Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Take your pick: cup, travel mug or carafe? The YouBrew is the first coffeemaker that lets you decide. Just choose your brew strength, flavor profile and serving size-Breville's Brew IQ System takes care of the rest. A built-in burr grinder freshly grinds your choice of beans for optimal flavor. Brew IQ System automatically ensures water is heated to the optimal temperature, then doses the correct amount for your selected brew size and strength. Single Cup mode has five adjustable flavor settings. Seven adjustable strength settings. Brews single-serving coffee but also adjust to brew a whole carafe. Built-in burr grinder and 1/2-lb. bean hopper. Machine has a 12-cup carafe for 5 oz. cups of coffee. 7 1/2" clearance for travel mug. Large LCD display. Programmable clock and auto-start. Top-filling water tank. Front-access swing-out door for easy filling of coffee basket. Gold-tone filter included; paper filter compatible. Uses whole coffee beans or ground coffee. Optional audible alert lets you know when the brew cycle has ended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.297 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
58 of 101(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SwimTaxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please do not buy
April 8, 2014
I have had 4 (yes, four!!) of these coffee makers. I have returned two to a local store as the machine stopped working with in hours of unpacking it. With the other two I have followed the directions from Breville on returning the product (both stopped working withi in 6 months). It usually takes 2-3 weeks for the whole return process to occur. This coffee pot has multiple problems, grinder is fragile and breaks, heating element stops working, grinder is loud, doesn't brew all the water you have added, the pot tells you it needs to descale often (I only use filtered water so no reason to descale once a week), and it will just stop brewing coffee for no apparent reason. This IS NOT the high quality product that we all expect from William Sonoma. I have given this coffee pot more chances than I should have. It has cost me more in time and money with packing, shipping and waiting for a new one to be shipped. I highly suggest you do not purchase this coffee pot.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 2 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disillusioned
March 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please discontinue this product
March 25, 2014
Please, please WS remove this and any other Breville YouBrew from your site. You will be doing every customer who might consider these items a great service!. It constantly jams and prevents from grinding the beans. It's been returned twice and I am hoping for a third and last time. To expensive for the aggravation and lack of available coffee in the morning. I can't believe I gave it one star!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 3 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
zsmom
December 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointing!
December 14, 2013
We have owned Capresso grind and brew coffeemakers for years. They typically lasted a couple of years and would then need to be replaced. We decided to try the Breville, hoping it would last a little longer. I can only hope it doesn't!. We like strong coffee but even on the mildest setting, the coffee is STRONG. The grinder serves as our alarm as it can be heard through the entire house and it uses a ridiculous amount of coffee beans. When this coffeemaker quits working (hopefully soon) we will not replace it with another Breville-can't wait to go back to the Capresso!
Pros: carafe keeps coffee warm
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Loud, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
finder
Fort Worth, Texas
Posted March 23, 2014
So Strong
Our problem is the amount of coffee bean it grounds and then the coffee is so strong you can hardly able to drink it.
We have tried using ground coffee and it is better but I like a fresh grind coffee verses a pre grind that is why I bought this one. We have also put different amount of beans and then the grinder keeps grinding with no beans why do that having to add new beans every day with that large container to hold the beans. the other thing we did is use a paper filter it did help with the bitters.
We did call Breville and they timed the grind time which is one minute and she said that is what is suppose to do. Well that is a half a min to long.. Very disappointed..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pwinek
,green bay
,wi
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville you brew coffee maker
December 12, 2013
I was thrilled to find this coffee maker as I love fresh ground coffee and using the carafe or single cup settings gave us so much flexibility. The first one that we had stopped working after 5 months, the next one Breville sent us under warrenty wouldnt drip the coffee and now the third one wont allow me to take out the grinder for cleaner (which must be done periodically as per instructions). This is the 3rd coffeemaker that Ive had to return within a year. Customer service has been great, but for the money wont buy another one.
