This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Breville Smart Coffee Grinder

Breville brings its legendary innovation to this high-performance machine. Choose to manually select your preferred grind or use the Grind IQ feature that automatically produces the perfect amount of ground coffee based on your selected grind size and desired number of shots or cups. Stainless-steel conical burrs create a consistently uniform grind and generate minimal heat, preserving the coffee's delicate essential oils. Choose from 25 different grinds, from superfine for espresso to extra-coarse for French press brewing. Dosing system uses Grind IQ technology to automatically adjust the dose when you change the grind. Grind beans directly into your espresso machine's portafilter or coffeemaker's filter basket; or into a removable storage container fitted with an airtight lid. Durable die-cast stainless-steel grinder is easy to use. Removable bean hopper with airtight lid preserves the freshness of the beans. Includes cleaning brush and 5-oz. storage container for grinds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
16 of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Niceville
,FL
November 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Grind.
November 24, 2015
I got this model January 2013. I owned another model Breville previously to this unit but that grinder only lasted about 14 months before being unusable. This model has run like a champ everyday for the past years (going on three in January 2016). It does require a cleaning after several months of use. I don't have a schedule but know once the grinder binds that a cleaning is due. I found it best to use my air compressor and blow the unit it out with compressed air. I didn't do this with the first model and it was a chore just trying to clean. I feel that cleaning the unit with compressed air has made it run efficient all these years with no problems. I use fresh roasted beans so there is more residue than a drier bean. Just be aware that using the compressed air will blow a lot of grounds all over the place so best to do this outside. Your grinder will be completely cleaned and useable once again. The cleaning interval is close to 6 months so it hasn't been an overwhelming chore.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 2 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vancouver
,BC
September 20, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Espresso Grinder, When Used As Intended
September 20, 2015
The comment by MrEars, titled "Breville Smart Grinder maintenance" is spot on.
Like many disappointed users, I insisted on using dark, shiny coffee beans in the grinder, which munged up the passageways with hard clumps of compressed coffee. I'd clean the machine, poking out the caked deposits with an awl, then put the same beans back in. In no time the problem returned.
I poked out all the caked coffee again. After giving the machine a thorough cleaning, I used MrEars' trick of running a few tablespoons of rice through the grinder until there was a consistent flow of uniformly ground rice.
I purchased premium Italian espresso beans (Illy) designed specifically for espresso grinders and machines. We live in a very wet climate, so I keep the beans in the Illy can until I'm ready to grind them, rather than allowing them to soak up humidity in the hopper.
The grinder is awesome, and now produces reliable doses and consistent espresso results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
colewiebe
Vancouver, Canada
Posted October 27, 2015
Discregard my previous comment
I have since read that, while rice will help clear the clogged Smart Grinder Pro, it will also quickly dull the burrs, as rice is considerably harder than coffee beans. Instead, Grindz tablets were recommended, because these are of the same hardness as roasted coffee beans.
As before, de-clogging begins with an awl, to poke out some of the hard deposits around the lower burr. I then run the Gindz tablets to clear some of the caked deposits. Once small openings exist, I can usually get the provided burr brush in there to dislodge chunks of compressed coffee. I then run Grindz through again.
I'm afraid I'm sick of the ongoing clogging issues with the Breville Smart Grinder Pro. A grinder that costs over $300 should actually grind coffee. I am only able to use medium roast premium beans, and really don't like the taste. In North America many of the better "espresso" roasts are medium-dark. Those beans will clog the Smart Grinder within only a few cycles.
To grind medium-dark beans I've been advised to toss the Smart Grinder and update to a Baratza Preciso.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
January 27, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Stopped operating properly
January 27, 2015
This grinder worked great for 8 months. Then hubby accidentally left the top closed in container on the bottom, and the grinder jammed as it was grinding. We emptied out all the beans and cleaned it as directed. It kind of worked again but had a clunkier sound. It jams all the time and we have to go through the same routine each time to get it working. More work than it is worth. We will be getting a new grinder soon and not this one.
I noticed that many other who have reviewed the product commented on the same jamming problem.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 4 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Prattville
,AL
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Pleased with the grinder
January 1, 2015
I have had this grinder for about a year and have had zero problems. I suppose that any mechanical machine can have the issues that have been posted in these reviews, but mine has been fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 5 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
September 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Sadly This is Expensive Junk
September 24, 2014
Sorry to say, this lasted for only a few weeks before it jammed, and after the first jam, it jammed every time it was used. My household became VERY ANGRY because every time we wanted coffee, we had to play around with it and then give up and use another grinder. Too expensive for this kind of performance.
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance, breaks all the time
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MrEars
Phoenix, AZ
Posted August 8, 2015
Breville Smart Grinder maintenance
I read several reviews trashing this grinder and I understand completely. So this is for all complainers. I too, had problems with jamming, but only after 2 - 3 years of trouble free use. For those that still have this machine, here are three things that will make a difference to this otherwise excellent grinder.
1. They don't mention this in the user manual but oilier coffee beans, those roasted longer for "dark" roast will clog a burr grinder faster than medium to light roast. You'll notice a shininess to oily beans. This is a precision tool that requires a little maintenance and understanding.
2. Once you have thoroughly cleaned this grinder, and it takes a little effort, run a couple of tablespoons of uncooked rice through it. The rice will force out any remaining grounds you've missed.., then do this once a month and you'll have no more trouble. I love mine.
3. if you pre-measure the exact amount of beans you will grind and use it ALL, your coffee will be more consistent. I set it to run 1 cup past what I need to make sure I'm grinding it all. Grounds left in the machine by incomplete operation will go stale. Works like a charm.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Geneva
,IL
September 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Piece of junk, sadly
September 19, 2014
Worked great for a few weeks, and I loved tinkering with the different settings. Now all is does is get jammed, and even after cleaning (which is a challenge & messy) I don't get the correct amount of coffee grinds. Have been fighting this for the last month. Most every morning I rip the grinder apart and end up guessing how much coffee grinds will be needed. Sadly this is a piece of junk.
Pros: Power, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 7 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Houston
,Tx
August 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Piece of junk
August 22, 2014
The grinder worked without incident for about a week and then it started. The machine is extremely temperamental and we have yet to grind enough coffee for six cups without the grinder jamming. After a 30 minute attempt to grind coffee for tomorrow, we are throwing in the towel and will be returning this product. What a disappointment as we have not had any problems with our Breville products in the past.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Cambridge
,MA
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Great, until it breaks
July 29, 2014
I bought this for my husband 16 months ago. It looks great and is very nice quality. However, it has already broken and been replaced once - something about a stone in the coffee jamming the grinder - and now it has broken again. My husband uses different brands of coffee, and he has tried inspecting the beans as he refills it to make sure there are no stones, but that is a nuisance job made harder because the oils coat the stones and make them look like beans. Also, it started out loud and got louder as time went on. So, we are saying uncle on this. He pulled out the ancient, faithful Krups blade grinder and we'll stick with that for now. Very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 9 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Grinder
February 15, 2014
My husband and I love this grinder. I tried to find a coffeemaker/grinder combo but after reading review after review I couldn't make myself go that route. This is the perfect solution. It took us a few days to get out grind dialed in but not long and it's been prefect for us.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 10 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pasadena
,CA
November 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Morning routine
November 13, 2013
This grinder is great! Adjustable grinder from French press to espresso grind. At times a bean has gotten stuck and makes a high pitched sound but with a gentle tap the bean passes. It is part of my morning routine and we love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power
Cons: Loud, Size
Review 11 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Cleveland
,Oh
September 1, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
How did I live without this for so long
September 1, 2013
My fiancé and I received this from our wedding registry and it is by far one of our favorite gifts. It makes making French press a breeze! And it is short enough to fit under the kitchen cabinets on the counter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Review 12 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chandler
,AZ
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Staying On the Morning Grind
July 27, 2013
I have owned the product for several weeks now and I must say that I am very impressed so far. I am still trying to find the "perfect" setting, but I know that I will. The grinder is coupled with the Technivorm Mochamaster and in my opinion, they are a great match for any kitchen.
Prior to the grinder I was using the Illy pre-ground coffee. Now I am using the Whole Bean Dark Roast and grinding every morning. What a difference between the two approaches! Features such as automatic shut-off timer, high flexibility in settings, and easy cleaning/assembly led me to rate this 5-stars.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 13 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Not anti-static
June 22, 2013
It grids way too fine even on the coarse setting(s).
No way would it do coffee for french press.
And from the settings I tried, the espresso setting would be so fine you would have talcum powder.
On the middle setting it did not produce much static.
By the time I found the setting I wanted it was static city.
Coffee grounds in a ring around the jar lid.
Stuck all over the inside of the jar.
Tap the jar on the counter and have a 1/4" layer on the bottom that will not pour out.
Returned for refund.
Pros: Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 14 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
A Great Grinder...with tiny caveat
February 26, 2013
I've had this item for two months now, and couldn't be happier with it. It's easy, reliable, and clean. I grind my coffee directly into my Melitta 2-cup paper filter: perfectly ground coffee and mess-free. Every once in awhile I have to rock it from side to side to keep beans flowing into the grinder, so it is a wee bit temperamental. Not a big problem tho.
One thing to know, however, is that the hopper does not hold a pound of beans. It holds about 3/4 of a pound. Small annoyance but not really a reason to pass up this grinder.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 15 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,rockwall
,tx
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great grinder
January 17, 2013
This grinder is wonderful. It is very easy to use and easy to clean. I have had other grinders and they do not last, this one will. It is very durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 16 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chetek
,WI
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Great grinder
January 10, 2013
I use this to grind coffee for my Keurig. It works perfect. Once you get the settings dialed into suit your taste all you have to do is hold the my K-cup filter under the grinder and push the start button. Same great taste every time!
Pros: easy to operate, consistant
Review 17 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Media
,PA
media, pa
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
really is magic.....
December 18, 2012
...I had a Capresso burr grinder and wondered if this really could be better. Quieter....and I love that I can put my filter right under the spout so there is no coffee dust around.
I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Quiet, Design, no dust
Review 18 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Asheville
,NC
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Worked well for a few months, and then...
November 25, 2012
This was great when I first purchased it. As promised, it produced no coffee dust and it worked perfectly.
After a few months however, it would easily get clogged or not get enough beans to the burrs and it produced profuse amounts of coffee dust.
I am replacing it with a Kitchen Aid Pro Grinder, and I don't recommend it.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, produces lots of coffee dust
Review 19 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
frequently clogs
August 31, 2012
When the Breville conical grinder works, it is great. I find that it frequently clogs, however, and by frequently I mean about every fifth or sixth time I use it. Unclogging requires taking pieces apart, which usually results in ground and partially ground coffee all over my kitchen counter. Not only would I not recommend this, I'm thinking of burying mine at the back of a cabinet because I find it so annoying - sad commentary for something so expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 20 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Laguna Beach
,CA
July 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Consistently great coffee
July 11, 2012
The consistency and ease of programming make this instrument a joy to use. Pairs perfectly with our Technivorm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design, great ergonomics
page1 2 next