Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster

Breville's high-tech electronic toaster anticipates your every preference, supplementing five precise toasting levels with a special function that provides a touch of extra browning at the end of the cycle. The sleek brushed-metal finish blends in with the metal appliances popular in many kitchens and is easy to clean. Accommodates up to four slices at once. Select from five precise browning settings. Five push-button settings: Toast/Cancel, Lift & Look, Bagel, Defrost and A Bit More. Choose the "a bit more" setting once initial toasting is complete, and the bread will automatically lower to continue toasting. LED toasting progress indication lets you track toasting progress. Extra-wide slots accommodate bread, bagels and pastries. Lift-and-look feature allows mid-cycle adjustments. Audible signal indicates when toasting is complete. Includes a slide-out crumb tray for easy cleanup. Durable heavy-duty die-case metal housing. Stays cool to the touch.
Average Customer Rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
Review 1 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Cincinnati
,OH
March 6, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3 strikes you are out
March 6, 2016
I bought this toaster after reading how evenly it browns, etc. It does not. It seemed to work better for the first few months and then it literally browned one half of the toast more than the other. Since I had a warranty from WS, I returned it and thinking I had a defective item, ordered a replacement. This one seemed better than the other but then any time a slice of bread was put in one of the slots, it would jam and the only thing that allowed it to work would be to unplug the toaster and then raise one end of it by a centimeter and then drop it back on the counter. Got the third one and it DOES THE SAME THING but on the other slot. My counters are dead level so I cannot fathom any reason other than faulty construction. Breville...READ UP!!! FIX THIS. Will be returning today and picking something else up. WS has been super helpful through all this and made what would be a terrible experience into a tolerable one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, dysfunctional
Review 2 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Indianapolis
,IN
January 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Toaster Ever
January 22, 2016
I just love this toaster. Perfect toast from bagels, frozen waffles to split baguette bread. Time varies by thickness as well as texture, density and moisture content of breads so that's probably why mixed reviews on unevenness of toasting. Easy to clean and well made. Long slot is great. My second Breville electric-convection toaster oven-and love them both.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quiet, Quality, Size
Review 3 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Silver Spring
,MD
January 14, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Toaster
January 14, 2016
I have been using this toaster daily for a few months and love it. It is high quality and looks great on my counter-top. I originally registered for the Breville 4-slot toaster, but exchanged it for this one so I could toast long slices of bread, Belgian waffles, etc. that do not fit in the smaller slots. It is more versatile and also fits better in my kitchen because of the narrow shape. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality
Review 4 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Towson
,MD
December 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as Expected
December 2, 2015
My husband and I bought this toaster because of the name brand and some of the reviews we had read. We have other Breville products that we like, so we thought this toaster would be of high quality too. Especially at this price point. We were wrong! The toaster toasts very unevenly, and in order to get it to brown enough, we had to set it almost to the very top of the toast settings. And not only did we buy one toaster (that we ended up returning because we thought that the problems we were having may be just that toaster), but we bought a second one, thinking it would be better! It wasn't!! We ended up buying another brand and so far we love it. And thank you Wm-Sonoma for accepting our returns!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Speed, toast unevenly
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Eric11
Kansas City
Posted December 10, 2015
Same experience--
Cherie, I just got this toaster and had the same experience. Lots of bells and whistles, but they forgot the main thing--the toast! Burned on one end, raw on the other. So now I'm going to have to ship this back and get a good toaster. If you don't mind, what brand did you end up with, the one you like?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bellevue
,WA
September 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the money
September 15, 2015
This product makes the best toast. It is quiet, push the start button and it automatically lowers the bread, Can interrupt cycle to check on the color and it will then continue to the end of the cycle. Well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Quality
Review 6 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Pembroke Pines
,fl
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Browns on one side
January 27, 2015
I bought this toaster because of the Breville name but I am disappointed because the heating element on one side seems to have gone bad and only toast one side of the bread. The toaster is about 2 years old. My last toaster lasted over 10 years and it wasn't nearly as pricey.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, problem with heating element
Review 7 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
July 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost a year
July 12, 2014
I've owned this toaster for almost a year. Daily use for English muffins, bagels, pita bread, gluten-free bread, artisan bread and homemade waffles.
My only complaint: sometimes the bread browns unevenly.
Toaster still looks great. No fading of letters on buttons. Functions like new. The "Bit More" button is my fave feature. The die-cast body does not show finger prints and is easily wiped clean. It looks beautiful on my countertop. I love the wide and extra long slots for artisan type breads.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Jacksonville Beach
,Fl
October 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Failed My Expectations
October 5, 2013
I love toast, and not just for breakfast.
I researched reviews on this toaster from many sites. Okay, I'll spend almost $200 on a toaster that will give me perfectly toasted bread and last forever. Wrong.
In less then six months the labels on the toaster disappeared; is the button for toast or bagel, a little more or not? My husband and I can play the "which button to push now" game.
Two days ago, we woke to fine toast on one side of the bread. Um
What will happen next, we are waiting to see. This toaster is a disappointment to me and an opportunity for my mother and husband to say, you should have bought a cheaper toaster. Will I ever live it down?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Quality, Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, not working up to par
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
PConroy
Jacksonville Beach
Posted December 15, 2013
My WS Store
A manager at my local WS store, heard my store and told me to bring the toaster in. I haven't had a chance to do so yet. My mother passed away so as soon as life settles I will take in the toaster.
0points
Customer avatar
2manykids
OH
Posted December 13, 2013
Thanks
Thanks for the heads up on this toaster. If something can go wrong, it will in my house. You prevented those "You shoul have.." statements for me.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Breville Long Slot Die Cast Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,La Mesa
,CA
September 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Toaster; worth the price
September 11, 2013
I was looking for a long-slot toaster to easily toast thick, long slices of Artisan bread. I saw the Breville long-slot white toaster at another store and, although I liked the idea, I did not like the white plastic for looks or longevity.
Did some research and decided on this toaster. It was more than what we were looking on spending, but decided to give it a try.
I just used it for the first time and am very pleased. The little extras like the "lift and look" , " a little bit more", and bagel feature are really nice. It also looks very nice, especially compared to the white plastic version.
I am hoping it lasts a long time, but know that if I have any issues with it, Williams Sonoma will provide the excellent customer service it always has.
Would buy again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design, attractive design