Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Take your pick: cup, travel mug or carafe? The YouBrew is the first coffeemaker that lets you decide. Just choose your brew strength, flavor profile and serving size-Breville's Brew IQ System takes care of the rest. A built-in burr grinder freshly grinds your choice of beans for optimal flavor. Brew IQ System automatically ensures water is heated to the optimal temperature, then doses the correct amount for your selected brew size and strength. Single Cup mode has five adjustable flavor settings. Seven adjustable strength settings. Brews single-serving coffee but also adjust to brew a whole carafe. Built-in burr grinder and 1/2-lb. bean hopper. Machine has a 12-cup carafe for 5 oz. cups of coffee. 7 1/2" clearance for travel mug. Large LCD display. Programmable clock and auto-start. Top-filling water tank. Front-access swing-out door for easy filling of coffee basket. Gold-tone filter included; paper filter compatible. Uses whole coffee beans or ground coffee. Optional audible alert lets you know when the brew cycle has ended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.297 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
58 of 101(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JavaHouse
,Minneapolis
,MN
May 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please DO buy this product!
May 3, 2014
I have owned this coffeemaker for almost 2 years. Best and most versatile coffeemaker I have ever used. The coffee is delicious and it's so versatile - a small to large cup, to an entire 12-cup pot! Cleaning is easy - it takes less than 30 seconds daily (yes, I timed it) to rinse the filter holder and wipe down the residual grounds inside. I descale about once a month. The grinder is not louder than any other burr grinder we've ever used. There's no way around that. It did develop a leak from the bottom about a month ago - out of warranty. I emailed Breville, intending to pay to have it fixed. They responded the same day, and sent a replacement in less than a week for no charge. Customer service is great. The girls always gather at my house for coffee, all agreeing I have the best coffee in the neighborhood!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 2 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SwimTaxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please do not buy
April 8, 2014
I have had 4 (yes, four!!) of these coffee makers. I have returned two to a local store as the machine stopped working with in hours of unpacking it. With the other two I have followed the directions from Breville on returning the product (both stopped working withi in 6 months). It usually takes 2-3 weeks for the whole return process to occur. This coffee pot has multiple problems, grinder is fragile and breaks, heating element stops working, grinder is loud, doesn't brew all the water you have added, the pot tells you it needs to descale often (I only use filtered water so no reason to descale once a week), and it will just stop brewing coffee for no apparent reason. This IS NOT the high quality product that we all expect from William Sonoma. I have given this coffee pot more chances than I should have. It has cost me more in time and money with packing, shipping and waiting for a new one to be shipped. I highly suggest you do not purchase this coffee pot.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 3 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disillusioned
March 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please discontinue this product
March 25, 2014
Please, please WS remove this and any other Breville YouBrew from your site. You will be doing every customer who might consider these items a great service!. It constantly jams and prevents from grinding the beans. It's been returned twice and I am hoping for a third and last time. To expensive for the aggravation and lack of available coffee in the morning. I can't believe I gave it one star!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 4 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Barken2014
,Stuarts draft
,Va
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cleaning is difficult
January 12, 2014
The machine would be perfect if it wasn't so hard to clean. If you use fresh beans, which tend to be on the oiler side, the thing clogs up fast and it is a real pain. There is a chute in a hard to reach spot that is tiny and I have to keep scraping to clean it out. If it gets full the machine won't work, not even on the pre-ground mode. I have had this machine for a year and am looking for another coffee pot that is much easier to clean.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
zsmom
December 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointing!
December 14, 2013
We have owned Capresso grind and brew coffeemakers for years. They typically lasted a couple of years and would then need to be replaced. We decided to try the Breville, hoping it would last a little longer. I can only hope it doesn't!. We like strong coffee but even on the mildest setting, the coffee is STRONG. The grinder serves as our alarm as it can be heard through the entire house and it uses a ridiculous amount of coffee beans. When this coffeemaker quits working (hopefully soon) we will not replace it with another Breville-can't wait to go back to the Capresso!
Pros: carafe keeps coffee warm
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Loud, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
finder
Fort Worth, Texas
Posted March 23, 2014
So Strong
Our problem is the amount of coffee bean it grounds and then the coffee is so strong you can hardly able to drink it.
We have tried using ground coffee and it is better but I like a fresh grind coffee verses a pre grind that is why I bought this one. We have also put different amount of beans and then the grinder keeps grinding with no beans why do that having to add new beans every day with that large container to hold the beans. the other thing we did is use a paper filter it did help with the bitters.
We did call Breville and they timed the grind time which is one minute and she said that is what is suppose to do. Well that is a half a min to long.. Very disappointed..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pwinek
,green bay
,wi
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville you brew coffee maker
December 12, 2013
I was thrilled to find this coffee maker as I love fresh ground coffee and using the carafe or single cup settings gave us so much flexibility. The first one that we had stopped working after 5 months, the next one Breville sent us under warrenty wouldnt drip the coffee and now the third one wont allow me to take out the grinder for cleaner (which must be done periodically as per instructions). This is the 3rd coffeemaker that Ive had to return within a year. Customer service has been great, but for the money wont buy another one.
Cons: Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 7 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jeanMarie67
,lake stevens
,wa
November 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expensive and didn't last
November 19, 2013
I was so excited to get this machine, I am a big coffee drinker and thought the fresh ground coffee every morning sounded amazing. Doesn't seem to matter that I have set it to the lightest setting, it makes coffee way too strong and uses way too many beans. We stopped using the grind feature within the first month and just used the pre-ground coffee. We have had this machine about 6 months now and it has stopped working...nearly $300 for a coffee maker for less than a year? I have owned machines that cost $50 that have performed better than this machine. I am hoping that William Sonoma will take this machine back and let me chose a different model. I did love the look of the machine and the pot holds the coffee hot or really warm for 8 hours. I would say to avoid this machine :(
Pros: nice look
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 8 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABS729
,Savannah
,GA
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!
November 14, 2013
My search for the perfect coffee maker is over! This is simply the best coffee maker I have ever owned! I was a little hesitant to purchase it since it was quite expensive, but I am so glad I did. It is simple to use, and since it grinds your coffee beans just before brewing, you get the freshest coffee possible. I didn't know if I would like the thermal carafe since I was used to the glass carafes, but I am glad I tried it. It keeps the coffee warm all day. Another great feature...and there are lots...is that you can select the amount of coffee you want. You can brew one cup up to a whole carafe, and you can even pick the strength of the brew. Oh...and clean-up is easy too. Spend the money and get this coffee maker...it is well worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 9 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Foodiewinegirl
,boca raton
,fl
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Returned it twice :(
November 11, 2013
so the coffee is great when you make it without the grinder. Even though we cleaned the machine per the directions, the grinder kept getting stuck. We had to return it for the same reason (unable to unclog the coffee grinder) twice. so not getting one of these again ;(
Cons: Quality
Review 10 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fresh6
,Whitesboro
,NY
September 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVIN LIFE
September 27, 2013
SIMPLE...ONE OF THE BEST THINGS IN MY LIFE!!!! L O V E
Pros: Quality, delicious
Review 11 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portland63
,Portland
,Or
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment with YouBrew
August 26, 2013
I thought had found the coffee maker of my dreams; beans or pre-ground coffee, light or bold taste, mild or intense taste, single cup or carafe. Despite using the lightest roast beans I can buy, and despite using the mildest available on the display, the YouBrew brews only strong, awful, incinerated tasting coffee. It forces the user to use the "pre-ground" setting only, which a $19.95 coffee maker will brew just as well. If you're looking for flexibility in your coffee maker, you will be disappointed. The YouBrew will give you super strong European espresso, even at the lightest settings, but nothing as light and easy as a good ol' American cup of coffee. TP in Portland, OR.
Cons: Loud
Review 12 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tmanning
,Tulsa
,OK
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Satisfied!!!
August 18, 2013
The bad reviews you read on here are accurate! Grinder is way too loud, coffee is too strong, even on the lowest setting, coffee grounds are everywhere....I should have taken it back. After about 8 months of owning this machine, the water doesn't drip out. We did everything the book told us to do, descaling, vinegar....I e-mailed the company - no response, I called the company - no response. After a few weeks of hearing nothing, I decided to tear it apart and look at it myself...it's now in the trash and I will never buy another Breville product again! This product is horrible....heed these reviews! Don't waste your money!!!
