Breville Deep Fryer

Breville's commercial-style machine revolutionizes the art of deep-frying, allowing home cooks to easily and efficiently prepare family-sized batches of food using less oil than ever before. Its unique heating element keeps cooking oil at a uniform temperature, so foods cook to light, crispy perfection - without absorbing fat. Innovative flat cool plate heating element maximizes capacity and efficiency, while minimizing oil use. Easy-to-use control dial adjusts cooking temperatures from 320deg. to 375deg.F. Extra-large fry basket accommodates generous batches of food. Viewing window makes it easy to monitor cooking progress. A latch allows you to raise and drain the basket of fried food without opening the lid. Removable oil pan insert has a pour spout for easy emptying and cleaning. Removable lid is completely submersible for thorough cleaning. Durable stainless-steel housing remains cool to the touch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
31 of 39(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Deep Fryer
Review 1 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimbo1245
,Ann Arbor
,MI
April 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Deep Fryer!!
April 5, 2014
We purchased the Breville, BDF600XL, deep fryer a couple of months ago and really love it. It heats the oil up quickly, is very easy to use and to clean up. The basket arrangement is very efficient and works effectively and safely. The magnetic electrical plug design is a very nice safety feature. It protects kids and, in our case, a small kitten, from getting burned if they happen to pull on the cord. Very nice design. Highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, safety
Review 2 for Breville Deep Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cook425
November 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do Not Buy
November 19, 2013
This is my third Breville Deep Fryer that I have purchased in one year. Each one worked great for about four months and then died. Fortunately, Williams-Sonoma has a great return policy. However, the product is not good. I would not recommend this one, especially if you deep fry frequently.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: defective
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NitroExpress
Memphis, TN
Posted December 11, 2013
What went wrong?
Your saying that each of the three fryers you had just stopped working? I find that very hard to believe...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful results
July 27, 2013
This fryer is outstanding. One reviewer talked about the magnetic cord not staying in. The fryer has to be unplugged for it to connect, then it stays put. They probably tried to connect while it was plugged in to the wall outlet.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pjcwimp
Long Island
Posted December 11, 2013
Not the case
No. I would never do that. The cord was not plugged into the wall outlet. The unit was sitting on my kitchen table with the complete cord in hand while trying to connect it. It just would not connect.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Breville Deep Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pjcwimp
,WANTAGH
,NY
June 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Safety Feature that does not work
June 1, 2013
Unfortunately I will never try this fryer simply due to the magnetic safety cord it has. It is almost next to impossible to connect the cord to the unit. I try and try again and again. My husband also made an attempt without success. At one point it did connect but not for long. How can one possibly cook with a cord like this? Should it pull off during cooking it could take 10 minutes or more to reattach, if you are lucky. Who wants to be bothered with this?
If this is the future of all the newer electric appliances forget about it I will stick with a stove top. The product is being returned tomorrow.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, Difficult to Store, Assembly, cord connection bad
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NitroExpress
Memphis, TN
Posted December 11, 2013
Learn the process
The plug works great. It is meant to disconnect with very little force. Go back to the store and have them teach you how to use the plug.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skayer
,Riverview
,FL
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enjoy each dish
February 26, 2013
Did not know what to expect and all the hype about frying foods. I enjoy cooking with this fryer and even more making my
grandchildren some dishes they have never
experienced.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Breville Deep Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
otiscat
,Saint Augustine
,Fl
August 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fry with ease
August 22, 2012
fryer works well oil does not mix with burnt crumbs which lay at bottom of fryer
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: no easy off handle for lid
Review 7 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgeP
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
February 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Space age deep fryer
February 28, 2012
Extremely well designed. Uses only 3 qts of oil. Great safety features such as a magnetically attached break away cord and a basket that can be lowered/raised into/out of the oil with the safety cover on. Very easy to clean and it heats up rapidly. The only draw back is that the view port on the top by the handle gets covered with condensation quickly and viewing the food for doneness is difficult. Using a flash light helps see through the view port.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YorkieMom24
,CAPE GIRARDEAU
,MO
Cape Girardeau, MO
February 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Fryer
February 3, 2012
Purchased this fryer to replace my Delongi. I love that the well can be removed & cleans easily & that the basket can go in the dishwasher. The fryer makes great french fries & I look forward to making chicken in it. This is my fourth Breville product & it doesn't disappoint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 9 for Breville Deep Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whizzer
,IL
January 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
13of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed
January 18, 2012
I have been looking a very long time to find a deep fryer that would fit on the griddle area of my 6 burner Viking range. The problem with this product is that it never achieved accurate temperature. I tried it several times and used both a Polder and a Taylor digital thermometer that were calibrated in boiling water. I set the fryer at its highest setting of 375. Each time I tried it the temp never went above 355. I left the fryer cycle several times, sometimes as long as 40 minutes. I returned the fryer and got another one. Once again I checked several times setting at 375. With this unit the temp never went above 345. I know no fryer will be 100% perfect, but to be consistently 20 to 30 degrees off is unacceptable. I know there have been many great reviews of this product. Everything else about the fryer was great. That was the reason I brought it. But I have to say I would not recommend this fryer. I will be buying a more commercial product despite a larger size.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: not accurate temp
Review 10 for Breville Deep Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roberto1710
,Washngton
,DC
Virginia
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect size for small families
January 9, 2012
Positives: Uses less oil than other fryers due to its smaller size (about 4 quarts at the maximum fill level), I like the non-stick heating element, the unit is easy to clean, it does not splatter at all, it heats quickly, it maintained its temperature better than other fryers I've used and its capacity is perfect for our small family.
Cons: The window/cover can cause major splatters if condensation drips into the hot oil and you can't see anything anyway due to the water vapor. I didn't use the cover and it performed great without it. Some may find the short cord (made for safety reasons) annoying, but I haven't seen a deep fryer with a longer cord either. Smaller capacity means more frying time if you have large amounts to fry or a larger family. We could fit 2-3 chicken thighs in or about 6 chicken wings without overcrowding.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 11 for Breville Deep Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lynnell1977
,McAlester
,OK
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst breville product
December 10, 2011
I am very unhappy with this product. The safety button keeps it from working properly. I have to hold the basket in place the entire time I'm using it. If not the unit will go off during heating or cooking. For the price I paid for this item you would think it would work better. I would not buy this product!
Cons: Difficult to Use, High-Maintenance
Review 12 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
djmofc
,littleton
,Co
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
top of the line
October 27, 2011
I have owned a few brands and this by far exceeded my expectations .Does a great french fry ,easy to clean ,holds a nice size load and easy on the oil.will check out this brand on future purchases.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 13 for Breville Deep Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mismax
Houston, MS
October 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No More Splattered Oil
October 25, 2011
The best thing about this fryer is that oil does not splatter all over the kitchen the way it does if I'm frying in a dutch oven. However, one must be careful when removing and replacing the lid, because the steam build up can drip down into the oil and cause popping and splattering. Also, you really cannot see in the window because of the steam.
Next time I use it, I will have it near the oven hood vent because it really releases quite a bit of steam through the lid vents.
Clean up was easy, and I love the fact that it has a pouring spout. Also, the fact that you can raise the basket out of the oil without first removing the lid is a plus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 14 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slamo
,New Orleans
,LA
October 6, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for all deep frying
October 6, 2011
Excellent appliance. I fried a seafood dinner for 6 people with no problem. I did, however, use the fryer without the basket to get more available frying capacity. If you don't over crowd the food it fries like a dream.
I didn't use the lid on most occasions. I suggest using newspaper on the counter or table under the appliance to help with cleanup later. It cleans easily. Just save your oil bottles, let the oil cool and strain back into the bottles again. Store in the refrigerator for the next fry.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Breville Deep Fryer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nordika
August 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great when it works
August 23, 2011
first few times I used it it was great!
then the unit lost all power after the 3rd time I used it.
Contacted Williams Sonoma and they replaced it Great customer service!, The second one worked two or three times and then it was the same problem I have returned the second one and am trying to decide which other one to purchase
Review 16 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryjane218
Colorado
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this!
April 19, 2011
This is the easiest fryer to use. Maintains temperature and cooks to perfection. Panko halibut - YUM! I even made deep fried twinkies!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design, maintains temperature
Review 17 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RadRascaL
Clayton, CA
April 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My first fryer in a long long time...
April 13, 2011
This unit was extremely easy to set up, use, empty and clean. First time out we made egg rolls and tempura chicken wings.
the wings came out incredible, Did 6 egg rolls at once (store bought, will make my own from now on) but they were flaky and crisp, not saturated with oil. We are two in our house and this was just the right size for the two of us. Egg rolls and wings took 5 minutes @ 350 degrees.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Design
Cons: good for 2 or less
Review 18 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katienza
April 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fryer!
April 7, 2011
I was actually OK using a frying pan and oil. I just stumbled on this WS email, read the reviews and thought I would give this fryer a try. I can't believe how EASY it was to use and how crisp the food comes out!!! I dont think I will ever go back to the pan and oil!! Great product!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 19 for Breville Deep Fryer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Map123
VA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun New Toy
April 7, 2011
Great appliance! Easy to use, and clean!Looking forward to using for recipes that have put off trying.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 20 for Breville Deep Fryer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mochie
Washington DC
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good product
April 6, 2011
I just used it today for tempura. Batter stuck to the basket and it made my whole big kitchen smelled like restaurant kitchen. I wonder everyone fries things at deck or outside? We opened all the windows in our house . It does holds temperature well, but it does not absorb odor . Some wrong with me instead of deep frier?
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charlina
Louisville, KY
Posted August 30, 2011
Here's an fyi, I watched another demo for this product. It stated when adding food items with batter, the basket needs to be submerged in the grease before you add the food. Then, add each piece one at a time. If not, the batter will stick to the basket. I hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next