This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Breville Ikon Burr Grinder

Whether you use a French press or an automatic espresso machine, this stainless-steel grinder has clearly labeled settings - from ultrafine to coarse - to ensure that brewing begins with the right grind.Simple touch-activated operation.Five clearly labeled grind settings plus grind-time settings from 10 to 30 seconds.Stainless-steel conical burr grinder creates a more uniform grind than blades and generates less heat, preserving the flavor of the coffee.Removable transparent hopper holds up to a half pound of coffee beans.Durable stainless-steel construction.
Average Customer Rating:
2.983 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
28 of 59(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
Review 1 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ozzysmom
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Has held up
January 2, 2013
I've used this grinder everyday for the last three years. I make simple pots of coffee and wanted a good grinder to grind my beans. I use the "fine" setting. I haven't had any problems. Yes, I agree with previous reviewers that there is static with the grounds in the catch container and they do get on the countertop. But it doesn't bother me. I just wipe up the mess. Occasionally, the timer does not shut off, so I hit the off bottom...no big deal. All in all, I have been very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JayL
,Calgary
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Not a good grinder
November 2, 2012
I bought this grinder at WS as a secondary grinder to an Italian Espresso grinder that I have had for 12 years. This grinder sets the expectation that it does espressso and turkish -- far from the truth... I did not want this grinder for fine grinds -- I wanted for French Press and drip -- and it even falls way short... The grind is like road gravel with a very inconsistent grind size... This product is not usable for serious coffee drinkers.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 3 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CoffeeHoundinNC
,Colfax
,NC
October 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best available for the price
October 1, 2012
This is the second unit of this model we have owned. The first unit was a different design which had an on-off switch that failed. This model has the switch removed.
The unit grinds great coffee in just about any variation you want. This version grinds the beans much faster than our first unit and is consistent in every way.
The only thing we have noticed is that the unit appears to consume electricity when not in use. If you put your hands on the body of the unit after it has been plugged in a while, you will feel a mild warmth not present when the unit is unplugged. We have just made it a habit to grind our coffee and unplug it. Mind you I don't see this as a safety problem or fire threat - just mild warmth I would not expect to be present.
Would I buy this unit again? I just ordered one for my daughter as a gift. I believe it is the best unit available in this price range.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Loud
Review 4 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Photoman
,Huntington
,NY
July 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Broke like others
July 26, 2012
Not only did this break in 1 1/2 years like everyone's it cannot be fixed. I brought it to a local appliance fixit place and after a month could not fix it. I called Breville and asked for their repair dept, they don't have one. I asked who I can send it to in NY, I called them and was told they have many of these units and cannot fix them because they cannot get parts.I have always trusted Williams Sanoma for quality They should dump this product immediately. I want to fix it but cannot.
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Photoman
Huntington, NY
Posted August 31, 2012
Broke like the others
After writing Breville about the problem and sending back the unit imagine my surprise when a brand new unit arrived at my door today. It doesn't look like a refurb but new. Thanks for standing behind your product Breville.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
coffeedrinkerperked
,Marietta
,Ga
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Timer will fail and they know it
March 7, 2012
Bought the grinder based on reputation through reputable vendor. After less than 2 years, the timer failed as noted by many others. Breville customer service was of no help. Now an expensive paperweight. Will Williams-Sanoma help? Keep tuned.
Review 6 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NeeNeeS
,Sylvan Lake
,AB
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Sad it doesn't work better
December 27, 2011
I've owned this Burr Grinder for a couple of years now. What I have found happens with it is that every now and then a single unground coffee bean gets jammed down in the grinding mechanism and stops the grinding, but the moter still runs. This has happened 3 or 4 times and has resulted in wearing down something inside so that now it will no longer grind coffee although the moter still works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store
Cons: Temperamental, poorly designed
Review 7 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jalwitt
,Boston
,MA
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Coffee powder everywhere
December 18, 2011
I have owned this grinder for about six months. It drives me crazy every time I use it for two reasons: (1) it does not grind the coffee that evenly - I use the medium grind for French Press and always end up with medium grind plus a lot of fine powder; (2) the ground coffee gets stuck in the shaft leading down to the plastic grind container, regardless of how much you grind. And the container itself is not designed to empty easily into a coffee maker. Its irregular shape makes it hard to spoon and impossible to pour. Every time I grind coffee, by the time it's in the French Press I have coffee dust on every surface. Very annoying for $100.
