Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup

Breville calls this food processor "the Sous Chef" because it handles limitless prep tasks in seconds, freeing you to focus on cooking, serving and savoring. This professional-quality powerhouse comes with all the blades and disks you need-including a precision-adjustable slicer-to efficiently prepare ingredients and dishes from soup to nuts, with satisfying results every time. Breville's powerful induction motor handles countless prep tasks with ease. Two BPA-free plastic work bowls allow you to carry out multiple tasks quickly. Small bowl is handy for mincing herbs, chopping nuts or blending a sauce. Large bowl is designed for slicing and grating, mixing batters, kneading dough and pureeing soups. On, Pulse and Pause settings, plus a count up/count down timer, offer great control. Adjustable slicing disc has 24 settings, from paper-thin carrot curls to 1/3" thick zucchini wedges, and precisely maintains the setting through hundreds of slices. Extra-large 5 1/2" feed tube eliminates need to precut most ingredients. Safety Interlock System, nonslip feet and overload protection promote safe operation. Retractable cord storage helps keep the countertop tidy. All accessories fit into a handy plastic organizing case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
Review 1 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
taddoo
,Plano
,TX
April 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT FOOD PROCESSOR
April 18, 2014
This food processor works excellent. I traded it in at WS after having a 16-Cup Cuisinart Elite FP that did not shred right and had major gasket problems and design flaws (Cuisinart admitted it but refused to do anything about it)..
The Breville 16-Cup FP works great! I first used it for mango salsa, delicious.. Then I made vegetable hash browns (to test the grater) and had potatoes, yams, zucchini, acorn squash, onions, and carrots. The Breville FP is awesome, as were the hash browns cooked in olive oil and seasoned with fresh ground pepper, granulated garlic and sea salt (my boys had second and thirds).
The Breville FP is worth the price, works MUCH BETTER than the Cuinisart FP, and has many more cutting and grating blades. A good investment!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, many shredding blades, large feed tube
Review 2 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakin
,Vicenza
Italy
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far its Awesome!
April 6, 2014
We have been waiting quite a while to get something like this.
Awesome quality, and tons of options. Honestly I don't think you could go wrong if you were looking for a food processor. It can do dough, although I would probably not try it for the heavier doughs like bagels or even a good sandwich bread. Pizza dough would probably stress this out, however, its a food processor not a bread machine or kitchen aid.
Review 3 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BreadManRob
,San Antonio
,TX
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flexible, but Not For Stiff Bread
January 28, 2014
The unit is flexible, and it has nearly every attachment in the book smartly organized in a very nice organizer. However, as a bread maker, I need a unit that can handle all manner of doughs - some fairly stiff. This one overheats and shuts off kneading a simple whole wheat dough. That's a nonstarter for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: Power
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bakin
Italy
Posted April 6, 2014
types of dough
This machine is not suited for "heavy" or stiff doughs. Owning one and being a baker I would only use this for a select few that are what most people would consider sticky or wet doughs.
Its probably suited perfect for biscuits.
I highly recommend a kitchen aid for your stiff doughs, although it seems you want an all in one, I am not sure this would ever been good for that. The fact that this doesn't allow you to overheat it is AMAZING! I have burnt out motors from kneading dough and its always a disappointment.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaleoCook
,Saint Louis
,MO
January 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this food processor!!
January 22, 2014
I'm so glad I made this purchase! After worrying about the cheese shredding problems from other reviews and not knowing if this is the latest model( it is) let me tell you this food processor is a dream. I love the quiet motor and the attachment case is wonderful. This is a beautiful and well made machine. It's a breeze to take apart and clean. I just made sweet potato fries and cauliflower rice! If you are debating buy this one! You will love it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sterlinghawk
,Seattle
,Wa
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Breville Food Processor!
December 22, 2013
This is my first processor since 35 years ago. At first I did not want to spend the money but then I said what the heck I deserve it. I have just spent the last several hours making about 5 desserts and using this processor saved me time! Cleanup is a breeze
I love it. It is a beautiful piece of kitchenware and I had researched these for months.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hammond
November 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect!
November 1, 2013
Very high quality built, powerful and quiet. Love the completely sealed bowl so no food gets out and it is very easy to clean. Lots of discs which are already included and no need to pay anything additional. Even the storage box for all the blades and discs is very high quality and perfectly organized. The only annoying feature is that the motor stops every time you pull the pusher out to add an ingredient. Also wish they would have 3 different sizes of bowls and feed tubes instead of just 2. Anyway I have tried other brands and came to the conclusion that this one is the best and I am going to keep it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sullivan33
August 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior Food Processor
August 22, 2013
I owned the Cuisinart die cast 16 cup and took it back after one month of use because it was way too difficult to clean (tiny remnants would get stuck in the top with no way to clean inside). Even though the machine worked just fine, what was the point is keeping a machine which is so difficult to clean (I have heard from others it even starts to mold)? After all, these machines are supposed to make our lives easier!
