Breville Smart Waffle Maker

Say "good morning" to an innovative new machine that lets you make Belgian-style waffles exactly the way you like them-with more options for precise customization than any other waffle maker on the market. Breville's smart sensor technology automatically adjusts the temperature and baking time to guarantee perfect, personalized results. A nonstick moat prevents overflowing batter from making a mess on countertops. Enjoy crisp, golden Belgian-style waffles baked to your exact preferences. Menu dial has options for four different batter types, plus a special "custom" setting. Control dial has 12 settings that allow you to customize baking and browning. Smart technology automatically self-adjusts time and temperature based on your specifications, the batter's moisture content and other variables. Breville's patented "A Bit More" button lets you opt for a touch of extra browning. An integrated switch automatically starts the countdown timer when the lid is closed. Every aspect of the baking process is shown on the user-friendly LCD screen. A nonstick moat surrounds the baking surface to catch excess batter-and bake it into crispy waffle bites. No mess, no waste. Audible chime sounds when waffles are done cooking. Convenient restart button makes it easy to bake batch after batch of waffles. Die-cast aluminum cooking plates ensure impeccable heat retention with uniform browning. PFOA-free nonstick finish releases waffles instantly-and makes cleanup a breeze. Lid locks to the unit for slim, compact storage. Two-square: makes two 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles. Four-square: makes four 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
Review 1 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyJSW61
,Augusta
,GA
November 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Waffle Maker
November 23, 2014
What a wonderful surprise this waffle maker by Breville has become. It makes the best Belgian waffles this side of Georgia. And it's fast too. The waffles are crispy, thick, and delicious. William Sonoma sells several waffle mixes which are indescribable. They are great...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Store, Size, Design, consistency
Cons: none
Review 2 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kali0373
,Carmel
,IN
October 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't improve pefection..and this is it!!
October 17, 2014
I am slowly replacing ALL of my appliances with Breville. The quality can not be copied. We love this 4 slice waffle maker...so my husband and I can actually eat at the same time, not waiting for one to bake then another and so forth. This makes the deep Belgium waffles and adding the "little extra" makes them just right. I would highly recommend this waffle maket over anything else out there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 3 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huntindawg
,UP
,MI
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best waffles I ever made!
October 12, 2014
I have never been all that impressed with home made waffles due to unknown timing from the old machines. This one takes the guesswork out of when the waffle is ready!
Intuitive screens and the color change on the display make it very easy to know when the machine is ready or the cycle is underway. Waffles come out with a nice crisp outer shell yet are tender in the middles. Takes the guess work out of making them and getting great results.
The locking lid makes storage on its side possible and convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMPM
,Queens
,NY
September 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THIS!!!!!
September 17, 2014
Received this as a gift from some friends and we love it!!! Used it for the first time on Saturday and the waffles came out perfect and were delicious!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirdarm
,Gainesville
,FL
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive but more than worth it!
August 21, 2014
Expensive, but delivers. 10 perfect batches: no sticking or overflow; crispy brown outside; moist but completely done inside. Preheat, then cool, B4 making first batch. Tried Kodiak Cakes mix & Arrowhead Mills Sprouted Multi-Grain mix: the former is quick, easy, tasty; the latter, better overall, substantial (with egg, etc.). Add TBSP+ coconut oil & a tsp vanilla to any 2-C/4-waffle recipe. Oil means no clinging & easy cleanup, & makes a better-tasting waffle (don't add other oil). Ignore the ½-C/1-C marks on side of included measuring cup/ladle, & fill it to top edge w/ mix, then water. Each square takes ½-C+ mix. Wooden toothpick lifts edge of done waffles out of iron. Cleanup easy: w/ iron still warm, use dish brush w/ long nylon bristles, wet brush w/ water (no soap), shake to remove some water, & gently scrub bottom plate; then do top plate; follow w/ paper towel (rub between grooves to remove any leftover residue). Iron still warm, let any extra water evaporate B4 closing lid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 6 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ebrad
,Vineyard
,UT
Orem, UT
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands Down Best Waffle Maker
July 29, 2014
If you are on the fence about this waffle maker, trust me you will not regret your decision to buy it. This is thee best waffler on the market. I can't even say enough wonderful things about this waffler. I was deciding between this one and another favorite brand, but really there is no comparison. The overspill mote is amazing . The cleanup is a breeze. The countdown digital timer is so helpful, no guessing how long until the waffles are done. The waffles come out done to perfection. You can even add more time if you want them a little more golden. We use this almost weekly, and I have just been so pleased with my purchase. Love this waffler. you will be happy you made the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cranberri99
,Pittsburgh
,PA
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hasta la vista cheap wafflemakers!
July 20, 2014
I've only used this for one batch so pardon that you are not receiving a longer term review but I am doing it now or not at all. PERFECT waffles the first time. No sticking, no spliting, no overflow, perfectly baked deep waffles. I made a BH&G basic batter with white whole wheat flour throwing in frozen blueberries, usually resulting in waffles sticking. (Yes, I'm a cooking risk taker.) Best waffles ever. Love the variety of settings, darkness settings, the beep and the time left to bake clock. Love the ergonomic plug. Small negatives: if you buy it in the store, it is very heavy to lug so bring your strong teenager or have a cart. Also, the recipes that come with it are not exceptional. Who is baking with self-rising flour these days? And using ounces as measuring metrics (yes... I know some of you are but most of us are not)? WS is usually exceptional with its recipes so have your vendors step it up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Design
Cons: Weight, pricey, recipe booklet
Review 8 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yaltiner
,NY
June 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for waffle lovers
June 21, 2014
If you like fresh made waffles at the touch of an easy button then this machine is a must have. My family's favorite is the Belgian waffle recipe included. I have tried most of the recipes but wasn't thrilled with the buttermilk waffles and the chocolate waffles were good but a bit too rich for my taste. But that could be because I used 62% Belgian chocolate. Now we can enjoy fresh waffles on the weekends made to everyone's specific taste, whether dark or light. I honestly didn't think I'd use this as much as I have!! If you're shopping for a waffle maker then this one is for you! I highly recommend the larger 4 waffle maker if purchasing for a family!! Love my Smart waffle maker
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracer
,Lookout Mountain
,GA
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this waffle maker!
June 3, 2014
Not only can you make waffles with the Breville Smart Waffle Maker it will make other creative items. We've used it to make veggie waffle/patties, pancake/waffles and all of this gluten free! If you're looking for the best waffle maker, this is it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boooche
,Hudson
,NH
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffles Ever
June 2, 2014
I had a cheap waffle maker and could never get the nice crispy outside so I put it away thinking it was me. Well it wasn't me, it was the waffle maker. This makes the best waffles ever. Perfectly crispy outside and soft inside. Breville makes superior products. The extra money is worth it. I also have the bread maker and immersion blender.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Binta
,Atlanta
,GA
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonkin' Waffles
May 31, 2014
The proud owner of the 2-square iron, I find that a single square is a perfect serving size and 2 is an excellent serving if there are no sides.
I love the size, look, coloring and crisp/moist balance of the waffles produced by this iron. It's also really nice that Breville designers understand how importance of aesthetics in waffle making.
The iron produces better waffles than I can get at any of my favorite breakfast spots, that's why I never ordered them, which offsets the staggering cost of this machine. But it's worth every penny.
I've tried most of the settings, just for the fun of it.
Consistently perfect.
Since I've only had this for a couple of weeks, I'm using it like crazy, but once the infatuation settles, can't imagine using more than a couple of times a month.
With the exception of a few very precious items, it's just getting to the point where my kitchen electrics are generally Breville.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: price
Review 12 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReRe614
,City Island
,NY
May 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Rocks!
May 16, 2014
This is by far the best waffle maker I have ever owned! I own 4 (did own) I plan on selling them. Yes this is expensive, but it is so worth every penny. Ask for it for your wedding, holiday, or just buy it as an "you owe it to yourself gift" this way you will never have to guess or have unperfect waffles again! I have the Breville Smart oven also now this. So I'm convinced Breville Rocks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: very tall when open
Review 13 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
N8VTXN
,Gambrills
,MD
April 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffle Maker EVER!