Pros: works more or less
Cons: Difficult to Use, poor design
Review 8 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bhgdesigns
,San Diego
,CA
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Poor Craftsmanship and Pure Frustration
December 13, 2011
Being a Designer, I was excited about purchasing this item due to the aesthetics (looks) of this item and the fact that it is a burr grinder. Although I feel the form is very good, the functionality of this piece is quite disappointing. The constant static of the grinds in the lower grind bin just clings and spills on to your countertop making it a constant wipe down of your countertop. The grind bin holder also has a very poor design plastic hinge that easily broke and doesn't seem to have an easy way to pour it into your coffee maker compartment. I have yet to call about warranty but it should've been designed with sturdier hardware for the lower bin knowing this is a very active bin you pull out and push in on a daily basis. The Static issue is quite annoying. I'm satisfied with the actual grinds but the process to transfer it to your coffee maker is very poorly thought out. I would not recommend.
Pros: Size, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Use, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 9 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BigSkyReview
,Bozeman
,MT
December 12, 2011
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Liking this Grinder
December 12, 2011
After six months of daily use this Breville Burr Grinder has worked well. Consistent grind and easy use. Makes for a tasty cup of coffee. Haven't had any problems thus far and don't have any complaints. I did notice some static like a previous reviewer noted but have figured out how to get the ground coffee to filter without making a mess.
Build quality seems good although the power switch seems like it could be more stout.
I am happy with this purchase thus far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Design, consistent grind
Review 10 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
zippetyzip
,Stowe
,VT
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Disappointing
November 20, 2011
This grinder has been a big disappointment. I have owned this grinder for ten months and it has never produced a consistent grind. I can never be certain how fine the coffee will be ground nor the quantity of coffee that it will grind. Additionally, the static generated by this grinder is a nightmare. I find that I am constantly cleaning up coffee grounds from my kitchen counters. The build quality is below par. The door to the hopper that holds the ground coffee has broken twice. Breville customer service is very accommodating and has willingly replaced the broken part but it would be nice if the part would last more than five months. Additionally , the time it has taken for the part to ship from Breville has been inordinately slow. My experience with Breville appliances has generally been very good but this grinder performs well below my expectations and I would not recommend it.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 11 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LKAV
Ventura CA
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Broke after 1.5 - 2 years
September 1, 2011
Wow - I was just looking to buy a new coffee grinder because - just like everyone else - after about a year and half to 2 years, the on/off button fell off after it was just intermittently working for about a month. I liked it up until then.
Pros: Design
Cons: fell apart too soon
Review 12 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jmontana
August 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Power switch fell off
August 24, 2011
I had the same experience as others here. It worked well for about 2 years. Suddenly the power switch was very loose. One day it simply fell off. I tried to re-attach it, but this ended up pushing the rest of the mechanism inside the grinder where I can't reach it.
I expect more from a $100 product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jmontana
Posted October 2, 2011
They sent me a new one!
Just wanted to revise this review. I don't know how to change the number of stars, but I'd like to bump this up to 4 stars.
After the power switch fell off, I contacted the company. They immediately offered to replace the grinder because this is a known problem. They emailed me a shipping label. I printed it out, packed the grinder in a box and sent it out via UPS. Once they received the old one, they shipped out a brand new one. I was probably without a grinder for 2 weeks.
The new one does *not have a power switch*. They clearly realized the power switch is redundant and a problem, so it's simply gone!
So if anyone has this problem, I would strongly recommend you contact the company and save yourself some cash. The new one has been just fine. I have been very impressed with their customer support.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Andreazx6
Everett, WA
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fell Apart
February 13, 2011
I received this as a gift and have been using it for a couple of years. It is my first one and so far pretty good. But, just the other day I was wiping it down and the on/off switch broke. I pulled it out and there are two small thin pieces of plastic that hold the switch in place, it looked as though these wore out and broke. The grinder itself seems to work well but now I am not sure if I can fix the switch as it does not take a normal screw driver but I am still going to try if I can find the right wrench. It will sometimes cause the grounds to have a lot of static and make a mess and as I read reviews this is not common. I most likely will not purchase this brand again.
