Breville Smart Coffee Grinder

Breville brings its legendary innovation to this high-performance machine. Choose to manually select your preferred grind or use the Grind IQ feature that automatically produces the perfect amount of ground coffee based on your selected grind size and desired number of shots or cups. Stainless-steel conical burrs create a consistently uniform grind and generate minimal heat, preserving the coffee's delicate essential oils. Choose from 25 different grinds, from superfine for espresso to extra-coarse for French press brewing. Dosing system uses Grind IQ technology to automatically adjust the dose when you change the grind. Grind beans directly into your espresso machine's portafilter or coffeemaker's filter basket; or into a removable storage container fitted with an airtight lid. Durable die-cast stainless-steel grinder is easy to use. Removable bean hopper with airtight lid preserves the freshness of the beans. Includes cleaning brush and 5-oz. storage container for grinds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Juliachildsworshipper
,Houston
,Tx
August 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Piece of junk
August 22, 2014
The grinder worked without incident for about a week and then it started. The machine is extremely temperamental and we have yet to grind enough coffee for six cups without the grinder jamming. After a 30 minute attempt to grind coffee for tomorrow, we are throwing in the towel and will be returning this product. What a disappointment as we have not had any problems with our Breville products in the past.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DeborahLouise
,Cambridge
,MA
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, until it breaks
July 29, 2014
I bought this for my husband 16 months ago. It looks great and is very nice quality. However, it has already broken and been replaced once - something about a stone in the coffee jamming the grinder - and now it has broken again. My husband uses different brands of coffee, and he has tried inspecting the beans as he refills it to make sure there are no stones, but that is a nuisance job made harder because the oils coat the stones and make them look like beans. Also, it started out loud and got louder as time went on. So, we are saying uncle on this. He pulled out the ancient, faithful Krups blade grinder and we'll stick with that for now. Very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 3 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iambmj
,San Diego
,CA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grinder
February 15, 2014
My husband and I love this grinder. I tried to find a coffeemaker/grinder combo but after reading review after review I couldn't make myself go that route. This is the perfect solution. It took us a few days to get out grind dialed in but not long and it's been prefect for us.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 4 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuMar
,Pasadena
,CA
November 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Morning routine
November 13, 2013
This grinder is great! Adjustable grinder from French press to espresso grind. At times a bean has gotten stuck and makes a high pitched sound but with a gentle tap the bean passes. It is part of my morning routine and we love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power
Cons: Loud, Size
Review 5 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,Oh
September 1, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I live without this for so long
September 1, 2013
My fiancé and I received this from our wedding registry and it is by far one of our favorite gifts. It makes making French press a breeze! And it is short enough to fit under the kitchen cabinets on the counter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShoTzii
,Chandler
,AZ
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staying On the Morning Grind
July 27, 2013
I have owned the product for several weeks now and I must say that I am very impressed so far. I am still trying to find the "perfect" setting, but I know that I will. The grinder is coupled with the Technivorm Mochamaster and in my opinion, they are a great match for any kitchen.
Prior to the grinder I was using the Illy pre-ground coffee. Now I am using the Whole Bean Dark Roast and grinding every morning. What a difference between the two approaches! Features such as automatic shut-off timer, high flexibility in settings, and easy cleaning/assembly led me to rate this 5-stars.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 7 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WhoMe
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not anti-static
June 22, 2013
It grids way too fine even on the coarse setting(s).
No way would it do coffee for french press.
And from the settings I tried, the espresso setting would be so fine you would have talcum powder.
On the middle setting it did not produce much static.
By the time I found the setting I wanted it was static city.
Coffee grounds in a ring around the jar lid.
Stuck all over the inside of the jar.
Tap the jar on the counter and have a 1/4" layer on the bottom that will not pour out.
Returned for refund.
Pros: Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
professoriat
,CA
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Grinder...with tiny caveat
February 26, 2013
I've had this item for two months now, and couldn't be happier with it. It's easy, reliable, and clean. I grind my coffee directly into my Melitta 2-cup paper filter: perfectly ground coffee and mess-free. Every once in awhile I have to rock it from side to side to keep beans flowing into the grinder, so it is a wee bit temperamental. Not a big problem tho.
One thing to know, however, is that the hopper does not hold a pound of beans. It holds about 3/4 of a pound. Small annoyance but not really a reason to pass up this grinder.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 9 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nancyrh
,rockwall
,tx
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinder
January 17, 2013
This grinder is wonderful. It is very easy to use and easy to clean. I have had other grinders and they do not last, this one will. It is very durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 10 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfm1042
,Chetek
,WI
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinder
January 10, 2013
I use this to grind coffee for my Keurig. It works perfect. Once you get the settings dialed into suit your taste all you have to do is hold the my K-cup filter under the grinder and push the start button. Same great taste every time!
