Breville Smart Waffle Maker

Say "good morning" to an innovative new machine that lets you make Belgian-style waffles exactly the way you like them-with more options for precise customization than any other waffle maker on the market. Breville's smart sensor technology automatically adjusts the temperature and baking time to guarantee perfect, personalized results. A nonstick moat prevents overflowing batter from making a mess on countertops. Enjoy crisp, golden Belgian-style waffles baked to your exact preferences. Menu dial has options for four different batter types, plus a special "custom" setting. Control dial has 12 settings that allow you to customize baking and browning. Smart technology automatically self-adjusts time and temperature based on your specifications, the batter's moisture content and other variables. Breville's patented "A Bit More" button lets you opt for a touch of extra browning. An integrated switch automatically starts the countdown timer when the lid is closed. Every aspect of the baking process is shown on the user-friendly LCD screen. A nonstick moat surrounds the baking surface to catch excess batter-and bake it into crispy waffle bites. No mess, no waste. Audible chime sounds when waffles are done cooking. Convenient restart button makes it easy to bake batch after batch of waffles. Die-cast aluminum cooking plates ensure impeccable heat retention with uniform browning. PFOA-free nonstick finish releases waffles instantly-and makes cleanup a breeze. Lid locks to the unit for slim, compact storage. Two-square: makes two 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles. Four-square: makes four 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
Review 1 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
N8VTXN
,Gambrills
,MD
April 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffle Maker EVER!
April 17, 2014
I have tried a number of them and this makes beautiful (crispy outside, tender inside) Belgian waffles every time. Add whipped cream and strawberries...YUM! Easy to use and clean! Most make soggy bread.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Review 2 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peppermdblue
,Baltimore
,MD
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sleek and effortless
April 6, 2014
got my new Breville Smart Waffle Maker this week. I'd been eyeing it for a while, and then it was on sale. Bought it. My husband groused that I already had 2 waffle irons (both from the 80's and 90's). But after I made waffles yesterday without the batter overflowing on the counter and perfectly golden and tasty, he actually agreed with me that it was worth the expense.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barbann
,California
,MD
March 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Waffle Maker
March 26, 2014
This is the "Cadillac" of waffle irons! The waffles are big, brown beautifully as much as you want and are ready in just a few minutes. The best thing is that it can be cleaned in a breeze with just a small nylon brush. I have had other really nice waffle irons in the past, but this is just the best.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 4 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BantamChef
,Charlotte
,NC
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Waffles Ever
March 24, 2014
For our first recipe we used the Mast Brothers Dark Chocolate waffles from bon appetite February 2014. The recipe for chocolate waffles that is included in the Breville appliance sounded a little flat compared to this delicious and rich recipe. We served ours with a warmed strawberries and whipped cream. Amazing. Perfect results from the waffle maker. Just set the dial to Chocolate and it does the rest turning out perfect crispy on the outside and tender and moist inside.
REIPE...
INGREDIENTS
2 cups all-purpose flour
½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ cup (packed) brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 large eggs, separated
2 cups buttermilk
½ cup olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 oz. bittersweet chocolate (at least 70% cacao), finely chopped
Nonstick vegetable oil spray
Unsalted butter and warm pure maple syrup (for serving)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Foodlover
Midwest
Posted April 17, 2014
Do not use non-stick spray
Not only is non-stick cooking spray unnecessary in the Breville Smart Waffle Maker, the instructions specifically state that such sprays should not be used.
0points
Customer avatar
BantamChef
Charlotte, NC
Posted April 6, 2014
Recipe Note
In the post the recipe mentions "non-stick" vegetable oil spray. We did NOT use any non-stick spray in making our chocolate waffles. The Breville waffle maker coating made that step unnecessary.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheWaffleGuy
,St.Charles
,IL
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great for my Belgian Waffles
March 21, 2014
So easy to use and to clean. For the type of waffles I make, the extra lip is not necessary, however I can see for those who have more of a liquid batter, it makes a lot of sense. My waffles come out perfect each time! Using it on a regular basis, at least twice a week, I feel that it is going to hold up as well as a much more expensive commercial waffle maker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmarie2
,IN
March 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST Waffle Maker no matter the price
March 9, 2014
We have made waffles nearly every Sunday night for 30-some years as a family tradition. I have tried a dozen recipes and waffle makers to tweak the flavor and texture of the waffle. This waffle maker is THE KEY to texture. It actually delivers a crisp exterior without turning the waffle into cardboard; the inside remains soft and chewy.
