Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster

Constructed of die-cast stainless-steel, Breville's high-tech electronic toaster anticipates your every preference, supplementing five precise toasting levels with a special "a bit more" function that provides a touch of extra browning at the end of the cycle.Select from five precise browning settings.Five push-button settings: Toast/Cancel, Lift & Look, Bagel, Defrost and A Bit More.Choose the "a bit more" setting once initial toasting is complete, and the bread will automatically lower to continue toasting.Extra-wide slots accommodate bread, bagels and pastries.Lift-and-look feature allows midcycle adjustments.Audible signal indicates when toasting is complete.Includes a slide-out crumb tray for easy cleanup.4-slice model has independent controls for each pair of slots.Brushed-stainless-steel finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
89 of 109(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
Review 1 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFCooker
,San Francisco
,CA
January 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it at first then stopped working!
January 8, 2014
I rec'd this great toaster as a wedding gift and loved it at first. I never knew I'd love a toaster so much...and a reputable brand. Now it stopped working entirely. Really? I sure hope the store takes it back, very disappointing!
Review 2 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BethAnneC
,Coral Springs
,FL
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great toaster -- if you use a surge protector
December 7, 2013
We have had this toaster since for a few years. The first one broke, the second one broke (both replaced by Breville without hesitation). I was in despair because I loved the toaster, but just knew it could happen again when we were just past the warranty.
It dawned on me that we might have better luck using a surge protector -- after all there are a lot of electronics in there.
Presto, that was the trick. Bought a surge protector that screws in to the outlet and no problems for years now. I recommend a surge protector to everyone who is purchasing this toaster.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Iachicmom
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stops working
November 28, 2013
Beautiful appliance, but does not toast evenly and often times gets stuck in the middle of toasting. The lights begin blinking and buttons don't work. I have to unplug and use a wooden spoon to get my item out. For the price, I am beyond disappointed.
Cons: Temperamental
Review 4 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandy1947
,Cumming
,GA
October 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected
October 14, 2013
I had been looking off and on for a toaster, but asked my husband to buy one at Christmas. We were at the Williams-Sonoma Georgia Outlet store in Dawsonville and happened to see this toaster. It was gorgeous and exactly what I wanted for our new home. Thought about it, then went back and made the purchase at a discounted price. Still pricey, but less than retail. I read some reviews which didn't do it justice, and was surprised that some people didn't like it. WE LOVE IT. It toasts great, but even better, IT IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Couldn't be more satisfied!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, beautiful finish
Review 5 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jean2
,Antioch
,ca
Antioch California
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dissapointing
August 5, 2013
I have gotten 2 of these toaster and they are very nice looking and work really well; that is for a little over a year then they just stop working. I love Breville appliances and have several others and have not had any problems with them. This toaster is just not made to last. And for the price that is a shame. I will not get another one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, not built to last
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
OhioChef
Copley, OH
Posted August 14, 2013
Completely Agree
I have had my 4 slice toaster for a year. Over the past few months, some of the lights started to burn out. Then one morning, after pushing the button, the toaster will no longer turn on. I also had the same problem with the two slice, white one, that Williams Sonoma sells. This is my third Breville toaster, none of them have lasted a year.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best toaster we've owned
July 28, 2013
In our 21 years of marriage, this is by far our favorite toaster. And it's very cool how it acts as an elevator for the toast which slowly lowers and raises. And there are lit bars on the outside to show you the progress.
Review 7 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CoffeesforClosers
,Cincinnati
,OH
February 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but Poor Functionality
February 17, 2013
We received this toaster as a wedding present in June 2010. Within months, several of the indicator lights stopped working. This week, the right-hand side of the toaster completely stopped working.
