Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Breville Oracle Espresso Maker

The Breville Oracle is the ultimate hybrid coffee system, controlling all variables to produce authentic barista-style results with the speed and easy operation of a fully automatic machine. You'll consistently brew espressos, lattes, cappuccinos and Americanos that look and taste the way they do in your favorite cafe, with virtually no possibility of error. The commercial-grade machine automatically grinds and tamps the beans for you, then maintains a super-exact optimal brewing temperature to extract the fullest, richest flavor for every cup. Combines precision commercial features with easy, intuitive controls for preparing cafe-quality espresso, lattes, cappuccinos and one-touch Americanos at home. Built-in burr grinder uses an auger device to tamp while grinding beans, for less mess. You can dose and tamp beans to exactly the same level and pressure every time. Dual stainless-steel boilers and two pumps simultaneously brew espresso and steam milk at the optimum temperature and pressure. Programmable functions make it easy to adjust shot temperature, volume and duration; machine also allows for manual operation. Maintains temperature to within 1.35 degrees of optimum brewing temperature during extraction for fullest flavor. Pressure gauge helps train user to tamp correctly and monitors extraction pressure. A 15-bar Italian pump with over-pressure valve delivers water at the ideal pressure, while the electronic PID temperature control and a heated group head ensure precise temperature with minimal variance during extraction for fullest flavor. Low-pressure pre-infusion gradually increases water pressure to gently expand grinds for an even extraction. Shot clock helps you time your shot-pulling for optimal crema and flavor. A separate air pump allows for customized milk frothing: select latte or cappuccino and the machine automatically adjusts the amount of froth, while a sensor detects when milk has reached the ideal temperature for your beverage. Brews excellent cafe-quality Americanos at the press of button. Hot-water tap is located behind the Portafilter, so you can pour both water and espresso for Americanos without moving your cup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
November 19, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy -- fails on descale mode
November 19, 2016
Don't buy this. The descale doesn't work, so try that as a first step, so that you can return it in the first week when it fails. My unit failed in the fourth step of descaling, with the "valve" error, followed by a failure to heat up higher than 160 degrees in the normal settings. On top of these failures, Breville claims to have a dedicated phone line with experts on the Oracle. Each time I called I was on hold for 45 minutes or more. They had no solutions to offer for any of these issues, aside from turning it off and on, and draining out the water. (As if I hadn't already done all of that.) I purchased the unit in a William Sonoma store, and because I tried descale in the first week, they accepted the return no questions asked. Instead of this, buy Saeco or Jura, and the latest Jura Z-6 model is stocked by William Sonoma. The Jura costs significantly more, but the higher price is worth it. The Z6 is completely automatic and is a joy to use.
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
September 5, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best expresso maker ever
September 5, 2016
I have tried several expresso makers before and no machine compares to the quality, reliability, functionality and durability of this Breville Oracle.
Most expresso makers are quite frail but Breville Oracle can tolerate lots of abuse and always deliver a fine quality coffee.
if you want to save yourself lots of money and enjoy a good coffee buy this one!
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Quiet, Size, Speed, Versatile
Review 3 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vandenberg Village
,CA
May 16, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Like Down Town!
May 16, 2016
Bought a commercial espresso machine for my home. Same quality as the larger machine in my restaurant. It was a night mirror! Quickly returned it and went searching. Saw many different models and the reviews. Watched the video for the Breville and decided I would give it a try. Arrived on time and immediately started the programming. Easy as pie! Made espresso's for everyone and was extremely pleased with the results. Just as good as my big commercial machine at my restaurant. Super happy with my machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quiet, Quality, Power
Review 4 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Denver
,CO
March 31, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for pros and newbies alike
March 31, 2016
Greatest home coffee machine. It is a hybrid manual-automatic with very simple but useful features: things like the dial that lifts it on its wheels for repositioning, the tool tray, and the on/off timers. Once programmed the espresso cup buttons are pulling shots that are about 40% crema…the best shots I have ever produced. The milk frothing system is genius. I never liked the milk reservoir concept on super-autos and manually steaming can be imprecise. The auto-steaming function creates precise texture and temperature. Then there is the Americano button which simplifies and unifies your Americano output. You can manually control any feature above. Other great features include the grinder which doses, tamps and polished, front tank fill access, auto steam wand purging, easy programmability, well-conceived descaling access, etc. So far my results are superior to more expensive semi-auto espresso machines and, of course, in a completely different league from super-automatics
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design, Speed, Quality, Time-saver
Review 5 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Espresso Maker
January 13, 2016
If you love a smooth latte and can follow directions, then you will love this machine. We watched online tutorials and had a demo done for us in store before we purchased; we taste tested espresso from several different machines before we settled on this one. It's pricey, so we wanted to be sure. No regrets!
Our last espresso maker was amazing and much cheaper, but it wasn't as automated as this one is. Also, the old one was much more difficult to clean out. Nothing is nastier than having rancid bean grounds stuck in your machine. Not with this one; it is so much easier to maintain.
You get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Speed, Quality, Power, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 6 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,PA
January 12, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Buy!
January 12, 2016
I bought this Breville Oracle in August. Within 4 - 6 weeks the milk frother stopped working properly. Breville exchanged for a new one which took a week. These are not light machines and packaging and unpackaging and getting to UPS is a chore.
Now, 5 months later the milk frother on new machine is not working again. I think they have faulty pumps. In any event, now I have to send it back to them and be without it for a month while they fix it.
All in all, I wish I had bought another machine. I have read others who have similar problems with this espresso maker.
For the record, the first time I was using non fat milk. The second time I was using low fat almond milk.
Please think twice before purchasing this machine.
Cons: High-Maintenance, Loud, Weight, faulty milk frother
Review 7 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Georgetown
,TX
October 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
11of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Was excellent, now useless
October 11, 2015
Loved this machine when I first received it this past May. With just a few minor adjustments it was making lattes EXACTLY like I like them. I was a bit annoyed that I had been sold an obviously used machine as "new", but overlooked that after the first latte.
Then one day recently it just stopped frothing the milk for the latte. Have always run the cleaning cycles as recommended, the nozzle and the four little holes on it appear clear, still no foam.
As an automatic latte machine it was great. As just an espresso maker I can't recommend to anyone since better value can easily be obtained.
Five months is not a reasonable product lifetime.
Review 8 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Williamstown
,NJ
April 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Espresso Machine ever!
April 28, 2015
I've owned a few machines that have served me well, and I make at least one cafe mocha per day. Breville's Oracle speeds up and automates the process just enough to make it exciting just to see the machine sitting on the counter. Works perfectly as shown in the video.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Breville Oracle Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chapel Hill
,NC
April 13, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little machine...
April 13, 2015
I can't believe nobody has reviewed this machine before me. I've had it for about 8 months now, and it really does a very nice job. I own two restaurants, both with top of the line 10k plus espresso machines, and the coffee I make at home is sometimes even better. There is a little learning curve in fiddling with the programming to get the coffee the way you like it, but I like a wet cappuccino/dry latte and it allows me to do that in 20 sec. It even self cleans. It's pricey, and difficult to move around on the counter when you have to fool with the water tank, but it's a great machine for home barista-ing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Weight