Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor

This fully automatic ice cream maker from Breville blends frozen desserts, from sorbet to ice cream to gelato, in your choice of consistency, from soft-serve style to hard pack, in less than an hour. Fully automatic, compressor-driven ice cream maker produces velvety frozen treats with no prefrozen bowls required. Twelve settings, from super soft to extra-firm, allow you to make ice cream in consistencies ready to eat, ready for making ice cream sandwiches and molded ice cream cakes, or to store for later. A "hold" feature keeps ice cream at your preferred consistency for up to three hours. Includes one paddle for folding over ice cream and gelato. Has manual and fully automatic functionality. Smart programming with audible beeper lets you know when to add mix-ins like chocolate chips and nuts. Music function. Sleek, stainless-steel and plastic housing is durable and easy to clean; aluminum bowl. Select Fahrenheit or Celsius temperature readout. Operates quietly. Recipes included. 16" x 11" x 9 1/2" high; 30 lb. 9 oz. 1 1/2-qt. cap. 150W.Model #BCI600XL This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
16 of 19(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
Review 1 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
diporter
,Wernersville
,Pa
Wernersville, PA
August 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine!!
August 20, 2014
I received the Breville Smart Scoop as a birthday present three days ago. I'm on my second batch of ice cream. My first batch,the vanilla ice cream recipe in the book, I chilled first and it took about 39 minutes to finish. It wasn't rock hard,mod course, but I could have eaten it as soon as it was done churning. I put it in the ws ice cream container in the freezer for several hours and it was perfectly hard, oh so smooth and totally delicious! My second batch, chocolate almond amaretto, took about 50 minutes to churn. I did not chill it ahead of time, and I added amaretto and almonds at the beep for mix-ins. It was delicious - I had to force myself to put it in the freezer to harden more (and to save some for my hubby!). I love that I can make multiple batches without freezing a bowl overnight. I'm preparing 4 batches in the next 3 days for my birthday party. It's awesome! I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deez
,Kailua
,Hi
August 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice COOL Ice Cream!
August 12, 2014
Bought my Smart Scoop at W-S yesterday along with W-S Ice Cream Starter. Made my first batch today using the starter just to ease into the ice cream making frame of mind and I was impressed at how easy it was to make ice cream Really creamy and sweet but not much flavor (started with Vanilla) in the starter kit but can always tweak to make more tasty. For my first batch and first attempt at making ice cream I call it a big success thanks to W-S making it easy and Smart Scoop for taking all the work out of making ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Versatile, Assembly
Review 3 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenGoddessNOT
,Honolulu
,HI
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Ice Cream Machine
July 16, 2014
The Breville 'Smart Scoop' Ice cream compressor is the most user friendly ice cream maker to date! I have purchased many other ice cream makers, including a Williams-Sonoma brand Ice Cream compressor, but this Breville product beats all hands down because it is extremely easy to use and to keep clean. Plus I don't have to remove the finished ice cream from the compressor immediately, the Breville will keep it frozen and firm for a short while so I can finish my other cooking first. As for clean-up, there are only 2 removable parts to wash. This is an Ice Cream lovers dream machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 4 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does NOT work
November 6, 2013
I love Breville products and have purchased many from Williams Sonoma. I was very excited about this ice cream maker initially, but then it stopped working after just a few months. There is something wrong with its construction. Thank goodness I bought it from WS as they stand behind their products. Breville needs to replace this with a functional product.
Pros: works well at first
Cons: Temperamental, stops working properly
Review 5 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coffeebean32
,Little Rock
,AR
November 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Breville
November 2, 2013
Love, Love, Love. I can not say enough about the Breville Ice Cream Compressor. Very easy, fast and easy to clean. It is heavy but if you use it all the time you don't actually put it away very often. I would buy this again and I would recommend. If you are not making your cold treats at home you don't know what you are missing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hjallen73
,Dallas
,Tx
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
4of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Haven't received a working unit
July 12, 2013
I haven't received a working unit yet. I have had to return two.
Review 7 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kevin
,Hinesville
,GA
Southeastern Arizona
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
July 8, 2013
Elegant and easy to use ice cream machine. Simple process to create spectacular and creamy desserts. This ice cream compressor is a "must have" for the culinary enthusiast and avid cook.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LISlowCooker
Long Island, NY
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect!
July 6, 2013
This appliance is amazing. It is fast becoming one of my favorite to use. I've made banana frozen yogurt, strawberry sherbert, lemon gelato, chocolate chocolate chip ice cream, and vanilla ice cream. Every single recipe came out perfect.
A bit of advice...make sure your "batter" is very cold before using this or it will make it a lot harder to make the recipe. I usually stick the batter in the refrigerator for a few to a several hours and then stick it in the freezer for about 30 minutes. This helps a lot.
The only imperfect thing about this is that the frozen dessert, regardless of which one it is, never reaches ideal hardness on the dial. The paddle just can't do it. Once the batter gets very thick, it starts making this unpleasant sound so I stop it so that the paddle wont break.
It takes about 50 minutes from pre-cooling to finish if the batter is cold.
I love that this compressor maintains a freezing temperature. This is its best feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
waheeda
,Milton
,VT
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love the machine buttttt
July 2, 2013
I have had this machine returned 3 times and this is the third time the machine makes great ice cream BUT the timer does not work is there something I need to do please I want to keep it it is so easy to make icecream but the timer in all 3 machine does not work HELP!
Pros: great icecream
Cons: timer does not work
Review 10 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bostonlady
,Boston
,MA
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Game changer.
June 11, 2013
I bought this as a gift for my husband who is an ice-cream hound. I'm not a huge ice-cream lover, but I have to admit that this machine rocked my world and my waistline this winter. Ice-cream in 30 minutes flat. Pure and unadulterated bliss. Now I'm making mint choc-chip with fresh mint from our garden. I need to stop. It's that good. This was well worth the investment. So easy to use it's ridiculous. You will be a well-loved party host if you whip up fresh ice cream this summer!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orzocat
,Clemmons
,NC
Clemmons
May 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect ice cream
May 31, 2013
Wow, I was really blown away with how easy it was to make totally delectable homemade ice cream. I have made two batches of ice cream and both turned out fabulously. I love this machine and I look forward to experimenting with sorbets and frozen yoghurts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nrothrock
,Prescott
,AZ
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
February 27, 2013
This product was great, easy to use and the ice cream texture was great. Consistent with ice cream purchased at an ice cream shop, smooth and creamy. Thank you for offering such a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 13 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oldschool
,Newbury
,OH
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Machine
January 6, 2013
This is my third ice cream machine. It has a smaller capacity than the Kitchenaid or Cuisinart products by 25%. That is compensated for by the quality of the ice cream, ease of operation, the smart shut down feature, and the fact that it keeps getting colder while the other products get warmer whilst making gelato, etc. Would have given 5 stars for 2 quart capacity. Easy to follow instruction manual was very informative.
Makes a big difference to make and chill the custard mixture overnight and use the pre-chill feature on the machine. Takes about 30-35 minutes to hard ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: 1.5 vs. 2 qt. capacity
Review 14 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WSD2009
,Toronto
,ON
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
December 28, 2012
I have enjoyed my ice cream compressor for about four months.
I use it several times a week. The ice cream is excellent and I'm consistently achieving successful results!
I'm also making frozen yogurt regularly. It is really delicious and easy to make.
I also like the fact that I know exactly what is going into the ice cream.
Finally, the compressor is very sturdy, easy to use and well designed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 15 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rootiblue
,Whitefish
,MT
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is very simple to use
December 25, 2012
Got it as an Xmas gift (it was on my list, so I know how expensive it is!) and thus have only used it three times so far. It makes absolutely delicious ice cream - I have used the recipes included with the machine as a guideline. My husband is allergic to all dairy products so I have made two ice creams using coconut milk - the consistency is perfect, and it the taste is truly hard to differentiate from real ice cream. This machine will get a lot of use in our household.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefSchneider
,Encino
,CA
October 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Such a fun and simply great must have
October 2, 2012
I have to start by saying this is the most fun we have had in the kitchen in a long time! This machine is as esthetically pleasing to have in the kitchen as it is wonderful to use. The first time I used my own recipe and made salty caramel ice cream. The machine did a great job of blending the mixture and giving is a nice even texture. I was even more surprised by how fast it chilled. I did notice a little noise coming from the machine but nothing unexpected. Given how cold the ice-cream is, I was amazed that it did such a perfect job of churning it. Since we got the machine we have tried just about every recipe in the book that came along with our Breville and we couldn’t be happier with the taste and the performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: wish the blade was made of metal not plastic
Review 17 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schadmiester
,Philadelphia
,Pa
Philadelphia, Pa
October 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow great retirment present to myself!
October 1, 2012
Yes, it is on the heavy side and the bowl could be a little larger but I could not be more please the results. I use it 3 to 4 time a week and have been turning out ice cream and gelato for friends. I'm so glad I treated myself to this. I have the convection oven too and very satisifed with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 18 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JoanLS
,Bluffton
,SC
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
19of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for Me!!!
August 4, 2012
I love Breville & have several of their products that I am very happy with but this ice cream maker doesn't cut it. It is very large and very heavy and has a very small bowl for ice cream with a post up the middle that makes it hard to get anything out of the bowl. A big disappointment and is being returned. I will stick with my Cuisinart ice cream maker that works very well and also cost a lot less.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 19 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
judicious
,Fremont
,CA
August 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
22of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super noisy but works great
August 2, 2012
It takes forever for it to chill down, but I think alcohol might help. After a good hour, that's when it's at sorbet mode. BUT the issue is it gets super duper loud..I think it's the fact it's getting harder to churn, so it's using all its might to push and churn. I wish it was metal and not plastic, but I fear it would break. I hope the replacement parts will be metal or non-plastic. Otherwise, I just stop at gelato and put it in the fridge.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight, noisy, takes too long
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
ilovetocook2
Arlington VA
Posted January 5, 2014
yes it does make a abnormal loud noise
Judicious is absolutely correct. I have experienced the same thing. When the ice cream is towards the end of finishing it will make an extremely loud ratcheting noise -- like something is not catching. We're talking "not being able to hear a conversation" loud. There is NO WAY that you can let it go on in the "keep cool" mode with it being so loud. I like hard ice cream and would like to use the keep mode. So I am asking anyone out there if they've experienced that happening AND if they know how to fix it.
0points
Customer avatar
Burnhard
San Francisco, CA
Posted December 16, 2012
alcohol?
Not sure what you meant but alcohol actually inhibits the freezing process. Perhaps I misunderstood.
0points
Customer avatar
nycnite
Posted August 29, 2012
enough already
I love when people complain about how loud their ice cream maker or vitamix blender is. I am not singling out this particular review or reviewer, but for heaven's sake people, if you want something quiet - use a spoon and your wrist. Otherwise be thankful that the $400 + that you spent got you a powerful machine that can do the job you bought it to do!
+1point
2of 3found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
mshedd081
Sedalia, MO
Posted August 6, 2012
How long does it take to make ice cream?
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)