Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker

Bake flawless loaves at home with this state-of-the-art bread machine from Breville. Easy digital controls and an automatic dispenser for add-ins let you create an amazing variety of breads, including crisp-crusted European-style loaves rivaling those from artisan bakers. Thirteen automatic and manual settings. Includes gluten-free and quick-bread settings, three crust color options and bake-only and jam functions. Makes 1-, 1 1/2-, 2- and 2 1/2-lb. loaves. A dispenser automatically releases add-ins such as fruits and nuts. Unlike conventional kneading paddles, this paddle collapses, preventing an indentation from forming in the bottom crust. Backlit LCD display and 13-hour preset timer. Viewing light lets you check on bread without opening lid. Mixes dough for pizza, focaccia and pasta. Pause function allows for hand-shaping crusts and adding glazes. Stores your personal recipes. Nonstick pan for easy cleanup. Recipes included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
Review 1 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NoTime
,Tabernacle
,NJ
September 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok if you plan on using it occasionally
September 21, 2014
We bought this bread machine December 2012. In less than 6 months the collapsible paddle stopped collapsing, we called Breville and were told we could purchase a replacement, which we did. The replacement stopped collapsing in 4 months! No more replacements, we decided to have holes in our bread. Now, less than two years later we will awake in the morning and expect to have fresh bread baking only to find a clump of uncooked dough and an error message. The error messages are not listed in the book. We looked them up online and the message that was given did not pertain to our error!
The bread machine was terrific when it worked...even with holes in the bread. For the cost of the machine I would expect it to last well past 22 months!
Cons: collapsible pad hard to clean
Review 2 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMatson
,The Sea Ranch
,CA
July 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Bread Machine
July 13, 2014
My old bread machine died after 20 years. I debated whether to buy this more expensive replacement, but finally decided to go for it when Williams Sonoma offered 20% off and free shipping. This is a fantastic bread machine. Easy to use, great results. So glad I got it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshyBashy
,Arlington
,TX
Arlington, Texas
July 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You control the ingredients!
July 10, 2013
I wish I had bought this years ago! I've had it for over a year now, and I can't imagine baking bread without it! It not only makes easy loaves, but it also has different settings for doughs, a gluten free setting, and MUCH more! You can select how brown you want it, and it literally does all the work for you. The recipe for pizza crust is amazing, feel free to add your own Italian spice herbs to it for an extra YUM factor. I typically bake three loaves in a row, and freeze the other two until we're ready for them. Saves me time in the kitchen, and we NEVER run out of bread! I love the dessert loaves recipes that came with the machine too :) There is nothing like smelling fresh bread baking in the kitchen. And the beauty of it is that YOU control ALL the ingredients that go in. If you're trying to limit your intake of sugar, substitute honey in it's place! I would buy this again a thousand times over!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAL609
,Southlake
,TX
May 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very impressive!
May 30, 2013
This is the first time I've owned a bread maker and I'm impressed with how easy it was to use right out of the box. I've made 5 loaves and a pizza dough in the first week and everything was successful. There are plenty of recipes in the manual and they are simple to follow. So far I've made 2-pound loaves and these are well proportioned, the crust is good and texture is wonderful. My favorite is the crusty French bread.
Clean up is easy and I can see myself using this several times a week. With a little forward planning I won't have to run to the store all the time or fill the freezer with bread.
One note of caution... Don't put the machine at the edge of the countertop! During the kneading phase of today's pizza dough it wiggled off the counter onto the floor, pulling the plug out as it fell. I plugged it back in and the program started up where it left off and the dough was perfect!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 5 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
collegeStudent
,Denver
,co
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing bread maker
December 30, 2012
This bread maker is amazing. I've made bread by hand for years and was slightly worried this wouldn't kneed the bread enough, it does.
It's super easy to clean, even leaving it over night with dough stuck to the side it all cleaned off with less then 5 min "soaking" (the basked was filled with soapy water)
For the most part it's fairly quiet and is something you could forget about. The only time there's really any noise is when it's kneading the dough but it's not enough to disturb you.
It is fairly large and does weigh a good bit so I'd find a corner on the counter to keep it. Especially since you'll want to have home made bread all the time.
over all this is an amazing product and I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet, makes great whole wheat bread
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Loud, Size
Review 6 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zekiesmom
,Media
,PA
media, pa
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great bread and easy....
December 18, 2012
It does wobble a little but quietly....bread is delicious...easy to use and clean.