April 17, 2014
I have tried a number of them and this makes beautiful (crispy outside, tender inside) Belgian waffles every time. Add whipped cream and strawberries...YUM! Easy to use and clean! Most make soggy bread.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Review 14 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peppermdblue
,Baltimore
,MD
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sleek and effortless
April 6, 2014
got my new Breville Smart Waffle Maker this week. I'd been eyeing it for a while, and then it was on sale. Bought it. My husband groused that I already had 2 waffle irons (both from the 80's and 90's). But after I made waffles yesterday without the batter overflowing on the counter and perfectly golden and tasty, he actually agreed with me that it was worth the expense.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 15 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barbann
,California
,MD
March 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Waffle Maker
March 26, 2014
This is the "Cadillac" of waffle irons! The waffles are big, brown beautifully as much as you want and are ready in just a few minutes. The best thing is that it can be cleaned in a breeze with just a small nylon brush. I have had other really nice waffle irons in the past, but this is just the best.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 16 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BantamChef
,Charlotte
,NC
March 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Waffles Ever
March 24, 2014
For our first recipe we used the Mast Brothers Dark Chocolate waffles from bon appetite February 2014. The recipe for chocolate waffles that is included in the Breville appliance sounded a little flat compared to this delicious and rich recipe. We served ours with a warmed strawberries and whipped cream. Amazing. Perfect results from the waffle maker. Just set the dial to Chocolate and it does the rest turning out perfect crispy on the outside and tender and moist inside.
REIPE...
INGREDIENTS
2 cups all-purpose flour
½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ cup (packed) brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 large eggs, separated
2 cups buttermilk
½ cup olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 oz. bittersweet chocolate (at least 70% cacao), finely chopped
Nonstick vegetable oil spray
Unsalted butter and warm pure maple syrup (for serving)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Foodlover
Midwest
Posted April 17, 2014
Do not use non-stick spray
Not only is non-stick cooking spray unnecessary in the Breville Smart Waffle Maker, the instructions specifically state that such sprays should not be used.
0points
Customer avatar
BantamChef
Charlotte, NC
Posted April 6, 2014
Recipe Note
In the post the recipe mentions "non-stick" vegetable oil spray. We did NOT use any non-stick spray in making our chocolate waffles. The Breville waffle maker coating made that step unnecessary.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheWaffleGuy
,St.Charles
,IL
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great for my Belgian Waffles
March 21, 2014
So easy to use and to clean. For the type of waffles I make, the extra lip is not necessary, however I can see for those who have more of a liquid batter, it makes a lot of sense. My waffles come out perfect each time! Using it on a regular basis, at least twice a week, I feel that it is going to hold up as well as a much more expensive commercial waffle maker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmarie2
,IN
March 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST Waffle Maker no matter the price
March 9, 2014
We have made waffles nearly every Sunday night for 30-some years as a family tradition. I have tried a dozen recipes and waffle makers to tweak the flavor and texture of the waffle. This waffle maker is THE KEY to texture. It actually delivers a crisp exterior without turning the waffle into cardboard; the inside remains soft and chewy.
The waffles are large; the four sections easily feed two people at a time. The heavy duty wattage keeps the iron hot and cooks the waffles consistently and quickly.
Yes, it's a bit pricey. I had to research reviews and think on it before making the purchase. But, considering the weekly use and the great results, I have no regrets.
Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed
Review 19 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PDsNana
,Seattle
,WA
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sunday waffles could be easier
February 22, 2014
I so wanted to love this waffle maker, but, alas I had to learn to accept it's short comings (very much like the cheaper ones). The hot surface must be liberally oiled EVERY TIME before waffle batter is poured. The over-run container doesn't really fit well as the cord is usually in the way (poor design). My take away from this experience is this: the exorbitant price isn't a guarantee of a quality product.
Pros: Durable, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Foodlover
Midwest
Posted April 17, 2014
Oiling the waffle maker's surface
PDsNana,
Breville waffle maker instructions do not tell you to oil the surface of the waffle maker. I'm wondering if that is not the reason for your less than great results. Instructions also specifically state that non-stick cooking sprays should not be used either.
I've had perfect results every time as have other reviewers of the waffle maker.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scotg
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Waffle Maker
January 23, 2014
I have had many waffle makers, Waring Pro, Kitchen Aid, Calaphon and Allclad and this waffle maker is the best out of all of these. It makes a very crisp outside with a soft inside. The waffles come out delicious. What I like about this waffle iron is that you can pour the batter in and it doesn't start cooking until you put the top down. The other waffle irons don't do that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
page1 2 next