Cons: Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jeanMarie67
,lake stevens
,wa
November 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expensive and didn't last
November 19, 2013
I was so excited to get this machine, I am a big coffee drinker and thought the fresh ground coffee every morning sounded amazing. Doesn't seem to matter that I have set it to the lightest setting, it makes coffee way too strong and uses way too many beans. We stopped using the grind feature within the first month and just used the pre-ground coffee. We have had this machine about 6 months now and it has stopped working...nearly $300 for a coffee maker for less than a year? I have owned machines that cost $50 that have performed better than this machine. I am hoping that William Sonoma will take this machine back and let me chose a different model. I did love the look of the machine and the pot holds the coffee hot or really warm for 8 hours. I would say to avoid this machine :(
Pros: nice look
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 6 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Foodiewinegirl
,boca raton
,fl
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Returned it twice :(
November 11, 2013
so the coffee is great when you make it without the grinder. Even though we cleaned the machine per the directions, the grinder kept getting stuck. We had to return it for the same reason (unable to unclog the coffee grinder) twice. so not getting one of these again ;(
Cons: Quality
Review 7 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portland63
,Portland
,Or
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment with YouBrew
August 26, 2013
I thought had found the coffee maker of my dreams; beans or pre-ground coffee, light or bold taste, mild or intense taste, single cup or carafe. Despite using the lightest roast beans I can buy, and despite using the mildest available on the display, the YouBrew brews only strong, awful, incinerated tasting coffee. It forces the user to use the "pre-ground" setting only, which a $19.95 coffee maker will brew just as well. If you're looking for flexibility in your coffee maker, you will be disappointed. The YouBrew will give you super strong European espresso, even at the lightest settings, but nothing as light and easy as a good ol' American cup of coffee. TP in Portland, OR.
Cons: Loud
Review 8 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tmanning
,Tulsa
,OK
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Satisfied!!!
August 18, 2013
The bad reviews you read on here are accurate! Grinder is way too loud, coffee is too strong, even on the lowest setting, coffee grounds are everywhere....I should have taken it back. After about 8 months of owning this machine, the water doesn't drip out. We did everything the book told us to do, descaling, vinegar....I e-mailed the company - no response, I called the company - no response. After a few weeks of hearing nothing, I decided to tear it apart and look at it myself...it's now in the trash and I will never buy another Breville product again! This product is horrible....heed these reviews! Don't waste your money!!!
Review 9 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Susan329
,Whitehouse Station
,NJ
May 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If only it would brew coffee...
May 26, 2013
I've spent more time wanting cups of coffee than actually drinking them. I've had this machine for about 2 months and have had nothing but problems with it. It's Sunday morning and I've been messing around with my YouBrew for the past 2 hours trying to clear a "001" error code from the machine. The grind chute metal disk is spotless. Every inch of the machine has been cleaned and the machine is still flashing "001". I've followed the troubleshooting information, unplugged it for 10 seconds and still no coffee. I've never had a bad experience with a Breville product before so I'm really disappointed. I give up!! I'm returning this item to the store today.
Review 10 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JayDo
,Baltimore
,MD
May 21, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tasting coffee... when it worked!
May 21, 2013
I love the concept of this coffee maker. Quality coffee with a single cup option (I am so over the weak coffee from K-cups!). We have the machine for 3 weeks and the grinder stopped working. Returned to WS and got a new one. I love the machine so much that I wanted to give it a second shot. Well the grinder on this one stopped working also. I am fed up and back to buying coffee everyday :(
Cons: High-Maintenance, Size
Review 11 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lisaC
,inverness
,il
Inverness, Il
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very aggravated
April 29, 2013
Bought the first one in January, it stopped grinding last week so I returned it for a new one. Now this morning it stopped brewing mid cycle and I can't get it too make coffee for anything. Have started over 4 times and wasted a ton of coffee trying to get it to work. It's going back today.
Review 12 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smoana
,Boise
,ID
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High maintenance
April 22, 2013
We were excited to get this coffee maker, but it has been a disappointment. We followed all of the maintenance schedules and in less than one year we had problems with the grinder and now it does not register water going into the well. For this price, it should have been much easier to use. I will go back to the Cuisinart that I had for years and am still using in the office. I really would like a refund, but we spent too much time trying to fix and troubleshoot.
Pros: good coffee when it works
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 13 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tsieve
,Naperville
,IL
April 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not too happy
April 17, 2013
The first two pots we made overflowed. So we dropped from 10 cups to 6 and it was fine. But the coffee is so strong even on the mildest setting that we couldn't drink it. You can't adjust the amount of beans being disbursed, and the instructions basically say to "live with it," because Breville has decided this is the best coffee to water ration. I didn't spend $300 on a coffee maker to drink consistently bad coffee. So we returned it. Also, very hard to pour the water in without spilling it everywhere.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality, inflexible
Review 14 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wynter
,Arlington
,Vi
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good coffee but worked for 3 days
April 5, 2013
The unit is pretty big, so make sure you have room on your kitchen counter. As a European, I would say that design could be improved to look more graceful. That being said, after you read all the instructions, it is easy to use and makes very good coffee. But... it worked for 3 days and the water stopped flowing into the basket. My engineer husband read the instructions, cleaned, re-cleaned and tested, looked online, but.. no luck. I am in the process of returning it. I will give Breville one more chance but I will watch my end-of-warranty date like a hawk. My previous Cuisinart coffee-maker lasted 15 years. I am very tired of manufacturers turning out shoddy products ready for the landfill after 2 years. Sigh..
