it was worth every penny.
Review 20 for Perfect Endings Buche de Noel
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macmom
Wilton, CT
January 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best buche de noel we've ever had
January 10, 2009
Our family has a Buche de Noel every Christmas Eve for dessert. This is by far the best one we've ever had.
page1 2 next