Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker

Bake flawless loaves at home with this state-of-the-art bread machine from Breville. Easy digital controls and an automatic dispenser for add-ins let you create an amazing variety of breads, including crisp-crusted European-style loaves rivaling those from artisan bakers. Thirteen automatic and manual settings. Includes gluten-free and quick-bread settings, three crust color options and bake-only and jam functions. Makes 1-, 1 1/2-, 2- and 2 1/2-lb. loaves. A dispenser automatically releases add-ins such as fruits and nuts. Unlike conventional kneading paddles, this paddle collapses, preventing an indentation from forming in the bottom crust. Backlit LCD display and 13-hour preset timer. Viewing light lets you check on bread without opening lid. Mixes dough for pizza, focaccia and pasta. Pause function allows for hand-shaping crusts and adding glazes. Stores your personal recipes. Nonstick pan for easy cleanup. Recipes included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
21 of 26(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
Review 1 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovetocookmn
,MN
April 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Machine I never knew I wanted
April 27, 2015
Very impressed with this machine so far (8mos). I've always baked bread on my own & wasn't sure I'd ever use a bread maker, but since I got it as a gift it is my go-to for most yeast products. I've made lots of tasty bread in the machine, though I've learned from the instructions to use bread flour or add vital wheat gluten to achieve an appropriate rise. I also make a lot of dough in the machine & then shape/bake to make focaccia, burger buns, rolls, etc. I especially like using the machine for dough in the winter because it has a warming function. It also kneads for over 20 minutes which I just don't have the patience to do on my own.
My own recipes easily adapt to the machine.
In regards to previous reviews about cleaning I've not had an issue w/the paddle. Should the paddle become hard with dough just let it soak for 5 min. I did get a bit of dough stuck in the crevice once and used a soft tooth pick w/bristles (made for cleaning braces) that I keep in my kitchen for such purposes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
seamer45
,NC
April 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a favorite
April 26, 2015
I owned another brand machine for nearly 30 years, not a glitch until it gave up the ghost from overwork. Since I never buy any bread products we decided to buy another breadmaker but no one near us sells that one.So we decided this was a good replacement. Unfortunately it is a very noisy machine and I've never been happy with the results I got when making just dough or when letting the machine bake the bread. I don't find the recipes to be top notch either.
Almost 3 weeks ago now I went to put the pan in the machine to make bread. Pushed the start button and got the dreaded H on the screen. That means it's too hot to use and needs to cool down. But I hadn't used the machine for 4 days, it was dead cold. Unplugged it, let it sit, plugged it in, still the H. I'm going to go back to my other brand, quiet and efficient. Since I'm 69 years old now, I'll put it in my will for one of my daughters. Too bad, but you folks lose this time.
Pros: Size
Cons: Loud
Review 3 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GymW
,Fremont
,Ca
March 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great machine except for a few annoyances
March 1, 2015
I have used this machine for a year now. This unit produces a consistent loaf of white bread for us, time after time. The bread comes out browned evenly on all sides, following the basic bread recipe in its manual. The displays are easy to read and use. Bread and dough does tend to stick to the paddle and can be difficult to remove if the unit is hot from baking until it cools. I have used the dough settings successfully for sweet dough, bagels, english muffins, challah, and sourdough bread successfully.
I do have a issue with the paddle. Dough to gets trapped inside the mechanism of the collapsing paddle. I find that the only way to clean it properly is to unscrew the set screw holding the paddle to its shaft using an allen wrench, which the Breville does not provide. As such I recommend that if you buy this machine, go to the hardware store with paddle and buy a hex wrench that will fit the set screw. I have informed Breville about this issue but they do not seem to care about it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwr1
,CT
January 7, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best one yet
January 7, 2015
I have had at least four bread machines, the first one purchased in the late '80s. This is by far the best. I have had this one for at least two years. I like the collapsible paddle. It allows the bread to come out more easily and doesn't leave much of a hole. The only drawback is the cleaning of the paddle. Because it is hinged, it is hard to get all the dough out of the crevices when washing.The way the bread pan is secured when in the machine is good as well. (I had the Cuisinart for a couple of years and found it very difficult to get the pan out. Definitely a BIG downside to that machine! Don't get the cuisinart!) I do find it "walks" a bit when on the kneading cycle but I think that has to do with leveling the feet, which I have not done.I primarily use the dough setting (for pizza and french bread) but use it on the bread setting as well. I find this Breville an excellent machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 5 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
maltesemom
,Roseville
,CA
December 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NICE MACHINE
December 15, 2014
I have worked with the Cuisinart machine and now this one. I purchased this one because I could make a bigger loaf. However, it would be much better if it made two loaves instead of a bigger loaf.
And, Breville really needs to work on it's recipes! The Basic White is terrible! And the Olive Oil Rosemary isn't much better.
I would purchase the Cuisinart if I had it to do over. Also, you cannot adjust once machine has started. It would be nice if Breville added handles.
Review 6 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BetsyD
,Cookeville
,TN
December 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great except for collapsible paddle
December 8, 2014
I really like this breadmaker except for the collapsible paddle. The jointed part gets "gunked up" when making bread and it is really hard to clean out. I've had the breadmaker for about 6 months and recently the paddle gets stuck. I have to put it in a vice grip to get enough leverage on it to put it back into the upright position after making a loaf of bread. It no longer fully collapses.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Size, defective collapsible paddle
Review 7 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoTime
,Tabernacle
,NJ
September 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok if you plan on using it occasionally
September 21, 2014
We bought this bread machine December 2012. In less than 6 months the collapsible paddle stopped collapsing, we called Breville and were told we could purchase a replacement, which we did. The replacement stopped collapsing in 4 months! No more replacements, we decided to have holes in our bread. Now, less than two years later we will awake in the morning and expect to have fresh bread baking only to find a clump of uncooked dough and an error message. The error messages are not listed in the book. We looked them up online and the message that was given did not pertain to our error!
The bread machine was terrific when it worked...even with holes in the bread. For the cost of the machine I would expect it to last well past 22 months!
Cons: collapsible pad hard to clean
Review 8 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMatson
,The Sea Ranch
,CA
July 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Bread Machine
July 13, 2014
My old bread machine died after 20 years. I debated whether to buy this more expensive replacement, but finally decided to go for it when Williams Sonoma offered 20% off and free shipping. This is a fantastic bread machine. Easy to use, great results. So glad I got it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 9 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshyBashy
,Arlington
,TX
Arlington, Texas
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You control the ingredients!
July 10, 2013
I wish I had bought this years ago! I've had it for over a year now, and I can't imagine baking bread without it! It not only makes easy loaves, but it also has different settings for doughs, a gluten free setting, and MUCH more! You can select how brown you want it, and it literally does all the work for you. The recipe for pizza crust is amazing, feel free to add your own Italian spice herbs to it for an extra YUM factor. I typically bake three loaves in a row, and freeze the other two until we're ready for them. Saves me time in the kitchen, and we NEVER run out of bread! I love the dessert loaves recipes that came with the machine too :) There is nothing like smelling fresh bread baking in the kitchen. And the beauty of it is that YOU control ALL the ingredients that go in. If you're trying to limit your intake of sugar, substitute honey in it's place! I would buy this again a thousand times over!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAL609
,Southlake
,TX
May 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very impressive!
May 30, 2013
This is the first time I've owned a bread maker and I'm impressed with how easy it was to use right out of the box. I've made 5 loaves and a pizza dough in the first week and everything was successful. There are plenty of recipes in the manual and they are simple to follow. So far I've made 2-pound loaves and these are well proportioned, the crust is good and texture is wonderful. My favorite is the crusty French bread.
Clean up is easy and I can see myself using this several times a week. With a little forward planning I won't have to run to the store all the time or fill the freezer with bread.
One note of caution... Don't put the machine at the edge of the countertop! During the kneading phase of today's pizza dough it wiggled off the counter onto the floor, pulling the plug out as it fell. I plugged it back in and the program started up where it left off and the dough was perfect!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 11 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
collegeStudent
,Denver
,co
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing bread maker
December 30, 2012
This bread maker is amazing. I've made bread by hand for years and was slightly worried this wouldn't kneed the bread enough, it does.
It's super easy to clean, even leaving it over night with dough stuck to the side it all cleaned off with less then 5 min "soaking" (the basked was filled with soapy water)
For the most part it's fairly quiet and is something you could forget about. The only time there's really any noise is when it's kneading the dough but it's not enough to disturb you.
It is fairly large and does weigh a good bit so I'd find a corner on the counter to keep it. Especially since you'll want to have home made bread all the time.
over all this is an amazing product and I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, makes great whole wheat bread
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud, Size
Review 12 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zekiesmom
,Media
,PA
media, pa
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great bread and easy....
December 18, 2012
It does wobble a little but quietly....bread is delicious...easy to use and clean.
You do have to play with the paddle a little to keep it from folding and the sides do come out a little browner than I would like....but I am happily making delicious bread
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: needs a shimmy under 1 foot
Review 13 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmtm
,pontoon beach
,il
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
exactly as we expected
November 16, 2012
does all the work for you, you will not be disappointed in this product. Pay a little more than the cheaper units.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 14 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheHulk
,Dallas
,TX
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Love It!
November 15, 2012
Got my bread maker as an anniversary gift and I am just tickled. I read so many bad reviews over this product and I am NOT having any issues like others. It does not totter on my kitchen cabinet, it does not loose its feet (the feet are actually screwed into the base of the bread maker), and its quiet. It does wobble slightly as its kneading the dough; but better it than me! LOL
I just LOVE my bread maker and I'm so excited that its apart of my kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KitchenGadgetGuy
,Ann Arbor
,MI
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
4of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pricey dough
September 23, 2012
Baked my first loaf of bread using my newly purchased Breville Bread Maker. The instructions were difficult to read and understand. The machine does not sit level on the counter. Thought it may be my counter - but that's not the case. Requires one of the feet to be shimmed to keep it from ricking back and forth as it cycles through the knead. The first loaf was browned better on the sides than on the top. Basically disappointed with the machine's performance. Or from a positive note it can only get better.
Cons: case feet not level
Review 16 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CBeckman
,WA
September 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
thermostat issues?
September 22, 2012
After reading and comparing features on multiple high end bread makers I settled on the Breville, mainly because of Breville's reputation.
I made a plain white loaf as soon as it arrived with a medium crust setting. The top of the loaf was beautiful, but the sides were burned. I made a second loaf with a light crust setting and the same thing happen. I will exchange the bread maker. Hopefully, this one was just faulty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: burns sides of bread
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
maryclaudia
Augusta, GA.
Posted January 22, 2013
Reason?
Reading other sites about break makers, I came across a possible reason for the burnt sides and bottom-too much flour. Be sure to accurately measure your flour by spooning it into a dry measure cup then leveling it off with a flat edge. Do not pack. I have a Breville on order and am holding my breath as to whether I will have success with it. While you say you have returned your machine, perhaps this bit of info will be helpful in the future or to others.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenZi
,Cincinnati
,OH
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My New Breville
August 21, 2012
Recently purchased new Breville due to need to make Gluten Free bread. Love the machine! However, disappointed that I don't have the option of changing loaf size or crust in the Gluten Free baking. Machine makes a beautiful loaf of bread, it's very quiet and easy to clean. Overall I'm very happy with it and have recommended it to friends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Quiet
Review 18 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredh
,Fishkill
,ny
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good machine
August 13, 2012
It is a fine item,makes excellent bread.Got to read the manual to make good bread.Find I always have to add a little more water
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 19 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Breadmaker2
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Limited Custom Programing
May 31, 2012
If you try to use cycles like the preheat cycle or a second rise to make dough without baking , the program will not save as a custom program. I confirmed this with programing problem with Breville.
If you want to use this machine to make dough, I would pass on this machine.
Cons: Temperamental
Review 20 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cucurene
,Wayne
,NJ
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DISAPPOINTED
May 6, 2012
i wish there were two rating options, as i'd give it 5* for allowing me to make delicious bread so easily. however, after only one month, i am now on my second replacement (Breville sent me a new top lid) to resolve the defect.
i've only made the gluten free banana nut loaf (quite delicious), but i have a recurring problem with the auto nut dispenser, that is making me decide whether to return the maker and give up. each time i have prepared my ingredients and set the basket within the chamber, as i close the lid (gently, mind you), the nut dispenser collapses and dumps the fruit and nuts. since this isn't called for until after knead 1, i have wasted a lot of ingredients trying to recover this. very, very frustrating. if anyone else has experienced this, and perhaps i'm missing something, i welcome your feedback.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
page1 2 next