This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4

A beautiful addition to your home bar, this glassware is distinguished by a perfectly round bubble, which is blown into the base of each piece at the end of the glassmaking process. Artisans at a renowned Polish glassworks craft the pieces by hand using traditional methods. Each glass has a thin rim and thick base for weight and balance. Ideal for the cocktail hour, this barware is also suitable for iced tea, juice and other beverages. Dishwasher safe. 11.3-oz. cap., 3 3/4" high.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
15 of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
Review 1 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HenryFromNY
New York, NY
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Satisfying!
October 29, 2008
I have several of the smaller glasses, and I love them. They're heavy, the bubble in the bottom is beautiful, and they're incredibly satisfying to drink out of. I read the other review about the person's glasses which cracked in a circular motion or whatever, but that sounds strange to me. Yes, I've cracked one of mine as well, but it was from putting a stock pot on top of it - no one's fault by my own. As with any expensive and nice glassware, you should just handwash it - never dishwash - even if it says it's DW safe.
I've had mine for 4+ years now and enjoy them just as much as when I bought them. Don't put them in the dishwasher (duh!), don't put heavy pots on them in the sink (duh!) and you'll be very happy with a nice glass!
Review 2 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WKay
Saint Helens, OR
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
American Made
January 4, 2010
We were looking for fine glassware for our kitchen, and we found these. Love them. I will say this though, we do not have children. So we are able to have nicer things. They are fine in the dishwasher, but I don't stuff my dishwasher where they are touching each other. I spent the money on these to take care of them. We were very happy to find they were made in America. Not only were they made in America they were hand blown in Portland, Oregon. So we are able to support the workforce too. We got a better deal for buying them in a set of six in store.
Review 3 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nadia
McAllen, TX
October 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Worst glasses ever
October 26, 2008
In 2006, my husband and I received several sets of these glasses as part of our wedding gift registry. While I admit they are quite handsome, the quality leaves much to be desired. One by one they began to crack- about an inch down from the top of the glass; then all the way around in a perfect circle.
At first I thought it might be my dishwasher causing the cracks ( even though WS advertises them as DW-safe) so i began to only handwash them. Yet, still they crack. Obviously not worth the $$ spent. Save your money and choose another glass.
Review 4 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JuneBride
North Carolina
July 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great until they chip
July 31, 2009
These glasses are beautiful and we were so excited when we got most of the sets we asked for as wedding gifts. The heavy bottom makes it hard to spill and the bubble creates just a little bit of fancy for a weekend cocktail party or just a glass of tea with dinner. But after three washings in the dishwasher one of the highball glasses chipped. I thought it was just the one glass until the same thing happened to a double-old fashioned glass. We love the glasses but the quality seems to be lacking. Sadly, I'm going to take them all back.
Review 5 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElegantHippie
Phoenix, AZ
November 1, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE these glasses!
November 1, 2008
I have a set of eight of each the Highballs and Double Old Fashioneds. We registered for these for our wedding two years ago and got them all. I do NOT use the dishwasher for my glasses, even though they are DW safe. I hand wash these glasses and they still look as gorgeous as when we received them. I love the bubble in the bottom and the weight is perfect...these are a substantial glass so if you are looking for something light, these would not be for you.
Review 6 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JenK
Vermont
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
too fragile
May 13, 2010
I had registered for these glasses for my wedding and over the past few years almost all of them have broken. I originally loved these glasses because they felt so helfty and solid - but the tops of them turned out to be extremely fragile. It's really embarassing when you have friends over and your glasses are constantly breaking on them, and then they feel badly about it. I've stopped using the few that I have left.
Review 7 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Paulaab
Seattle, WA
December 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Rims separate from glass
December 19, 2009
Last Christmas I bought 2 sets of these glasses. In the past year, we have lost 3 of them due to the exact same failure. The rim of the glass separates from the body of the glass about 1/4" - 1/5" down from the top. The whole top of the glass just came off in one piece. This happened on three separate occasions, not one massive failure. For this price, I don't think these were a good value.
