Breville Electric Tea Kettle

This electric kettle quickly brings water to a boil, then alerts you with a pleasant chime. Generously sized, it simplifies making coffee and tea for a crowd.Brushed-stainless-steel kettle lifts off base for easy carrying and pouring.Backlit water gauge with viewing window makes it easy to see fill level.Automatic shutoff.Model #SK500XL 7 1/2" diam., 11" high.57-fl.-oz. cap.5 lb.1500W.This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards.Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
Review 1 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PalmDesert
,Palm Desert
,CA
July 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive but
July 24, 2014
Have owned this tea kettle for 9 months and have used it probably 30 times. We have hard water and to delay mineral build up, I try to drain the kettle thoroughly, but the weight of the kettle on the lid may be too much. The tea kettle's attached lid also makes it difficult to scrub its interior. If you have hard water, a kettle with a removable lid may be better, and I am looking for a new one now.
Pros: Durable, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, attached lid
Review 2 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
snobird
,Taos
,NM
Taos, NM
June 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heats fast, but.....
June 13, 2014
This Breville water kettle brings water to a boil fast but lacks an alert that water is ready to pour plus, once boil temperature is reached, it automatically shuts off. The result is that, by the time you realize water is ready, kettle has cooled sufficiently that it needs to be reheated. I find this very frustrating. A better designed kettle is the pricier Breville which has several temperature selections and also keeps the water warm at that temperature until you pour.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, fast
Cons: lacks warmer, no alert
Review 3 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAWAICHICK
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HOT IN SECONDS
February 4, 2014
I really love my kettle. I've seen less expensive versions and I love this because of the quality you get. I like that there's a filter inside also. It's not heavy at all. The water boils in seconds and it turns off on its own with a little bell sound. I haven't read other's reviews, but I recommend this kettle. Easy to use and quick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gromille
December 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
does not last
December 30, 2013
I'm writing this as much as a reminder to myself as a warning to others. I loved this kettle so much that I have bought 2 of them in a row, and I refuse to buy another. The electronic components do not last and break after about a year, leaving behind a useless corpse. Unfortunately, the rest of the design is perfect so I can't find a satisfactory replacement or upgrade. I'm back to a stove-top kettle and not happy about it. I can't justify buying another one. It is too wasteful to buy a stainless steal appliance that is essentially disposable. Other than the heartbreak when it fizzes out, this is a great kettle. Oh, and the Breville customer service email goes unanswered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AD1234
,NY
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great For Tea
June 13, 2013
Built very solidly, boils tea incredibly fast, the auto-shutoff comes with a simple "ding" to let you know when it's done, and lastly the interior is all stainless steel which is a breeze to clean.
Overall, an amazing electric tea kettle.
The only con (which is barely one) is that it can be a little too loud. Not annoyingly so but just enough that the boiling sound is quite audible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Loud
Review 6 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sofawoman
,Scotch Plains
,NJ
Scotch Plains, NJ
February 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful!
February 18, 2013
We have had this kettle for 6 years and it still boils water as well as it did the first day we used it. The light bulb has gone out in the water line but the bell dings when its done. If and when this one breaks, I will get another one exactly the same. Bought one for in-laws two years ago and two other family members loved it so much that they bought one as well. We all just love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
njcooktoo
,princeton
,NJ
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice kettle
February 5, 2013
Very nice replacement for our Vitesse plastic kettle. The ergonomics of the Vitesse were better than this one, but I like that the Breville has a stainless interior.
The on/off button doesn't go off when the kettle is picked up. The sensor takes a while to turn the kettle off after the water is boiling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 8 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taniakots
,Sacramento
,CA
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing quality
January 4, 2013
I've had this Kettle for 3 years and I use it a lot times a day I mean A LOT, it works so well, has the best quality. Love how quiet it is and looks beautiful, seams like it won't run out of style ever. Makes hot water really fast. Easy to clean.
Cleaning Tip for stainless Still kettle users: to remove water stains or discale kettle:
fill the kettle with 1/4 of white vinegar and water to the max line. Boil and leave overnight. Wash it in warm water with gentle wool sponge and rinse with cold water. Your kettle will look like new(= I usually boil full kettle of water after to get rid of vinegar smell and taste and than I boil new water to use.( after cleaning kettle works like new, really quiet and fast) hope you'll use that tip(=
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen top performer
October 6, 2012
This is the most durable kettle I've ever seen. I own this one for about 5 years and it still works. As a person who loves a tea I need durable and fast kettle, this one never disappoints me. Recently (or finally) cracks appeared on the water gauge (and it still works). Guess what? I've just purchased another one of the same model :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 10 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vic4306623
,Houston
,TX
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Kettle!
March 5, 2012
We received this kettle from our wedding registry. With two avid tea drinkers (hot & cold) in the house, this kettle gets a lot of daily use. We even use it to shorten cooking time when boiling water is needed.
This kettle is easy to fill as the lid is button operated, there is no cord to unplug... just pick up and walk to the faucet and place back down.
It heats quickly and tucks away neatly in a corner of our kitchen when not in use.
Very pleased with everything to do with this item - one of our favourite wedding gifts!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 11 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DCMH
,Eastern
,NC
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for boiling large amounts
February 4, 2012
I like that it's fast boiling,and has a large capacity. I have used it daily since purchasing 2 months ago, however the bell is barely audible now. I do agree it is very noisy while boiling - however that is one way I can tell when it's finished since it quiets right down. I'm disappointed the bell didn't last and is almost non-existent now, but like the kettle well enough to overlook that flaw.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud, bell quickly failed