Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor

This fully automatic ice cream maker from Breville blends frozen desserts, from sorbet to ice cream to gelato, in your choice of consistency, from soft-serve style to hard pack, in less than an hour. Fully automatic, compressor-driven ice cream maker produces velvety frozen treats with no prefrozen bowls required. Twelve settings, from super soft to extra-firm, allow you to make ice cream in consistencies ready to eat, ready for making ice cream sandwiches and molded ice cream cakes, or to store for later. A "hold" feature keeps ice cream at your preferred consistency for up to three hours. Includes one paddle for folding over ice cream and gelato. Has manual and fully automatic functionality. Smart programming with audible beeper lets you know when to add mix-ins like chocolate chips and nuts. Music function. Sleek, stainless-steel and plastic housing is durable and easy to clean; aluminum bowl. Select Fahrenheit or Celsius temperature readout. Operates quietly. Recipes included. 16" x 11" x 9 1/2" high; 30 lb. 9 oz. 1 1/2-qt. cap. 150W.Model #BCI600XL This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
Review 1 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lee
,NH
June 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Vegan Ice Cream!
June 22, 2016
I have been using an old Delonghi machine for many, many years... when it started to fail, I began to search for a new one. After a lot of research, I decided on the Smart Scoop. All I can say is "Wow!" What a difference! One of the key benefits is the hardness setting. The ice cream from my old machine was always like soft serve. Ice cream from the Smart Scoop is much harder - thick and creamy - without extra time in the freezer. Also, note that I make only vegan ice cream - and it comes out great. I have been making a batch a day! I can't wait to keep trying new recipes! If anyone has questions about making dairy-free delights, I'm happy to answer them. The ice cream that I've been making with the Smart Scoop is better than any I have ever bought in the store (and I have tried every vegan brand). Thank you Breville and Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Power, hardness setting
Review 2 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
,CA
May 22, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh Ice Cream D A N G E R
May 22, 2016
Good-delicious-fantastic...understatements!
This machine is funtastular! Can't wait to see all the yummy creations. This machine is not quiet but I found the noise level nothing to fuss over. It's not a light weight machine but keep in mind it does the work quickly with any need to pre- freeze any bowls. If you like spur of the moment this is priceless!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,Tx
March 20, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic machine - worth the money!!
March 20, 2016
I have had this machine for 2 years and love it. Super easy to use and perfect results every time. I use the mixes from WS, the flavors are great!
Originally I had to return 2 machines due to not cooling. Finally I had them test in store before brining home. I had a friend that had the same issue. Since these have compressors in them, some arrive DOA to the store. Honestly, I wouldn't let it stop you, just test at the store. The machine is worth the effort.
It is big and it is heavy so keep that in mind if you live in a small place.
If you want perfect ice ream in less than 30 minutes, this is the machine for you!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Speed, Quality
Cons: Size, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,ON
January 27, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frozen Dessert Dreams!
January 27, 2016
Breville seriously has my heart when it comes to specialty small appliances. I was lucky enough to receive this as a Christmas gift and boy do I love it. Its super easy to use and I love that the bucket removes for easy cleaning and pouring. The settings and auto sensing make for perfect textured frozen desserts. Pre cool is a function from the gods, it makes batch after batch ice cream dates with my nephews possible. The clear lid lets me check whats going on from time to time and the mix in chime and window is a dream. The hold function is amazing as well. They really thought about absolutely everything for this one, and yes I love the songs it plays! The only downfall is it is very very heavy and pretty big, but I assume this is because the compressor is built in.
P.S the Van Leeuwen Artisan ice cream book is one of the best I've come across. As well as The art of making gelato. Happy Churning!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Power
Cons: Size, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 5 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,The Villages
,FL
January 19, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice Cream Machine
January 19, 2016
I have found the Breville Ice Cream Compressor to live up to the quality represented. It does an outstanding job and its not at all complicated to operate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 6 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pittsburgh
,Pa
January 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best, last & only ice cream maker so far
January 2, 2016
I purchased this ice cream maker for my husband, he loves ice cream. The first one we had to return because it was defective. I was worried about the hassles of returning it but Breville impressed me. They sent me a return label for the defective one a couple days after I sent them an email explaining what was wrong. They sent a new one out simultaneously. They stood behind their product, replaced it at no additional cost to me. We use it about 3-4 times a month. It's so fast and so convenient. (We've tried others (4) that were used once or twice a year). This one is truly the best. So far, every Breville product I own has been terrific.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Speed, Quality, Time-saver
Review 7 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jacksonville
,NC
October 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gelato Maker
October 22, 2015
I received the Breville Smart Scoop as a Christmas present in 2014. Although it makes great ice cream, it gets a weekly workout making gelato. Because gelato is our preference, I've never used the sorbetto or frozen yogurt features. The Pre Cool feature is awesome when ingredients are warm and time is short. Unlike other ice cream machines, oils and dirt from within the machine will never seep into your ice cream. The recipe book I use the most is The Ciao Bella Book of Gelato & Sorbetto by F.W. Pearce, Danile-Zechhin. Some of the recipes have to be split before churning to prevent overflow during churning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality
Cons: Loud, Weight
Review 8 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Wernersville
,Pa
Wernersville, PA
August 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine!!
August 20, 2014
I received the Breville Smart Scoop as a birthday present three days ago. I'm on my second batch of ice cream. My first batch,the vanilla ice cream recipe in the book, I chilled first and it took about 39 minutes to finish. It wasn't rock hard,mod course, but I could have eaten it as soon as it was done churning. I put it in the ws ice cream container in the freezer for several hours and it was perfectly hard, oh so smooth and totally delicious! My second batch, chocolate almond amaretto, took about 50 minutes to churn. I did not chill it ahead of time, and I added amaretto and almonds at the beep for mix-ins. It was delicious - I had to force myself to put it in the freezer to harden more (and to save some for my hubby!). I love that I can make multiple batches without freezing a bowl overnight. I'm preparing 4 batches in the next 3 days for my birthday party. It's awesome! I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Kailua
,Hi
August 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ice COOL Ice Cream!
August 12, 2014
Bought my Smart Scoop at W-S yesterday along with W-S Ice Cream Starter. Made my first batch today using the starter just to ease into the ice cream making frame of mind and I was impressed at how easy it was to make ice cream Really creamy and sweet but not much flavor (started with Vanilla) in the starter kit but can always tweak to make more tasty. For my first batch and first attempt at making ice cream I call it a big success thanks to W-S making it easy and Smart Scoop for taking all the work out of making ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Versatile, Assembly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RyanW
Puxico, MO
Posted October 19, 2014
If you want really flavorful vanilla ice cream. Start with vanilla beans rather than imitation vanilla or vanilla extract. Also use whole milk. Search google and you will find a recipe on epicurious for vanilla bean ice cream. It is wonderful ice cream, creamy, velvety smooth, and full of flavor!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
July 16, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Ice Cream Machine
July 16, 2014
The Breville 'Smart Scoop' Ice cream compressor is the most user friendly ice cream maker to date! I have purchased many other ice cream makers, including a Williams-Sonoma brand Ice Cream compressor, but this Breville product beats all hands down because it is extremely easy to use and to keep clean. Plus I don't have to remove the finished ice cream from the compressor immediately, the Breville will keep it frozen and firm for a short while so I can finish my other cooking first. As for clean-up, there are only 2 removable parts to wash. This is an Ice Cream lovers dream machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 11 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beverly Hills, CA
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
12of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does NOT work
November 6, 2013
I love Breville products and have purchased many from Williams Sonoma. I was very excited about this ice cream maker initially, but then it stopped working after just a few months. There is something wrong with its construction. Thank goodness I bought it from WS as they stand behind their products. Breville needs to replace this with a functional product.
Pros: works well at first
Cons: Temperamental, stops working properly
Review 12 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Little Rock
,AR
November 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Breville
November 2, 2013
Love, Love, Love. I can not say enough about the Breville Ice Cream Compressor. Very easy, fast and easy to clean. It is heavy but if you use it all the time you don't actually put it away very often. I would buy this again and I would recommend. If you are not making your cold treats at home you don't know what you are missing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Dallas
,Tx
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
7of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Haven't received a working unit
July 12, 2013
I haven't received a working unit yet. I have had to return two.
Review 14 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hinesville
,GA
Southeastern Arizona
July 8, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
July 8, 2013
Elegant and easy to use ice cream machine. Simple process to create spectacular and creamy desserts. This ice cream compressor is a "must have" for the culinary enthusiast and avid cook.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 15 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Long Island, NY
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect!
July 6, 2013
This appliance is amazing. It is fast becoming one of my favorite to use. I've made banana frozen yogurt, strawberry sherbert, lemon gelato, chocolate chocolate chip ice cream, and vanilla ice cream. Every single recipe came out perfect.
A bit of advice...make sure your "batter" is very cold before using this or it will make it a lot harder to make the recipe. I usually stick the batter in the refrigerator for a few to a several hours and then stick it in the freezer for about 30 minutes. This helps a lot.
The only imperfect thing about this is that the frozen dessert, regardless of which one it is, never reaches ideal hardness on the dial. The paddle just can't do it. Once the batter gets very thick, it starts making this unpleasant sound so I stop it so that the paddle wont break.
It takes about 50 minutes from pre-cooling to finish if the batter is cold.
I love that this compressor maintains a freezing temperature. This is its best feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Milton
,VT
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love the machine buttttt
July 2, 2013
I have had this machine returned 3 times and this is the third time the machine makes great ice cream BUT the timer does not work is there something I need to do please I want to keep it it is so easy to make icecream but the timer in all 3 machine does not work HELP!
Pros: great icecream
Cons: timer does not work
Review 17 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boston
,MA
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Game changer.
June 11, 2013
I bought this as a gift for my husband who is an ice-cream hound. I'm not a huge ice-cream lover, but I have to admit that this machine rocked my world and my waistline this winter. Ice-cream in 30 minutes flat. Pure and unadulterated bliss. Now I'm making mint choc-chip with fresh mint from our garden. I need to stop. It's that good. This was well worth the investment. So easy to use it's ridiculous. You will be a well-loved party host if you whip up fresh ice cream this summer!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Weight
Review 18 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Clemmons
,NC
Clemmons
May 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect ice cream
May 31, 2013
Wow, I was really blown away with how easy it was to make totally delectable homemade ice cream. I have made two batches of ice cream and both turned out fabulously. I love this machine and I look forward to experimenting with sorbets and frozen yoghurts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 19 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Prescott
,AZ
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
February 27, 2013
This product was great, easy to use and the ice cream texture was great. Consistent with ice cream purchased at an ice cream shop, smooth and creamy. Thank you for offering such a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 20 for Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Newbury
,OH
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Machine
January 6, 2013
This is my third ice cream machine. It has a smaller capacity than the Kitchenaid or Cuisinart products by 25%. That is compensated for by the quality of the ice cream, ease of operation, the smart shut down feature, and the fact that it keeps getting colder while the other products get warmer whilst making gelato, etc. Would have given 5 stars for 2 quart capacity. Easy to follow instruction manual was very informative.
Makes a big difference to make and chill the custard mixture overnight and use the pre-chill feature on the machine. Takes about 30-35 minutes to hard ice cream.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: 1.5 vs. 2 qt. capacity
page1 2 next