You do have to play with the paddle a little to keep it from folding and the sides do come out a little browner than I would like....but I am happily making delicious bread
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Cons: needs a shimmy under 1 foot
Review 7 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmtm
,pontoon beach
,il
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
exactly as we expected
November 16, 2012
does all the work for you, you will not be disappointed in this product. Pay a little more than the cheaper units.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheHulk
,Dallas
,TX
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Love It!
November 15, 2012
Got my bread maker as an anniversary gift and I am just tickled. I read so many bad reviews over this product and I am NOT having any issues like others. It does not totter on my kitchen cabinet, it does not loose its feet (the feet are actually screwed into the base of the bread maker), and its quiet. It does wobble slightly as its kneading the dough; but better it than me! LOL
I just LOVE my bread maker and I'm so excited that its apart of my kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KitchenGadgetGuy
,Ann Arbor
,MI
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pricey dough
September 23, 2012
Baked my first loaf of bread using my newly purchased Breville Bread Maker. The instructions were difficult to read and understand. The machine does not sit level on the counter. Thought it may be my counter - but that's not the case. Requires one of the feet to be shimmed to keep it from ricking back and forth as it cycles through the knead. The first loaf was browned better on the sides than on the top. Basically disappointed with the machine's performance. Or from a positive note it can only get better.
Cons: case feet not level
Review 10 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CBeckman
,WA
September 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
thermostat issues?
September 22, 2012
After reading and comparing features on multiple high end bread makers I settled on the Breville, mainly because of Breville's reputation.
I made a plain white loaf as soon as it arrived with a medium crust setting. The top of the loaf was beautiful, but the sides were burned. I made a second loaf with a light crust setting and the same thing happen. I will exchange the bread maker. Hopefully, this one was just faulty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: burns sides of bread
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
maryclaudia
Augusta, GA.
Posted January 22, 2013
Reason?
Reading other sites about break makers, I came across a possible reason for the burnt sides and bottom-too much flour. Be sure to accurately measure your flour by spooning it into a dry measure cup then leveling it off with a flat edge. Do not pack. I have a Breville on order and am holding my breath as to whether I will have success with it. While you say you have returned your machine, perhaps this bit of info will be helpful in the future or to others.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenZi
,Cincinnati
,OH
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My New Breville
August 21, 2012
Recently purchased new Breville due to need to make Gluten Free bread. Love the machine! However, disappointed that I don't have the option of changing loaf size or crust in the Gluten Free baking. Machine makes a beautiful loaf of bread, it's very quiet and easy to clean. Overall I'm very happy with it and have recommended it to friends.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Quiet
Review 12 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredh
,Fishkill
,ny
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good machine
August 13, 2012
It is a fine item,makes excellent bread.Got to read the manual to make good bread.Find I always have to add a little more water
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Breadmaker2
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Limited Custom Programing
May 31, 2012
If you try to use cycles like the preheat cycle or a second rise to make dough without baking , the program will not save as a custom program. I confirmed this with programing problem with Breville.
If you want to use this machine to make dough, I would pass on this machine.
Cons: Temperamental
Review 14 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cucurene
,Wayne
,NJ
May 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DISAPPOINTED
May 6, 2012
i wish there were two rating options, as i'd give it 5* for allowing me to make delicious bread so easily. however, after only one month, i am now on my second replacement (Breville sent me a new top lid) to resolve the defect.
i've only made the gluten free banana nut loaf (quite delicious), but i have a recurring problem with the auto nut dispenser, that is making me decide whether to return the maker and give up. each time i have prepared my ingredients and set the basket within the chamber, as i close the lid (gently, mind you), the nut dispenser collapses and dumps the fruit and nuts. since this isn't called for until after knead 1, i have wasted a lot of ingredients trying to recover this. very, very frustrating. if anyone else has experienced this, and perhaps i'm missing something, i welcome your feedback.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 15 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrianL
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NICE!!!!!!!!
April 30, 2012
What a wonderful machine!!! This puppy takes ALL the guess work and tedious work out of making bread or pasta dough. This machine is MUST HAVE for any complete kitchen. I use the reciepes that come in the enclosed book. every loaf comes out purrrrrrfect. Even the W/S overpriced bread mixes are no fail. My only con is when in the knead phases, the machine sounds like it is internally hemeroging. So, if you set it up to cook in the wee hours, make sure the bread maker is as far away from your bedroom as posible or you will be up all night.
Over all I really like this machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Cons: loud in knead cycle
Review 16 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gaylord47
,Fort Wayne
,IN
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's Great
April 4, 2012
While I only have made dough for the first item using this machine, the ease and the final product was awesome. My guests ate the rolls up so fast I ran out. I, thought there would be some left to snack on until I made more which will be very soon.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raingarden
,Grand Rapids
,MI
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best one I have had
February 21, 2012
Using it twice a week. Tried all different types of bread - whole wheat French, sourdough, etc. and all have come out perfect. At the 1lb setting the loaf is more round that rectangular- but the 1.5 and up is great. Super kneading function, great crust. No problem with wobble. Easy to clean. Great addition to my Breville "line".
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 18 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bread1architect
,Berkeley
,CA
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best available, but needs improvement
February 21, 2012
Instructions say "you MUST follow the instructions exactly!!". It takes away all my joy. I compared to see which I could override to do it my way.
No machine has an overnight cycle. Delayed start means the kneading doesn’t start until late. Must get up at 3:30AM to adjust consistency of the dough ☹
Breville has ability to set both time and temperature. 2 custom cycles: 1st to knead with no yeast (11 minutes total), so I can adjust the dough immediately. 2nd finishes the kneading with the yeast and bakes the bread.
I got the loaf I have been dreaming of. ☺
Opened at the store and checked thoroughly. The first one had several large dents in it. The second was OK. So far, it’s working perfectly.
My wish for improvements:
1. Store and adjust cycle on my laptop, and communicate it wirelessly to the machine.
2. Rise time longer than 100 minutes. 6:40 custom cycle is still too short. Artisan breads benefit from long rise.
3. Standard cycle of 9 hours.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Quiet, can set both time and temperature
Cons: could be more user-friendly, check in store for dents
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bread1architect
Berkeley, CA
Posted January 29, 2014
Update- 2 years later
I still use it once a week, for my "Slow Cracked-Grain Bread", using oatmeal (1c), cracked 9-grain cereal (1/2c dry, precooked), wheat berries (1/2c, cooked), whole wheat flour (2c), white flour (1 2/3c), wheat gluten (3T), salt , 3/8 teaspoon yeast.
Have adjusted the recipe and timing- now it works every time. Problem was too early a rise exhausted the yeast, then bread fell as it baked. Drastically reduced amount of yeast. Use ice water to keep the dough as cold as possible. No sugar; use flour with no added malted barley (both make it rise too fast).
1st custom cycle: knead1: 6 min, knead2: 35 min, with the yeast included in the mix. Mixture is heavy and sticky, hence the long knead time. Keep the top open to avoid heat buildup.
Take out and knead a few turns by hand, then put it back, close top.
2nd cycle: 5:57 hrs, + time delay, no knead, lowest temp rise, longest rise time. With time delay, I set for 8 to 10 hrs.
Very happy with machine, but would still like additional flexibility in programming.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJBaker
,Flanders
,NJ
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this bread maker!
February 7, 2012
I got my Breville Bread maker after Christmas this year. I had another company's bread maker many years ago and couldn't believe the advancements in this Breville model. I have been baking my way through the recipe book and every loaf has been delicious. It is easy to use and fool proof if you take the time to read the bread making hints at the beginning of the manual. I also found that buying good quality ingredients does make a difference. But the bottom line is that the Breville bread machine is great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 20 for Breville Custom Loaf Bread Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newday2d
,Clarinda
,IA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING MACHINE! Great Quality!
January 4, 2012
I researched all the bread makers available and decided when I got the chance I would buy the Zojirushi that would only make the 1 lb loaf. Then after Christmas, I happened in to Williams - Sonoma in West Des Moines. And I'm SOOooo glad that I did. I walked out with this amazing machine that I didn't even know was available because it's exclusive to this store! I have baked bread EVERY day since and have thoroughly enjoyed sharing every perfect loaf with my friends! I have now banned all store bought bread from my home. Though I usually just make the 1 lb loaf, right now I have the 1.5 pound rosemary/olive oil bread baking for tomorrow to take to work. It's so easy to bake a loaf every day! Wish I had this LONG AGO! I just put the ingredients in the night before and have it ready in the am. The nut and fruit dispenser has worked great for my cinnamon raisin bread. YUMMY! Oh...and I do all organic! What more can I say....you will never want bread from the store again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly