Breville Fast Slow Cooker

Whether you have plenty of time or no time at all, Breville's versatile electric pressure cooker will have dinner ready when you are. Use the pressure setting to cook tender meats and veggies quickly - or layer on complex flavors with the slow-cook setting. The fully programmable cooker automatically switches to "keep warm," so you can simply set it and forget it. Versatile countertop machine is a slow cooker and ultra-fast pressure cooker in one. Preprogrammed settings include saute/sear; slow cook high; slow cook low; pressure cook high, medium and low; steam; and keep warm. Stainless-steel cooker has a large, 6-quart capacity - perfect for family-sized meals or entertaining. The nonstick cooking bowl lets you cook using minimal oil - and enjoy quick, easy cleanup. Lid features a three-way safety system, including a safety lock, valve and pressure release button. Includes a stainless-steel steaming basket and trivet, heat-resistant spatula, serving spoon and measuring cup. 13 1/4" x 11 1/4" x 13" high; 6-qt. cap.; 11 lb.; 1100W. Model# BPR600XL This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
3.85 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
Review 1 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DaddyG
,Ventura
,CA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pressure Cooking Nightmare
February 15, 2014
My wife and I have several Breville products and thought this would be a good way to slow cook and pressure cook. I wanted a "set it and forget it" way to pressure cook garbanzo and other beans. When you add the beans and water you can set it and wait for five beeps when the clock goes to zero. Now the problem begins. You have to release the pressure with a button or switch. A plume of bean water steam then shoots 3 feet into the air for a several minutes. Everything on the counter gets covered and is a real mess. You have major cleanup. Two Breville reps said this is normal. I sent it back and have a new love for the stove top cooker you cool under water before you release any residual steam.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GentlyBentley
,Toronto
January 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just a slow cooker
January 28, 2014
In less than six months the pressure cooker stopped keeping pressure. Tried to get replacement parts with no success. Keeping it as a slow cooker and will have to buy a proper pressure cooker.
Review 3 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tablefor4
,Lake Oswego
,OR
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool to have for weeknight dinners
November 25, 2013
What a great tool for fast roasts, soups, and even broth. It's easy to use....simplifies the mess as you can brown and pressure cook in the same pot. It's great to make sauces that requires time to simmer...this builds the flavor in minutes compared to hours.
I read one review saying they cooked as directed but meet was tough. If the meat is too tough keep cooking it.
Make sure you read the instructions, they are thorough. Make sure you have the sealing rim in the right direction.
You can definately have a fabulous meal in 1/2 hour with this tool.
Review 4 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SandyRidesWaves
,Tempe
,AZ
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Valuable Cooking Tool
November 4, 2013
We have had this cooker for about 6 months, and use it almost daily. We cook a lot of legumes, and love the freedom to cook black, lima, pinto, and kidney beans in 32 minutes or less with no soaking; lentils and green split peas take only 10 minutes. Quinoa and rice take about 6 minutes, and the pressure cooker really infuses the grains with the flavor of the vegetable bouillon we use instead of plain water. The touchpad is intuitive, and all the parts are easy to clean. We could not be more pleased with it, and we feel confident we will enjoy it for years to come because it is a Breville product. We have had great experience with their products over the years, and own many. The machine is elegantly designed, and its high quality is readily apparent. I'm glad we bought the best!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bbrph1
,las vegas
,nv
October 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Died no support from Breville
October 6, 2013
used it for about 12 weeks then it died so we called breville support and they said they DO NOT have parts for this unit good luck if you have one
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cookiebake123
September 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not reach 15psi
September 29, 2013
I've had two of these now. We moved shortly after buying the first, and when I went to use it after moving it no longer worked. There was just a very small ding in it, but it would no longer pressurize. We returned it for a new one, and while this one pressurizes, it has never cooked things right. For example, steel cut oatmeal, which is supposed to take about 5 minutes on high pressure per most recipes, takes 12-15 minutes with the Breville. Dried black beans take 75 minutes. For the price I would recommend buying something that actually performs as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Speed, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 7 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cervelo
,Ada
,MI
September 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Expectations - But.......
September 1, 2013
I had high hopes for this unit. Breville brand, multipurpose unit. What could be better? I had a Kitchen Aid slow cooker for years, and was very reliable. Liked the features of the Breville unit (brown, slow cook, pressure cook, etc.), but like most things that try to do everything, they rarely excel at anything. That's the case of this unit. Slow cooker is limited to "low" setting only, and upon the initial use, proceeded to create pressure inside the unit as if being used for pressure cooking. The slow cook mode also caused the chili to bubble up during cooking and splatter all over the lid of the unit, and also on the countertop. The rubber gasket also retains food/cooking odors. I purchased the unit in February and have since donated it to a local charity. Great idea for a product, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired. I've gone back to a pure slow cooker as a replacement. Tried and true.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oceanwriter
,Currituck County
,NC
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Highly recommend this
August 9, 2013
I read the reviews before buying this (thanks to all who wrote them) and most were favorable, so I took the plunge and got it. So glad I did because it's absolutely wonderful to cook in. I have tried every setting except pressure cook, but the slow cook is my favorite. Food comes out tender and flavorful -- even grass-fed roast beef, which can tend to be tough. Absolutely love this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: be careful replacing seal correctly
Review 9 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enchilada72
,Sunny Seminole
,FL
July 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love...love...love!
July 24, 2013
My old crockpot blew a gasket. It was an "old school" crockpot with a ceramic crock. I decided a while ago as stuff would break...if I used it a lot, I would purchase high end replacements. I would step up my cooking. Let me tell you that this appliance is awesome! I have had it about 2 weeks and used it about 8 times -From pasta sauce using fresh tomatoes to pulled BBQ pork to open face turkey sammies with home made gravy. It is so easy to use and clean. I was always intimidated by pressure cookers. No more. This is so easy to use and step by step instructions are provided to take out any guess work. I am so glad I purchased this and so is my husband. He looks forward to leftovers the next day for lunch. As for this appliance... I wish my dinosaur crockpot died out a long time ago. Now I am searching for some cookbooks for slow cookers /pressure cookers. Looks like WS has a good selection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet
Review 10 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runnergurl12
,Boise
,ID
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Million Times YESSS!
April 23, 2013
This may just rival my Keurig as favorite appliance. I just got this and I've already made pulled pork (sear and slow cook), artichokes, chicken tortilla soup (Pressure) and lastly Beef stew. The beef stew... Wow! I seared the meat, removed. Sauted the veggies. Tossed it all back in with broth, seasonings, etc and Viola! 45 minutes later I had the moistest beef ever! The veggies were cooked to perfection. Careful on the steam release w/ soup though... go very slow!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,Wichita
,KS
Wichita, Kansas
April 20, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Multi-functional cooker
April 20, 2013
I was a bit hesitant about trying something that does both slow-cooking and pressure cooking; however, I was pleasantly surprised when I pulled it out of the box, and put it through some tests. As a chef, I do a lot of catering, and I need something that will be reliable, stand up to a lot of use, and does what it's advertised to do.
This fast/slow cooker works quite well, and I use this one a lot.
Although I've only had it a couple of months, I've probably used it more than most normal kitchens would use it in a couple of years...
It stands up to the job of either cooking my dishes long, and slow, or pressuring up and getting things done quickly.
A nice piece of kit, for the professional, or anyone's kitchen, and since it does the job of two devices, you're saving room to boot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
chef3arabiya
Houston, TX
Posted December 27, 2013
Concerns
Hello SousAndy,
I was wondering if you still think this is a great product after using it for a longer period of time. I'm just wondering because I really want to get it, but I'm concerned about the few reviews that say the pressure part stops working after a few runs. I was also wondering if it comes with a warranty, I didn't see that on here. Thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrincessNana
,Houston
,TX
April 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have for busy people
April 17, 2013
I was afraid to buy a traditional pressure cooker because it always scared me when I watched my father use one. This does it all to perfection without fear. I am a very busy person and this has helped me get meals ready in a snap. I've pressure cooked chickens, slow roasted roasts and made both white and brown rice.
Clean up is easy with the non-stick surface; just have to use care as with any other non-stick.
You do have to pay close attention to the position of the pressure valve AND how the seal is placed on the lid (after you have removed for cleaning). Once you get the hang of it...no problems.
I have family that will be getting this as a gift very soon!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 13 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nskredeem
,Richmond
,VA
March 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
12of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Worth the Money
March 9, 2013
I am not in love with, and barely like this product. It is a great disappointment.
As a slow cooker it has one heat setting…count that: ONE! It has TWO time settings: six hours and eight hours. Because the lid must lock, it is difficult to use slow cooker liners. No easy cleanup. No quick getaway.
As a pressure cooker, it is so-so. I fixed a roast according to their recipe it was the toughest thing I have ever eaten. I am ready to go back to my stovetop pressure cooker.
In the end, I was really excited about this project especially after reading the reviews on the site. To me this is a ho-hum overpriced product. I'm sorry I bought it.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: not worth the money
Review 14 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThemanintheBasquehat
,Chagrin Falls
,OH
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! A great product!
March 2, 2013
I just got this cooker and used it for the first time to make a pot roast. It did a perfect sear on my floured rump roast, then sauteed the onions, shallots, and garlic beautifully, and then slow-cooked for 5 hours until I added some veggies in the last hour.
Wonderful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 15 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamgc
,Naperville
,Il
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pressure cooker!
February 28, 2013
To me a slow cooker is a slow cooker is a slow cooker, but this is also an excellent pressure cooker!
Let's use common sense here just like with the old time pressure cookers you add hot liquid or plan on more time for it to warm to pressure.
What I like about this is not having to be concerned about the flame being high enough or low enough to maintain pressure for the correct amount of time. Get it up to pressure, set the timer and wait for those wonderful 5 beeps! The level of heat is consistent so that is already worked out for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 16 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happyhappyme
,issaquah
,wa
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wow love this appliance
February 26, 2013
somehow lost my other review...so I'll be quick. Got it yesterday. First time using a pressure cooker with low, med, high instead of "rice" "soüp""meat", so didn't expect too much from my first try. Sauteed chicken thighs first so they'd be brown and partially cooked, threw in noodles, mixed vegies, broth, mushroom soup, condensed milk and my first "throw it in the pot and cross your fingers" couldn't have been more perfect. Really nice machine. Was hesitant to spend so much more than my old pressure cooker was, but happy now! Nice qualtiy, nice versatility, and glad the other reviewer told me it's ok to use frozen. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY. nice nice appliance :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeenM
February 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great intro to pressure cooking.
February 15, 2013
We had been thinking about getting a pressure cooker for a while now, and we're glad we waited for this one. We're definitely large cuts of meat people, and with a new baby in the house we often forget about putting things in the slow cooker until the last minute. Problem solved.
Also - They say to not put frozen things in here, but after a few minutes of searing we do and it still comes out great! Especially combined with some of the simmer/slow cooking sauces on WS.
Finally, tip - Make sure to thoroughly clean the lid! Pay attention the valves and the seal, if any of those things still have a little crud in them and get stuck the machine will never build pressure and do its job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 18 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ldrose
,Carmichael
,CA
Carmichael, CA
January 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great versatility in a single appliance
January 28, 2013
Frequently when you purchase a machine that does more than one thing it can suffer shortcomings in one or both jobs. This does NOT!! I have used it as a pressure cooker and as a slow cooker and both are equally easy and delicious. I have also appreciated not having to dirty another pan to do the saute/sear feature when pre browning meats before slow cooking. Easy clean up too!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quiet
Review 19 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peppersock
,Charlottesville
,VA
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great all-in-one pot
January 22, 2013
Thus far, I have made northern beans and a pot roast. The beans were soaked overnight. Not including the time it took for the pressure to build, they cooked in 12 minutes and had a wonderful creamy consistency. When cooking the pot roast, it was great to have a pot where I could first brown the meat and then use it to also cook. After adding the vegetables, it took 45 minutes. The machine feels safe to me which was important as I had shied away from pressure cookers in the past due to safety concerns. The only disappointing feature is that you cannot use it for canning/preserving.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Breville Fast Slow Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leelaw
,Albuquerque
,NM
January 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+17points
21of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast, easy to clean, safe and cooks great beans!
January 19, 2013
I was surprised that there are no reviews regarding this great product. Well, I just made a pot of black beans in about 30 minutes, from dry state, not counting prep time to cut and saute onions and garlic.
The instructions are simple. The saute feature heated up extremely fast and is super hot allowing me sauté onion, garlic and some sausage in about 6 minutes. The pressure took about 10 minutes to rise and the beans were done in 30 minutes. The steam outlet is positioned away from your face making a burned face unlikely. Nice safety feature. The beans were deliciously creamy without being overcooked.Clean up was quick as the insert is non-stick and without any complicated parts to clean. On the negative size it does take a good chunk of counter space I chose the Breville product after having used the Breville coffeepot for a year without a single hitch.
I love this machine and hope it continues to function as it did on its maiden bean voyage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, safe
Cons: Size