Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine

Whip up perfect lattes and cappuccinos like a professional. Packing commercial features into a user-friendly home machine, the Breville BES900XL boasts a double boiler system that lets you brew shots of espresso while frothing milk at the same time. Intuitive controls make it easy to master the art of the barista, complete with a shot clock to help you fine-tune your shot-pulling technique. Combines precision commercial features with easy, intuitive controls for preparing cafe-quality espresso, lattes and cappuccinos at home. Dual stainless-steel boilers and two pumps simultaneously brew espresso and steam milk at the optimum temperature and pressure. Programmable functions make it easy to adjust shot temperature, volume and duration; machine also allows for manual operation. Maintains temperature to within 1.35 degrees of optimum brewing temperature during extraction for fullest flavor. Pressure gauge helps train user to tamp correctly and monitors extraction pressure. A 15-bar Italian pump with over-pressure valve delivers water at the ideal pressure, while the electronic PID temperature control and a heated group head ensure precise temperature with minimal variance during extraction for fullest flavor. Low-pressure pre-infusion gradually increases water pressure to gently expand grinds for an even extraction. Shot clock helps you time your shot-pulling for optimal crema and flavor. Instant hot water lets you easily prepare Americanos. Backlit, intuitive LCD display. 84-fl.-oz.-cap. removable water tank with top-fill lid and integrated water filter. Six-cup warming tray keeps mugs warm. Includes 25-fl.-oz.-cap. stainless-steel frothing jug.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RonM
,Menlo Park
,Ca
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good overall but not perfect
October 12, 2014
Very good for the price point of a dual boiler. Overall pleased with the results- good crema, good heat, great frother, and Breville always does a fantastic job of making very user friendly products. Auto start up feature is really nice. Minor downsides- volume output is erratic, sometimes it produces the correct shot volume I set, but other times it doesn't. The cleaning cycle seems to demand a monthly clean despite having almost no hard water here. Still, these are minor issues and don't affect the actual espresso output. I would buy this machine again knowing these issues. Compared to whats available in the market, and knowing that Williams Sonoma stands behind their products is very worthwhile. Most other high quality espresso machines require you to take a leap of faith in the foreign manufacturer. A local store is a huge reason for shopping here.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewOrleansWoman
,New Orleans
,LA
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Morning
September 16, 2013
This is a great machine! I’ve had it for a little over one year now and use it every morning to make a latte. I’ve programmed mine to turn on in the morning before I wake up, so it’s ready to use. I think it makes great espresso and fantastic cappuccinos, lattes, etc. It’s easy to use as long as you read through the directions. The only thing that’s not really intuitive about the machine is the cleaning process. The unit will prompt you to clean it after so many shots. “Clean me” will flash on and off the screen. At that point just follow the instructions in the manual that’s provided.
Again, love this reliable product. The best thing I bought myself last year!
Happy Customer
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 3 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stan1
,austin
,tx
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-33points
2of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not so hot
February 12, 2013
the explanations for use unclear! does not fully explain the making of coffee or the cleaning process.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Loud
Review 4 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherryandCapel
,Westchester County
,NY
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best espresso machine ever
November 16, 2012
We have had this machine for about six months now. Use it every day. It is our second espresso machine -- our first was a Gaggia Coffee, which was adequate for making espresso but never frothed the milk well enough for a great cappuccino. This machine does everything as advertised, is easy to use, makes great frothed milk and perfect espresso. And I wouldn't say we are experts. There is a lot of control, for coffee fanatics, and yet it's got enough give, that if you're not a fanatic about weighing your ground coffee, timing the shots exactly, etc., you still get an excellent espresso with a good crema. (We do have a burr grinder, which is probably essential.)
It is a little big -- you need a good spot in the kitchen for the machine and accoutrements of espresso making. This is not for a tiny apartment-sized kitchen.
