Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Take your pick: cup, travel mug or carafe? The YouBrew is the first coffeemaker that lets you decide. Just choose your brew strength, flavor profile and serving size - Breville's Brew IQ System takes care of the rest. A built-in burr grinder freshly grinds your choice of beans for optimal flavor. Brew IQ System automatically ensures water is heated to the optimal temperature, then supplies the correct amount for your selected brew size and strength. Single Cup mode has five adjustable flavor settings. Seven adjustable strength settings. Brews single-serving coffee but also adjusts to brew a whole carafe. Built-in burr grinder and 1/2-lb. bean hopper. Includes a 12-cup glass carafe. Provides 7 1/2" of clearance to accommodate a tall travel mug. Large LCD display. Programmable clock and auto-start. Top-filling water tank. Front-access swing-out door for easy filling of coffee basket. The heater plate keeps coffee at the ideal serving temperature. Gold-tone filter included; paper filter compatible. Optional audible alert lets you know when the brew cycle has ended. Stainless-steel housing.Model #BDC550XL 9" x 14" x 16 1/4" high. 60 fl. oz.-cap. water tank. 17 lb. 12 oz. 1100W. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
7 of 18(39%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coral5181
,Brooksville
,Fl
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this machine
July 6, 2014
I guess I am the odd one out but I love the coffee this machine makes. You do HAVE to use purified/filtered water but we do that anyway. We use this a lot and I did literally wear mine out but I have my second one 2 years and it is fine. The only thing I see is that the design on the hot plate wears off eventually probably from wiping it down.
Review 2 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dskny
,NY
July 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good at first, then breaks down
July 4, 2014
I have a lot of Breville products and this is one I wish I never bought. Replaced a Capresso coffee maker I had for years with this one last year and now am in the process of shipping the second one back for what Breville says will be my "final" one.
Both of the failed machines worked good at first; coffee tasted great, flavor was bold and it was nice and hot. After a few months, the coffee maker decided when it wanted to make the full pot of coffee and also that it did not feel like putting the effort of heating it up.
I followed all instructions to descale, etc, but now 2 machines have had the same problem that I read in other reviews as well. One more machine and I'm sure it will happen again...on the hunt for a new machine in the meantime. But this is one that should permanently be removed from the shelves! Do not buy!
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, breaks down easily, not durable!
Review 3 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RichAK
,Anchorage
,AK
June 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weak Coffee
June 25, 2014
I notice there are a lot of bad reviews due to the poor longevity of the YouBrew, but I never got that far. From the start, coffee was way too weak, even at the "Intense" setting.
I called Breville and learned that they had a serious manufacturing issue in China and had to retrofit all their coffee makers to run the grinder for a longer time, and thus put more coffee in the filter. Even though I had a retrofitted model, it still brewed too weak coffee. At the "Strong" setting, it was the color of broth and was as weak as truck-stop coffee in Nebraska. "Intense" was almost good enough, but certainly nothing I'd want every morning for the next few years.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: makes weak coffee
Review 4 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LADJ
,CA
June 22, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good coffee
June 22, 2014
Like others, we purchased the coffee maker despite poor reviews. We are on our second one and I asked myself the same, should I give it one more shot -- my answer is no. Second purchase, it stopped grinding the beans. Another downside, you cannot teach people (guests, etc) how to properly use the coffee machine, they simply don't get it. The daily cleaning is very time consuming and not worth it anymore. For quality tasting coffee, guess it is time to go back to the basic french press.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Loud, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 5 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nellyb
,raleigh
,nc
May 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-2-3 strikes you are out
May 18, 2014
Purchased this coffeemaker, despite poor reviews, brought it home...plugged it in "empty coffee filter" started to flash..I was not able to do anything to fix it. So, I dragged it back tot the store and got another one, fingers crossed, it seem to be working. Put water in, hoping to flush it before the firs use. Was able to go through all steps, and when the time came to brew......nothing happened...and 001 flashed on the screen. and NADA. solution is to clean the coffee chute (THERE IS NO COFFEE BEANS OR GRINDS)..another solution call customer service!?! Really? its a brand new coffee maker. So, there are 2 strikes. Do I return it or exchange it and hope 3 times is a charm or a 3rd strike.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, no able to get it to work
Review 6 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
texasterri
,lafayette
,ca
April 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ok coffee maker....then died
April 2, 2014
this was a Christmas present a little over a year ago.... we liked it.... I think it brews a better pot than cup....flavor just seems better...super loud...but I like the idea of using fresh beans. about a month ago, it just stopped working...similar to other posts. We contacted Breville they are sending a new one...but we are not optimistic considering others experience. p.s. we have the carafe pot, not the glass one.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Loud, High-Maintenance, Size, durability
Review 7 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
renash
,austin
,TX
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee for no more than 4-8 weeks
March 4, 2014
This is a dream, five star coffee maker when it's brand new and working properly. It grinds beans, allows you to digitally strengthen and weaken each pot and it gives you the option to just brew one cup. Nevertheless, Breville still has a lot of bugs to work out for this model. After a couple months of use, it completely stopped working. The machine would turn on but it stopped brewing coffee. Water just remained trapped in the machine. William-Sonoma was very accommodating and allowed us to exchange it in-store for a brand new one. About 8 weeks later, the exact same problem occurred. Once again, we were able to exchange it for a new one, hoping third time's the charm. Now, on our third one, after 4 weeks of use it has once again stopped working. We were only willing to continue exchanging this product because it seriously is an awesome coffee maker when it is working properly. Stay away from this coffee maker! You will be extremely disappointed with its ridiculously short life-span.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, short life-span
Review 8 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
skippyy
,boston
,ma
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
second one broke
November 14, 2013
the first one stopped recognizing how much water i put in the tank and the company sent me a second one and told me filtered water was a must.
i paid $400 to have a water filter professionally installed and now, a few months later, the second one has the same problem.
otherwise, the machine makes great coffee.
Pros: good coffee
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 9 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jeany69
October 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped Working....
October 9, 2013
We love the coffee that this brewer makes. We also love the option to make single cups with our beans when needed [we are NOT fans of the K-Cup quality in flavor]. The negatives are the sheer amount of time it takes to brew 12 cups......ranges from 9-12 minutes [that's alot of time first thing in the morning]!!
Our coffee maker, despite following all directions on maintenance and cleaning [I had to descale 2x in 8 months], completely stopped working after only having it since February of this year. Literally. Just wouldn't brew or heat the water, or run the water through the filter. Breville must know about this as an issue as when I called the company telling them what my problem was but without telling the customer service rep which model I had, she told me "you must have the YouBrew".
We love the coffee flavor so much we are willing to give it one more try and we are replacing it with the same model. I will be sure to post if this replacement model has the same issue.
Pros: great flavor!!!, single cup with beans!
Cons: time needed to brew!, stopped working after only 8 months!
Review 10 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gnftr44
,FL
June 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WORKED FOR SIX WEEKS THEN BROKE
June 16, 2013
Followed direction, cleaned daily/weekly as stated in directions. Worked great until it only decided to make two cups of coffee regardless of how much water was placed in the tank and/or selected by the user
Pros: Power
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 11 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,camp hill
,PA
February 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2nd machine and still doesn't work
February 17, 2013
Got the YouBrew Dec 26th. by mid Jan the chute clogged and it had to be replaced. The 2nd machine has worked for 3 weeks and now after 40 minutes has produced 6 cups of a 10 cup pot, the last 20 minutes about 1 tablespoon at a time. If I got up at 4am and wanted to have coffee by 6am that would be OK, but that is not my reality. The coffee quality is high and the cup at a time feature is great, but at $250 this is a lemon in my opinion!
Cons: Speed
Review 12 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Vardan
,Glendale
,CA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Was not for me
January 27, 2013
Positives: This machine seemed well built and will last for a long time. The coffee was hot, 170 degrees in my cup, which means it was probably brewing at the right temperature of 195-200. If you pre-heat the carafe, you can get the coffee up to 175 degrees in your cup.
Negatives: It makes bitter coffee no matter what. I have used the same beans that used with my old Cuisinart. I have tried the lowest strength settings, changed to another coffee brand, it still came out bitter. I also tired putting less beans in the hopper, the coffee came out weak but still bitter. I think the grinder grinds beans too fine, no matter how you set this machine.
I understand it's hard to please everybody, but for close to $300, this machine should be able to make coffee from weak to strong.
Unless you like your coffee bitter strong, you are not going to like this machine.