Pros: makes coffee? :)
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 15 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Klod
,San antonio
,Tx
February 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great disappointment
February 10, 2013
I purchased this to replace my worn out keurig. My complaints:
-Coffee is NOT hot enough
-Intense is really just slightly more than a medium strength cup, this may be because not all the grounds are getting wet in the brewing process. I like a good strong cup of coffee and this machine does NOT make one.
-the smallest size on the single cup is way too large. I cannot use my favorite coffee cup which is 6 oz. It overflows.
-the metal carafe poor spout is cumbersome, especially when pooring the last two cups. You end up tipping it back and forth to get little spurts of coffee to come out.
-The quality of the coffee is only slightly better than normal drip machine, except you have less control over the strength
-although it does just fit under my cabinets, I have to drag it out from under to add water or coffee, which is pretty much every day.
This was a tremendous waste of money.
I've decided to go back to a french press with a good quality grinder.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Weight, Temperamental, Loud, Size, not hot enough
Review 16 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JGGibson
,Bridgeport
,WV
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read ALL the Reviews
January 16, 2013
Be sure to research this product thoroughly, because the quality is inconsistent. We have had two of these in our family, and both have failed to deliver. BOTH have given error messages to clean the grinder chute, and stopped working; in BOTH cases there was no amount of brushing, cleaning or even canned air cleaning that would make the error message go away. A call to Breville gave an immediate familiarity with the error message (i.e. they had gotten a LOT of calls about it) and the fix was simple: Make sure that the seal is tight when you close the filter housing unit. The problem is, that did not work either.
Everyone seems to know this is a very inconsistent machine. Buyer beware for sure!!
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 17 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sicilianamama
,Boston
,MA
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
January 10, 2013
I splurged & got this as a gift for my husband & I. It is quite large & didn't fit underneath our cabinets on the counter. Coffee had a good amount of "sludge" on the bottom of our mugs. The carafe opening is narrow & makes it difficult to clean. I have small hands & had to use a bottle brush (hand washing is recommended). The filter basket would spontaneously open while brewing. Back it went & we're back to using our old Brunn. Very expensive item to have these flaws.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 18 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
joya
January 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality - did not work
January 2, 2013
worked for one day. malfunctioned the second day. Due to the cost of this item cannot understand why they would ship this item from factory and not be in working order.
sent it back to william sonoma
will not buy this item again.
Review 19 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanBularzik
,Cary
,NC
October 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
7of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Undrinkable coffee
October 2, 2012
Bought this for my wife's birthday; it's been a horrible disappointment. Regardless of the "strength" setting, it grinds ALL the beans in the hopper. Setting the coffee maker to the mildest strength resulted in a basket filled to the top with ground coffee. As you can guess, the coffee was undrinkable.
When I contacted Breville about the issue, their response was that I should put less beans in the hopper. In other words, the "strength" setting on this $300 coffee maker is useless.
Williams-Sonoma used to carry a Cappresso grind-and-brew coffee maker (in fact, that's the coffee maker that this Breville was supposed to replace); it was able to vary the amount of coffee based on the strength setting. The Cappresso was a far better coffee maker; bad decision by Williams-Sonoma to replace the Cappresso model with this one.
Cons: bad coffee, uses up beans too quickly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
stevemtx
Texas
Posted February 3, 2013
Buy quality, not this pot.
This comment is exactly my experience. It will grind every bean in the hopper regardless of the settings. This was from the day we brought it home. The grinder will run for well over 1 full minute and will wake everyone, including your neighbors. I have to put a pillow over the pot during grinding to keep it from waking my wife, or resort to grinding the beans before adding them. We love the coffee, the best I've had. I've contacted Breville, waiting on answer. I think it is a manufacturing defect.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anari
,La Plata
,MD
July 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Atomic Coffee!
July 22, 2012
My complaint is that even at the mildest setting the coffee is still way too strong in the carafe and the amount of beans it uses is insane. We actually thought there was something wrong with our machine and WS kindly sent us a new one. No such luck. After calling Breville, I found that they have adjusted the newer machines to increased the amount of beans used because so many people complained about the lack of strength. The rep suggested that we use more water and less beans. Unfortunately the Breville will only brew the amount of water indicated for the amount of beans. We even tried putting in fewer beans but the machine just brewed less coffee. I will say, however that the single cup mode works great. The adjustment is fine enough that the coffee is not too strong even at the middle settings, however this is not enough for us to keep the machine as we do not use the single cup mode very often.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Loud
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next