Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle

Whether you're making a pot of specialty tea or brewing coffee in a French press, this kettle heats the water to the precise temperature for extracting full flavor.Base unit features a state-of-the-art electronic heating system with settings for green tea (175deg.F), white tea (185deg.F), oolong tea (195deg.F), French-press coffee (200deg.F) and boil/black tea (212deg.F).Heats water quickly and efficiently.Water-level indicators and measurement markings on both sides of kettle.Kettle lifts off the base for easy carrying and pouring.Beeps when selected temperature is reached.Hold function maintains the selected temperature for up to 20 minutes.Removable mesh water filter eliminates scale deposits.Automatic shutoff.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
Review 1 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaisyB
,IL
November 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it and Use Everyday
November 10, 2014
This tea kettle has been amazing. We received it as a wedding gift from our registry over two years ago, and have used it almost every day since. It is perfect for our French Press coffee preparation in the morning, and also for evening tea (whichever kind you fancy, as it has many listed as options, along with the actual temperature).
The only thing I have heard as a negative from others is that the plastic may not be BPA free, but I have not researched this, and truthfully...its not a lot of plastic, so I'm not too worried.
Heats up quickly, sleek looking and it extremely handy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 2 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
teafor2
,Millbrae
,CA
July 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tea kettle
July 10, 2014
Good electric tea kettle but one morning I noticed some "rust" around the top rim area after couple months of use.... this means the stainless steel is not food quality grade..... I tested it with a magnet on the kettle
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Shape
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jean2
,Antioch
,Ca
Antioch California
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great hot water kettle
February 11, 2014
Like this kettle very much. Use every day. Love that it has the different temperature settings.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lainy
,Buckhannon
,WV
December 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but breaks
December 5, 2013
I love the concept of this tea pot and have used it daily but today it broke just after the 1 year warranty ran out. The bolts to the handle broke and can not be fixed so water all over the counter. It, however also had the problem with not shutting off and ruined my cabinet in the past. It does this on and off. I also had problems with it going off before it boiled or reached temp on and off.
I also have always felt alarmed that I was poisoning myself due to the plastic. Back to on the stove model for me. For the money it should be better but it is nice when it works
Pros: Easy to Use, love it when it works
Cons: Fragile, major design flaws, won't last
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted July 15, 2014
I LOVE THIS APPLIANCE
I originally bought this because it has a setting for press coffee and this appliance makes getting the perfect 200 degree temp with the push of a button, but I find that I use this kettle for other uses several times daily, more I think than any other appliance. It will bring a pot of water to a boil so much faster than if you do it on the stovetop, so for pasta, I heat the water in this kettle and transfer it to the pasta pot. I like to keep this full of scalding hot water and find so many uses for it while I am prepping food. I haven't had any problems with it at all. I'm surprised at how much I depend on this appliance daily.
0points
Customer avatar
CookieTroy
Troy, MI
Posted June 12, 2014
Did you contact Williams Sonoma for resolution
I do not work for Williams Sonoma. I am a loyal customer. Based on your review and the problems you are having, did you return it to WS? They have always stood behind what they sell. Perhaps you just received a defective tea kettle. All of the other reviews are excellent. I love Breville and plan to buy this tea kettle. Good luck and hope you get it resolved!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessRecipe
,Dallas
,TX
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Tea Kettle
December 2, 2013
I was originally on the fence between an electric tea kettle and one for the stove. I wanted to be able to heat to different temperatures, which my coffee pot cannot manage. This heats to different temperatures effectively and very quickly. The kettle makes a very quiet little beep noise when the water is hot, which I can only hear if I'm in the same room. If you don't hear it, the buttons also change color when the water is hot. I love this kettle and have used it nearly everyday since the winter started this year.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lupo
,Wake Forest
,NC
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tea lover's tool
October 7, 2013
Brings water to temperature quickly and quietly. Marvelous to have the ability to choose the appropriate temp for different teas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rrback
,Wilmington
,OH
June 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
June 26, 2013
We really love this kettle. It is very easy to set to get the correct temperature for different types of tea. Heats up quicker that a kettle on the stove and it will hold the water at the set temperature if you want. Doesn't take up much space on the counter either.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 8 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vavo
,Dallas
,TX
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a kitchen must-have
June 4, 2013
I've had the kettle for 2+ years now and it's one of the most used small appliances in my kitchen. Everyday we drink a variety of teas and coffee. This kettle is great because it brews water at just the right temperature for whatever you need it for. Your drink comes out perfect every time. It also maintains the temperature so you can walk away and not worry. It's so easy to use! I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 9 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tigernapping
,Alexandria
,VA
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A place of honor on my counter.
