Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup

Breville calls this food processor "the Sous Chef" because it handles limitless prep tasks in seconds, freeing you to focus on cooking, serving and savoring. This professional-quality powerhouse comes with all the blades and disks you need-including a precision-adjustable slicer-to efficiently prepare ingredients and dishes from soup to nuts, with satisfying results every time. Breville's powerful induction motor handles countless prep tasks with ease. Two BPA-free plastic work bowls allow you to carry out multiple tasks quickly. Small bowl is handy for mincing herbs, chopping nuts or blending a sauce. Large bowl is designed for slicing and grating, mixing batters, kneading dough and pureeing soups. On, Pulse and Pause settings, plus a count up/count down timer, offer great control. Adjustable slicing disc has 24 settings, from paper-thin carrot curls to 1/3" thick zucchini wedges, and precisely maintains the setting through hundreds of slices. Extra-large 5 1/2" feed tube eliminates need to precut most ingredients. Safety Interlock System, nonslip feet and overload protection promote safe operation. Retractable cord storage helps keep the countertop tidy. All accessories fit into a handy plastic organizing case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
Review 1 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Poteau
,ok
Poteau, Oklahoma
January 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stop looking
January 23, 2016
I absolutely love the Breville Sous Chef food processor. Having several food processors in boxes in the garage, I finally found one that will rid my counters of excess appliances.
This food processor is amazing; fast, clean cuts, grates cheese in seconds, whips cream into butter and so much more.
Although it is large, it definitely has taken a front row to most of my appliances.
I am so happy with my purchase.
I would suggest to look at youtube for many demonstrations of this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Size, Time-saver, Power, Assembly
Review 2 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dameron
,MD
January 21, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I thought I knew what love was
January 21, 2016
I thought I loved my old well-used KitchenAid 11-cup Food Processor, but I positively ADORE, yes - ADORE!!! - my new Breville 16-cup Sous Chef Food Processor.
This Breville replaces my 15-year-old KitchenAide, and just after one use of the Breville, I know I will be having a multi-year love affair with it, as well. It chops, dices, shreds, pulverizes everything absolutely perfectly.
My first foray in the kitchen with this powerhouse appliance was this past weekend, where I put it to the test while I made homemade egg rolls, homemade empanadas, and homemade lumpia. Everything came out perfectly!
This Breville Food Processor joins my Breville Juicer, Breville Waffle Iron, and Breville Blender. I feel like I should now be a spokeswoman for Breville!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 3 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Louisville
December 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazed by this processor
December 27, 2015
I have owned 2 Cuisinarts and a Kitchen Aid food processor, and this is the best one by far. Greater capacity, better designed disks (totally love the adjustable slicer), no leaks when processing liquids, and a larger feeding tube. The only limitation that I have noticed thus far is that contents in the smaller bowl sometimes splatter into the larger bowl. I am sold.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ft. Lauderdale
,FL
November 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Food Processor
November 16, 2015
I chose the Breville Sous Chef based on the reviews, the fact that it had a large and small bowl, and I've had a Breville single cup coffee maker for over 10 years that looks and works like the day i purchased it. I really like that the large bowl has no open center hole for my ingredients to fall through and none of the parts or pieces have gaps where ingredients get trapped. My only criticism of the product is that there isn't a tight seal at the top of the small bowl, so if I make bread crumbs for instance in the small bowl, crumbs will escape over the top into the large bowl - which then forces me to have to wash both bowls. Everything about this machine, however is so superior, I wouldn't let that issue preclude me from purchasing this item again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,WNC
,NC
Asheville,NC
November 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Sous Chef -16 cup
November 9, 2015
I would like to say that I have had them all. I have had a Kitchenaid, too cumbersome to operate and clean and very loud - gave it away as a gift to a young girl .Cuisinenart also not my cup of tea , and I still have the Robot coupe. The latter is good but very loud . The Breville is quiet and has a strong motor . The slicing discs are easily attached and do a wonderful job slicing . Everything is dishwasher safe which makes washing a breeze .It is very well constructed and does not jump on the counter ( being on the heavy side helps ) I highly recommend this Food processor !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Power, Assembly
Cons: price
Review 6 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicagoland
,IL
November 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of the "Big Three"
November 5, 2015
I've just replaced my Cuisinart 14-cup, and I've also owned a Kitchen-Aid. This is by far the best choice of the three. Very well made, quality materials. Powerful. Easy to use. Adjustable slicing blades for thickness. Comes with smaller bowl inside the 16-cup so you can eliminate a smaller mini chopper. Slicing blade gives you evenly sliced veggies. Does everything in the blink of an eye compared to other processors I've had before. You can also emulsify ingredients, as well as knead dough. All blades and spindles come in a storage box that can be used upright or on its side. It appears Breville thought of everything. Worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store
Cons: watch your fingers when adjusting slicing blades
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best food processor on the market!
