Breville One-Touch Tea Maker

Not only does this brewer automatically brew tea at five different temperature settings, but the brew strength of each pot can be adjusted between mild, medium and strong. Brew green tea, white tea, herbal tea, Oolong tea or black tea using the preset menu, which automatically adjusts water temperature for optimal steeping. Customizable brew temperature and time, and backlit LCD shows the actual temperature and "time since brew." Glass kettle equipped with a 10-oz. removable tea basket that automatically lowers into the water then lifts out to prevent oversteeping. A magnetic brew mechanism results in a nearly silent brew cycle. Monitor brew time and temperature with the backlit LCD display. Features include Delay Start, Keep Warm and "Agitate" for loosening tea leaves and improving infusion. Doubles as a hot-water kettle. Includes dishwasher-safe tea basket and scoop.Model #BTM800XLGlass, stainless steel and BPA-free plastic. 41-oz.-cap. tea mode; 51-oz.-cap. kettle mode. 1500W.This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
33 of 37(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
Review 1 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arvida
,Suwanee
,GA
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this tea maker!
May 31, 2014
I have drunk tea all my life, but never made it this well. I used to use a stainless steel tea ball, but it really wasn't easy to use, and it was too small to get best results. I have arthritis in my hands now, so I was using tea bags - but no more! This tea maker is well designed and balanced, and I can insert the tea basket easily because it is magnetized. The tea basket is very easy to remove and clean. Also, the tea never comes out bitter because I can set the proper temperature for brewing different varieties of tea. I make a full pot and drink a couple of hot cups - then I use the rest over ice later in the day. Did I mention it is very attractive on the counter?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Binta
,Atlanta
,GA
May 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I've owned nothing like it
May 31, 2014
Several years ago, I occasionally used a coiled liquid warmer for hot water, but to be perfectly honest, this is my first electric tea kettle.
I've only made tisane, white and green teas with the tea maker. I generally just rinse after every use with a weekly washing. So I've noticed that the pot holds oil odors like rose, pineapple and strawberry (over other berries or spices like cinnamon). But does not affect the taste or smell of boiled water or any other teas.
Initially thinking the tea settings to be gimmicky, I was pleasantly surprised to find that they are very useful and yield a consistently delicious cuppa every time.
I love the quality, aesthetics, weight and function of the tea kettle and truly think you will too..
This is my 2nd Breville purchase in 4 years and I'm equally pleased with it. However, beware that actual kettle is not available for replacement, but other parts are.
Pros: Quality, Versatile
Cons: kettle not replaceable
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
teacherhansen
,St. Paul
,MN
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
daily use for years
May 27, 2014
There isn't much I look forward to when my alarm goes off at 4:30am. Knowing the Breville has made my tea and it's waiting hot in the kitchen makes getting up that much easier.
The timer setting makes that all possible. Now us tea-lovers don't have to envy the coffee crowd with their auto-brew.
If you use this machine and experiment with the settings, you will develop a better palate for tea and realize that half the tea you drink with a bag is oversteeped. And I hope you have room in your kitchen for all the loose leaf you will accumulate.
My big gripe is that this thing is huge. What non-British person (or household) needs to brew a liter of tea at a time? I wish it were half the size.
The first maker I had broke within about a month. I called Breville and they replaced it with no questions asked. Brewer #2 shows no signs of slowing down, which is good because neither am I with all the caffeine it supplies me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Size, too big
Review 4 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WNCMountains
WNC
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HOPED FOR MORE
March 1, 2014
I take extreme care in using and caring for my kitchen appliances. I loved this tea kettle at first , but after some use ( a few months) I noticed it over heats the water. No matter what button I press it boils the water. Not great for brewing most teas and my favorite green. I am not a coffee drinker so I am disappointed .
Review 5 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jean2
,Antioch
,CA
Antioch California
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best tea maker ever
February 11, 2014
Love this tea maker!!! Am pleased that it is working well after several years of use. Love the features for all the different kinds of tea. Wish the Keep Warm would last longer then an hour. Makes great tasting tea!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatKitty
,Madison
,WI
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent tea maker
December 18, 2013
I purchased this tea maker in February 2011. We had decided to switch our daily tea bags to loose tea, but my experience with loose tea BEFORE having this tea pot was that the tea was frequently cold by the end of the brew cycle and it seemed high maintenance. The Breville tea maker changes all that - tea is hot when served and I like how convenient it is.
We drink tea every morning. I measure the tea before bed and put the water in the pot and just press the start button in the morning. Perfect tea every time. When we are done I wash the tea basket, and rinse / dry the tea pot. Every few months I use baking soda or lemon to clean the pot using the instructions provided.
I was a little worried that the tea pot might not last long based on some of the reviews but have not had any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 7 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
janskott
,Vienna
,VA
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wish it made 1 cup of tea
December 1, 2013
I received this tea kettle as a wedding gift, and it is great! I use it at least once a day, as I am a big tea drinker. I really like how it can be used just to prepare hot water as well as tea. The only drawbacks are that the minimum it can make is 500ml (2 cups), and that the holes on both the tea basket and the lid are just a little too big for very small leaves(like rooibos), so a few end up in your tea. Also, the outside of the pitcher can't be submerged in running water, which can make it a little inconvenient to wash out with soap and water.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Size
Review 8 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzieQT
,Central
,Fl
Central FL
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use this daily
November 6, 2013
Easy to use
Produces high quality tea
If you are a tea drinker this is a must
One of my better Williams-Somoma purchases
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarasotagirl
,Sarasota
,FL
September 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Tea Maker
September 8, 2013
I've had the tea makers of the past, but tea never tasted very good to me. I decided to try the Breville One Touch Tea Maker because it sounded easy. It is easy to use and the tea that I brew is so flavorful. I don't know if it is the glass and metal parts verses the plastic ones I've had in the past, but the flavor was crisp and free of bitterness. I plan to enjoy mine for years to come!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 10 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunsurfme
,Williamsville
,NY
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect temperature for tea
August 13, 2013
I ordered this as a gift for my son to celebrate his PHD. He has been wanting one, since I got mine two years ago, and after seeing how well it worked, and how great the tea is.
Using loose tea, there is plenty of room in the basket for the water to reach all leaves. The basket moves up and down allowing better flow. The choices for temperature and brew strength allows for great tea whether rooibos, herbal, oolong, green, black...It is difficult without it to get the right temperature for each tea, which does make a difference in flavor. ( I am a tea "foodie") The timer is another great feature to keep it hot, or to set it up for morning.
Combine this with the Weck Juice Jars to make a great tea experience.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, follow specific directions
Review 11 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RicB
,San Francisco
,CA
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best teamaker I have ever owned
August 12, 2013
Just purchased this Saturday on sale. Best investment I have made in a while. Great tasting herbal teas with this tea maker. And it cleans very quickly. Relatively small and easy to use. The warming feature keeps the tea quite warm contrary to some reviews I have read.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design
Review 12 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville is simply the best
July 28, 2013
This tea kettle is so cool. Just put the tea in the basket and water in the kettle, then tell it what kind of tea and how strong you want it. The basket lowers into the perfectly heated water and steeps the right amount of time for the tea and strength you specified. Awesome.
Review 13 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessalani
,South
,FL
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I adore this Cadillac of tea makers!
July 27, 2013
Best investment! No more guess guessing water temp or steeping tea too long. Easy to use, lets me customize the presets if I like certain tea stronger. Easy to clean too. I prefer chemical-free so use the lemon+baking soda method, leave overnight; next morning a quick wipe and rinse and its sparkling again!
Well made and well designed. Use 3+ times/day. Wanted a non-plastic tea maker/kettle particularly inside due to health cautions re plastic esp when heated. Virtually all glass and metal, with only minimal plastic on the tea basket and lid (and outer handle).
Only ways they could improve is to add another heat setting (208°), extend the warmer setting beyond an hour and make the interior totally plastic free.
I'd love it if they made a smaller version too, "mini me" of this one as I'm the only tea drinker in our house.
Aside from this, it's perfect! I've had it for several years and it’s like the day I took it out of the box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, interior mostly free of plastic
Review 14 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
terrillterry
,Greensburg
,Pa
June 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tea makers dream
June 14, 2013
I am picky about my tea. Started ordering from a Dutch company years ago. I know leaf cuts and varieties. I have several tea makers including Japanese tetsubins. You can't beat tetsubins but this comes close. Because of the convenience tea is enjoyed more in our home. You can do Russian style by using more tea and continually raising and lowering the basket. This is a must have for tea drinkers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 15 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodhound
,Greensboro
,nc
NC
June 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Tea Making Bomb for tea lovers
June 4, 2013
Ok, if you love green, herbal, white any tea hot or cold this is the fat mac daddy of tea makers. You just add your tea to the basket, push the tea type button, fill with water and in minutes you have delish perfect made tea for the tea type No guessing on temp for tea etc. I make a pot of flavored green every day and pour it over ice with some stevia sweetner and I have a healthy fat burning, antioxidant fix. Who needs the packaged drink flavors with this machine. So worth the price. I used a coupon at a store and got 20 pct off so that helped since it is pricey.
Go for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, perfect tea
Review 16 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamasmina
,San Diego
,CA
May 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best tea ever!
May 23, 2013
I always considered Breville products highly overrated but this tea maker is genius. Nothing else like it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 17 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
veganrose
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Kitchen Appliance
April 16, 2013
I absolutely love tea, but to make it correctly the old fashioned way takes time out of my busy morning. I bought this tea maker a few years ago and it's changed my life. I can wake up to a pot of perfectly brewed tea, every day! I don't have to set a bunch of timers or check the water temp anymore, because the this takes care of it all. If you love loose leaf tea and care about how it's made, but don't always have a lot of time to spend on it, you'll love this tea maker. It never leaves my countertop!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 18 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
poopsie22
,kapaa
,hi
hawaii
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
greatest tea pot ever
February 19, 2013
I have been a tea drinker for over 40 years and have never tasted a better cup of tea.
I have always used loose tea but the flavor from this tea pot is far superior to any tea I have made in the past.
I love all the settings for the different types of tea and the fact it is so fast.
I would Highly recommend this to anyone who likes a great cup of tea.
cj
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 19 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
montanared
,MT
Montana
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't rate what you don't have
January 10, 2013
I recieved my tea maker for Christmas. I read a great deal of reviews before I decided on this one. In my research what I noticed was most all of them worked very well, the negative was if something were to go wrong with the actual pot. Well mine was defective from the start. I contacted Breville on December 26, 2013. I was asked for proof of purchase, 3 days later a batch number that is on the bottom of the machine. About 4 days later I was told it would be replaced but I needed to wait for a fedEx prepaid return label with an RMA number on it and after it was shipped and they could see it was shipped they would send the replacement. The pot was sent out on the 7th and even though I have tried contacting Breville, through phone call and email, I have not heard a thing. I cleaned the machine as described in the manual and decided to try to use it. It is now the 10th and I never got to use the machine to be able to rate it, however, Breville service is a "ZERO!"
Cons: breville's poor service.
Review 20 for Breville One-Touch Tea Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lay3r3
,St. Louis
,MO
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
overall a great tea maker
January 3, 2013
Have been using this for about a week now for a total of probably 15 pots of tea - different types, temperatures, and brew lengths. Overall I'm very happy with it. Two complaints, both minor, would be cord length and the "keep warm" function.
The cord is roughly 18" long and the device doesn't have an internal battery to remember the clock settings so if you use the auto-brew setting for morning tea like I do, you don't want to unplug it and have reset the clock each time so you need to put it next to an outlet or have an extension cord on our counter.
The "keep warm" setting only works for 1 hour and has to be activated each time you remove the pot from the base. So you can't have a pot warm past 1 hour and you have to re-activate it each time you top off your mug.
Other than that I'm enjoying it greatly!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: keep warm feature
page1 2 next