May 14, 2013
This Breville kettle has been great so far: quick and quiet, looks good and is simple to use. While bigger than I need, I'm happy to make space for it in my small kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Size
Review 10 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ginnymessec
,san antonio
,tx
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
absolutely the best!
April 6, 2013
this is so much better than i expected. fill the pot to 750ml, push the button for french press, and in minutes you have the exact amount of water for a perfect pot of coffee: no wasted water, no splash-over because the water was too hot. it makes even lousy coffee taste good. who knew temp was so important? and the four buttons for various types of teas and boiling water make the whole process of having a cup of tea so much more fun. wish i'd bought it before this, and plan to give it as gifts to a select few. thanks, breville, for a wonderful product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annieOmaha
,Omaha
,NE
March 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For a tea lover
March 29, 2013
I love it so much, I have one in my office and one at home. Boils water for black tea twice as fast as a kettle on the stove. Low profile heating element plugs in - kettle sets on top with safety-feature connection. It has cool extra design features like the sturdy plug which has a handy finger-sized hole in it (donut-ish) so you don't pull it out by the cord. Love the smooth latch mechanism on the lid. Comfortable handle for pouring a heavy kettle full of water. Push button settings make the perfect water temperature for brewing green, white, oolong and black tea. My coffee-drinking husband appreciates the setting for "French Press." I think the color and finish of the the brushed stainless steel is pretty.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 12 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CookToEscape
,San Francisco Bay Area
,CA
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Teakettle But Needs TLC
December 2, 2012
We love this electric teakettle. We use it much more often than I anticipated. In addition to daily use for teas and coffee, I use it when cooking as it boils water much more quickly than my range does. But - after one year, it stopped working. The manager at Williams Sonoma thought the failure was caused by a miniscule dent in the coil that connects the kettle to the base. It broke a few months after the one year warranty ran out, luckily Williams Sonoma still replaced it, and explained how to keep it working for the long term. Caution: When you set the teakettle back on the base, make sure you line it up with the base and set it there very gently. If you don't, the coil can bend very easily and this eventually causes it to stop working. For the price Breville should improve the quality of the material to make it more durable and have more than a one-year warranty for a $130 tea kettle.
Pros: Time-saver, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 13 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
,Austin
,TX
September 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes my life at home great
September 20, 2012
I drink coffee all morning and various types of tea all afternoon -- and everything tastes SO much better using this variable-temperature kettle. I love its keep-at-the-right-temperature feature too, so I don't have to drop everything and rush to grab the water as soon as it beeps. It's very easy to keep clean too; I use their white vinegar method and Williams Sonoma's stainless steel cleaning cloth.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, features
Review 14 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HHHints
,Cleveland
,OH
August 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
13of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Product But Not Perfect for the Price
August 19, 2012
We have purchased 2 of these for our kids' dorms. They both love tea and coffee using a Japanese drip kettle. So, this was the perfect solution for both. It works exactly as described except for a few concerns:
1. For the price tag, it really should come with more than a 1 year limited warranty.
2. It's made in China.
3. Has a warning on the box that it contains chemicals known to cause cancer (a label required in the state of CA).
Otherwise, I'd recommend it, but think that the price for this unit is a bit over the top.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, saves energy
Cons: Cost, not made in usa, not a good warranty
Review 15 for Breville Variable-Temperature Tea & Coffee Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliany
Arcadia, CA
May 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fast boiling water
May 8, 2012
it brings water to a boil very quickly. i leave the kettle right on the kitchen counter, and it looks pretty stylish.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed, Design