Breville Smart Convection Oven

Breville's expert designers have streamlined life in the kitchen by creating the world's best countertop oven. Simply select the desired function, and an internal sensor automatically calculates the time required for perfect results.Compact size saves counter space.Heat setting range from 120deg.F to 450deg.F.Nine functions include toast, bagel, bake, roast, broil, pizza, cookies, reheat and warm."Smart" internal-sensor technology automatically adjusts power and calculates cooking time.Easy-to-read digital display.Two-hour timer with auto shut off.Optional convection fan cooks foods up to 30% faster.Nonstick baking chamber.Magnetic baking rack slides out when door is opened.Includes baking and broiling trays, plus a pizza pan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(506 Reviews) 506
484 of 506(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Smart Convection Oven
Review 1 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far so good
March 4, 2014
Purchased in December 2012 and still works like the first day, used almost everyday. Besides making perfect toast, this oven shines during the holidays when the main oven is occupied by a big bird. A quarter sheet fits nicely. I've toasted pecans, roasted vegetables, baked cookies, pies, & croissants, reheated quiche, etc. it preheats much faster than the full size oven. It cooks evenly unlike most toaster ovens available in the market. The body of the oven gets very hot so be careful. I placed an old, retired wooden cutting board on top to prevent unnecessary burns :)
I have a small complain though - in "bake" mode, once the oven is preheated to the desired temperature, the timer starts counting down right away. If I am standing right by the oven, it is not an issue. But if I can't get to the oven right away, the timer has to be reset to the full cooking time - just a small complain. All in all, this is very useful tool for small kitchen and small family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Design
Review 2 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hawaii50
,Brooklyn
,NY
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HORRIBLY DISAPPOINTED
February 22, 2014
I had this unit just about one year and it went dead.This is a pricey unit...should have lasted much longer...I wanted. to upgrade..had better use from less expensive units. Took it to a well-known authorized repair place,had the "mother-board" replaced from the company...and STILL didn't work. The place sent it back to Breville...and I'm still waiting. I've been without a toaster/oven since LAST OCTOBER!!!!!!Never buy this brand again.I am now looking for a replacement and a different, more reliable company.
Cons: very short life span
Review 3 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebiDo
,Neptune Beach
,FL
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More Than A Toaster Oven
February 10, 2014
If dynamite comes in small packages then the Breville Smart Convection Oven is the proof!! I have had this mighty little oven for close to 5 years and I would be lost without it. There isn't anything it can not do except prep & serve the food for you! I have used it for everything from toast to turkey (actually chicken) & made my green bean casserole in it for Christmas this year. It even broils better than my oven & doesn't heat up the whole kitchen. Plus it is a breeze to clean. I would buy one for all my friends if I won the lottery!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, looks great, accurate tempurature
Cons: doesn't cut & serve the meal, doesnt clean the house while i'm at work
Review 4 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LadyHawk
,Phoenix
,AZ
Issaquah, WA
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY
February 4, 2014
I bought this as a gift and it broke at the one year mark. Neither Williams Sonoma nor Breville were willing to replace this. For the price I paid, this turned out to be a piece of junk. An item like this should last FAR longer than one year.
Cons: broke in one year under normal usage, not covered by warrrenty
Review 5 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
irishmom17
Scotrun, PA
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Multitasking Oven
December 29, 2013
I have this for over a year now. This unit gets used every day, from morning to night. It's great, but like any appliance, you have to get to know it's capabilities and work with them. I've had no issues and think its wonderful. It can get hot to the touch, but it's an oven, that can toast things, it's not a regular toaster. I got the cutting board to put on top to help with the hot surface. The pans that come with it help with it's versatility. Don't know how anyone could complain.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
irishmom17
Scotrun, PA
Posted January 5, 2014
Chop & Steak Broiling
Wish I could help, I have a commercial range with a broiler in it, so I don't use the SMO for broiling.
