Compost Pail

Our 1-gallon countertop canister holds food scraps - and minimizes their odors - until they're transferred to an outdoor compost bin. Durable stainless-steel construction resists stains and corrosion. Available in two finishes: brushed stainless steel or white enameled steel. In-lid charcoal filters absorb odors. Sturdy handle for easy transport. Includes replacement filter set. Additional filters are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Compost Pail
Review 1 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
starbuckmom
,outside of Houston
,TX
August 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simple and odorless
August 15, 2014
I very much like the simplicity of this pail; I have it on top of my cabinet and there is no odor coming from it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Size, wish it came in a bigger size
Review 2 for Compost Pail
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Berningwater
,PA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Until Rust Do Us Part
September 9, 2013
Our favorite wedding gift by far was the stainless steel compost pail with the charcoal filters that really work! I am happy to report that the pail made it to our first wedding anniversary before rusting through. We were really REALLY disappointed as we cook regularly (with williams sonoma cookbooks and cookware, of course) and we are a composting home. There should be a warning that the pail will only last about a year and the manufacturers should have used a thicker steel bottom. The inside began to rust after about 6 months (see pic) which didn't bother us until a tiny but determined hole appeared in the bottom and it started slowly leaking nasty compost juice and leaving rust marks on our kitchen counter. We really do miss it as it's by far the most attractive compost bin we've used, and the handle was convenient...but that rust...that hole...kind of a dealbreaker...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, durability, rusts, leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prinzess
,HI
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have
August 12, 2013
Great for the kitchen, convenient. Previously, I used a plastic bag in a large container. If I didn't take it out to the compost bin, I'd have gnats. Not anymore and my trip out to the compost bin, once a week. No odor, no gnats.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 4 for Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Seattle
,Wa
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My experience over time
June 21, 2013
I've had this composter for about a year and am pleased with it so far, but I wanted tp mention a few things that others have mentioned. FILTERS: The filters do not block the passage of gases - they are sponge and allow air to move through easily, while the charcoal in the filters absorbs odors. The filters are easy to change - just yank them out of the large opening at the bottom of the lid and then stuff the new filters in place. RUST: there are different kinds of Stainless Steel and yes, some do eventually corrode. FRUIT FLIES: You can eliminate fruit flies by adding a tablespoon of DIATOMACEOUS EARTH to each gallon of kitchen waste. DE can be found in garden stores.
Cons: ss can corrode
Review 5 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning2BaCook
,Missoula
,MT
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far so good
April 23, 2013
We are still in the first 2 weeks of using this compost pail, but we like the size, tight fit of the lid and absence of odor. It is exactly what we expected in purchasing the product from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Quality, Design
Review 6 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodieQ
,Santa Fe
,NM
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for kitchen use!
December 7, 2012
We eat a lot of vegetables...I am so happy with the size of the pail! It is big enough but not intrusive on our kitchen counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Posted June 21, 2013
The charcoal sponge filters are compostable too!
When it is time to dispose of your old charcoal filters, remember that they can be composted too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jetgeorge
,Phoenix
,AZ
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
convenient
August 14, 2012
I bought this compost pail so I could try out composting and see if it is worth the trouble. So far it's working great. The pail is sitting on the counter top next to the sink. It is just the right size for my use. I use a plastic produce bag as a liner and only empty it when it's full. The lid fits snugly and there is no odor as long as it's closed. Definitely worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 8 for Compost Pail
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sandy Hook
,ct
July 28, 2012
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
July 28, 2012
I was excited about the style and the fact it's stainless steel, however. Unfortunately after 3 months of use, I discovered a hole in the bottom a little larger than the head of a pin.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Posted June 21, 2013
Yes, some types of "Stainless" can corrode
Have you tried asking Williams-Sonoma for a refund or an exchange?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Compost Pail
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ConsistentComposter
,Philly area
,PA
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't stand the metal-on-metal noise
April 20, 2012
I thought I would like this compost pail as it would go with the stainless steel appliances in our kitchen. First I thought it looked more like a utility bucket than I wanted, and then I realized I could never listen to the metal-on-metal (like fingernails on a chalkboard for me) every time I put something in the pail. It's going back.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, sound
Review 10 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess27
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite kitchen addition!
January 25, 2012
We have been shopping for a very long time for a countertop compost pot. We sometimes would make 2-3 trips per day to the composter outside and during certain times of day or in certain weather, that just doesn't work. This has helped us save everything we'd like to for our composter, and not a single scent leaks out, thanks to the charcoal filters (we tested it for 2 weeks!). A regular plastic grocery bag can be repurposed as a liner. What an awesome product that is functional and nice-looking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 11 for Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mathteach
,NC
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't smell a thing,,.
January 19, 2012
We've resumed trying to compost with a backyard barrel, but with just my wife and I it takes a while to accumulate enough scraps to merit transferring. It's been about two weeks now, and the veggie parts, coffee grounds and eggshells we're accumulating haven't changed the aroma of our kitchen one bit. My guess is the filters and this pail get the credit.
Pros: functionality