Breville Hemisphere Control Blender

Breville's revolutionary Hemisphere Bowl and Blade System features central blades to draw down what's on top and wide sweeping blades to hug the bottom of the pitcher. Built to withstand years of use, this multi-tasking workhorse crushs, chops, whips and aerates-allowing you to consistently serve up perfectly blended cocktails, smoothies and velvety soups. Powerful motor delivers eight task controls: five variable speeds, plus crushed ice, smoothie and auto pulse settings. Specially designed contoured pitcher and surgical-grade stainless steel blades create a powerful vortex that produces an exceptionally uniform mixture. BPA-free co-polyester pitcher, marked with graduated measurements. Lid has removable insert for adding ingredients. Easy-to-read LCD timer. Built-in cord storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.227 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
13 of 22(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
Review 1 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dadof5
,Williamsburg
,VA
November 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
twice burned-shame on me - it's the design!
November 24, 2014
Like another review the seal burned up - this is the seal in the blade assembly. The first time it happened just after the warranty expired - and we figured it was just unlucky ... bought a new bowl and bottom unit ... and less than a year later that one burned up too. It was not the maintenance or cleaning (it was pampered - especially the second time.)
Review 2 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kshor
,Lake Oswego
,OR
November 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keep looking!
November 10, 2014
Can not recommend this product. Used a few times a month for a little over a year and the gasket at the bottom of the container started smoking one day. Product was 2 months outside of warranty and Breville would not replace the container.
Review 3 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarke
,Lodi
,Ca
June 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Blender Ever
June 8, 2014
Light weight, truly does blend all the ice for smoothies and drinks. Nice that the container is all one piece. Cleaning is a breeze!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Assembly
Review 4 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hockeymk44
,Virginia Beach
,VA
March 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor blending and broke quickly
March 28, 2014
I bought this after i tried to wear out the cheap plastic blender I had been using for the last 10 years. I basically only use this for making fruit smoothies after bicycle trips (frozen fruit, ice, yogurt, and some liquid base). I never felt it easily worked through this; I always had to mix it up every few seconds with a spoon - and add more liquid than I was used to. I can't say I used it too much; probably no more than 3 or 4 dozen times within the year from purchase. Then, today, the motor broke seconds into starting a batch. I am more disappointed than anything. I spent a lot of time researching blenders and this seemed to be a reasonably priced, yet well constructed and effective blender. However, when push comes to shove, I would prefer my cheap plastic blender even before the breville broke. Perhaps this was unique to my piece, but I feel obliged to pass along my experience.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Quality, poor effectiveness
Review 5 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MMCVA
,Great Falls
,VA
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaks and the top comes loose
February 9, 2014
I've had this blender for about a year and have been using it two or three times a day for smoothies over the last few months. It does make incredibly smooth soups, smoothies, etc. For the price and size, I'm impressed with the consistency of blending. But, during this time of increased usage, I've noticed leaks starting around the bottom of the container. The lid also blows off very easily when the blender is on high speed, which undermines the timed blending because you can't walk away from the machine to do something else. In fact, I now keep a kitchen towel over the top when making smoothies, because the lid bounces up enough to make a fine spray smoothie contents onto my cabinets and backsplash.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, blends perfectly
Cons: Loud, leaks and loose lids make a terrible mess
Review 6 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LuluBakes
,Saint Paul
,MN
December 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Built To Last
December 5, 2013
I got this blender in February 2013 and it's now December 2013 and it's on its last legs. It smells like rubber and metal burning at the higher settings and it can't handle frozen bananas or berries, the staples of my morning smoothies. I pureed squash in it at Thanksgiving and that nearly killed it. I like the look of it, it's simple to use, and the pitcher is the perfect size, but the motor is either under-powered or poorly made. Overall I'm very disappointed in this product and would not recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Quality, Power, Temperamental, Loud, burnt rubber/metal odor
Review 7 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tennisfan
,Dallas
,TX
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
only works for a few months
August 30, 2013
Received this as a gift in February but had to return in May because it stopped working. Replacement blender is now not working properly . . . so it worked well from May to August. Love it when it works . . . which isn't for long.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Difficult to Store
Review 8 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mrsacd
,Portland
,ME
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Solid Blender
August 9, 2013
I have only had the product for a few weeks now and use it mostly for smoothies and purées. I can't complain. It is powerful, easy to use, cleans up simply. I like the various options it offers. I also own a Breville single-cup brewer for several years now. I am satisfied with the products from this company. I hope the blender lasts just as long. Good purchase. I would recommend to anyone in need of a good product to get the job done without the hefty price tag of a Vitamix. My only con is I wish the container was smaller, but the size is perfect for a family.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 9 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KBSmoothieLover
,Williamstown
,MA
June 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not sure this blender will last
June 21, 2013
We've had this blender for 5 months now and only use it for fruit smoothies. It's worked fine so far but recently there is a metallic smell that happens when we use it so I'm not sure how long it will last. I was attracted to the lower price but now I'm unsure if I should have just sprung for the Vitamix.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TypeA
maryland
Posted July 7, 2013
burnt smell plus smoking
I just experienced the same thing i use it for smoothies and mostly in the warmer months so basically mine is fairly new as far as usage goes. I t started smoking and burning. I can't use it again. Was going to write to company. seems could be a motor problem. blades are good and everything else in tack..it seems like it is coming from inside the motor box as that is where we noticed a black smokey gunk once we turned off the blender...ruined the smoothie and can not use again.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RedSetterLady
,Southlake
,TX
May 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommended with reservations
May 17, 2013
I purchased this blender 2 weeks ago and find it does not perform as well as my decades old Vitamix that is finally on it's last legs. My test is how well it pulverizes the fresh flax seeds I use in my daily morning shake. Instead of blending them into a nice smooth shake after 60 seconds on the highest setting, it leaves them half chopped and sitting in the bottom of my glass. It takes at least 2 60 second cycles on the highest setting to get even close to a smooth shake the Vitamix produces in 30 seconds.
