Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail

Now in brushed stainless-steel, this countertop canister holds food scraps - and minimizes their odors - until they're transferred to an outdoor compost bin. In-lid charcoal filters absorb odors. Sturdy handle for easy transport. Durable brushed stainless steel construction. Includes replacement filter set. Additional filters are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
40 of 44(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
Review 1 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Berningwater
,PA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Until Rust Do Us Part
September 9, 2013
Our favorite wedding gift by far was the stainless steel compost pail with the charcoal filters that really work! I am happy to report that the pail made it to our first wedding anniversary before rusting through. We were really REALLY disappointed as we cook regularly (with williams sonoma cookbooks and cookware, of course) and we are a composting home. There should be a warning that the pail will only last about a year and the manufacturers should have used a thicker steel bottom. The inside began to rust after about 6 months (see pic) which didn't bother us until a tiny but determined hole appeared in the bottom and it started slowly leaking nasty compost juice and leaving rust marks on our kitchen counter. We really do miss it as it's by far the most attractive compost bin we've used, and the handle was convenient...but that rust...that hole...kind of a dealbreaker...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, durability, rusts, leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prinzess
,HI
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have
August 12, 2013
Great for the kitchen, convenient. Previously, I used a plastic bag in a large container. If I didn't take it out to the compost bin, I'd have gnats. Not anymore and my trip out to the compost bin, once a week. No odor, no gnats.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Seattle
,Wa
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My experience over time
June 21, 2013
I've had this composter for about a year and am pleased with it so far, but I wanted tp mention a few things that others have mentioned. FILTERS: The filters do not block the passage of gases - they are sponge and allow air to move through easily, while the charcoal in the filters absorbs odors. The filters are easy to change - just yank them out of the large opening at the bottom of the lid and then stuff the new filters in place. RUST: there are different kinds of Stainless Steel and yes, some do eventually corrode. FRUIT FLIES: You can eliminate fruit flies by adding a tablespoon of DIATOMACEOUS EARTH to each gallon of kitchen waste. DE can be found in garden stores.
Cons: ss can corrode
Review 4 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning2BaCook
,Missoula
,MT
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far so good
April 23, 2013
We are still in the first 2 weeks of using this compost pail, but we like the size, tight fit of the lid and absence of odor. It is exactly what we expected in purchasing the product from Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Quality, Design
Review 5 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodieQ
,Santa Fe
,NM
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for kitchen use!
December 7, 2012
We eat a lot of vegetables...I am so happy with the size of the pail! It is big enough but not intrusive on our kitchen counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Posted June 21, 2013
The charcoal sponge filters are compostable too!
When it is time to dispose of your old charcoal filters, remember that they can be composted too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jetgeorge
,Phoenix
,AZ
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
convenient
August 14, 2012
I bought this compost pail so I could try out composting and see if it is worth the trouble. So far it's working great. The pail is sitting on the counter top next to the sink. It is just the right size for my use. I use a plastic produce bag as a liner and only empty it when it's full. The lid fits snugly and there is no odor as long as it's closed. Definitely worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 7 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sandy Hook
,ct
July 28, 2012
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
July 28, 2012
I was excited about the style and the fact it's stainless steel, however. Unfortunately after 3 months of use, I discovered a hole in the bottom a little larger than the head of a pin.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Posted June 21, 2013
Yes, some types of "Stainless" can corrode
Have you tried asking Williams-Sonoma for a refund or an exchange?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ConsistentComposter
,Philly area
,PA
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't stand the metal-on-metal noise
April 20, 2012
I thought I would like this compost pail as it would go with the stainless steel appliances in our kitchen. First I thought it looked more like a utility bucket than I wanted, and then I realized I could never listen to the metal-on-metal (like fingernails on a chalkboard for me) every time I put something in the pail. It's going back.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, sound
Review 9 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess27
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite kitchen addition!
January 25, 2012
We have been shopping for a very long time for a countertop compost pot. We sometimes would make 2-3 trips per day to the composter outside and during certain times of day or in certain weather, that just doesn't work. This has helped us save everything we'd like to for our composter, and not a single scent leaks out, thanks to the charcoal filters (we tested it for 2 weeks!). A regular plastic grocery bag can be repurposed as a liner. What an awesome product that is functional and nice-looking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 10 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mathteach
,NC
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't smell a thing,,.
January 19, 2012
We've resumed trying to compost with a backyard barrel, but with just my wife and I it takes a while to accumulate enough scraps to merit transferring. It's been about two weeks now, and the veggie parts, coffee grounds and eggshells we're accumulating haven't changed the aroma of our kitchen one bit. My guess is the filters and this pail get the credit.
