Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle

Breville's sparkling glass kettle boils water in a hurry - and looks great doing it. A powerful 1800-watt heating element inside its 360deg. swivel base guarantees impressive efficiency, quickly boiling up to 7 cups of water. When the water is hot, the kettle lifts off the stainless-steel base for easy table service. Brilliantly clear German Schott glass kettle is as durable as it is beautiful. With the press of a button, the "soft-opening" lid opens slowly, allowing steam to escape gradually -- not in a scalding puff. Extra-wide lid opening makes it easy to fill and clean the kettle. The lid-release button is conveniently built in to the comfortable, contoured handle. Auto shut-off feature prevents the kettle from boiling dry. Illuminated on/off switch is easy to see in the dark. Detachable mesh filter keeps scale deposits out of your water.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
Review 1 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Romeoville
,Il
September 7, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot Hot Water
September 7, 2016
Sits on counter easily fillings with water easy to clean. But the best feature watch water boil and shuts off automatically. I'm a tea drinker could be best device ever.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quiet, Speed, Time-saver
Review 2 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 8, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall functional but lid pops open repeatedly
April 8, 2016
The unit performs well and I like its overall appearance and function, but once the water comes to a boil the lid pops open consistently. This happens on both my unit and one I purchased at WIlliams Sonoman for a friend. Once the lid pops open, it will often deactivate the auto shutoff so the unit continues to sit and boil. Seems like a major design flaw... would love it if Breville had a solution.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,EAst Greenwich
,RI
March 19, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 19, 2016
Having purchased several Breville products, we thought this would be good as well. It started out fine but it no longer shuts off automatically and the lid does not pop open to fill the kettle any longer. We have to fill it through the tiny spout
Review 4 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Castle Rock, CO
March 15, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Looking and Efficient
March 15, 2016
Love this good looking Tea Kettle. It boils water quickly and efficiently and pours well. My only problem is after several years of constant use the lid popped open at a full boil. This sometimes caused the kettle not to turn off and could boil dry. I did replace with a new glass Breville.
Review 5 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,New York
,NY
February 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great but large
February 4, 2016
Overall this kettle is excellent - it is well-made, well-designed, and boils water quickly. One caveat to the clear glass is that while the kettle looks nice before and during boiling, afterwards it holds quite a bit of condensation, so requires a bit of swooshing to regain the clear glass aesthetic. Good to note but obviously not a deal breaker. Our biggest complaint with this kettle is that for two people it's really large. The minimum, two cups, is only 1" of water. In terms of size, it's better suited to a family, or those who boil water several times a day. (We've seen smaller glass kettles made by Breville but sadly not sold - yet! - in the US.) Regardless, a quality electric kettle, and recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Design, Quality
Cons: High-Maintenance, Size
Review 6 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Houston, TX
December 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best electric kettle yet
December 31, 2015
We have deep roots in the British Isles where everyone uses an electric kettle. When we couldn't buy one in the US, we specially ordered a Russell Hobbs from the UK. Now we have Breville available here, and it's the best of the domestic brands we've tried so far. We've been using our Breville kettle at least ten times a day, not only for hot drinks, but to boil water to add to pots on the stove, as the kettle's much faster than a cook top. If we have a problem, we know we can take it back to Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, fast
Review 7 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vancouver
,BC
November 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have used daily for almost 6 months - LOVE!
November 29, 2014
We got this kettle as a wedding gift. My husband and I are avid tea drinkers, and I've used it at least once a day for almost 6 months. I was concerned about it being glass, but there have been no issues. It's durable and easy to clean. It's also mesmerizing to watch boil and it always makes me excited to make my tea. It looks great on my counter too. LOVE this kettle and highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, entertaining!
Review 8 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Belleair
,FL
January 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buying my third
January 6, 2014
I bought this kettle for my husband and myself last summer. I loved it so much that when my youngest daughter needed a kettle I bought one for her too. Now, I'm buying another for my older daughter. Clean, efficient. Straightforward. I love it. Incidentally we use drinking water for tea... spring water, I've found, leaves a mineral deposit, and drinking water doesn't.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Gearoidin
Belleair, FL
Posted February 4, 2015
Re water quality
In response to previous comment re using filtered water from a refrigerator. I don't know -- but I would much rather be able to see what's inside my kettle, even if the appearance is therefore less attractive, than not. It's happened to me twice in the past that I've discovered rust inside a kettle. I vote for transparency. :-)
It's over a year since I posted my original review and am still just as happy with my kettle. I use it many times a day.
0points
Customer avatar
Fitzi
Englewood, FL
Posted February 4, 2015
Water quality
Since the use of spring water leaves mineral deposits am wondering if water from a refrigerator filter would do the same. Love the appearance of this kettle, but to have mineral stains would destroy its beauty.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Breville Crystal Clear Glass Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Princeton
,NJ
November 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
19of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked for 6 months
November 12, 2013
This kettle worked nicely for six months. In the last month, however, after coming to a boil, the lid opens up on its own, and won't stay closed. This has happened when pouring boiling water into a cup and I narrowly avoided being scalded by the steam that escaped when the lid opened. It happens every time I use the kettle now, even though I always careful to fill the kettle to within the prescribed fill lines.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, unsafe