Breville Smart Convection Oven

Breville's expert designers have streamlined life in the kitchen by creating the world's best countertop oven. Simply select the desired function, and an internal sensor automatically calculates the time required for perfect results.Compact size saves counter space.Heat setting range from 120deg.F to 450deg.F.Nine functions include toast, bagel, bake, roast, broil, pizza, cookies, reheat and warm."Smart" internal-sensor technology automatically adjusts power and calculates cooking time.Easy-to-read digital display.Two-hour timer with auto shut off.Optional convection fan cooks foods up to 30% faster.Nonstick baking chamber.Magnetic baking rack slides out when door is opened.Includes baking and broiling trays, plus a pizza pan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
107 of 122(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Convection Oven
Review 1 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
naws
,Iowa City
,IA
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So convenient
July 15, 2014
Fits great in our kitchen. It's nice not having to turn on the big oven just to cook something for the two of us. Plus, its so nice that the top part of the oven is a warmer for food. I'm excited to host our next dinner party because we'll have this handy item to cook the side dishes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clairekop
,Harmony
,Pa
June 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quit working after only 20 uses
June 23, 2014
Something is wrong with the electronics and when you turn the dial it gets stuck on say, broil, and will not move from it unless you keep monkeying around with it. Very disappointing considering the cost and the reviews. Will never buy a Breville again. Just bought a Dualit toaster.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 3 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bearcook
,Bear
,DE
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE this oven!
June 18, 2014
I've had mine for several years now and have never had any complaints at all. The only time I use my regular oven now is if I'm cooking something like a full size turkey. Otherwise, I cook EVERYTHING in my Breville. I can even bake in the summer without worrying about heating up the house like would happen with the regular oven. I bought one for my mother last year and she loves it too. And I just convinced my sister to order one. I wholeheartedly recommend this!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, doesn't heat the entire house like a regular oven
Review 4 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IzzyPrincess
,Cleveland
,OH
Cleveland,OH
June 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2 years and still love it!
June 18, 2014
Surprised at some of the negative reviews. I have had this oven now going on over two years and I simply love it. I have made appetizers, pizza, cookies, rolls, reheated items and everything has turned out amazing. So easy to use, fast, does not heat up my kitchen during the hot summer days. Super easy to clean and even purchased the bamboo cutting board that looks gorgeous on top of my oven. I also purchased baking pans that fit into my oven along with a Silpat toaster oven sheet pad liner. I also find myself using this extra oven more during the holidays. Love it and so worth the money. Oh and makes great toast and bagels.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
+28points
29of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it!
June 6, 2014
A couple of my friends and I chipped in to buy the Breville Smart Convection Oven for another friend that just bought her first home. She absolutely loved it when she first got it! Barely 8 months later and the honeymoon phase ended and now she hates it. It has died on her and she's come across nothing but trouble trying to get it replaced or repaired. It is way past the refund time period with Williams-Sonoma and Breville just keeps dismissing her. My other friends and I feel terrible for giving a gift that has caused nothing but grief to our close friend! Not to mention it was a waste of our money!
At such a high price you'd expect an appliance from a big kitchen appliance brand to last 5-10 years, at least. Not even lasting 1 year is unacceptable.
Pros: Time-saver, Power, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, doesn't last long, overpriced
Review 6 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far so good
March 4, 2014
Purchased in December 2012 and still works like the first day, used almost everyday. Besides making perfect toast, this oven shines during the holidays when the main oven is occupied by a big bird. A quarter sheet fits nicely. I've toasted pecans, roasted vegetables, baked cookies, pies, & croissants, reheated quiche, etc. it preheats much faster than the full size oven. It cooks evenly unlike most toaster ovens available in the market. The body of the oven gets very hot so be careful. I placed an old, retired wooden cutting board on top to prevent unnecessary burns :)
I have a small complain though - in "bake" mode, once the oven is preheated to the desired temperature, the timer starts counting down right away. If I am standing right by the oven, it is not an issue. But if I can't get to the oven right away, the timer has to be reset to the full cooking time - just a small complain. All in all, this is very useful tool for small kitchen and small family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Design
Review 7 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hawaii50
,Brooklyn
,NY
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+22points
22of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HORRIBLY DISAPPOINTED
February 22, 2014
I had this unit just about one year and it went dead.This is a pricey unit...should have lasted much longer...I wanted. to upgrade..had better use from less expensive units. Took it to a well-known authorized repair place,had the "mother-board" replaced from the company...and STILL didn't work. The place sent it back to Breville...and I'm still waiting. I've been without a toaster/oven since LAST OCTOBER!!!!!!Never buy this brand again.I am now looking for a replacement and a different, more reliable company.
Cons: very short life span
Review 8 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebiDo
,Neptune Beach
,FL
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More Than A Toaster Oven
February 10, 2014
If dynamite comes in small packages then the Breville Smart Convection Oven is the proof!! I have had this mighty little oven for close to 5 years and I would be lost without it. There isn't anything it can not do except prep & serve the food for you! I have used it for everything from toast to turkey (actually chicken) & made my green bean casserole in it for Christmas this year. It even broils better than my oven & doesn't heat up the whole kitchen. Plus it is a breeze to clean. I would buy one for all my friends if I won the lottery!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, looks great, accurate tempurature
Cons: doesn't cut & serve the meal, doesnt clean the house while i'm at work
Review 9 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LadyHawk
,Phoenix
,AZ
Issaquah, WA
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+28points
31of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY
February 4, 2014
I bought this as a gift and it broke at the one year mark. Neither Williams Sonoma nor Breville were willing to replace this. For the price I paid, this turned out to be a piece of junk. An item like this should last FAR longer than one year.
Cons: broke in one year under normal usage, not covered by warrrenty
Review 10 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
irishmom17
Scotrun, PA
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Multitasking Oven
December 29, 2013
I have this for over a year now. This unit gets used every day, from morning to night. It's great, but like any appliance, you have to get to know it's capabilities and work with them. I've had no issues and think its wonderful. It can get hot to the touch, but it's an oven, that can toast things, it's not a regular toaster. I got the cutting board to put on top to help with the hot surface. The pans that come with it help with it's versatility. Don't know how anyone could complain.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
irishmom17
Scotrun, PA
Posted January 5, 2014
Chop & Steak Broiling
Wish I could help, I have a commercial range with a broiler in it, so I don't use the SMO for broiling.
0points
Customer avatar
PhillyBill
Andalusia,Pa..Border of Philly-Lower Bucks County
Posted January 4, 2014
Broil
Have you ever broiled a thick steak or chop and if so about how long did it take and how did it turn out ?
Thank You
Bill
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MarcoAndres1
,West Hollywood
,CA
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
22of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A convection oven for home not commercial use
December 11, 2013
Unlike the Breville juicer we bought, this machine is not very well designed. It has far too many options. It can't do all these things very well. In fact, we tried making brownies - we were under baked after 25 minutes.
The knobs are very cheaply designed and do not have a very good feel - more like a toy than a serious appliance.
If you want to do serious baking, I strongly suggest buying a commercial convection oven with the broiler feature. This machine is cheap! The convection fan is on the right side instead of being in the rear which is standard in all conventional convection ovens.
In all aspects it resembles an "easy bake" oven.
If they were really serious about ovens they put two features: convection oven and broil and that's it. Anything else is information overload. We returned it to the store.
Cons: Quality, Power, Fragile, Size, badly designed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rudman
Pennsylvania
Posted January 17, 2014
Excellent Oven
Best oven I have ever used. I make cookies, homemade cheese cakes, muffins, meatloaf, pizzas, etc. I've had mine for over 3.5 years. I rarely use my regular oven.
The last review is so wrong. If you want cheap check out $29 to $99 ovens. I have never burned anything in this oven. Just learn to use it properly and change your settings for what you are baking.
***** stars in my book!!!
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HB0101
,Cleveland
,OH
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+30points
30of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped Working
November 29, 2013
Had this for a year and a half, it was great. My kids could easily make frozen pizza in it and it toasted well. The downside, while it was working, was that the outside of it gets REALLY hot. Recently, it simply stopped working. The light comes on but it does not even get warm. I tried to call Breville but got no response. For this much money, it should last longer than 18 months.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Store, takes up a lot of space
Review 13 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GFtriMama
,Spokane
,WA
November 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+23points
25of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it until it stopped working
November 2, 2013
My husband bought this for me as a gift and I absolutely loved it...for the year and a half that it worked. It was a life saver during the holidays to have the extra oven and we even used weekly for small things like pizzas and cookies. Then one day while cooking a pizza the oven just died. I thought maybe it had blown a fuse so I looked online to get a Tech Support # and that was when I found all the online reviews/comments of others who had the SAME exact problem. HUGE disappointment!!
Review 14 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GvilleGal
,Garrettsville
,OH
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hoped for more
October 20, 2013
As empty nesters, why heat up the oven and the whole house for just the 2 of us? I liked the idea of convection and larger size for casseroles. Less than a year old and I returned it this week for a replacement or repair. Just stopped working. that's ok, things happen. But even when working, I feel its a glamourous toaster oven. It browns well, but casseroles, pot pies and anything thicker or with depth take 30% longer than the recipe calls for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 15 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Altie
,Lyme
,CT
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
14of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Budget Engineering & Quality
October 2, 2013
This is a cool design and concept, and it functions reasonably well. That said, the housing gets extremely hot (can cause serious burns) and the door does not even seal. The air escaping through the door crack can also burn you.
In addition, the controls are kind of cheap and fiddly. I don't know. Nice product on the surface, but I truly think my full-size Dacor oven is more efficient only because it is insulated properly. I use the Breville less and less. It is also kind of noisy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Loud, outside gets too hot, controls are cheap
Review 16 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marleesmom
,Griffin
,GA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
7of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the best!
September 9, 2013
I bought my Breville Convection Oven 3 years ago and it's just me and my fiance at home now. My wonderful, 27 year old son just got married this summer and I sent this oven to he and his beautiful young bride as a wedding gift. Also sent the Farmer's Market Cookbook and they were thrilled!!! We all use our ovens every day. My older brother is going through a divorce right now. He has relocated to a small apartment and I will be sending a Breville to him too. As one who loves to cook, I can't think of a better gift for the people I love!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, classy beautiful
Review 17 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busymomto2
,Needham
,MA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME OVEN
September 9, 2013
I use this as a toaster and an oven and always have perfect results. Unlike other toaster ovens I've had in the past, it is very high quality. I regularly subsitute using it instead of my standard oven to save energy. As someone who rarely takes the time to write product reviews, I had to make an exception in this case - I love this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 18 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sacramento
,Ca
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best counter oven to date
August 18, 2013
I use this every week, and it is wonderful! The convection feature works beautifully, browning evenly. Just buy it - you will not regret it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Versatile
Review 19 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AP82
,New Orleans
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Necessary for hot summers
August 8, 2013
I wanted this oven for awhile but avoided getting it as I perceived it as being an unnecessary purchase. Part of this stemmed from a Mark Bittman article that said no one needs a countertop oven if you have a regular oven. Now that I'm going through my first summer in the south with this oven, I couldn't disagree more. For the first time I can actually be in my kitchen when a pie is baking, whereas before having my oven on at 400 degrees for an hour over the summer was completely unbearable. Also, this item reheats food beautifully. Pie crust (can you tell I like pie?) turns out just as perfect as when it came out of the oven for the first time. Plus, the extra bonus is the convection part. This oven truly does heat evenly and quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 20 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acookfromtc
,Traverse City
,MI
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best little oven ever!
August 5, 2013
I've always wanted a second oven and now that our children are grown this is perfect! I don't have to use my large range, just take it from the pantry and set it on my counter. It preheats very, very quickly and roasts, bakes, convects as my professional range. Absolutely love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next