The waffles are large; the four sections easily feed two people at a time. The heavy duty wattage keeps the iron hot and cooks the waffles consistently and quickly.
Yes, it's a bit pricey. I had to research reviews and think on it before making the purchase. But, considering the weekly use and the great results, I have no regrets.
Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Review 7 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PDsNana
,Seattle
,WA
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sunday waffles could be easier
February 22, 2014
I so wanted to love this waffle maker, but, alas I had to learn to accept it's short comings (very much like the cheaper ones). The hot surface must be liberally oiled EVERY TIME before waffle batter is poured. The over-run container doesn't really fit well as the cord is usually in the way (poor design). My take away from this experience is this: the exorbitant price isn't a guarantee of a quality product.
Pros: Durable, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Foodlover
Midwest
Posted April 17, 2014
Oiling the waffle maker's surface
PDsNana,
Breville waffle maker instructions do not tell you to oil the surface of the waffle maker. I'm wondering if that is not the reason for your less than great results. Instructions also specifically state that non-stick cooking sprays should not be used either.
I've had perfect results every time as have other reviewers of the waffle maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scotg
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Waffle Maker
January 23, 2014
I have had many waffle makers, Waring Pro, Kitchen Aid, Calaphon and Allclad and this waffle maker is the best out of all of these. It makes a very crisp outside with a soft inside. The waffles come out delicious. What I like about this waffle iron is that you can pour the batter in and it doesn't start cooking until you put the top down. The other waffle irons don't do that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JellyBean0528
,Albany
,NY
Albany, NY
January 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffle Maker Ever !
January 14, 2014
Bought this waffle maker for my husband and I ended up keeping it for myself. It makes perfect waffles each time...we all love it. Super easy clean up too. Very impressed with Breville brand. Also own the toaster oven which is wonderful too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 10 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seaotter301
,Chicago suburbs
,IL
Chicago Suburbs
January 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2nd Great Breville Product in my Collection
January 13, 2014
Phenomenal results. The Belgian waffles were huge, slightly crunchy on the outside, delicate and tender inside. Breville knows how to design and create outstanding products. They are expensive but more than worth every penny.
The channel collects the overflow and was super easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jana36
,Montgomery
,AL
January 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes perfect waffles
January 3, 2014
I was wanting a waffle maker that had more than one way to cook waffles. I like mine not so brown and soft. My husband prefers crisper. This one is great since you can adjust. Both ways we made them were perfect. We just got this yesterday and used the first time today but so far we are loving it. The overflow tray is great to. Instead of excess batter running down the outside of your machine it just collects in the nonstick channel and peels right off. Had no problem getting waffles out either. Nonstick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Cost
Review 12 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DamCam
,Eugene
,OR
December 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
God product, but not without flaws
December 27, 2013
I just got this yesterday and made some pretty substantial waffles!
The good:
Does what it says it does and well! Makes a fantastic waffle, and the nonstick coating is great. It heats up quickly and feels very sturdy.
The not so good:
The controls don't offer much control. The browning dial just increases the time the waffles cook. No fine temperature adjustment.
The waffle type dial does the same thing as the browning dial, according to how long breville feels certain types of waffles should cook.
The custom dial let me pick my own time and was the most useful for me. I had to reset that amount of time between each batch, as the machine doesn't preserve settings.
The REALLY not so good:
CLEANING! Removable plates would be awesome. I made liege waffles, which basically carmelize sugar in the waffle...and all over the inside of the machine. Not fun to clean out!
This is a good product. Fine temperature control and removable/interchangeable plates would make it fantastic!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, lack of fine temperature control
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goonjr
,Waupaca
,WI
October 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Waffles
October 17, 2013
Oh my gosh! I bought the Breville Smart Waffle yesterday and was a bit hesitant to spend that much money on a waffle iron. Took it for a test drive this morning and am in awe at the sheer ease and design perfection of this machine. They really did think of everything. I was able to turn out wonderful waffles before I had my first cup of coffee. I own a Breville blender,pizza baker and toaster and now the Waffle Iron. These folks get it right. Thanks W-S !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RobertK
Chicago, IL
Posted November 28, 2013
Must be a way to
filter out fake reviews.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)