Pros: easy to operate, consistant
Review 11 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zekiesmom
,Media
,PA
media, pa
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really is magic.....
December 18, 2012
...I had a Capresso burr grinder and wondered if this really could be better. Quieter....and I love that I can put my filter right under the spout so there is no coffee dust around.
I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Quiet, Design, no dust
Review 12 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
garysanta
,Asheville
,NC
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked well for a few months, and then...
November 25, 2012
This was great when I first purchased it. As promised, it produced no coffee dust and it worked perfectly.
After a few months however, it would easily get clogged or not get enough beans to the burrs and it produced profuse amounts of coffee dust.
I am replacing it with a Kitchen Aid Pro Grinder, and I don't recommend it.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, produces lots of coffee dust
Review 13 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mjboncenralcoast
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
frequently clogs
August 31, 2012
When the Breville conical grinder works, it is great. I find that it frequently clogs, however, and by frequently I mean about every fifth or sixth time I use it. Unclogging requires taking pieces apart, which usually results in ground and partially ground coffee all over my kitchen counter. Not only would I not recommend this, I'm thinking of burying mine at the back of a cabinet because I find it so annoying - sad commentary for something so expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 14 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
relaxeddoc
,Laguna Beach
,CA
July 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consistently great coffee
July 11, 2012
The consistency and ease of programming make this instrument a joy to use. Pairs perfectly with our Technivorm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design, great ergonomics
Review 15 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JACk1026
,Chicago
,IL
May 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE my new grinder
May 23, 2012
This is my 3rd Burr Grinder. My last one was the Virtuoso. Although, it was an improvement over Capresso, i found it difficult to clean, the knob/lever on the side popped off periodically from the vibration and it didn't seem to be able to consistently grind a fine enough grind for my Hario dripper. Anyway, since the purchase of my SmartGrinder, I have had the best tasting cups of coffee at home in the last couple of years...from the same coffee beans that last week was just okay.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, seems quieter than virtuoso
Cons: none yet
Review 16 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessieCA
,Los Angeles
,CA
May 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made a big difference.
May 20, 2012
I purchased the smart grinder to replace a pretty decent Kitchenaid Proline grinder that I didn't think was giving me the best grind and the grind seemed inconsistent. The Breville double-boiler machine made a great and occasionally REALLY great cup but not often enough.
After a friends recommendation and reading all the 5 start reviews here, I picked up the smart grinder and filled it with what remained of a bag of freshly roasted beans from a local organic chain market. Previous attempts proved these beans were somewhat mediocre.
I ground a couple test espressos to get the grind and volume right, noticing that the Breville grinder produced a MUCH more consistent and finer grind. Then I brewed a 2 shot pull and.. WOW.. rich dark chocolate flavors with a hint of sweet caramel.. Easily the 2nd or 3rd best tasting cup I've had in 3 months of using the espresso machine. THIS grinder made THAT much of a difference over a $150 flat-plate burr grinder. Really.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TokieGrl
,Los Gatos
,CA
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I finally found the perfect grinder
March 9, 2012
I have had 3 different coffee grinders in the last 10 years. All were in the $150+ price range. This is by far the best. You can easily grind just the amount of coffee you need, you have many options on grind for various types of coffee makers and best of all, this grinder requires very little cleanup after using. Everything from the dials, bright and large display to the coffee container are user friendly and practical. This grinder does not take up much space on the kitchen counter and looks great next to my coffee maker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 18 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kathce
,Detroit
,MI
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
3of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no extra-course grind
February 3, 2012
I have a love/hate relationship with this grinder. I like it for most of the reasons given in other reviews. I hate it because I need extra-course coffee for my coffee pot. The grind which is the most course is basically for a drip coffee maker. I am not familiar with a French press, but if you don’t have a paper filter, you will have sludge in your coffee. I am replacing a grinder that lasted 13 months. Part of me hopes that this one lasts a long time because it was expensive and part of me hopes that it dies an early death so I can have course-ground coffee again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean
Cons: no course grind
Review 19 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brooks57
,Los Altos
,Ca
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product, great service too!
January 2, 2012
I bought this last October to go with the Dual Boiler Espresso Maker. Both are great. The grinder really adds to the freshness of each cup brewed.
I had a problem with the 2 shot selection in the espresso mode. When using the port filter it wouldn't stop grinding. Matt Sutton in support was awesome. Breville stands behind its products. We have toaster, juicer and frother and love them all! Bravo.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly