Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven

This ultra-compact oven takes up less counter space than ever. Eight preset functions simplify everything from making toast and broiling open-faced sandwiches to heating an 11" pizza. "Smart" internal-sensor technology automatically adjusts heat and calculates cooking times. The ultimate space-saving toaster oven, designed and engineered in Australia. Heat setting range from 120deg.F to 450deg.F. Eight preset functions include toast, bagel, bake, roast, broil, pizza, cookies and reheat. Roomy interior accommodates a 11" pizza or four slices of bread. Temperature conversion button and frozen-foods defrost button simplify cooking tasks. "Smart" internal-sensor technology automatically adjusts power and calculates cooking time. Easy-to-read backlit LCD display changes color when cooking is complete. Two-hour timer has auto shut off. Nonstick baking chamber. Pullout crumb tray simplifies cleaning. Oven includes: 10" sq. enamel baking pan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
32 of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
Review 1 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AcerRubrum
,Chatham
,NJ
July 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little oven!
July 6, 2014
This takes up a bit more space on my counter than I'd like, but otherwise it is a super little oven that also makes great toast. It's very important to put the rack at the right height depending on what you are making - but there are labels on the oven door to remind you. It does a perfect job of cooking, baking and toasting, even when cooking frozen items - it truly is a mini oven. We use this all the time and are very happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamesG
,Davenport
,FL
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great toaster oven!
July 1, 2014
Our son in CA has had a Breville Oven for several years. We always use it when we visit for the holidays....We finally gave in and bought one just for us. Toast, bagels are great...everything we have tried is easy to cook and has turned our great...I am glad we finally have our own oven!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet
Review 3 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BellaHolly
,Fl
Florida
May 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does Not toast Evenly
May 15, 2014
I have the Breville Smart Oven that works very well. However, I usually only use it for toasting as I prefer my range for baking. Since it took up too much counter space I decided to try this mini oven. I was not pleased with it and sent it back.
The mini oven is not the same quality as the Smart Oven. It toasted very unevenly. The Smart Oven does not toast perfectly, but it is acceptable. This mini oven was not.
I am now on the lookout for a regular toaster that actually toasts well. However, overall the reviews are not promising.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Temperamental, does not toast evenly
Review 4 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cokkingWithK
,San Diego
,CA
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect toaster oven
November 23, 2013
I purchases the Breville Mini Smart oven from WS a month ago. I have been in the market for a toaster oven for several months and I did a lot of research before purchasing as we use our toaster oven every day. The only thing keeping me from buying this one right away was the price BUT I can tell you it is totally worth it!
I was considering the Cuisinart but the reviews were not as good. The one negative I read about the Breville was the sound it made when cooking was complete. I went to WS to check it out and it did not seem too bad. I think the one I bought was even less loud than the one in the store so perhaps they have improved on that.
One of the really nice features is the "A bit more" button. You can add 30 seconds on toast and 5 minutes on bake if you feel your food needs a bit more cooking time.
Review 5 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emmegebe
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smart? Yes!
February 8, 2013
How refreshing to find a toaster oven that isn't designed around reheating frozen pizzas! (I'm sure it does that perfectly, too, though.) This toaster oven actually excels at -- get this -- toasting!
It is by far the best toaster oven I have ever owned, worth every penny. It toasts all manner of bread items perfectly, heats up fast for baking or reheating, has simple and user-friendly controls, and does all this in a compact footprint. The controls, door, rack, and crumb tray are well-designed and feel smooth and solid in use, as befits a quality appliance.
My kids find it very easy to use and are delighted to get exactly the results they want every time (so unlike their experiences with our previous pretty-looking but piece of junk toaster oven).
I am very pleased with it and would recommend this brand to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilyBean
,Takoma Park
,MD
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The toaster oven I've been waiting for!
January 7, 2013
This oven does everything it says it does. Does it get hot on the outside? Of course it does. You always have to be careful.
It reheats fast, it toasts great, and it roasts wonderfully. I recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Cons: have to unplug it. i don't think u can turn it off
Review 7 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookieTroy
,Suburban Detroit
,MI
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Toaster Oven I have owned
January 2, 2013
Based on a couple of previous reviews, I was a bit hesitant to purchase this oven. I kept the box for two weeks to ensure I was happy. I am happy! This oven makes the perfect toast. Different breads need different cycle times. It only took a couple of tries to understand the toasting cycle. Plus, this oven has the "a little more" button to extend time if needed. Oven bakes well, but do watch delicate items on the bottom rack (such as pastry) Recommend you use the middle rack or set the timer for less time. The oven is very easy to operate and understand. Well built, easy to clean, and looks fabulous on my counter top. It also has an auto shutoff when the timer dings. As far as loud, I do not find the alerts loud or offensive. They are loud enough to hear, but are not disruptive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PSmith
,Washington
,DC
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought Another for My Mother
January 1, 2013
I bought the first Breville Toaster Oven for myself and was very pleased with the size, appearance, and performance. It preheats and is ready for use quickly. Controls are simple. When my mother moved to a retirement community and had to downsize, I bought one for her as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoElusive
,Newport Beach
,CA
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Toaster Oven
December 21, 2012
My son recently moved into his own place and needed a few things. He mentioned not wanting a microwave so this is what he decided on. It is the perfect size and works beautifully and heats quickly! We couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dinah2012
,Fairfield
,Ct
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
October 8, 2012
This is a very well designed toaster oven.I had purchased the Delonghi compact toaster oven from WS which was a total piece of junk ( and which WS no longer offers) so I have a worst/best frame of reference. This toaster heats quickly,evenly,looks great and is very user friendly. It's also easy to clean. Worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 11 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllieKat
,Tulsa
,OK
September 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior toaster oven!
September 7, 2012
I absolutely love this toaster! It's by far the best one I've ever had. Love the multiple toasting options. I use it everyday whether it be to toast a sandwich, bake a pizza, warm a bagel, etc. This toaster does it all & perfectly. Highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 12 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ExLondoner
,Near Philadelphia
,PA
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+27points
28of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wouldn't buy it again after 9 months of use
August 26, 2012
I’ve been using this every day for 9 months. Overall it's an average toaster oven and seems well built, but at this price it should be much better. Might be acceptable at half the price with these faults:
Doesn’t toast evenly on both sides until the toaster has heated up (2nd or 3rd set of toast); almost always have to take it out and turn it over to finish it properly.
Spacing of the grooves for the rack is poor. Top groove (designed for broiling) is too high and completely burns the top of the food. Middle groove is also a bit too high making it impossible to get your hand in to pull out toast. Tray does not slide out when the door opens, requiring tongs/potholder for everything. Bottom slot is too low to toast or heat properly.
Signal bell is unbearably loud, with an ear-piercing pitch, like a truck back-up warning. It screeches when you turn it on and when the toast is done; it wakes people up at the other end of the house.
There are more reasons but space is limited for reviews.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Temperamental, Loud, design of features
Review 13 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jenn9
,el dorado hills
,ca
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
20of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This toaster is a hot mess!
July 20, 2012
I was hoping this appliance would perform all the different things I needed in a toaster oven. It's reasonably priced and it looked great on my countertop, but its performance was pretty disappointing. The toasting process is long, the top burners didn't get hot enough and are set far apart resulting in uneven toast. The bottom of the breads already had dark marks while the top wasn't near toasted. I had to run it through the second time and the bottom only got worse and the top just started to get color. And by the way, this toaster oven makes a loud sound everytime I press the start button and after to signal that it's done. It even makes the same loud sound each time I went to plug it in. I've used a Breville toaster the last 2 yrs and was happy with it. I'll have to exchange this one for a new Breville toaster instead.
Pros: Design
Cons: Speed, Power, Loud
Review 14 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christty
,Fresno
,Ca
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Toaster Oven!!!
July 13, 2012
I took the time to write a review on this particular toaster oven being that I almost didn't buy it due to the other reviews that stated the beeping was too loud. Not even close for me...............in fact, it beeps three small soft times, and I know when my food is ready. It cooks at even temperature, and my food turns out perfect!
Thank-You Breville!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, my food turns out perfect!
Review 15 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JerseyTomato
,Spring Lake
,NJ
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best toaster ever!
July 4, 2012
This toaster and counter-top oven is the best, most practical appliance ever! Oven heats to 400 degrees in no time at all. Toasted anything comes out perfect. Unit fits nicely on counter, doesn't get too hot. Best purchase ever, I love Breville products, Treat yourself!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 16 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Catarina630
,New York
,NY
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible Toaster!
June 14, 2012
I bought this item for two main reasons: toasting and broiling and it performs poorly on both. The toast function is very uneven, leaving bread blackened at the edges and soft in the middle (I think the heat sources are spaced too far apart). It also toasts the bottom of the bread much more than the top. The broil function is not nearly hot enough and cooks the food more rather than browning the top. It also takes far too long for both (3-5 minutes for toast and 15 mins for broil).
Cons: Speed, Power, Temperamental, Size, performance
Review 17 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hyend67
,burlington
,VT
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Should have been a '5 star'
May 21, 2012
Everything about this toaster oven is superb: looks, controls and, most of all results. I already have a Breville toaster but wanted something that would handle pizza and whole muffins and rolls. I've even baked an excellent pie in it. The only thing which prevents me from rating it a '5' is that the rack does not slide out automatically when the door is opened. This feature would have made it even better....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet
Cons: design: no automatic slide-out rack
Review 18 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theresa76
,IL
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best ever!
May 10, 2012
My husband and i received this toaster oven this last Christmas. We love it! Since we've been married, we've never owned a toaster, we've always had a toaster oven. The last we had was a cheap piece of you know what! I did a lot of researching and it seemed this was the best. Researching done by me, ordering done by my parents :)
Our toast comes out perfectly each and every morning, it's wonderful! Reheated pizza tastes like it did at the restaurant!
I too, was disappointed that it didn't come with the tray in the broiler, however we've adapted and simply use a piece of aluminum foil make-shifted into a 'pan' of sorts. We put a chicken breast, a pork loin, something like that, and broil on our aluminum foil pan. Turn up the edges so the drippings don't go anywhere, and it seems to work well for us.
I highly recommend this toaster oven, it's great!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 19 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Seattle
,WA
May 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I must have defective appliance
May 5, 2012
We have had this toaster oven for just about a month now and I have been very disappointed with it. It varies wildly in the outcome each time I try to make toast. Sometimes the toast is burned in one spot (like charred black) and barely toasted in others. I am using the same kind of bread each time. I have experimented with the different settings with no success. When baking or reheating, I have the same issue: uneven heat. I'm thinking it has to be a rare defective item. I guess I'll take it back to the store and see what they have to say.
Alas, and I had had such high hopes. My geeky husband researched toaster ovens and thought this was one of the better ones he found. But, truthfully, a malfunctioning $150.00 toaster oven is not really a problem, when compared to the daily reality of most people in the world.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Cons: doesn't seem to heat evenly
Review 20 for Breville Mini Smart Toaster Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Did It Again!
May 2, 2012
Have had this toaster oven for about 4 months and love it. It replaced a traditional toaster. After thinking long and hard whether to replace the toaster (with the price of toasters, not much more to purchase this item, and you have more options) or switch to a toaster oven. Even stale bread/bagels come out fresh baked. Extremely pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
page1 2 next