Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker

If you love pizza as much we do, we predict Breville's compact countertop machine will change your life. Thanks to powerful dual heating elements and a built-in baking stone, it produces extraordinary, brick- oven-style pizzas in about ten minutes. Whether you prefer New York's classic thin pizzas or hearty thick crust pies, you'll enjoy crispy, golden crusts and perfectly cooked toppings-every time. Countertop pizza maker gives you professional brick-oven results, right in your own kitchen. Dual heating elements on the top and bottom of the oven heat the ceramic pizza stone up to 660deg.F, replicating the cooking environment of a brick oven. Built-in 12" diam. baking stone conducts and retains heat evenly to guarantee crisp, golden crusts. Settings for Thin, Medium and Thick crusts ensure uniformly baked pizzas-no matter how generous the toppings. A special Keep Warm setting holds your fresh-baked pizza at the ideal serving temperature-and keeps the baking stone hot between pizzas. Use the viewing window to monitor baking without opening the lid and losing heat. Bake pizzas up to 11" diam. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
77 of 93(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
Review 21 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
oldalgebra
,Uplandca
February 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't get it right.
February 17, 2014
I tried making pizza on several different occasions, using a couple of different crust recipes. Either it burnt the bottom, but was not cooked through (and cheese was not bubbly), or the cheese got burnt and the crust was raw. Honestly, I never figured it out. Took it back to the store.
Took a long time to warm up and never really got hot enough.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed
Review 22 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RichardA
,Tucson
,AZ
February 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with an almost fatal flaw
February 12, 2014
This "oven" would be absolutely perfect except it has a major flaw that should never have been allowed to make it to the final design. Because of the positioning of the top heating element, it's very difficult to avoid scorching the top of the pizza. If that heating element had been raised by even 1/4" it wouldn't be that big of a deal.
The only way I've figured out to get this to work is to dock the crust a lot, like not leave more than 1/8" between holes. Then when it's cooking, I watch through the window and lift the lid to keep popping the bubbles and any part of the dough that rises with a fork. Doing it this way, you can get a thin or medium crust without scorching the pizza and setting off your smoke detector.
I own several Breville devices and this is the first that has such a major flaw in it, telling that this was made for them by another company.
Other than the above issues, the device is well built and sturdy.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Difficult to Store
Review 23 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gully
,Sacramento
,CA
February 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only for very thin crust pizzas
February 6, 2014
There is not enough space between the pizza stone and the heating element... making it very easy to burn the pizza toppings as the crust rises. Clouds of smoke will emanate. Not good.
Very top heavy.
If you only want medium-small thin crust pizzas with perhaps pepperoni then this will work for you. Yes it gets very hot and the stone will produce a good crust.
Easy to clean. I'll keep it now that I understand its limitations.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Temperamental
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 24 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TampaMom
,Tampa
,FL
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thank You Breville and W-S … LOVE THIS!!
February 4, 2014
We have to eat gluten and grain free and have seriously missed pizza for several years. We have tried to make our own GF versions several times in our oven but GF / grain free crusts are pretty tricky … and the results were not so great. But, this amazing machine gets the job done and well … pizza actually tastes delicious and is ready in record time! I can't imagine how delicious regular crust must taste in this machine. We do have to par bake for two minutes on parchment paper but then add our toppings and pop back in the Breville CC Pizza Maker to finish with great results! My kids are so happy. Great product … thank you!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 25 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mukilteo
,Mukilteo
,WA
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More than satisfied
February 1, 2014
Read many of the previous reviews and decided to go ahead with my purchase. I have made 3 pizzas so far keeping previous recommendations in mind: thin crust setting, easy on the toppings (no mounding), poke holes in the dough with a fork, and placed it next to kitchen ventilation. Slightly overcooked the first one and had a great pizza by the third one. Used the parchment paper trick and it works like a charm. The appliance does smoke a bit, but the kitchen ventilation assisted in that department. Instructions indicate the smoking & first use smell will dissipate with more use. Read & followed the instructions (roll dough 9.5 inches, keep toppings at least 1/4" from edge, don't pile on toppings) and this kept any toppings from spilling over onto the stone and getting singed by the top heating element. 6 oz of rolled out dough works for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 26 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
foodiereviewer
,Lancaster
,PA
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A disaster in the kitchen
February 1, 2014
The first time we used this we had friends over…first mistake. The bottom of the pizzas were burned to a crisp and the toppings burnt to the heating element which created smoke throughout the house and a horrible smell the rest of the evening. We decided to try it again using homemade pizza dough and that was another disaster. We have finally figured out that the only way to make edible pizzas are to use very thin crust and minimal toppings. I would not recommend this product to those who enjoy experimenting with toppings…the figs were burnt, the vegetables not cooked…I think we'll have to stick tot he basic cheese on future endeavors.
Pros: Speed
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size
Review 27 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jubes1
,edmonton, canada
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
favorite pizza oven
February 1, 2014
I received the Breville pizza oven for christmas 2013 and have used it 3 time making 6 pizzas per use. Just love it, makes a great thin crust pizza. I would highly recommend this oven, it will get a lot of use. An earlier post noted that it was hard to clean, I have not found this the case in fact I would have to say it is very easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: no cons
Review 28 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greenerpez
,Houston
,TX
January 25, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pizza crust
January 25, 2014
I got this as a gift. I love this machine. I have made pizzas with red sauce, Alfredo,, olive oil, and a combo of Alfredo/tomato. Pizza comes out amazingly.
We used this machine for a party. I roll out the dough; everyone makes their own based on their choice of toppings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 29 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chocl8Lvr
,Amherst
,NH
New Hampshire
January 25, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE
January 25, 2014
Made our first pizza tonight, using a high-quality (TJ) already-made cold, raw-dough (garlic and herb). Made my own quick fresh marinara with organic Roma tomatoes, basil, Italian seasoning, garlic and olive oil. Ingredients: sweet Italian sausage, fresh mushroom, onion slices and fresh minced garlic. Mozzarella. Parmesan. Used medium-thickness pizza. 10-minutes. Perfect. Cheese bubbling, gorgeous slightly browned. Raw Italian sausage perfectly cooked. I bought TWO of the Breville pizza makers during a sale! Do I keep the 2nd unit? Send to a friend for her birthday? Tough decision! Love this so much!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 30 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rickster
,Camp Hill
,Pa
January 13, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UGH! Dont waste your time and money
January 13, 2014
Was very excited to get the pizza maker. Followed directions to a "t". If you spill any sauce or topping on the stone it burns, smokes, and will turn black. Which is almost impossible to clean off - again I followed the directions to a 't' to clean it-never got clean. i dont want to waste more money buying another stone. I love WS, and this is the one and only item that i ever got that I would say is unacceptable in fact its an absolute disaster.
Pros: Speed
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, impossible to clean, burns and smokes
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Irishsetter
Portsmouth, Va
Posted January 27, 2014
A disaster!
I totally agree! I too followed the instructions. The first time I burned the bottom of the pizza but it was somewhat edible. The second time it was awful!. It was burned in 5 minutes- totally black. The stone is a mess and needs to be sanded down. If I can find a replacement stone, I may buy one but I doubt it. Very disappointed
0points
Customer avatar
lsouth
Ohio
Posted January 16, 2014
operator error
You should not rate an appliance poorly due to operator error. I have had this pizza make since it came out and it produces great results. Yes you must learn to use it, but how is that different that other appliances. Dark marks on a pizza stone do not impair it's function - it is like a grill grate - it does not need to be shiny and new at each use.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
tuscanylvr
Fullerton, CA
Posted January 16, 2014
easy tip for keeping stone clean
Using parchment paper helps to keep the stone clean. The paper turns black but does not burn. You can also pull the paper out before the pizza is completely done if you prefer.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 31 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iflyfish28
,Beaumont
,TX
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooks fast and makes great pizza
January 7, 2014
I bought this because of the reviews and the sale price after Christmas and free shipping. Our kitchen oven does not get hot enough and my Webber grill does not reach much above 400 °. Since this unit is reported to reach 600°+ and the reviews were so good I decided to give it a try. I have made 3 pizzas so far (from 1 batch of dough). I was a little worried about the pizza size, but they are great this size (about 11"-12"). My dough ended up medium crust and cooked in 7 minutes. I have two pizza peelers to slide the pizza on the stone and then remove it. You need a peeler for any oven, when making a pizza. Great for teaching kids how to cook with fresh local produce, and it's so easy to make the dough without mixer (hand mix in bowl and hand tossed) and so good. Very happy with the unit because it makes cooking pizza a lot easier and the final product comes out great. I store it back in it's box in the garage when not in use and pull it out when ready to use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 32 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PizzaObsessed
,Westminster
,CA
January 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Pizza
January 3, 2014
Got this for Christmas this year and it is fabulous!! Use the parchment paper method described in other reviews and in the user's guide and your crust will never stick. Cooks both the toppings and the crust perfectly. We went to Italy this summer and have missed the super thin crust pizza, well now we make it at home!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Size
Review 33 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurieF27
,Shelton
,CT
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the dough ;-)
January 1, 2014
I purchased this Breville pizza maker for my chef husband for Christmas. It was not cheap but I trusted WS enough to try it. We've had bad luck making homemade pizza whether on the grill or in the oven using all sorts of methods. Decided to try it out for our New Year's Day dinner and it was amazing! Made crust from scratch using Cuisinart's recipe-didn't use recipe in book because it calls for European measures and types of flour so not sure how that would have translated. The Breville is easy to use and we are so pleased with it! Love that it only takes 5-6 minutes! Thank you WS and thank you Breville for making a great product! Highly recommend!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Speed, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 34 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AEDP
,West Palm Beach
,FL
Hartford, CT
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pizza Maker
January 1, 2014
I bought this pizza maker based on the very positive reviews. The pros are:
-makes truly great pizza (I used Galaxy Desserts pizza dough bought through WS)
-adjustable settings
-makes pizza in minutes
-with a pizza spatula, the pizza comes right off the stone
The cons are:
-only makes 1 pizza at a time (but the pizzas cook in 5-10 min depending on size)
-it is very difficult to slide a pizza onto the stone in the pizza maker. Although not recommended, I place the rolled out dough directly on the stone and then quickly put the sauce, cheese and toppings (I have it all lined up beforehand).
-the machine is bulky for the countertop but can be put away when not in use.
The pros greatly outweigh the cons.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Speed, Quiet, makes a great crust
Cons: Size, hard to put pizza on the stone
Review 35 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TrippKnightly
January 1, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
6of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mediocre pizza and a high price
January 1, 2014
Medicocre pizza from a high-priced machine that takes up storage space. I see all the glowing reviews here, so here's one contrarian opinion having used this 3 times (I gave it every chance!). Maybe I'll dissuade just one informed person from a bad purchase.
1) Since it's only 110 volt, you just can't expect it to produce the kind of intense heat needed to make pizza. The bottoms of my pizza remained more doughy than not.
2) No pizza spring / spatula provided. Seriously? They couldn't "spring" for one at that price?
3) To make up for its low power, the heating coils are very close to the top of the pizza - if you have thick toppings, they will get scorched.
4) It doesn't really brown pizza the way a real pizza should be. Looks more like somebody ran a blow-torch over it.
5) I like the color of the unit though.
My advice: consider a different product or even better do you really even need a dedicated appliance like this? Maybe the old-school pizza stone and oven is the way to go??
Review 36 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
irishmom17
,Scotrun
,PA
Scotrun, PA
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow - What a machine!!!
December 29, 2013
I love Breville products, I have to redesign a closet to hold all of them LOL. This Crispy Crust Pizza Maker is outstanding. I couldn't believe the results; crispy crust every time. I used a Bread Flour with a bit of Whole Wheat Flour in the dough recipe. First night using machine we did a standard red sauce and cheese pie, then a red sauce pepperoni pie, an Alfredo Sauce and Cheese pie, and finally a white pizza with a blend of 5 cheeses fresh rosemary, kosher salt fresh pepper and Vidalia onions. Made sure I had lots of semolina flour on my peal to slide raw pies onto stone. 5 minutes each, that's it. WOW - fantastic Thanks WS for carrying such a great product and Breville for coming up with it. Next up Calzone's, Mexican Pizza, who knows. Great fun.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed
Review 37 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msmagnolia
,Gulfport
,MS
Mississippi
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product! Quck and easy
December 29, 2013
This pizza oven is AWESOME. I can not get a crispy crust in my oven unless I use a pizza stone. It simply takes too long for my oven to heat the stone and is a waste of electricity. This unit heats up in 15-20 minutes. I used 5 ounces of homemade dough and rolled it out on parchment. I haven't mastered getting the prepared pizza to the oven without the parchment. I let it cook 2 minutes, removed the parchment and then cooked it another 2 minutes and the pizza was done to perfection. My daughter liked it so much that she and her husband ordered one right away. It isn't exactly a necessity, but sure is a handy little appliance, especially for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 38 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookn8r
,Bakersfield
,CA
Bakersfield, CA
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like New York pizza
December 29, 2013
We grew up in NY, and, of course, compare all pizzas to NY style crispy thin crust. We have made a lot at home, and while they're good, it's just not the same. Last night we made the Breville pizza dough recipe, and used this wonderful machine. OMG the crust was thin and crispy, and we are so happy we bought this product!! We highly recommend this pizza maker!!
Review 39 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bevo4
,Bristol
,VA
Bristol, Virginia
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE THIS PIZZA MAKER!!!!
December 28, 2013
Being from NJ, living in southwest Virginia now with NO good pizza places within an hours drive from us...we were willing to give this pizza maker a chance. Am I ever glad we did! Yummy thin crust (using King Arthur's pizza flour blend), easy to use and fast. No more searching for good take-out pizza. Wonderful product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 40 for Breville Crispy Crust Pizza Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrx5
,Orange
,Ca
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than restaurant pizza
December 28, 2013
The breville pizza maker was given to me for Christmas and I was thrilled to use it. I made pizza from scratch last night (normally I would buy pre made dough) very easy to make and the results were better than any gourmet pizza I've ever made. I was impressed with how fast it heated and the cooking time was less than 7 min!! Easy clean up too! Only downfall is I wish it could cook more than 1 pizza at a time!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed
prevpage 1 2 3 4 5 next