Breville Smart Grill & Griddle

From Australia-based Breville comes an innovative and versatile countertop grill and griddle. Use it three ways: as an open grill, a flat griddle or a panini press/contact grill. Versatile three-in-one machine converts from an open grill/griddle to a closed contact grill. Nonstick cast-aluminum grates with embedded heating elements heat quickly and evenly, and easily sustain high temperatures. Smart Element IQ(TM) automatically reacts to rapid temperature drops by injecting additional heat into the plates. Titanium-infused nonstick finish offers superior scratch-resistance and easy cleanup; the removable plates are dishwasher-safe. Height-adjustable top plate accommodates foods of various thicknesses.Temperature settings from 320deg.F to 450deg.F.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
Review 1 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annierhl
,Taiwan
May 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very good & useful kitchen equipment
May 26, 2014
Williams-Sonoma is one of my dream shop, I will definitely go there for shopping again when I visit USA in the future some day.
I just bought it from Williams-Sonoma in Hawaii in the middle of May. I am very happy and can't wait to try it when I came back my home in Taiwan. It's very good & useful, especially it's very easy to clean. I love it~~~:)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 2 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andre2
,Saint Louis
,MO
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great addition to my kitchen
March 2, 2014
I use this about once a month or so, when friends come over, and it couldn't be easier to use. I particularly like it for making bacon, as it makes an often too messy job, into a non job. The pull out tray catches all of the grease, and it and each of the trays are easily removable for cleaning. Just for that, alone, it is worth the price.
It heats fast, and evenly by my assessment, and is one of my favorite tools for cooking. I'm so glad I bought it. I bought the extra grills, thinking I would use them, but so far, I am sorry to say, I haven't had to. Maybe some day!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile
Review 3 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuisinephile
,Miami
,Fl
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gift Ever
December 11, 2013
I've had this grill for two years and I just love it! I use it every day- professional quality!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BabsM
,Jackson
,WY
October 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite appliances
October 7, 2013
Fast and easy Panini recipes and sooo much more. I grill veggies on this as well.
Love this pproduct
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gadgetjunky
,Oshkosh
,WI
September 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Luv My New Griddle
September 29, 2013
The Breville Smart Grill is very high quality. First off I want to say, I read a review prior to purchasing this about juice running out of the tray, which has never happened to me thus far. It has a nifty pull out tray that catches grease, etc and it so far has worked great (no messes). In fact the reason why I love this machine is that it is so incredibly easy to clean. Read the factory instructions and you should have no problems. I can only imagine that if you over stuff a paninni, you may have excess liquid, just use common sense. I recommend getting the extra plates also (previous review), that way you can create perfect pannini's or you can use both sides to grill flat. The plates click out very easy (I hand wash). I am extremely happy with this purchase. I will attest, it is larger than most grills, but it's worth it for the quality of the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Size
Review 6 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ivygirl
August 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love this grill
August 31, 2013
it grills like an outdoor grill... one of my favorite!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1234
,decatur
,tx
TEXAS
February 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Grill
February 23, 2013
I was so excited to get my new Breville grill, but I was a little disappointed. It leaks at the back just like my old one. I was told it would not. It does not heat even on the back left section . I like the size and mostly the heating element being enclosed. It is easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Cons: heats unevenly
Review 8 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squig
,Nova Scotia, Canada
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new best kitchen appliance
January 27, 2013
I love this grill. I have used it for steak, chicken breasts, paninis and pancakes.
I purchased the extra plates which in my opinion are a necessity.
The temperature versatility is great.
It is a little on the pricy side, but oh so worth the money. This will be a great investment to my kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ciredrallop
,Boise
,ID
September 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convenient and Versatile
September 29, 2012
We've been using this grill constantly for sandwiches, hamburgers, chicken, fish, eggs, so on. It is very easy to cleanup and warms up quickly. About 3 minutes for the panini press temperature and about 7 minutes for the max 450 degrees. The temperature seems to stay as consistent as any grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 10 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kangofumarsha
,BrooklynincludedB
,Ny
Brooklyn, NY
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Smart Grill and Griddle
July 30, 2012
Wow!!!!!! What an amazing piece of equipment! Good riddance George Foreman grill, welcome wonderful Breville grill! It has opened a whole new world of meals for me. I used the Panini for heating up heroes from the local store. Holy cow. I couldn't believe the difference. The outside of the sandwich was crispy and the inside was warm and moist. Extraordinary. Chicken, burgers, hotdogs; all perfectly cooked and clean up is a snap. I do think at the extra set of plates should be included for the price, however. A great addition to my kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store, extra plates not included
Review 11 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belhurst
,Louisville
,KY
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This changed the way we cook!!!
July 19, 2012
I asked for this grill for Mother's Day, and I think my husband and I use it 5 out of 7 days a week to prepare family meals! I love not having to use non-stick cooking spray, and how simple it is to clean! It cooks everything perfectly; from meats to vegetables! I have never reviewed anything on line.....until now. Love and highly recommend this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
riverbend
,Dayton
,OH
Dayton, OH
July 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
terrific griddle/grill
July 2, 2012
This is perfect for pancakes or fried potatoes, and many other uses. I am very happy with this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 13 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MontanaSue
,Cascade
,MT
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is an AWESOME grill
June 10, 2012
I have been using the older panini press for years - I love it. Saw this and was kind of set back on the price, but, got it anyway. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! Clean up is a snap - nothing sticks to it. Love the fact that the grills are removeable for cleaning. I cook steak in 6-10 minutes depending on thickness, pork chops, chicken, burgers, sausage, bacon, french toast, hash browns and of course sandwiches! I cook all with the press feature, not the open design option. Everything comes out wonderful! Such a time saver with no mess. I plan on purchasing the extra plates so I can use the ribbed one for meats and the smooth plates for everything else. Bravo to Breville on this "smart grill"
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Review 14 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amylph
,London
,OH
June 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Panini Perfection
June 8, 2012
I love all of our Breville appliances.
My husband, who "never cooks" aside from Sunday brunch, now looks forward to our just-the-two-of-us panini parties. We pull a few veggies and leftovers out of the fridge, and, Ecco! Before you know it, we have healthy crunchy hand-held masterpieces. Now he wants to do panini in place of our traditional "Fathers' Day Salad".
And then the grills pop into the dishwasher and with a quick wipe, we're done.
Also of note, for those who commented that the upper grill does not adjust to accommodate thicker food, that is incorrect. The top grill pivots on its outside frame/handle to come parallel to the bottom grid, with the height adjustable from several inches to pretty much smoosh-anything. Also, you can tilt the bottom deck if you wish, to aid in fat runoff.
The only downside is its bulkiness.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 15 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stickmaker
,Pahoa
,HI
Big Island, Hawaii
May 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pitch your BarBeQue
May 14, 2012
WOW!!
I am very particular and not easily pleased. This is a fantastic machine. It definitely worth the price for the even cooking and such easy cleanup.
I made duck fillets last night, they were seared beautifully and the skin very crispy. 6 min cooking time... Yes Yes Yes
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 16 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GrammaN
,Bozeman
,MT
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Somewhat disappointed
April 25, 2012
I got this to replace a smaller one that was hard to clean. The removable plates are great but I was disappointed only one side was ridged. It don't plan on using it open as a griddle so this was a disadvantage. It is quite big and heavy and takes up a lot of space on the counter when in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 17 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jecca
Dallas, TX
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Smart Grill & Griddle Indeed!
April 22, 2012
I have owned this product for 2 years and I still love it as much as the day I bought it!
-Everything cooks very quickly
-There is a lot of surface space when used as an open grill
-The adjustable height is great, so my sandwiches do not get squished
-The plates heat up and cool down quickly
-The extra plates are a bit pricey but worth it because it only makes the product more versatile
-Cleanup is fast and easy; everything scrubs off with little effort
Two small changes I wish Breville could make: 1) The cord is a little less than 3 feet long, so you need to be close to an outlet. 2) I wish I could adjust the temperature individually for each plate.
Nonetheless, this grill & griddle is an excellent product and deserves more than 5 starts!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: short cord
Review 18 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tarkio
,Boston
,MA
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why did I wait so long?
March 11, 2012
I love grilling healthy food but my George Foreman grill just didn't have the wattage or heating element design to sear fish and meat properly. The fact that the Breville has the intelligent heating elements in the heating plate, right next to the food, is not a gimmick. it allows the grill, which is a powerful 1800 watts, to achieve commercial grill temperatures searing meats and fish like in a fine restaurant.
I love the adjustable height top grill that lets you have more control over the pressure on the food without squashing delicate foods.
I took everyone's advice and bought the extra grill plates. W-S seems to be the only store that sells the additional griddle and grill plates as a set of 2 for only $89, and if you buy them in the store they'll have it delivered to your home for free (they don't stock the plates). Unfortunately, this grill is so popular I won't get the additional plates until May.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frankelliott
,San Diego
,Ca
San Diego, CA
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-14points
6of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad mechanical design, good heating element
February 27, 2012
Unlike most panini grills, Breville grills aren't designed with a floating hinge. This means the gap between the plates at the back of the grill doesn't expand to fit the food. This causes the machine to press the food unevenly. Breville, shop your competition the next time you decide to design a grill.
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size, horrible design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mvlsi
Southern NH
Posted July 24, 2012
The hinge is floating
I just purchased the Breville BGR820XL and the hinge is floating just like the Cuisinart Griddlers.
0points
Customer avatar
Amylph
London, OH
Posted June 8, 2012
There's an additional pivot on the lid
The top and bottom grill surfaces can be brought parallel with each other by pivoting the top grill forward in its frame (which hinges at the rear, as per the review). The food presses evenly with all the innards staying put, and also cooks evenly. The closure of the rear hinge has stops that only determine the minimum distance between the plates.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Breville Smart Grill & Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ejvcrna
,Florence
,SC
February 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Panini
February 9, 2012
One of the absolute best kitchen appliance
I've purchased. Absolutely quiet, fast, easy to use. EASY to clean . A "must" buy if you enjoy Panini's. I also purchased the optional Grill-Griddle set. Makes perfect "over easy" eggs without having to turn the eggs over. It's well worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
page1 2 next