Review 13 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RoxoCAT
,Berkeley
,CA
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
July 6, 2013
We've had this coffee maker for 8 months and we are not satisfied with it, especially for the price. We've been so happy with our handful of other Breville products but this is the exception. The grinder is loud. It's precarious to clean, there is sludge that comes after each brew on the the dial. There is a tray that is critical to not making a mess each brew and somehow ours went MIA. i have been trying to replace w. Breville for 3 months and its not in stock, No dealers carry the parts. Breville not great on communicating.so i am loosing confidence we will ever replace the important part. If the coffee filter isn't placed just right it will back up the grinds and make a huge, hot mess. I trusted Breville to build a coffee maker w. built in grinder that would be well designed but am very disappointed. Seems like there is a whole in the market, when we bought this it was the clear choice. Bummer, because we love our coffee but this maker can be a fall short too often.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Loud
Review 14 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
texasjoanne
,Southlake
,TX
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes great coffee
June 29, 2013
Fairly easy to use. Makes great coffee. You need to play around with the strength to get it right for a particular type of coffee bean.
My only complaint is that as I am only 5 feet tall, when the YouBrew is on the counter it is a little difficult to see the screen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Loud
Review 15 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hobert
,Thousand oaks
,Ca
June 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee
June 28, 2013
I had this machine for almost 1year. It will now not grind coffee beans or brew coffee. I have not been able to get in contact with anybody from Breville. When the coffee grinder worked, it was very loud.
Review 16 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Susan329
,Whitehouse Station
,NJ
May 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If only it would brew coffee...
May 26, 2013
I've spent more time wanting cups of coffee than actually drinking them. I've had this machine for about 2 months and have had nothing but problems with it. It's Sunday morning and I've been messing around with my YouBrew for the past 2 hours trying to clear a "001" error code from the machine. The grind chute metal disk is spotless. Every inch of the machine has been cleaned and the machine is still flashing "001". I've followed the troubleshooting information, unplugged it for 10 seconds and still no coffee. I've never had a bad experience with a Breville product before so I'm really disappointed. I give up!! I'm returning this item to the store today.
Review 17 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maggie123
,New york
,Ny
May 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great just don't forget a coffee filter
May 25, 2013
Adjustable coffee strength works great. Beautiful option to set the timer to start coffee in the morning. Grinder is little loud though short could possibly work as alarm clock with coffee smell surely wake you up. Make sure filter is in the basket or your coffee will end up on the floor. I would rather see poor coffee in the pot due to my mistake than had to clean the mess whenever it spilled something to redesign by manufacturer. Would be 5 stars if there is a remainder for the filter
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental
Review 18 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Xenadena
,Boaz
,KY
Paducah, KY
May 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Having trouble after 1 1/2 years
May 21, 2013
I have owned this coffee maker for about a year and a half now and have not had any problems with it until now. The grinder quit working and now it has stopped brewing altogether. I also can't seem to get in contact with Breville to ask questions about their coffee maker and I have a house full of their products. ARGH!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Temperamental
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Xenadena
Paducah, KY
Posted June 1, 2013
Having trouble after 1 1/2 years Update
I finally got in touch with Breville and they sent me a replacement coffee pot. I am happy so far with the replacement and Breville's attention to my problem. They are back on my good graces.
0points
Customer avatar
Disappoint
Tulsa, OK
Posted May 31, 2013
Problems after 1 1/2 years
We are having problems with the sensor which started after one year. I love the coffee pot but very disappointed that it won't work. Why it becomes an issue is because it registers 4-6 cups of water when it is actually full and then won't grind enough beans for a full pot. I have descaled it over and over with vinegar and am unable to clean the sensor. I believe if I could get to it and hand clean it, it would fix our problem. I won't buy another.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JayDo
,Baltimore
,MD
May 21, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tasting coffee... when it worked!
May 21, 2013
I love the concept of this coffee maker. Quality coffee with a single cup option (I am so over the weak coffee from K-cups!). We have the machine for 3 weeks and the grinder stopped working. Returned to WS and got a new one. I love the machine so much that I wanted to give it a second shot. Well the grinder on this one stopped working also. I am fed up and back to buying coffee everyday :(
Cons: High-Maintenance, Size
Review 20 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lisaC
,inverness
,il
Inverness, Il
April 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very aggravated
April 29, 2013
Bought the first one in January, it stopped grinding last week so I returned it for a new one. Now this morning it stopped brewing mid cycle and I can't get it too make coffee for anything. Have started over 4 times and wasted a ton of coffee trying to get it to work. It's going back today.
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next