While this toaster is beautiful and looks great in our kitchen, it appears to be poorly constructed and is not worth the price.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coloradohope
,CO
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm in love with my toaster
January 27, 2013
I've owned a lot of toasters over the years; this is the first one I have really loved. I was a bit wary because of the electronics, but I'm a convert. It is very easy to adjust the toaster to exactly the toast you want, the bagel feature works beautifully, the little bit more toasting feature is wonderful. I know other people have complained that the toaster doesn't last for years and years, but in my experience there aren't any toasters that really last that way anymore. (Or other appliances either, for that matter, longevity is a rare trait these days, and repairs are either unavailable or ridiculously expensive.) I recommend this toaster without reservations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, works perfectly
Review 9 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ACS3
,GA
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Toaster Ever
December 25, 2012
This is a stunning toaster. I definitely hesitated because of the price. But, after reading all of the reviews I took the plunge. I wish I had bought it many years ago. It's really true, the toast tastes bettter than any toast we've had.It is a little larger than some, so measure if you have a tight space. That is not a con to me. Go ahead, get it. You won't be sorry! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 10 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sylliegirl
,PA
Downingtown PA
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works like a charm
December 22, 2012
The toaster is great and works perfect. It is hard to get used to at first since it is all automatic. Love the "little more" button for when the toast needs just slightly more toasting. It is larger than our old 4 slice farberware toaster so I need to find a new place to store it.. It was expensive but worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Size
Review 11 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JustCooking
,Lansing
,MI
Lansing, MI
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functionality failed over time
November 25, 2012
Absolutely love the look of this on my counter, and the raise/lower and "a bit more" options are great. However, a few years after having this, the left side stopped working (wouldn't lower the toast any more, and after about 10 seconds, the lights would just blink and you would have to unplug it to get it to reset). In addition, we have lights on the right controls stop working as well. It's unfortunate that a unit as expensive of this would have these problems. We were hoping for many years of use of this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet, Design
Cons: Cost, longevity
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lucy
Peroskey, MI
Posted December 23, 2012
Breville toaster
I had the exact same experience!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phil750
,Peoria
,Az
May 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Toast anything
May 11, 2012
Solid build, easy to use, and so far great results. One reviewer complained about thin slices falling into the toaster. Maybe they were referring to English Muffins. I just hold the muffin until the toaster grabs it.
So far have used it every day. I couldn't be more pleased. Breville has an excellent reputation. WS also stands behind there products. It's win,win
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, quality of build
Cons: no ws on west side of phoenix. hint hint
Review 13 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bpcooks
,Arlington
,va
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst toaster ever
March 22, 2012
very nice looking but very poor functioning, the biggest fault is that whenever you toast thin bread like pita or thinly sliced bread it falls either falls all the way down in between the automatic action that brings the bread up and the side and won't come back up at all or if you are lucky it just crushes the top of the bread but still comes up. I can't believe the williams sonoma sells something with such basic and core flaws.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
momsbakery
A western state
Posted October 30, 2012
"Worst toaster ever????"
Aren't you being a little dramatic? If it's not right for you that's okay, but because it isn't made to toast pitas (who toasts pitas in a toaster, anyway?) doesn't mean it isn't a good toaster.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gbarnes
,Rowlett
,Tx
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THIS TOASTER but, issue with first one.w
March 12, 2012
I loved the way the toaster toasted the bagel or bread but, it was having issues with going up and down while toasting. I loved how it toasted so much that I went into the store and told them that I ordered on-line and what it was doing and they replaced with no question and said they had not had anyone have that problem!! My second toasted has NO issues and is toasting perfect.
This is a price that I never thought I would pay but, is worth the expense and I had seen where someone else had commented on the price also and loved it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Quiet
Cons: 1 st toasted was temperamental but not the second
Review 15 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharonBunny
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Toaster Ever!
March 6, 2012
I love this toaster, it is a little pricy, but believe me it is great. It toasts evenly. The bagel setting works great toasting the inside and warming the outside of the bagel, rather than toasting it on all sides. It is good looking and not a flimsy product. If you are going to buy less expensive toasters and replace them often, consider replacing the inexpensive model with this one. Also, it does not show fingerprints because it is brushed steel.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 16 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hikingirl
,Mt Pleasant
,IA
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An Outstanding Toaster
February 1, 2012
The features on this toaster are perfect for us. The option of putting toast down for a few more seconds meets our preference of different browning between my husband and I. The toasting is also very even compared to our old toaster. This is an excellent kitchen appliance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Quiet, Design, features
Review 17 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRYoung
,Gig Harbor
,WA
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT TOAST
December 5, 2011
I was tired of toaster ovens which made uneven toast and bought the 4-slice toaster to replace it. It's very sleek, goes well with stainless appliances and is easy to clean. The best part is the fact that it toasts evenly. The only drawback is that some very long breads won't fit, but then it also takes up minimal counter space. One can always cut the longer breads into sizes that fit. I guess my only complaint was a shipping matter that delayed its arrival.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 18 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goddess1
,Napa
,ca
October 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent toaster
October 22, 2011
This was a replacemet for a cuisinart 4 slice toaster. Love it's LED lights and functionality. Defrosts easily and deliveres great toast. Outside does not show fingerprints and crumb tray easy to clean. It's footprint is larger than my old toaster, so really measure before purchase.
One of the best features is it's ability to hold the bread straight for even toasting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Size
Review 19 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CavalierMom
Richmond, VA
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Toaster
July 26, 2011
I bought the 4 slice toaster, and truly love it. It toasts to perfection.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Quiet
Review 20 for Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Stainless Steel Smart Toaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
humdinger
Mesquite, Texas
July 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My last toaster, my very last toaster
July 25, 2011
I had to hold a gun to my head to pay this price, but I had a gut feeling that I was in for a pleasant surprise.
Woo Woo
I love this toaster.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Quiet
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next