Pros: functionality
Review 11 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariellen
,Valley Center
,CA
October 21, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product!
October 21, 2011
We have a composter in our yard for our garden, and because we live in So. CA, we have fruitfly issues, etc. I needed a receptacle for kitchen compost before it is put in the large composter outside. This product is fantastic, looks great on the countertop, filters any odors, is easy to clean and keeps the fruitflies out! It has answered all of our kitchen compost problems - I wish I found it sooner! It is attractive, well-built (sturdy) and worth every penny!!! I line it with the thin plastic produce bags from the grocery store, so there's virtually no cleanup.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Posted June 21, 2013
Eliminate Fruit Flies from compost...
From garden stores or on-line you can get "Diatomaceous Earth." Just sprinkle about a tablespoon of DE onto each gallon of kitchen waste and toss. DE is made of the silica "skeletons" of microscopic plants. Mixed into the compost, it is like broken glass to the fruit fly maggots that eat it, and they die. The diatoms are far too small to be a hazard to any pet or farm animal. DE is "organic" and "non-toxic" to anything larger than a sparrow.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WoolyOne
,Springfield
,IL
Springfield, Illinois
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brushed Finish A Surprise
October 17, 2011
Serviceable compost pail. The finish is brushed stainless steel with shiny knobs. On web looked identical to Endurance brand pail already owned which is shiny all over. This pail is a different Chinese manufacturer and is not as attractive. However, it does the job intended and seems just as sturdy and long-lasting. I bought this pail on sale and will keep. If aesthetics are very important, ask questions!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality
Review 13 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
avjohns
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and practical
September 13, 2011
I wanted to wait a bit to write a review... I needed time to test out the quality of the pail itself and it's odor stopping ability. To my delight it has thus far stood up to my husband (who has a tendency to break everything) and our cats (who play with anything on their level) while it sits in our kitchen looking pretty without a hint of smell! Additionally the constant flow of air through the lid makes even it's open smell tolerable. I love love love this pail and recommend those storing their compost in different way to test it out. You won't regret it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 14 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MO99
,Syracuse
,NY
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decent enough
September 8, 2011
I like the charcoal filter that keeps the odors from getting out. I also like the size of the pail. You don't have to empty it out multiple times a day.
I don't like the fact that both of the screws that hold the handle fell off within the first couple of days. Then you have to fish your hands down into the pail to find the screw so it doesn't end up in your backyard compost heap. Yuck. A little longer screw that was tightened down a little better from the factory would have been nice.
All in all, a good purchase. Just not a perfect one.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Assembly
Review 15 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Wiedersbach, Germany
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great size, very light!
August 2, 2011
This is the best compost pail for the price! It's the perfect size for everyday use!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KIIMMER
Occidental, CA
Posted August 7, 2011
SIZE
HI,
Is this a .5 Gallon with a gallon lid? (7" diameter 11 1/2 ' high)?
Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cowgirlsinger
Sacramento, CA
July 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So much better than a garbage bowl!
July 28, 2011
This was a little larger than I expected which is good for holding more kitchen scraps ... but challenging to find the right spot to keep it. It works really well and there is virtually no odor ... till you lift the lid at least :-) ! I'm really glad I bought it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KIIMMER
Occidental, CA
Posted August 7, 2011
size
Hi!
Can you tell me is this a 0.5 gallon?
7" diameter and 11 1/2' high
Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hulafish
Honolulu, HI
July 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stylish, yet practical
July 25, 2011
I had been looking for a countertop composter, and really liked the look of this aluminum one. It looks good sitting on my counter...have only just started composting in it, so here's hoping it works for it's intended purpose! I also love the charcoal filter idea.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
whatsfordinner
Oklahoma
July 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
feeding the wildlife
July 22, 2011
My husband loves the compost pail. We actually bought it to hold the leftovers that we feed the mountain lion, bear, or whatever major animals are visiting our place at night.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 19 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Texas
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The handiest item in my kitchen
July 13, 2011
This Compost Pail is wonderful. Not wanting to run to the compost pile with everyt little scrap or coffee ground, this really saves time, energy, and looks good too. Plus, the biodegradable liners make disposing everything in the compost pile so easy. Wish I'd heard about it loooong ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 20 for Brushed Stainless-Steel Compost Pail
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DLP1
North Carolina
June 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
compost pot
June 16, 2011
I purchased this Compost Container as a gift. I was very pleased with the quality and the apprearance of this container. To my surprise, it came with an extra set of filters. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes to recycle their garbage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
page1 2 3 next