Review 14 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LarryO1347
Shady Side, MD
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Works Great - But doesn't hold up
January 25, 2011
I was so impressed with my grinder. But, slowly it began to fall apart. The plastic lid was the first thing to fail on the hopper. Then, the switches began to fail - first it was the push switch for the quantitiy. That gave out quick and I had to hold the button in just to get the machine to grind. Today, the power switch just disintegrated and fell apart. After two years of use, I now have a pile of junk.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuzytheGardener
Boston, MA
Posted February 25, 2011
I agree
I am having the same problem. It worked perfect, but the warranty is expired. My problem is with the start button. Sometimes if I leave the back toggle switch in the "on" position, It will grind when it feels like it, which isn't when I want it to grind.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stickboybike
Lancaster, Pa
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Of course, nothing is fine here.
December 23, 2010
I'll keep this simple, bottom line up front.
I purchased the Breville grinder to be used with my Gaggia Baby espresso machine. Performing all the steps by the book for pulling a good shot, using the grinder in the 'espresso' setting, I was constantly experiencing 'gushing' while pulling the shot. Even on the Turkish setting, which should turn the puck to concrete, the shot was still gushing. I had reason to believe this grinder wasn't grinding fine enough.
I compared the Turkish grind to my friend's Krups Espresso grind setting and his beans were definitely grinding finer. Both are $99 burr grinders. I'm not saying the Krups is better by any means, just proof the Breville wasn't grinding fine enough.
French press, course grind, great! Grinding for a drip coffee maker, this is a good unit too. I don't recommend it for espresso machines. Maybe mine was a defective one? Since then I've taken the plunge and purchase a more higher end grinder and the crema couldn't be better.
Review 16 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SteveR
Fort Lauderdale
November 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Thoughtful Design
November 20, 2010
I've owned this grinder for about 6 months. It replaced a failed Braun burr grinder that was about 5 years old. I looked at the other burr grinders on the market and decided to give the Breville a try because of its good looks and thoughtful design. It has turned out to be a very well designed and functional appliance. I use the grinder every morning and it is simple to use and reliably grinds the coffee to the desired fineness. I've used a number of grinders before and one design feature that I looked for was a grind bin that is fed from the top (rather than side) because it leads to "less mess." While it is true that "some mess" is unavoidable with any coffee grinder, this unit gets the award from me. The ground coffee enters the bin from the top, you tap on the side of the unit after the grinding is done and really there is very little mess. Every month or two I take the bin out and wipe the slot with a damp cloth to remove any stray grounds.
Review 17 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NABR
stony brook ny
September 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
works really well
September 27, 2010
After buying three different coffee grinders, that broke within a month or burned out, or didn't grind evenly I bought the Breville. I have to say I am very pleased with it. Bought it about 9 months ago, Use it all the time and It is great. Grinds beans consistantly even. Has different settings for different coffee pots..
I have no complaints woudl definitly recommend this item.
Review 18 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrenchRoastLover
Potomac, MD
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautifully Engineered
September 20, 2010
This is my 3rd and best burr grinder. The grind is fine enough for my electric drip pot, and it doesn't clog from oily beans. Nice touches are the plug with a finger hole for easy removal, the stainless body for tapping to prevent clogs, and the well-designed container for ground coffee that is easy to empty into the pot and keep clean. Great machine.
Review 19 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LawBabe
Miami
August 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
The Last Coffee Grinder I'll Ever Have to Buy
August 11, 2010
That's what the sales clerk at Wms Sonoma told me. Previous grinder was a cheapie $30 Braun that lasted 20 years, no kidding. Just about a month after the 1 year warranty expired, the on/off switch became temperamental. After another 4 months of carefully jiggling it finally fell through the hole. No more coffee grinder. I only used it once or twice in the morning each day. So, I guess it was just a few cents per day, still, it is over priced if you're looking for a long term appliance. Thumbs down...
Review 20 for Breville Ikon Burr Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RickeyRedneck
Johnson City, TN.
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I am returning fourth (4th) unit
August 10, 2010
This is the fourth (4th) unit I have owned during the past 26 months. The conical grinder stops operating. I will purchase another brand. Breville states that oily beans cause problem, however I only use medium roast coffee beans.
page1 2 3 next