Review 13 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SSTODD
,Rootstown
,OH
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee
January 9, 2013
The was a XMAS present for my wife who is a coffee guru. The operation of the YouBrew is simple and generates a great cup of coffee. The grinder and set up for each batch of coffee is simple very time efficient. I would highly recommend this coffee maker to anyone who really needs that perfect cup of joe each morning,
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 14 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bundysmom
,Henderson
,NV
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
January 4, 2013
This was a gift from my boss at Christmas...he bought one for all his employees. So far, I'm the only one with a complaint.
Pros: GREAT COFFEE, love the grinder. Yes it's loud but it doesn't last forever.
Cons: lid to carafe does not remove for cleaning; grinder goes thru beans like crazy - I went through 1 can of Illy in 3 days; steam coming from the swing basket totally dirties the shine of the stainless and it's hard for me to remove; and the worst part...I've had this maker for 2 weeks, followed the directions to a T...I primarily use pre-ground coffee for 6 - 8 cups. What used to take 5 minutes to brew now takes over 20 minutes because the cycle stops and I have to constantly restart it (which can take 3-4 cycles to brew 6-8 cups) which consists of pushing buttons to make it go...it's more frustrating than anything. This maker however, is going back to WS TODAY.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 15 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigCoffeeDrinker
,Columbus
,OH
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LoveLoveLove
January 4, 2013
Allows for one cup or a carafe of coffee at any time!!! Love that you can leave beans in the grinder section for the one cup anytime but also allows for a full carafe using beans in the grinder section or using pre-ground coffee in the basket at any time also. Love this functionality all in one. Need to rinse filter basket right after each use, but no biggie. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fshultz
,Norristown
,PA
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Kitchen Gadget But Drink Coffee Quickly
November 26, 2012
Setup was easy and after washing everything, we loaded the beans and the water and gave it a spin. Overall, we are very impressed with the quality of the coffee. There is a little more work involved in cleaning than a normal drip machine but it's less than you would do if you are used to grinding the beans separately. Also, the machine can be loud but it’s no louder than a standard burr grinder and only lasts 20-30 seconds.
Pros:
•All in one unit
•Easy to clean with parts marked "Clean me"
•Digital meter to tell how much water is in the tank
•Strength can be adjusted to your liking each brew
•Can brew a carafe or one mug at a time
Cons:
•Warmer burns coffee. Because of this we are considering getting the carafe model instead. The burner stays on for 2 hours but starts burning coffee after the first hour.
•Carafe brew uses all water in the tank: if you have 12 cups in the machine, 12 cups will brew and you cannot select less.
•Mug brewing requires filter cleaning per brew
•Unit is large
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud, Size
Review 17 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheNormalCook
,Columbus
,OH
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One Fine Cup O' Joe
October 16, 2012
So my wife and I hade a Kennmore Elite that we got almost 7 years ago. We woke up one morning expecting a nice hot pot of coffee...Wlak downstairs and nothing. So we made the journey around to several stores looking at all sorts of coffee makers. We love WS so even though we knew it would cost an arm and 2 legs we went in to look at coffee makers. At first glance we feel in love with this machine. The machines design from top to bottom is pure perfection. So without reading any reviews on any of the coffee pots out there we took this pot home. Boy did we wake up to a surprise the next morning. We had some of the best coffee ever. The coffee was piping hot, was not cloudy, and tasted fantastic. My only recommendation would be to get a membership to your local warehouse club because you are going to go through coffee beans like crazy. It uses just under a quarter pound for 10 cups.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Versatile, Design
Cons: burns through beans
Review 18 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JayQ858
,San Diego
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't select Qty of brew Carafe mode
September 23, 2012
Over the years, I’ve used several grind and brews. My Cuisinart died & I decided to try a different one. I orig. saw the YouBrew with SS Carafe, but wanted a glass carafe. When I found out that Breville had a glass version, I ordered. I’ve had it for appox 2 weeks.
I’m finding it grinds the beans too coarsely & the coffee (even when set to low strength) is very strong and "thick". Don't get me wrong I like strong. When I say thick, I mean towards the end of the pot, the coffee is somewhat dark & sludgy. This is using a paper filter and not the gold tone filter.
I learned from a video review that the 600XL (SS Carafe) has the ability to choose the amount of cups brewed into the carafe. This 550XL(glass) cannot and will brew all the H20 that is in the reservoir. Not sure why Breville decided to remove this basic option from the glass version. I am thinking about returning this glass vers and either trying out the SS carafe Youbrew or another brand coffeemaker altogether.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Size, cannot select #of cups to brew in carafe mode