0points
Customer avatar
PhillyBill
Andalusia,Pa..Border of Philly-Lower Bucks County
Posted January 4, 2014
Broil
Have you ever broiled a thick steak or chop and if so about how long did it take and how did it turn out ?
Thank You
Bill
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MarcoAndres1
,West Hollywood
,CA
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
17of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A convection oven for home not commercial use
December 11, 2013
Unlike the Breville juicer we bought, this machine is not very well designed. It has far too many options. It can't do all these things very well. In fact, we tried making brownies - we were under baked after 25 minutes.
The knobs are very cheaply designed and do not have a very good feel - more like a toy than a serious appliance.
If you want to do serious baking, I strongly suggest buying a commercial convection oven with the broiler feature. This machine is cheap! The convection fan is on the right side instead of being in the rear which is standard in all conventional convection ovens.
In all aspects it resembles an "easy bake" oven.
If they were really serious about ovens they put two features: convection oven and broil and that's it. Anything else is information overload. We returned it to the store.
Cons: Quality, Power, Fragile, Size, badly designed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rudman
Pennsylvania
Posted January 17, 2014
Excellent Oven
Best oven I have ever used. I make cookies, homemade cheese cakes, muffins, meatloaf, pizzas, etc. I've had mine for over 3.5 years. I rarely use my regular oven.
The last review is so wrong. If you want cheap check out $29 to $99 ovens. I have never burned anything in this oven. Just learn to use it properly and change your settings for what you are baking.
***** stars in my book!!!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HB0101
,Cleveland
,OH
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+23points
23of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped Working
November 29, 2013
Had this for a year and a half, it was great. My kids could easily make frozen pizza in it and it toasted well. The downside, while it was working, was that the outside of it gets REALLY hot. Recently, it simply stopped working. The light comes on but it does not even get warm. I tried to call Breville but got no response. For this much money, it should last longer than 18 months.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Store, takes up a lot of space
Review 8 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GFtriMama
,Spokane
,WA
November 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it until it stopped working
November 2, 2013
My husband bought this for me as a gift and I absolutely loved it...for the year and a half that it worked. It was a life saver during the holidays to have the extra oven and we even used weekly for small things like pizzas and cookies. Then one day while cooking a pizza the oven just died. I thought maybe it had blown a fuse so I looked online to get a Tech Support # and that was when I found all the online reviews/comments of others who had the SAME exact problem. HUGE disappointment!!
Review 9 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GvilleGal
,Garrettsville
,OH
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hoped for more
October 20, 2013
As empty nesters, why heat up the oven and the whole house for just the 2 of us? I liked the idea of convection and larger size for casseroles. Less than a year old and I returned it this week for a replacement or repair. Just stopped working. that's ok, things happen. But even when working, I feel its a glamourous toaster oven. It browns well, but casseroles, pot pies and anything thicker or with depth take 30% longer than the recipe calls for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Altie
,Lyme
,CT
October 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Budget Engineering & Quality
October 2, 2013
This is a cool design and concept, and it functions reasonably well. That said, the housing gets extremely hot (can cause serious burns) and the door does not even seal. The air escaping through the door crack can also burn you.
In addition, the controls are kind of cheap and fiddly. I don't know. Nice product on the surface, but I truly think my full-size Dacor oven is more efficient only because it is insulated properly. I use the Breville less and less. It is also kind of noisy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Loud, outside gets too hot, controls are cheap
Review 11 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marleesmom
,Griffin
,GA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the best!
