Breville Smart Fryer

Breville knows that not all deep-fried foods are created equal-so they've created the first deep fryer with technology that adjusts the time and temperature to suit what you're cooking, from crispy, golden fries and wings to decadent donuts. Choose from seven preset functions (including a special "twice-fried" setting)-and this smart appliance will deliver the right temperature at just the right time. The Smart Fryer(TM) intuitively adjusts cooking time and temperature to ensure perfect results-no matter what you're cooking. Illuminated LCD control panel automatically indicates time, temperature, plus preset cooking functions for your favorite dishes. For specialized cooking, the fryer has preprogrammed settings for French fries, chicken wings, fish, calamari and donuts. Twice-fried function ensures ultra-crisp, restaurant-quality French fries, making adjustments for fresh or frozen potatoes. Use the Fresh/Frozen setting to automatically change time or temperature based on your selected cooking mode. A custom setting allows you to program your favorite dish. Large viewing window lets you monitor cooking without lifting the fry basket. Electronic thermostat helps oil rapidly come back to desired frying temperature between batches. CoolZone Technology allows food debris to fall into cooler oil, preventing burning and extending the life of your cooking oil. A mesh filter minimizes cooking odors. Durable stainless-steel construction helps ensure years of efficient service.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
1 of 4(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Fryer
Review 1 for Breville Smart Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Plano
,TX
March 29, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Deep Fryer
March 29, 2016
I really enjoyed it the first 3-6 months I had it. Only fried foods maybe once a month, then "surprise!" The heating element died!! I'm extremely upset that it just STOP WORKING! What a waste of money!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design, Time-saver
Cons: Power, sudden death
Review 2 for Breville Smart Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Ashburn
,VA
February 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke During First Use
February 17, 2016
We purchased this fryer in November 2015, but did not try to use it for the first time until Feb 2016. We followed the directions, used the right amount of oil, and turned it on. After about 5-8 minutes of heating up, the fryer tripped the GFCI on the outlet. We unplugged the unit, re-set the GFCI, and plugged it back in. The display panel turned on, but the heating element no longer worked. The oil temperature dropped over the next several minutes. There were no additional instructions on actions to take if the heating element stops working. Unable to return the unit because we didn't keep the shipping material/info. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
Cons: doesn't work
Review 3 for Breville Smart Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Minot
,ND
November 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Average Fryer/Premium Price (Broke After One Year)
November 30, 2015
I have 6 other Breville items. All have either met or exceeded expectations. I thought I couldn't go wrong buying the Smart Fryer BDF500XL.
I purchased this fryer from the WS website on Nov 12, 2014. It took about a week to get to me.
I've used it 1-4 times a month for the past year. It was always just an average fryer. It didn't cook any better/worse than the other fryers I've owned. On Nov 13, 2015, it just stopped working. I contacted WS, who told me they will not warranty it because of its age.
I really wanted to like this fryer... and I wanted to trust in WS to take into account that even though I purchased this item 366 days before it broke, that they'd still warranty it since it's only been about 358 days since I've actually had it (considering shipping).
Overall, this fryer isn't worth the cost. $40-60 fryers do the same job, and have lasted so much longer. This fryer, when working, performed average. And now that it's broken after only one year of use, is just terrible.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Size
Cons: Quality, Unreliable, only lasts one year
Review 4 for Breville Smart Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dracut
,MA
July 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Fryer
July 29, 2015
This is a great appliance ~ we have already made fried chicken, fried mushrooms and regular and sweet potato fries. I would suggest buying a french fry cutter as well. Super product. I bought 2 - one for us and one for a bridal shower gift. The recipient was very happy to have received this item from her registry! Very easy to use!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly