Breville Electric Tea Kettle

This electric kettle quickly brings water to a boil, then alerts you with a pleasant chime. Generously sized, it simplifies making coffee and tea for a crowd.Brushed-stainless-steel kettle lifts off base for easy carrying and pouring.Backlit water gauge with viewing window makes it easy to see fill level.Automatic shutoff.Model #SK500XL 7 1/2" diam., 11" high.57-fl.-oz. cap.5 lb.1500W.This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards.Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.041 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
39 of 49(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
Review 1 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAWAICHICK
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HOT IN SECONDS
February 4, 2014
I really love my kettle. I've seen less expensive versions and I love this because of the quality you get. I like that there's a filter inside also. It's not heavy at all. The water boils in seconds and it turns off on its own with a little bell sound. I haven't read other's reviews, but I recommend this kettle. Easy to use and quick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gromille
December 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
does not last
December 30, 2013
I'm writing this as much as a reminder to myself as a warning to others. I loved this kettle so much that I have bought 2 of them in a row, and I refuse to buy another. The electronic components do not last and break after about a year, leaving behind a useless corpse. Unfortunately, the rest of the design is perfect so I can't find a satisfactory replacement or upgrade. I'm back to a stove-top kettle and not happy about it. I can't justify buying another one. It is too wasteful to buy a stainless steal appliance that is essentially disposable. Other than the heartbreak when it fizzes out, this is a great kettle. Oh, and the Breville customer service email goes unanswered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AD1234
,NY
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great For Tea
June 13, 2013
Built very solidly, boils tea incredibly fast, the auto-shutoff comes with a simple "ding" to let you know when it's done, and lastly the interior is all stainless steel which is a breeze to clean.
Overall, an amazing electric tea kettle.
The only con (which is barely one) is that it can be a little too loud. Not annoyingly so but just enough that the boiling sound is quite audible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Loud
Review 4 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sofawoman
,Scotch Plains
,NJ
Scotch Plains, NJ
February 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful!
February 18, 2013
We have had this kettle for 6 years and it still boils water as well as it did the first day we used it. The light bulb has gone out in the water line but the bell dings when its done. If and when this one breaks, I will get another one exactly the same. Bought one for in-laws two years ago and two other family members loved it so much that they bought one as well. We all just love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
njcooktoo
,princeton
,NJ
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice kettle
February 5, 2013
Very nice replacement for our Vitesse plastic kettle. The ergonomics of the Vitesse were better than this one, but I like that the Breville has a stainless interior.
The on/off button doesn't go off when the kettle is picked up. The sensor takes a while to turn the kettle off after the water is boiling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 6 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taniakots
,Sacramento
,CA
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing quality
January 4, 2013
I've had this Kettle for 3 years and I use it a lot times a day I mean A LOT, it works so well, has the best quality. Love how quiet it is and looks beautiful, seams like it won't run out of style ever. Makes hot water really fast. Easy to clean.
Cleaning Tip for stainless Still kettle users: to remove water stains or discale kettle:
fill the kettle with 1/4 of white vinegar and water to the max line. Boil and leave overnight. Wash it in warm water with gentle wool sponge and rinse with cold water. Your kettle will look like new(= I usually boil full kettle of water after to get rid of vinegar smell and taste and than I boil new water to use.( after cleaning kettle works like new, really quiet and fast) hope you'll use that tip(=
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen top performer
October 6, 2012
This is the most durable kettle I've ever seen. I own this one for about 5 years and it still works. As a person who loves a tea I need durable and fast kettle, this one never disappoints me. Recently (or finally) cracks appeared on the water gauge (and it still works). Guess what? I've just purchased another one of the same model :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 8 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vic4306623
,Houston
,TX
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Kettle!
March 5, 2012
We received this kettle from our wedding registry. With two avid tea drinkers (hot & cold) in the house, this kettle gets a lot of daily use. We even use it to shorten cooking time when boiling water is needed.
This kettle is easy to fill as the lid is button operated, there is no cord to unplug... just pick up and walk to the faucet and place back down.
It heats quickly and tucks away neatly in a corner of our kitchen when not in use.
Very pleased with everything to do with this item - one of our favourite wedding gifts!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 9 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DCMH
,Eastern
,NC
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for boiling large amounts
February 4, 2012
I like that it's fast boiling,and has a large capacity. I have used it daily since purchasing 2 months ago, however the bell is barely audible now. I do agree it is very noisy while boiling - however that is one way I can tell when it's finished since it quiets right down. I'm disappointed the bell didn't last and is almost non-existent now, but like the kettle well enough to overlook that flaw.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud, bell quickly failed
Review 10 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Irritated
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment
December 15, 2011
I'm on my 2nd teakettle as the first one worked fine for about 6 months then it would continue heating to a rolling boil regardless of the setting. I contacted Breville and they sent me a replacement. Now the second one is acting the same way and it continues to beep after the water is heated and it won't shut off automatically. The odd thing is that sometimes it works fine and then it goes haywire again. I've tried unplugging it to reset it but that doesn't seem to help. I certainly wouldn't purchase this again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 11 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chef2bpam
,Mi
December 1, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast and efficient
December 1, 2011
Fast, efficient, but very noisy. I also have the more expensive teakettle with multiple settings and it's not nearly as noisy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed
Cons: Loud
Review 12 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Electric Teakettle!