September 9, 2013
I bought my Breville Convection Oven 3 years ago and it's just me and my fiance at home now. My wonderful, 27 year old son just got married this summer and I sent this oven to he and his beautiful young bride as a wedding gift. Also sent the Farmer's Market Cookbook and they were thrilled!!! We all use our ovens every day. My older brother is going through a divorce right now. He has relocated to a small apartment and I will be sending a Breville to him too. As one who loves to cook, I can't think of a better gift for the people I love!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, classy beautiful
Review 12 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busymomto2
,Needham
,MA
September 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME OVEN
September 9, 2013
I use this as a toaster and an oven and always have perfect results. Unlike other toaster ovens I've had in the past, it is very high quality. I regularly subsitute using it instead of my standard oven to save energy. As someone who rarely takes the time to write product reviews, I had to make an exception in this case - I love this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 13 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Sacramento
,Ca
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best counter oven to date
August 18, 2013
I use this every week, and it is wonderful! The convection feature works beautifully, browning evenly. Just buy it - you will not regret it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Versatile
Review 14 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AP82
,New Orleans
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Necessary for hot summers
August 8, 2013
I wanted this oven for awhile but avoided getting it as I perceived it as being an unnecessary purchase. Part of this stemmed from a Mark Bittman article that said no one needs a countertop oven if you have a regular oven. Now that I'm going through my first summer in the south with this oven, I couldn't disagree more. For the first time I can actually be in my kitchen when a pie is baking, whereas before having my oven on at 400 degrees for an hour over the summer was completely unbearable. Also, this item reheats food beautifully. Pie crust (can you tell I like pie?) turns out just as perfect as when it came out of the oven for the first time. Plus, the extra bonus is the convection part. This oven truly does heat evenly and quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 15 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
acookfromtc
,Traverse City
,MI
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best little oven ever!
August 5, 2013
I've always wanted a second oven and now that our children are grown this is perfect! I don't have to use my large range, just take it from the pantry and set it on my counter. It preheats very, very quickly and roasts, bakes, convects as my professional range. Absolutely love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 16 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alicetoo
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, TX
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best purchase...Ever!
July 30, 2013
This little oven has literally changed my life! My favorite thing about it, other than the fact that it bakes like a pro....is that it turns off when it's done and cools down fast. So for lots of things (my homemade granola, flans, roasted veggies...) I can put it in the oven, go run errands, and not have to worry about being back before something burns. It also preheats very fast....Perfect size for small families...I rarely use my "real" oven anymore...Love love love it!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JuliaChildfan
,Georgetown
,TX
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bakes wonderful popovers
July 7, 2013
I baked some popovers this morning in my Breville for the first time. I don't have a popover pan, but use my 40 plus year old muffin pan. All 12 of the popovers rose beautifully unlike when I use my range oven. I did not use the convection feature. The recipe I used was from "The Joy of Cooking", copyright date 1975. I baked a half chicken yesterday, and it turned out beautifully.
Pros: Power, Versatile
Review 18 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosemaryblue
,AR
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Oven!
June 29, 2013
This little oven is great! So easy, so practical! It looks great next to my stove, and is super handy when cooking. It makes the best buttered toast ever! In the short time, since purchase, I have baked pizzas, cookies, cakes, pies in it. My kitchen is my treasure, and it is there that wonderful meals are cooked and shared with family and friends! This super little oven was a wise addition!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovmykitchen
,Centerville
,OH
April 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best purchases I've every made
April 21, 2013
I love my kitchen and I wouldn't change a thing. But there are times when I don't want to heat up my large oven or I need an extra oven due to feeding a group of people. This oven is incredible. The temperature is accurate and it performs well. I like the size, substainable enough to accomodate most pans and casserole dishes that I own. It looks good, it's built well. I've owned and used mine for 3 years now. I recommend it highly.
Review 20 for Breville Smart Convection Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minimimi
,St. Louis
,MO
April 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You will use this for everything
April 21, 2013
I've owned this oven for over three years. It is one of the most frequently used items in our kitchen. It bakes and toasts beautifully and quickly. I've even used the broiler on occasion, which also works very well. It's also easy to keep clean. I love that it automatically turns off when the timer ends. If you have a small family and don't need to bake large quantities of food, you will use this frequently. Well worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next