October 23, 2015
This food processor was the first kitchen appliance I bought which was made by the Breville brand several years ago. I absolutely loved it and since then I became a big fun of this brand and bought lots of other kitchen appliances made by them. It is not cheap, but also it is not cheaply made. It is very solid built with powerful but at the same time very quite motor. It is absolutely amazing tool to have if you need to do some big amounts of cooking. Love the French-fry blade and I use it not only for potatoes. Also shredding huge amounts of cabbage or anything else is a breeze. Yes, it is heavy and big in size, but that is why you can do big size tasks in it and that is a huge help. Also it conveniently has the small work bowl for the smaller size jobs if needed. The storage box for all the blades is very handy and very well made and not flimsy like other brands on the market. I would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Assembly
Review 8 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New Iberia
,La
September 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
3of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too hard to clean
September 5, 2015
I didn't realize when I purchased this food processor that it is not dishwasher safe. It's absolutely HUGE, and barely fits in my rather large kitchen sink. The separate storage compartment is nice, however, I find that the blades, which are hollow, get flour in them when pastry is made.i definetly wish I had not spent so much money on this behemoth.
Pros: Quiet, Power
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Phoenix
,AZ
August 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A New Food Processor Concept for Me.
August 15, 2015
I bought this on the recommendation of Consumer Reports to replace a 7-cup processor that was always inconvenient to use for anything other than large jobs like grating a block of cheese. Storing it meant keeping the entire processor in the box under the counter, and it was a pain to drag it out when I needed it, so I typically used a mini-processor for most small jobs.
The Breville Sous-Chef is perfect for me. The processor and large and small bowls have a place on my counter, and the blades are stored in a carrier where my old processor once was stored. The blade selection and ability to use a small bowl means that my mini-processor won't be used either. I have used the Breville for grating potatoes and cheese with the great double-sided shredding blade, and have made perfect pie crust. It's quiet, versatile, and exudes quality. I assume I won't be shopping for a new processor again.
Pros: Versatile, Design, Quiet, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 10 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NC
June 24, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Mercedes of Food Processors!
June 24, 2015
For a gargantuan machine, this processor is well designed and well thought out. It is made with a quality of craftsmanship that I haven't seen in products in a long time. It's quiet, fast, performs well under stress...I will have to say there are a few rules you need to know - like chopping small quantities must be done in the small bowl; when grating mozzarella cheese, don't push the pusher too hard & also spray the blade with non-stick cooking spray or rub lightly with veggie oil; when chopping chunks of meat, they shouldn't be bigger than 1 1/2"...otherwise, I have been very happy with it's versatility and use.
It's a pleasure to use and brings a smile to my face each time I use it. Make sure to read the instructions and tips- they will really help you overcome a few "problems" and limitations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Power
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Las Vegas
April 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Purchase Ever!!!
April 5, 2015
What a dream this is...not only does it shread mozzerella cheese straight from the fridge without destroying it, it just amazing. I have made pate'. I also used the slicing blade to make quick work of a pound of carrots and two heads of celery...it took just about 2 minutes to slice all of it and the large bowl held it all. No need to stop half way through to empty the contents. Today I made peanutbutter. I do this about once a month, and it was made easier today as the Breville has a timer, so after 4 minutes I knew my peanutbutter was ready! I have no complaints about the Breville, it is very quiet and I like the it has weight to it so when I use it to make biscuit or pizza dough it won't rock on the counter. Cleaning is also very easy and the included brush assisted in getting any cheese that was stuck in the shredding blade.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 12 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fayetteville
,NC
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing product
January 27, 2015
I had an old kitchen aid food processor that served me well for many years but it was time to upgrade. When I saw the Breville on sale I decided to take the plunge. OMG! It's a whole new world prepping with the Breville sous chef. It is very well made, attractive, and has every attachment I can possible want. The adjustable slicing blade is amazing.