It looks good, great engineering and design too. In our opinion, for home prosumers, Breville has hit this one out of the ball park.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DemandQuality
,Half Moon Bay
,CA
September 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Found the Right One At Last
September 3, 2012
I have had an older and simpler Breville Expresso Machine for a number of years. Decided to upgrade this year, since it was starting to get pretty used. Tried 2 other brands from WS in the $1500-2000 range that were more automated but made lukewarm latte/cappuccino and practically no froth that was always lukewarm no matter how closely you followed every step they recommended. Just couldn't live with either of them, so returned them which is not my usual way. Then I then went online and read dozens of reviews of other machines and specs, etc. etc.
I bought this one because I concluded it was designed in the right way to actually deliver very hot espresso and make the very best thick, frothy, incredible, very hot milk to add to the expresso. Absolutely perfect. You just can't get this with an automated machine,
I have had it now for a month and am delighted; and having other good Breville products, I have every confidence it will be great for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly, delivers hot expresso and thick frothy milk
Cons: does make noise but is well worth it.
Review 6 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cctexas
,Corpus Christi
,TX
March 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Espresso Machine
March 11, 2012
This is by far the best espresso machine I have purchased. I've purchased a fully automatic Saeco as well as a manuel Maestro in the past. Espresso temperature control is difficult to attain on some espresso machines. The expresso can be luke warm for cappuccinos/lattes.
The Breville does take some practice to pull a perfect shot but you have full control of the temperature of the espresso as well full frothing control. When you perfect your shot, it will taste like a cappuccino/latte made in Europe! My Breville did break after about 4 weeks. I had to send it back to Williams Sonoma. The machine would pull 1 shot when I pressed the 2 shot button. I hope to be re-purchasing the machine in the next few months because its by far the best machine I have encountered. Williams Sonoma did not hesitate to take the machine back or attempt to send out a new machine. "WS" has great customer service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 7 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTD626
,Cincinnati
Cincinnati
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific Expresso, Americana, Latte...smart design
January 28, 2012
You're done looking. This is an excellent espresso and coffee maker. It has a very efficient design...holds plenty of water, easy to fill, easy to use, and foams a great milk. Get ready to get addicted to a daily latte. Great cup every time at a great price!
We've tried the Seico...don't bother. Super-automatic means poor quality coffee and very high maintenance.
Enjoy this purchase...you won't regret it. I
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 8 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cavan
,King of Prussia
,PA
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this for lattes!
January 13, 2012
Ok, so first, I am NOT by any means an espresso expert. I was trying to break away from my Starbucks habit, and I also figured that with a bit of practice I had to be able to do better than their burnt coffee. So, I spent some time on the coffee blogs and ended up with this. For someone new to espresso machines (and apparently experts love it too) I LOVE this machine. The learning curve was fast, and although I am sure I can keep getting better, I am perfectly happy with even my novice skills. The milk is so easy to froth, and the machine is easy to clean and so easy to fill with water. I have read that as I learn more this machine can keep up with me. (I recommend checking out the major espresso blogs to read the reviews) On a side note I am so impressed with Williams Sonoma in- store customer service and can't believe how helpful they were to me with all my purchases this Christmas.
I am saying it is loud as a con if you care about that stuff but it doesn't bother me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Assembly, more cost effective than coffee shop :)
Cons: Loud, takes up a lot of space
Review 9 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blanc
,Danville
,CA
Danville, CA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best espresso maker ever
January 12, 2012
I bought this espresso machine for my boyfriend for Christmas because his previous one was starting to act up. He LOVED the machine!
We use it everyday for the whole family of three and it is so worth it! We are very happy with our coffee and our standards have been raised even more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Breville Dual Boiler Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brooks57
,Los Altos
,CA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best home expresso machine, ever.
January 2, 2012
I have several of espresso makers including Jura Capresso's in my office. This is more authentic and great for the price. The dual boiler is worth the extra cost. If you want to save the $5 you spend in the local Starbucks everyday this is the machine to choose.
One thing that needs to change: After 200 cups the maker prompts you to do a cleaning cycle. Two tables come with the machine. WS doesn't carry these and Breville charges $9 minimum shipping. Who pays $9 shipping for a $14 maintenance item?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly