Breville Risotto Plus

Make perfect risotto, fluffy steamed rice and family-sized slow-cooked meals-all with one multitasking machine. Breville's do-it-all cooker has separate functions for stir-free risotto and rice, steaming, sauteing and slow cooking. After cooking, it automatically keeps your food at the perfect serving temperature until it's time to eat. Advanced multi-cooker makes authentic Italian risotto - and much more. Risotto setting gently cooks and agitates the rice and broth to a rich, creamy consistency. Other functions include Saute, Rice, Steam, High or Low Slow-Cook and Keep Warm. Removable 4-quart nonstick aluminum cooking pot conducts heat beautifully. Automatic shut-off with keep-warm function makes it easy to cook your favorite dishes while you're away from the kitchen. Tempered-glass lid with steam vent provides a clear view of ingredients during cooking. Includes a steaming tray, measuring cup and serving spoon. 4-qt. capacity; makes up to 20 cups cooked rice. Model #BRC600XL 12 1/2" x 11 1/2" x 10" high. 7 lb. 9 oz. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Designed and engineered in Australia; made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
34 of 37(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Risotto Plus
Review 1 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tams
,Orlando
,FL
February 21, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Pot for Risotto
February 21, 2014
I've had the Risotto Plus and was hesitant to use it. I've spoken to two chef and they as well are very hesitant how this will work.
Well I used it today to make asparagus risotto and it came out of this world. Just like any special restaurant. I LOVE IT. Would recommend to anyone. Great investment.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: no con's
Review 2 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skippy
,Revere
,MA
Revere, MA
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am in Love!
February 10, 2014
My family loves risotto vegetable, Milanese, mushroom & peas......any type! Normally it comes out pretty good but sometimes too mushy and sometimes too al dente. With the Breville Risotto Plus it not only makes my risotto perfectly but it is so easy to do. No more adding a ladle of liquid at a time, no more standing there stirring for 30 minutes! The saute setting works very well, along with the rice maker & steamer! I can eat Risotto every night and I have the hips to prove it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, delicious
Review 3 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lokismom
,Frederick
,MD
Frederick MD
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Risotto
November 14, 2013
I have tried making risotto after I fell in love with it on our first trip to Italy. I have never been able to duplicate it, let alone come close. This machine makes a flawless risotto and is so easy to use.
Another wonderful Breville product. Ten thumbs up!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Assembly
Review 4 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ire65
,saint petersburg
,fl
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and Easy!
September 3, 2013
I've used this risotto maker twice since geting it two weeks ago and I couldn't be more thrilled with how easy it is to use and how great the finished product is. I've easily adapted my favorite recipe to the cooker and am looking forward to adding more to my menus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 5 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glenmontgourmet
,Glenmont
,NY
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Risotto Can Be Delicious and Easy!
September 3, 2013
In the past, I prepared Lobster Risotto by hand, and, it was pretty labor intensive...so much stirring! With Breville's new Risotto Plus, I no longer have to babysit the rice while it cooks. You just follow your recipe, add the rice and the Risotto Plus does all the work. It shuts off when the rice is perfectly cooked and stays warm until you're ready to serve. I love that I can also sauté the onions, chicken, and other ingredients in the same pan which makes clean up a cinch! This new addition to my kitchen will never never find its way to my "appliance graveyard"!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Breville Risotto Plus
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
temporaryfarmgirl
,Taneytown
,MD
August 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really really wanted to like this rice cooker.
August 26, 2013
I really wanted to like this rice cooker. I do love the looks, the size and how well made it is. There are no cheap buttons to break on this baby and there's a glass lid that allows you to easily see how things are cooking.
My disappointment centers on the fact that for the price of this thing it does not have a delay start time function that would allow for setting up grains or meals to cook in time for breakfast or dinner after a hard day at work.
More than that I don't like the way the grains cook. So far I've made plain jasmine rice, oatmeal and grits and have been disappointed by all three. The rice was too chewy, the oatmeal runny and lumpy and the grits just plain lumpy.
To be quite honest I'm on the fence as to whether to return this rice cooker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 7 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SaraD1
,Poway
,CA
June 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better Than I Even Expected
June 7, 2013
I've used this for several dishes already, with amazing results. I read reviews that said the risotto wasn't done when the machine turned off. I followed the recipe in their book and it was timed perfectly! So far I've used it for risotto, rice and as a slow cooker. All turned out perfectly, and it's super easy to clean! I couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 8 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4Rea
,Lexington Park
,MD
Lexington Park, Maryland
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Risotto
May 13, 2013
I used this for the first time for cooking Mothers Day dinner. I love it because it is very easy to use. The Risotto was perfect - but, it does go off earlier than the booklet. Just turn it back on - it will not hurt the cooking process. Just remember to stir it frequently. This will be hit for all of my large entertaining events.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: the timer goes off to soon
Review 9 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bridgelady
,Naples
,FL
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Risotto made easy
May 9, 2013
I have Made the risotto twice now and it was perfect both times. I used the recipe in the booklet and the only thing I would do is add salt. I now have a great side dish when entertaining.
It does require a bit of hands on attention in the beginning and the actual cook time is longer than the 25 minutes stated in the booklet.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
4Rea
Lexington Park, Maryland
Posted May 13, 2013
I agree with you
I used a receipe that added garlic, onion, sea salt and white pepper and six cheeses. It really enhances the flavor of the cheese. I did notice it does go off sooner than the booklet, but I just turned it back on because I noticed it had not finished cooking. The key I find also is just make to sure you stir frequently and taste.
I love it!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Pa
March 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous machine
March 19, 2013
Made my first chicken risotto dish tonight, it tuned out Resturant perfect! I used the shrimp recipe but substituted it with chicken.
Highly recommend,
Also have there juicer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Breville Risotto Plus
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lola99
,Des Moines
,IA
March 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 10, 2013
I'm really disappointed with this pan. I followed the instructions and the rice is dry. It's confusing to turn on. And when it turns to warm, the rice sticks to the bottom of the pan. I could have gotten this result with a cheaper brand. I'm just really disappointed and wish I hadn't bought it.
Cons: Quality, bad result
Review 12 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFmomcook
,Angola
,IN
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I won't cook risotto or rice without this!
March 8, 2013
My best impulse purchase! I have used it at least once a week for rice or risotto since it arrived. I have also used it as a slow cooker. The sauté and "keep warm" features are really useful too. Cleaning is quick and easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
veganrose
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All I need
March 3, 2013
I don't particularly like to cook so anything that makes the job easier and more enjoyable is a total winner. I've made stew, quinoa, black beans, oatmeal, and rice ALL with great success! This workhorse frees up my one big pot from so much, I love it.
I had a little hiccup with my first cooking bowl. It developed a film that wouldn't wash off, and the non-stick coating chipped in a few places over the course of two weeks. I contacted Breville and they promised it wasn't supposed to behave this way, so they sent me a new bowl that cleans like a dream. I don't love how light the bowl is or how prone the exterior is to scuff marks, but these are minor quibbles compared to what this machine can do.
I'm so happy with my Risotto Plus and hope to use it for years to come. Hey, maybe one day I'll even use it for risotto!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 14 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamgc
,Naperville
,Il
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! Now my family can have risotto all the time!
February 28, 2013
A couple of my favorite dishes to prepare are risotto, but I hardly ever make them because it takes sooo long! Now I can use the saute function for my base add liquid, risotto and walk away...Perfection!
I ended up with one, get that one very light nonstick insert to clean. The Breville instructions do state for risotto, follow package directions. I did and my Trader Joe's risotto was inhaled by my teens!
Can't wait for my next Taco bar night going to fill it with rice and seasonings for 20 cups of mexican rice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 15 for Breville Risotto Plus
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
toni62baby
,Astoria
,NY
Astoria, Queens NY
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
satisfied Perfect size
February 27, 2013
I have a 7 quart AC slow cooker, which I hardly use because it's so large. this cooker is the perfect size. good & bad feature is if it gets too hot, it switches to keep warm, so I had to switch my brown rice to saute feature to keep the rice cooking. other than that, since I work @ home, I can saute everything in 1 pot & cook & by lunch or dinner time, depending on the setting I can have a healthy meal ready. ive been looking for a smaller slow cooker, & the versatile features makes this one the one I need
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 16 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RetiredBeachBum
,New London
,PA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes Risotto so much easier
February 12, 2013
I bought this for cooking Risotto. The goal was to simplify the process and not have to sit over a pot stirring constantly. Mission accomplished! This makes risotto prep sooo much easier. I now have time to prepare other dishes while the risotto is cooking. I will be eating a lot more risotto!
It is easy to setup, easy to use, and easy to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 17 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KareninCambridge
,Cambridge
,MA
Cambridge MA
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very satisfied
January 31, 2013
I haven't had this very long; so far I've used it as a slow cooker (beef stew), a risotto maker, and a steamer. It's a little disconcerting that you can't set a timer to control the cooking, but so far everything has turned out wonderfully. There is no difference between the quality of risotto that this produces and that I produce on the stove.
For critics who think it is cheaply made and flimsy, I think they might be wrong. It is lightweight, but I think the material the rice bowl is made from is not cheap aluminum, but some sort of heat-conducting alloy. (I could be wrong!). Anyway, it works and I'm very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Quiet
Cons: none i know of
Review 18 for Breville Risotto Plus
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
charlie46
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor instructions; below par performance
January 30, 2013
On first glance, the instructions for risotto seem simple but too much experimentation is required to get a satisfactory product. The first batch I did nearly scorched before the end of the cooking cycle. Breville suggested using more liquid; I did so--no change.
Ok, so I re-read the instruction booklet--and the references to scoops of rice and water is absurd--what's wrong with a standard mearsuring cup? The book suggests using the brown rice cooking directions for arborio rice--but that seemed to refer to steaming rice, not using the risotto setting.
I thought the whole idea of this appliance was to free me from stirring--and watching--risotto. If I hadn't been watching it--it would have burned. I have been making risotto for many years and will go back to the "old" way.
The instruction book uses some strange syntax and several of the included recipes have incomplete ingredient lists.
Overall, Breville disappoints on this one--the appliance as well as included booklet.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, too many variables
Review 19 for Breville Risotto Plus
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Henry3631
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but small
January 29, 2013
I love the saute' feature. It also cooks great Risotto. A quality product but very light in weight. Keep in mind that as a slow cooker it is small and will not hold a whole chicken or large cuts of meat. Nice for 2-4 people. I use it mostly for soups for which it is very nice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: small
Review 20 for Breville Risotto Plus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beaver
January 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy risotto
January 23, 2013
Excellent and easy to use. Flexibility and convenience do not compromise first-rate results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Versatile
page1 2 next