I know I am providing my husband with comic relief because every time I use this machine I rave about how much easier my life is with it in my kitchen.
It is heavy so I made room for it on my counter but its beautiful so its OK. I love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Concord
,MA
November 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
6of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Burned out after just 10 months
November 1, 2014
Light use. Went to use it after not touching it for 3 months. Motor starts and then just stops. It is useless after just 10 months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SethR18
Posted May 8, 2015
Warranty
It has a 25 year motor warranty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
September 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the price for an excellent tool!
September 18, 2014
Very solid, great blade selection, easy to use. Very powerful, too! Anyone who cooks will appreciate this tool, so glad I bought it- just wish I would have bought it sooner! It is tall, make sure you measure your under cabinet space so that it fits. It is quite heavy, not one that easily can be stored away and taken out every time you use it- but it is so powerful and solid that the weight is understandable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight
Review 15 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Plano
,TX
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT FOOD PROCESSOR
April 18, 2014
This food processor works excellent. I traded it in at WS after having a 16-Cup Cuisinart Elite FP that did not shred right and had major gasket problems and design flaws (Cuisinart admitted it but refused to do anything about it)..
The Breville 16-Cup FP works great! I first used it for mango salsa, delicious.. Then I made vegetable hash browns (to test the grater) and had potatoes, yams, zucchini, acorn squash, onions, and carrots. The Breville FP is awesome, as were the hash browns cooked in olive oil and seasoned with fresh ground pepper, granulated garlic and sea salt (my boys had second and thirds).
The Breville FP is worth the price, works MUCH BETTER than the Cuinisart FP, and has many more cutting and grating blades. A good investment!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, many shredding blades, large feed tube
Review 16 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vicenza
Italy
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far its Awesome!
April 6, 2014
We have been waiting quite a while to get something like this.
Awesome quality, and tons of options. Honestly I don't think you could go wrong if you were looking for a food processor. It can do dough, although I would probably not try it for the heavier doughs like bagels or even a good sandwich bread. Pizza dough would probably stress this out, however, its a food processor not a bread machine or kitchen aid.
Review 17 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,San Antonio
,TX
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
6of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flexible, but Not For Stiff Bread
January 28, 2014
The unit is flexible, and it has nearly every attachment in the book smartly organized in a very nice organizer. However, as a bread maker, I need a unit that can handle all manner of doughs - some fairly stiff. This one overheats and shuts off kneading a simple whole wheat dough. That's a nonstarter for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: Power
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bakin
Italy
Posted April 6, 2014
types of dough
This machine is not suited for "heavy" or stiff doughs. Owning one and being a baker I would only use this for a select few that are what most people would consider sticky or wet doughs.
Its probably suited perfect for biscuits.
I highly recommend a kitchen aid for your stiff doughs, although it seems you want an all in one, I am not sure this would ever been good for that. The fact that this doesn't allow you to overheat it is AMAZING! I have burnt out motors from kneading dough and its always a disappointment.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Saint Louis
,MO
January 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this food processor!!
January 22, 2014
I'm so glad I made this purchase! After worrying about the cheese shredding problems from other reviews and not knowing if this is the latest model( it is) let me tell you this food processor is a dream. I love the quiet motor and the attachment case is wonderful. This is a beautiful and well made machine. It's a breeze to take apart and clean. I just made sweet potato fries and cauliflower rice! If you are debating buy this one! You will love it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 19 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,Wa
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Breville Food Processor!
December 22, 2013
This is my first processor since 35 years ago. At first I did not want to spend the money but then I said what the heck I deserve it. I have just spent the last several hours making about 5 desserts and using this processor saved me time! Cleanup is a breeze
I love it. It is a beautiful piece of kitchenware and I had researched these for months.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 20 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect!
November 1, 2013
Very high quality built, powerful and quiet. Love the completely sealed bowl so no food gets out and it is very easy to clean. Lots of discs which are already included and no need to pay anything additional. Even the storage box for all the blades and discs is very high quality and perfectly organized. The only annoying feature is that the motor stops every time you pull the pusher out to add an ingredient. Also wish they would have 3 different sizes of bowls and feed tubes instead of just 2. Anyway I have tried other brands and came to the conclusion that this one is the best and I am going to keep it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
page1 2 next