Breville Smart Waffle Maker

Say "good morning" to an innovative new machine that lets you make Belgian-style waffles exactly the way you like them-with more options for precise customization than any other waffle maker on the market. Breville's smart sensor technology automatically adjusts the temperature and baking time to guarantee perfect, personalized results. A nonstick moat prevents overflowing batter from making a mess on countertops. Enjoy crisp, golden Belgian-style waffles baked to your exact preferences. Menu dial has options for four different batter types, plus a special "custom" setting. Control dial has 12 settings that allow you to customize baking and browning. Smart technology automatically self-adjusts time and temperature based on your specifications, the batter's moisture content and other variables. Breville's patented "A Bit More" button lets you opt for a touch of extra browning. An integrated switch automatically starts the countdown timer when the lid is closed. Every aspect of the baking process is shown on the user-friendly LCD screen. A nonstick moat surrounds the baking surface to catch excess batter-and bake it into crispy waffle bites. No mess, no waste. Audible chime sounds when waffles are done cooking. Convenient restart button makes it easy to bake batch after batch of waffles. Die-cast aluminum cooking plates ensure impeccable heat retention with uniform browning. PFOA-free nonstick finish releases waffles instantly-and makes cleanup a breeze. Lid locks to the unit for slim, compact storage. Two-square: makes two 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles. Four-square: makes four 4" x 4" x 1"-thick waffles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
34 of 35(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
Review 1 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeeCub
,Indianapolis
,IN
January 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffles Ever!
January 24, 2015
I just whipped up my first batch of waffles using the Breville Smart Waffle. I used a store bought mix and substituted applesauce for the eggs, and used coconut oil. I've never had a waffle so crispy on the outside, and fluffy on the inside. It was more like a pastry than a waffle. I'll probably only use this once or twice per month, but I'ts amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 2 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PHR324
,Williamsburg
,VA
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Waffle Maker- 2 Square
January 19, 2015
We considered the 4 Square unit, but a 2 Square unit is more than enough for my wife and myself. It cooks evenly and an a timely fashion. We have only had this for a month, but so far we are very pleased with the quality and features.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 3 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keeta
,Kansas City
,MO
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Waffle Maker
January 17, 2015
Love this waffle maker. My last non-stick waffle maker left black flakes on the waffles - bits of "teflon"? Breville cooks evenly. Beautiful crispy outside. Eat straight away or they'll get soggy. Or cool on a rack or standing up. The middle setting is perfectly brown, but lots of options available.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rainyk
,Forest Lake
,Mn
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great item!
January 17, 2015
The Breville Smart Waffle Maker does exactly what the description says it does. You have a choice for the amount of crispness, which I really like. The waffle maker is very well made. The price is reasonable for what you get. Would recommend this waffle maker to both my family and friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
retiredlady
,Heath
,TX
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!
January 17, 2015
This waffle maker is well-worth the money, as it does an excellent job. Although I am using the same recipe for batter that I used in my previous waffle maker, the waffles cooked by the Breville waffle maker seem lighter and crisper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 6 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thetexasgranny
January 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the waffle iron
January 5, 2015
Ok, I'll admit it. I wasn't sure if I wanted to pay this much for a waffle iron but my husband bought it as a Christmas gift. I have made all the recipes in the instruction booklet except for the chocolate ones, They are definitely the next in line. The waffles all have come out perfect, crisp on the outside, soft in the middle, and it is so easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 7 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fourgranddaughters
,Cary
,NC
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So simple and wonderful
January 4, 2015
This product makes all kinds of waffles just by selecting the right setting. It is so simple to use and it cleans up really easily. A great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 8 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JAG11
,VT
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Piece of Equipment!
December 31, 2014
We received a gift certificate and decided to purchase something that the whole family could enjoy. After looking at a variety of products we chose the waffle maker. It is wonderful! It looks beautiful and cooks evenly and perfectly every time. Be sure to try the homemade waffle recipe...really tasty. Premade mixes certainly work fine, but the time it takes to make the homemade is worth the effort, they are scrumptious!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: difficult to store if space is limited.
Review 9 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thaiboxer
,Clinton Township
,MI
December 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavenly Waffles
December 28, 2014
I almost chose a less expensive waffle maker thinking that there really can not be all that much difference. I was so right in buying the Breville Smart Waffle Maker! I have always loved waffles, but have never experienced waffles that are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside! What a gourmet treat! I was afraid that the two waffle unit would be too small. I found that the waffles are quite substantial and the two waffle unit is the perfect size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, perfect waffles, non-stick
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Norwegian
Norway
Posted January 18, 2015
2-square or 4-square
Sooo going back and fort wether to buy the 2-square or 4-square waffle iron. Mother of one child. Some times cooking for two - some times for four. What do you think would be the best option?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rashmi
,Westchester County
,NY
December 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best waffle maker
December 7, 2014
This is the best Waffle maker is out in the market. We liked it so much that we bought for our two sons also. We are very happy with all Breville appliances.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 11 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyJSW61
,Augusta
,GA
November 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Waffle Maker
November 23, 2014
What a wonderful surprise this waffle maker by Breville has become. It makes the best Belgian waffles this side of Georgia. And it's fast too. The waffles are crispy, thick, and delicious. William Sonoma sells several waffle mixes which are indescribable. They are great...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Store, Size, Design, consistency
Cons: none
Review 12 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kali0373
,Carmel
,IN
October 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't improve pefection..and this is it!!
October 17, 2014
I am slowly replacing ALL of my appliances with Breville. The quality can not be copied. We love this 4 slice waffle maker...so my husband and I can actually eat at the same time, not waiting for one to bake then another and so forth. This makes the deep Belgium waffles and adding the "little extra" makes them just right. I would highly recommend this waffle maket over anything else out there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 13 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Huntindawg
,UP
,MI
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best waffles I ever made!
October 12, 2014
I have never been all that impressed with home made waffles due to unknown timing from the old machines. This one takes the guesswork out of when the waffle is ready!
Intuitive screens and the color change on the display make it very easy to know when the machine is ready or the cycle is underway. Waffles come out with a nice crisp outer shell yet are tender in the middles. Takes the guess work out of making them and getting great results.
The locking lid makes storage on its side possible and convenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 14 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMPM
,Queens
,NY
September 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THIS!!!!!
September 17, 2014
Received this as a gift from some friends and we love it!!! Used it for the first time on Saturday and the waffles came out perfect and were delicious!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirdarm
,Gainesville
,FL
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive but more than worth it!
August 21, 2014
Expensive, but delivers. 10 perfect batches: no sticking or overflow; crispy brown outside; moist but completely done inside. Preheat, then cool, B4 making first batch. Tried Kodiak Cakes mix & Arrowhead Mills Sprouted Multi-Grain mix: the former is quick, easy, tasty; the latter, better overall, substantial (with egg, etc.). Add TBSP+ coconut oil & a tsp vanilla to any 2-C/4-waffle recipe. Oil means no clinging & easy cleanup, & makes a better-tasting waffle (don't add other oil). Ignore the ½-C/1-C marks on side of included measuring cup/ladle, & fill it to top edge w/ mix, then water. Each square takes ½-C+ mix. Wooden toothpick lifts edge of done waffles out of iron. Cleanup easy: w/ iron still warm, use dish brush w/ long nylon bristles, wet brush w/ water (no soap), shake to remove some water, & gently scrub bottom plate; then do top plate; follow w/ paper towel (rub between grooves to remove any leftover residue). Iron still warm, let any extra water evaporate B4 closing lid.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 16 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ebrad
,Vineyard
,UT
Orem, UT
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands Down Best Waffle Maker
July 29, 2014
If you are on the fence about this waffle maker, trust me you will not regret your decision to buy it. This is thee best waffler on the market. I can't even say enough wonderful things about this waffler. I was deciding between this one and another favorite brand, but really there is no comparison. The overspill mote is amazing . The cleanup is a breeze. The countdown digital timer is so helpful, no guessing how long until the waffles are done. The waffles come out done to perfection. You can even add more time if you want them a little more golden. We use this almost weekly, and I have just been so pleased with my purchase. Love this waffler. you will be happy you made the investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cranberri99
,Pittsburgh
,PA
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hasta la vista cheap wafflemakers!
July 20, 2014
I've only used this for one batch so pardon that you are not receiving a longer term review but I am doing it now or not at all. PERFECT waffles the first time. No sticking, no spliting, no overflow, perfectly baked deep waffles. I made a BH&G basic batter with white whole wheat flour throwing in frozen blueberries, usually resulting in waffles sticking. (Yes, I'm a cooking risk taker.) Best waffles ever. Love the variety of settings, darkness settings, the beep and the time left to bake clock. Love the ergonomic plug. Small negatives: if you buy it in the store, it is very heavy to lug so bring your strong teenager or have a cart. Also, the recipes that come with it are not exceptional. Who is baking with self-rising flour these days? And using ounces as measuring metrics (yes... I know some of you are but most of us are not)? WS is usually exceptional with its recipes so have your vendors step it up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Design
Cons: Weight, pricey, recipe booklet
Review 18 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yaltiner
,NY
June 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for waffle lovers
June 21, 2014
If you like fresh made waffles at the touch of an easy button then this machine is a must have. My family's favorite is the Belgian waffle recipe included. I have tried most of the recipes but wasn't thrilled with the buttermilk waffles and the chocolate waffles were good but a bit too rich for my taste. But that could be because I used 62% Belgian chocolate. Now we can enjoy fresh waffles on the weekends made to everyone's specific taste, whether dark or light. I honestly didn't think I'd use this as much as I have!! If you're shopping for a waffle maker then this one is for you! I highly recommend the larger 4 waffle maker if purchasing for a family!! Love my Smart waffle maker
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracer
,Lookout Mountain
,GA
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this waffle maker!
June 3, 2014
Not only can you make waffles with the Breville Smart Waffle Maker it will make other creative items. We've used it to make veggie waffle/patties, pancake/waffles and all of this gluten free! If you're looking for the best waffle maker, this is it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Breville Smart Waffle Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boooche
,Hudson
,NH
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Waffles Ever
June 2, 2014
I had a cheap waffle maker and could never get the nice crispy outside so I put it away thinking it was me. Well it wasn't me, it was the waffle maker. This makes the best waffles ever. Perfectly crispy outside and soft inside. Breville makes superior products. The extra money is worth it. I also have the bread maker and immersion blender.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
page1 2 next