Review 8 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taraj
Indianapolis, IN
June 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Everyday glassware
June 26, 2009
I received the Bubble Base glassware as a wedding gift over 4 years ago. We use them as everyday glassware. I really like the heavy base of the glasses, which makes spilling a drink a lot harder. The two sizes are perfect for water, juice and cocktails. I highly recommend this as your first choice of glassware. It's also nice if you need to replace a glass; you know where to get one.
Review 9 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
woodland
Cape Cod, MA
November 12, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
loved these until....
November 12, 2008
We also got these off our regestry two years ago. They have endured a few chips but my biggest complaint is the clouding. I know crystal glassware should not be put in the dish washer as it tends to cloud. However WS stated that they were dishwasher safe. They are a great heavy glass but the clouding makes them look cheap, an embarassment to guests!!!
Review 10 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNCgirl
Greenville, South Carolina
April 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Love the Bubble Base Glasses
April 22, 2009
We received these from our wedding registry last year and absolutely love them. They add a little touch of elegance to an informal table setting and are perfect for an afterwork cocktail! We have the highballs and the double old-fashioneds. I always use the dishwasher and they come out clean and clear everytime (top rack of course).
Review 11 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HenriettaVon
Beaumont, Texas
December 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Chips Easily
December 10, 2009
These glasses look and feel great, but they do chip very easily. We rarely use them because of this. When we do use them, we never put them in the sink after use. Rather, they go directly in to a specific "safe" spot in the dishwasher. We're pretty gentle with the glasses, but I've lost a few because of the easy chippage.
Review 12 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SonnyColorado
,Glenwood Springs
,CO
August 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Classic Quality
August 9, 2012
I bought four of these glasses for a friend who likes bourbon and four for myself. Classic styling, elegent, high quality glasses with HEAVY bases which makes them hard to knock over. If you freeze these glasses, the heavy base will help to keep your favorite beverage cold without the need for ice.
Review 13 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
moalia
Highland Park, NJ
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Break too easy
July 1, 2010
Loved them when received as a gift but these are too fragile for an everyday glassy as they break easily. (No child household.) Have to be careful about how to put in dishwasher. Previous review hit it dead on by stating the tops are fragile. That is where they break, round the edge.
Review 14 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bohogirl
pittsburgh pa
November 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
a delight to drink from
November 11, 2008
We received a set of 8 double old fashioneds for our wedding and love them. As other reviewers have commented, they are so satisfying to hold and drink from. Sometimes I dont even want a drink but I love to hold the glass! I have put them in the DW and have had no problems.
Review 15 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lalafab
Birmingham, AL
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love Them!
June 8, 2010
We received both these and the highballs as wedding gifts and LOVE them! They have held up fine to daily use and our dishwasher, and have had no issues at all. I have even given them as a gift!
Review 16 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JDM1
Marin County, CA
December 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
These have been my everyday glasses for years
December 27, 2008
I have had these for about 4 years or so and use them as my everyday juice and water glasses. I clean them in the dishwasher exclusively, and they still look fine.
No complaints whatsoever.
Review 17 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love these glasses
March 20, 2011
I have had these for years only drink out of them have never had a problem with them once it even fell about 10 ft and didn't even have a scratch have always hand washed mine
Review 18 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMC6S
,Arlington
,Va
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
BRING THEM BACK!
March 19, 2012
I gave these to my husband 8 years ago and they are his favorite! I monogrammed them with his initials and he LOVES them! Please bring them back!!
Pros: Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 19 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maynick
Phx, Az
February 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Very classy.
February 4, 2009
Very classy glasses for a solid mixed drink. Perfect for a nice strong drink and a nice roaster cigar on the patio in sunny chandler arizona.
Review 20 for Bubble Base Double Old-Fashioned Glasses, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twash
Little Rock, AR
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very nice glasses.
January 8, 2010
These were given as a gift and were quite well recieved. They have agreat shape and heft, feel good in the hand.
page1 2 next