The motor sounds weak and I'm afraid I put too much faith in the rating given this blender by Cooks. I wish I'd gone ahead and spent the extra money for a new Vitamix.
It does look prettier on the counter than the Vitamix.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Power, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RedSetterLady
Southlake, Texas
Posted October 31, 2013
Update
This blender is almost dead after only a few months of use. Now you can smell the motor overheating and it sputters and slows when blending 3 T flax seed, 2 cups of water, 1 cup blueberries and 2 scoops of whey protein powder. It was a total waste of money. Now I will have to go out and buy a Vitamix, like I should have from the beginning.
I'm not sure I will trust the reviews by Cooks Magazine in the future, they are the ones who said it was good.
Very disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jasonC
,geneva
,il
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
broke after about one year
April 30, 2013
We got this blender as a gift and it only lasted a year. While it worked, it was amazing, which explains some of these reviews.This seems to be the trend for this blender. It has a good chance of not working for very long. The model we had used a rubber seal at the bottom which was hard to clean and became moldy if not cleaned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 12 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom3laxers
,MD
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific blender!
April 10, 2013
I was considering juicers/Vitamix/blenders to make smoothies/juices and started researching. I found great reviews for this blender, and it seemed to be rated comparably to the VitaMix, but cost considerably less. I bought this as a Christmas gift for the family, and we LOVE it! I have been blending all kinds of fruit and vegetable smoothies with this blender, couldn't be happier with this purchase. Very highly recommend this blender.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 13 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SaraN
,Yuba City
,CA
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this blender!
January 22, 2013
LOVE this blender! Simply amazing!
I just "lost" my blender of 20 years & tried a bullet in place....no dice. Ordered this blender & am blown away by the quality of the product & the quality of work it does at just the push of a button.
I told a friend that I had ordered this blender & she said "take it back & get a Vitamix!" I am so glad I didn't listen - I couldn't be more pleased.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 14 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookink
,Small town
,IA
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT BLENDER!!
January 17, 2013
I have used the blender to make several smoothies with fruit and spinach. The smoothie setting is wonderful and each one has been well blended with no chunks. It is so much better than the blender it replaced! No negatives so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 15 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ReviewsByDavid
,Gainesville
,VA
Virginia
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
2of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Product That is No Good
January 15, 2013
I have already had to replace a Breville Toaster because it just stopped working and it was not even a year old. Now their blender which I have used only about 4 times, has just stopped working. This is the second time that one of their products has just stopped working so I have made the decision not to purchase another Breville product. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Cons: stopped working
Review 16 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
korinda
,Fort Wayne
,IN
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Totally worth the price!
January 9, 2013
This Breville blender really does do what it says it will do and it is TOTALLY worth the price. It turns ice into snow and you can "set it and forget it" with the 60 second timer. I make a frozen smoothie with it every morning and have been so happy with the result in texture. The smoothie button does a fantastic job giving my frozen fruit a "smoothness" that I have not experienced using any other blender. I don't use a lot of ice in my smoothies, but when I do it handles it with effiency and effectiveness.
I've tried the Oster and Bullet brands and they simply DO NOT stand up to Breville. I bought mine for about $200 and it was so worth spending more money than you would on a department store shelf brand. I'm so glad I did not spend hundreds more on a Vitamix. The Breville gets the job done at a fraction of the price of a Vitamix, and still stands out from lower-priced blenders as a worthy option.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 17 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MelissaM
,New Hope
,PA
July 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ours does not leak!
July 26, 2012
We bought this blender in May 2012 and have been using it daily ever since. It stays on my counter top permanently. I've never had an issue with the bottom leaking or the top coming off. I was surprised to see some had negative experiences with this blender. I logged on to the site to get the link and actually recommend this blender to someone else when I saw only three stars? I guess I "got a good one"?
I have used this blender daily for smoothies (with hard frozen fruit), nut based butters and cheese, and have used it to make raw sauces with hard vegetables (carrots - cut up small) as well as soft (tomatoes, squash). It does all those jobs well. I like the smoothie setting, but also like that the blender will time out after a minute if I set it to "liquify". Overall a really nice blender for those who can't/won't spend the money for a Vitamix.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean
Review 18 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefScotty
,Novato
,CA
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For home or commercial use?
June 10, 2012
Today it's all about value for performance, right? So, compare this to VITAMIX. - the Breville Hemisphire Blender is 80% as good - for a price difference of 40% less. At home, this works for me, really. If I was making smoothies or soups or other consumables (commercially) at a retail price point that DEMANDED perfection - it's VITAMIX for me. For home use - I am very satisfied for the saving$, so, You decide your best use?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Assembly, retail price
Cons: Power, Loud
Review 19 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
clwk
June 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
8of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWFUL BLENDER
June 8, 2012
i am so disappointed with this blender. i bought it to make smoothies and within 6 uses, the top is loose and comes off mid-blending when it is pushing the contents up in the machine - a flaw in the manufacturing! i have already had numerous spills from the top popping off while the blender is going thru the cycle. DO NO BUY!
Cons: Quality
Review 20 for Breville Hemisphere Control Blender
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phytotoxic
,Las Vegas
,NV
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoothie Master
May 4, 2012
I have been using my new BBL605XL every morning to prepare a fruit smoothie or an iced coffee frap style for my wonderful wife. Overall design is incredible, if using frozen fruit be sure to add enough fluid for a nice smooth consistency, for iced coffee I use vanilla soy and the foam it creates will send the blender lid flying so you must keep a hand on it which is the only reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: lid can pop off while blending
page1 2 next