Breville Compact Smart Oven

Breville's updated Compact Smart Oven simplifies dozens of cooking tasks, from broiling pork chops to heating a 12" pizza, yet it takes up even less counter space than ever. Simple to use, it has a range of dial-controlled functions and features - and a generous 1800 watts of power. Compact size saves counter space. Heat setting range from 120deg.F to 450deg.F. Eight preset functions include toast, bagel, bake, roast, broil, pizza, cookies and reheat. Roomy interior accommodates a 12" pizza or four slices of bread. Temperature conversion button and frozen-foods defrost button simplify cooking tasks. "Smart" internal-sensor technology automatically adjusts power and calculates cooking time. Easy-to-read backlit LCD display changes color when cooking is complete. Two-hour timer has auto shut off. Nonstick baking chamber. Pullout crumb tray simplifies cleaning. Includes enamel baking pan and enamel broiling rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
34 of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Compact Smart Oven
Review 1 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aquamarine
,mobile
,al
August 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decent at toasting
August 3, 2014
use this mainly as a toaster oven. Settings are helpful but still have to adjust time. More time is needed for the indicated darkness levels than set. Overall good valule.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet, Design
Cons: grill does not come out when door opens.
Review 2 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fussy
,Bourne
,Ma
June 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most used appliance
June 21, 2014
Wanted an oven that also made great toast and had a small footprint. The Breville Compact Oven fit the bill. Loved it so much purchased it as a gift. Great oven for two people or for that extra casserole or dessert. I have cooked a small chicken, vegetables, pies. A little small for a pizza but that wasn't important to us. Love the timed shut-off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, timed shut-off
Review 3 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
k8gris
,Las Vegas
,NV
March 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Breville toaster oven!
March 23, 2014
Normally, I would not buy a toaster-oven in this price range. But when I needed a new toaster almost two years ago, I checked a leading national consumer review magazine. This was the top-rated toaster oven. Then I saw the HUNDREDS of reviews, on the Williams-Sonoma site and others raving about the Breville, so I ponied up and bought it.
So glad I did! My partner brings delicious corn cakes home from his sister after every trip to Costa Rica. These literally cannot be made in U.S. - our ingredients are not the same. When we would reheat them back in the U.S. in our old toaster, it made them chewy and stiff. The Breville heats them to perfection - warm and toasty with gooey cheese on top.
I use the Breville for so many other daily tasks. I live alone, so I use for almost all my cooking - baking, broiling, reheating. Now my partner and sister both bought Brevilles too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
feelingcranky
January 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
11of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped working after a year and a half
January 13, 2014
Worked okay but just stopped working. Controls don't do what they are supposed to do. For what it costs it should last longer than a year and a half.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality
Review 5 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MustangShar
,Chicago
,Il
Chicago, IL
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for me!
January 5, 2014
I've always had toaster ovens and replaced mine with this. It is great. Makes toast and bakes a cake perfectly. I've had it for 6 months before making my review, trying it on frozen pizza, reheating foods and now a cinnamon coffee cake. The only thing I would change is a professional grade baking tray in stainless steel. Also WS does stand behind their products after the manufacturer warranty expires. I will always buy my products here.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 6 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Docdeb1
,Las Vegas
,NV
September 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville Compact Oven
September 5, 2013
I've purchased many small/toaster ovens and this is the best! Perfect size, easy to use, clean, etc. and looks wonderful. Can't complain about the 'smart' technology either! Some have complained about the 'noise' when toasting/baking is completed: personally, I wish it were louder! Best compact oven I've ever owned.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, looks great
Review 7 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2Nana
,NJ
New Jersey
August 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An appliance that is used several times a day
August 21, 2013
Love, love, love this oven. We use it several times a day with always perfect results. The settings make toasting, reheating, baking, etc. so easy and the results are predictable. We have given this oven as a gift often and the reviews are always the same - don't know how we got along without it! Highly recommend this oven.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessRecipe
,Dallas
,TX
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oven Can Toast Too
August 6, 2013
Are you planning on buying a toaster oven mainly for the simple toast function? If so, you should rethink a toaster oven. I believe this is the best small oven I've ever owned and it does toast the best of any toaster oven I've owned. However, nothing works as well for toast as a traditional toaster for traditional toast. That being said, I used this product to make a couple of toaster pastries and it did not just dehydrate them and make them warm--it also browned them quite nicely. I highly recommend this product for anyone who will use the oven function of a toaster oven but also likes some great toast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bliss1
,Honolulu
,HI
July 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
True to its name
July 24, 2013
I replaced the current toaster oven when I finally got fed up with its inefficiency. I jumped at a chance to get Breville as I have been impressed with all my Breville purchases. This Compact Smart Oven was exactly what I needed. It's quick, does a superb job, the toast comes out beautiful on both sides and other functions are just as impressive. I'm very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 10 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Irritated
,Oakland
,MD
July 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never buy another Breville Product!
July 15, 2013
Had this oven for TWO YEARS, it dies in the middle of toasting. That's mainly what I used it for. Called Breville, after a 45 min. wait talked to a rep. They will replace the oven with a refurbish but I have to send my new oven back.
I've also replaced the variable temperature electric tea kettle three times.
Don't waste your money on over priced Breville products. They work great-for a little while.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, doesn't last long, too expensive for the longevity of use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SoDisappointed
Florida
Posted September 17, 2013
I had the same issue except mine last < 2 years
Most of the glowing reviews are from people that have just bought this oven. I loved mine too when I first got it. However, after the oven failed I did some research and found that this is very common for Breville ovens as well as other Breville products. The perception is that this is a high-end product. It's not. My cheapie Black & Decker toaster oven lasted about 10 years. This oven is NOT made to last.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chefelli
,Westchester
,NY
May 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Giving this a 4 star but could be less..read on
May 30, 2013
Purchased this toaster just over a year ago and absolutely loved it as my wall oven is quite small. Unfortunately the toaster oven died just over a year old and Breville would not replace as it was out of warranty. I contacted WS and they were more than happy to provide a replacement. THANK YOU William Sonoma for having my back....would buy other appliances from you for sure!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design, perfect size
Cons: Temperamental, breville not accomodating
Review 12 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlexandraS
,Alexandria
,Va
May 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First rate convection oven
May 21, 2013
I bought this oven for my son's family and they love it! It is in constant use and they don't know what they would do without it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 13 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
duffster
,Phoenix
,AZ
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
11of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
waste of money
March 1, 2013
Wow, this thing is terrible. I bought this primarily for toasting, about 80% of use. It just doesn't get hot enough, it more "bakes" than toasts and it is slow also.
Pre sliced sourdough takes 5-6 minutes and is dried out as is regular white bread.
Sweat appears on glass door when doing white bread, to the point of running down the door.
Breville did send a replacement but the new one is exactly the same as the first one.
Back breaker was today trying frozen waffles, never really got done correctly. After 7 minutes, barely a light tan color and yet completely dried out.
You have to wonder if they ever test these things before dumping on the market. To be honest, I didn't even try the other functions, why bother if it failed it's primary mission.
Going back today.
Cons: Power
Review 14 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TwoLabLovers
,Los Angeles
,Ca
February 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Quality and Great Looking
February 22, 2013
We have had this little oven for three months. It toasts and heats all goodies from pizza to bagels perfectly. We have not baked or cooked anything it in, that's not why we bought it. It really is very attractive, and looks quite stylish on the counter. The only negative is the timer. As other reviewers have noted, it's loud and beeps three shrill times. Yes, you can actually hear it when you are four rooms removed from kitchen. This does not pose a problem for us, other than it's annoying. Other than that, this oven does it's job well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 15 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Risha
,New York City
,NY
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Counter Top Oven
February 20, 2013
Fits nicely in my small kitchen. Highly recommend this oven for every one of your baking needs and more. Great for roasting, too! The interior stays clean, even after broiling..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, attractive
Cons: none
Review 16 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaJB
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for my purposes
January 29, 2013
So far have used oven to toast, bake reheat and have not been disappointed. Haven't used my big oven since I purchased this one. Love it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiMor
,New York
,NY
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little oven
January 26, 2013
This is one of the best kitchen purchases we've made -- we use it pretty much every day, since buying it a year and half ago, either to bake, reheat or toast. Items cook evenly, in good time, and cleaning is easy. Very low maintenance, and the outside, while it gets warm, I have never burned myself or melted any items atop of it (unlike the old black and decker we had). What's really great about it is that when it's just the two of us, we don't need to fire up our full oven. This little guy does the trick. I would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Quiet
Review 18 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mollyf
,Fernandina Beach florida
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breville toaster ovemn
January 2, 2013
It is VERY slow to toast...we haven't tried much else....Had we known how long toast would take, we wouldn't have purchased it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Review 19 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EngineersRcooks2
,Stonington
,Ct
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well - controls better than full size!
December 12, 2012
Bought for my boat. Controls work much smoother than the full size convection model (850) which I also own. The 850 controls grind like they have sand in them. Have not done any baking yet but suspect that it would not have made a noticeable difference to have convection baking. Crumb tray works easily; a plus when the oven is screwed in place! OBTW makes perfect toast (even repetitvely) if that's a big deal to you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 20 for Breville Compact Smart Oven
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaggieMot
,Hopkinton
,Ma
December 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Compact Oven
December 1, 2012
This little oven is wonderful. We have had it a week and done several things with it. The pros are many but the big con is that the handle gets very hot and you need a pot holder to open the door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size, Versatile, Quiet
Cons: handle on oven door gets very hot
page1 2 next