August 4, 2011
Great Product! If you are an avid tea drinker this one is for you. You can use for many things...if you need to boil water and you don't want to use the stove top or use for instant oatmeal,etc. It's also a nice addition to your countertop, especially if you have other stainless steel items.You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ritacht
San Francisco, CA
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every penny
July 15, 2011
I LOVE this teakettle!!! Makes life so much easier - especially when you are a big tea drinker and constantly brewing a new cuppa!
I find taking the lid off teapots to be a tiresome, irritating task, so the fact that the lid opens at the press of a button makes me a huge fan.
Kettle also switches off once the water is boiled.. fast and easy. No complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 14 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marigold4
Boxford, MA
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kettle
June 30, 2011
This replaced our old-fashioned style Cuisinart when it literally melted down after about 4 years. Initially I'd wanted different styling but this one works just beautifully and I'm using it to heat water quickly for use on the stove top, which I never did before. Condensation does collection on the underside of the lid, but it causes no problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 15 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jude254
Olema California
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Leaky teakettle
June 15, 2011
I've had this teakettle for only 2 years and it has completly broken down.
It developed a leak around the handle.
This is an expensive product,so do yourself a favor and buy something else that doesn't cost alot,and lasts!!
So annoying.
Cons: Loud, Fragile
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Sykes
California
Posted July 6, 2012
Breville Electric Teakettle
Mine is broken after just two years of home use as well. The switch no longer works; it worked intermittently for a bit and then went completely dead. Shame, up to the two year point it worked quite well.
0points
Customer avatar
Sykes
California
Posted July 5, 2012
Mine is broken as well.
I purchased this Breville Teakettle as well and just at the two year mark mine stopped working, that's why I'm looking at kettles today. Just thought I'd add my two cents.
0points
Customer avatar
eeinnyc
NY, NY
Posted October 23, 2011
You sure you're commenting the right product
I bought one of these for my office and one for home several years ago. The one in my office gets used from 5 to 10 times a day during the week. It still works like new, has never leaked, performs perfectly and still looks brand new! Extremely well made unit and relatively safe to use.
I'm very impressed with this product and have begun purchasing other Breville products as well. I'm pretty hard to please, but so far haven't been disappointed by any of my Breville purchases.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
McTavish
Northern California
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it But
April 14, 2011
Recived as a christmas gift two years ago. Used infrequently (maybe 4-8 times a month) and now it has died. Very disappointing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: did not last very long
Review 17 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzie99
Oxnard, CA
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for the tea-lover!
February 16, 2011
I received this from a dear friend for Christmas, and I absolutely love it. I joke that if I were ever deprived of tea, I would probably die from withdrawals within 24 hours, so this was the perfect gift for me. I probably make four or five cups of perfectly hot tea every day... don't know how I lived without this product for so long.
Review 18 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siouxi
Woodridge, IL
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use it every day.
January 8, 2011
I'm not sure how long we've had this appliance. We probably purchased it about 4 years ago if not longer.
While we have used it often to heat water for tea or pasta, we started using it daily last year to heat our water for the french press coffee maker.
It heats water quickly and is very easy to use.
I also love Breville plugs with the loop--makes it easy to pull them out without the concern of eventually pulling the plug away from the cord as the unit ages.
Review 19 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momesq
New Hampshire
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT--Second one now
January 1, 2011
I love this kettle. I had to purchase a second one after years and years of hard use, but I only replaced it because it no longer "dinged" to let me know it was done, and the exterior was a bit shabby. I use this kettle for tea, to fill large pots of water to reduce boiling time, to sanitize things in hot water, --you name it. It is amazing how many uses this product has.
Unless you really require the many temperature distinctions of the higher-dollar model, I wouldn't waste the money. This little kettle is a powerhouse and a workhorse, as all my Breville products are. I am a HUGE fan of Breville because they put so much thought and quality into their design and manufacture.
You will not regret this purchase, I guarantee it. I'm on year 11 with these kettles!
Review 20 for Breville Electric Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beezee
Sherman Oaks, CA
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot Water in an Instant!
December 16, 2010
I bought this for our home and another as a gift after using a similar product at a friend's home. What a time saver! Just fill the pot with the amount of water you want, push the 'on' button and Voila! hot or boiling water. It's great to use with instant mixes like chocolate or the new individual packets of coffee, & of course, tea. Great when cooking, no need to heat another pot for water. Light, slimple to clean, looks great left out on the kitchen counter. What could be better?
page1 2 3 next