I then picked out this Breville, and for $100 extra dollars it was well worth it. It works great, looks great, very easy to clean, and has many attachments.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandytdc
,Newnan
,GA
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Powerful yet Quiet
March 18, 2013
After much deliberation and researching reviews, websites etc. I am so glad that I made this decision. I use it daily. It is super quiet, powerful and easy to clean. The safety lock (which I am grateful for since this could pulverize you) isn't difficult and it slides together so easily. I make several raw food recipes including nuts and dried fruits that "blew up" my old machine, but this one goes through it without effort. i even put all of my ingredients for meatloaf and in seconds it was done. The storage case is fantastic. It holds everything in an organized locking case. I know it was an investment, but well worth it! It has saved me from hours of chopping already.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GirlyMama
,Astoria
,OR
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy I left Cuisinart
March 3, 2013
I was hesitant to go with Breville after using Cuisinart for 15 years...but wow, am I happy I did. I read so many reviews on many sites of those who were glad they made the change and I have to agree. This is an awesome machine that I use daily. All pieces go immediately into the dishwasher and after a year of daily use, mine still looks brand new. Love the timer (extra feature from my old 12cup Cuisinart) and I've started to get a feel for how long certain dressings and sauces take and rely on that for consistency. This is a very well-made, reliable machine...I use all the attachments, this is a must-have for the serious home cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 10 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SusanToronto
,Toronto
,ON
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The plastic parts break easily
December 14, 2012
This piece of kitchen equipment is a dream.
It is something I use every day for all sorts of tasks big and small.
The only drawback is the plastic bowl and accompanying parts break easily and apparently are not usually covered by the warranty. Since half the processor is plastic I consider this difficulty a real flaw.
AWESOME machine, take your chances on the plastic parts!! All parts should be covered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Fragile, replacement parts
Review 11 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HenryInTheKitchen
,San Diego
,CA
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
14of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like a charm, huge clean up fail!
October 15, 2012
As far as working, this beauty does everything beautifully and even though pricey work every penny.
Now cleaning is a different story, I use a scrub sponge in the kitchen for just about everything. I used them on clear plastics all the time with out issue. After only a few hand washes though, the bowl and lid of my Sous Chef are so badly scratched that I wonder if they are getting clean any more at all! You would have thought that aiming for being the top of the line, Breville could have invested in whatever coating everyone else in the industry seems to provide. Very disappointed and no longer proud to have the cloudy thing sitting out on my counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
MKB54
Huntsville, AL
Posted February 18, 2014
Try this
The place where I bought my dishwasher said to use a scale and lime remover once a month since I have hard water. I use CRL. I also use it on my plastic to remove that film that seems to plague plastic. It works.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted October 31, 2013
TO LOVE MY KITCHEN FOREVER
The paperwork with this processor says there is no BPA in any of the parts that come in contact with the food. As far as "calling Breville and being firm with them" its really not appropriate to expect Breville to replace a work bowl that has been abused with a scrub sponge that the instruction manual specifically warns against. This kind of customer behavior is what drives up the prices up on the rest of us. Please don't encourage this type of behavior.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
sandytdc
Newnan, GA
Posted March 27, 2013
No abrasives
In the owners manual it says to use a soft rag and not to use a scouring sponge or abrasive cleaners or they will scratch the plastic surface. I use a soft microfiber cloth and it stays beautiful. It cleans up so easily that I don't have to scrub at all.
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
lovemykitchenforever
Posted March 6, 2013
Not sure but perhaps it i the toxic chemical BPA that gives the plastic its glass like appearance??
I have been looking at this but like you don't like stuff looking nasty in my kitchen.
Call breville and be firm...they will probably send you your replacement parts.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackie11
,West Bloomfield
,MI
West Bloomfield, MI
September 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beyond My Wildest Dreams!
September 27, 2012
For some time, I did not realize what an inferior processor I'd been using. I was making a big batch of zucchini bread, and the top part of the funnel cracked off the rest of the top. That's when I said to myself, I'm getting a top of the line food processor, one I never have to worry about again. Believe me, that's what this Breville is. I have their toaster oven, and it is the finest I have ever owned or seen advertised. Their products are far superior to any I have used. This processor comes with a great clear-topped box with a place to store all parts that aren't in use. This makes it so much easier than looking for drawer space to stuff the parts in. Also, there are SO MANY types of processor tools included that I can be creative with food to the nth degree. What a fine piece of craftsmanship this machine is. I should also mention that clean up is a breeze.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, box for part storage
Review 13 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,DERBY
,KS
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME FOOD PROCESSOR
June 23, 2012
I PURCHASED THIS AFTER OWNING THE CUISINART AND KITCHENAID. THE BREVILLE IS FAR SUPERIOR TO BOTH OF THOSE ABOVE MENTIONED. LOVE,LOVE IT. DON'T HESITATE IS PRICEY BUT WELL WORTH IT..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 14 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jan1357
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
May 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Food Processor
May 19, 2012
This is the best food processor I have ever owned. I knew it would be because Breville makes the best quality products. This is so easy to use and clean up. My daughter was on a vegetarian fast for 3 weeks. I couldn't have made it through with out this food processor. I made everything from hummus, salsa to sweet potato fries. Everything came out wonderful. It cleans us in a just a few minutes. I won't have to be buy another one for a long time!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Breville Sous Chef(TM) Food Processor, 16-Cup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+21points
22of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville calls it Sous Chef; I call it "Rock Star"
April 30, 2012
I have owned Cuisinarts from WS since 1978 and switched to the Sous Chef last week. WOW! This is a processor. It is quiet, very powerful and processes vegetables with precision and speed. I've never experienced better results with vegetables. It does not have a dough button, but the tart dough I made came out just fine. Be careful to not over process if you are accustomed to using a less powerful processor. It is more expensive that the Cuisinart, but it includes many accessories the Cuisinart doesn't, so in the end it's a good value and it doesn't have the short comings others have attributed to the new Cuisinart..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly