Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker

Get a great cup of espresso - from bean to brew - in less than a minute. This espresso maker grinds the beans right before brewing, and its interchangeable filters and a choice of automatic or manual operation ensure perfect results from beginner and connoisseur alike. Choose from automatic and manual settings. Built-in conical sintered-steel burr grinder produces precise grinds (15 settings from fine to coarse). Airtight round coffee bean hopper preserves freshness and aroma. Razor-precise grind dosing dispenses the correct amount of coffee for either single or double shots and can be adjusted to your preferences. Integrated tamper with pressure guide. Low-pressure preinfusion of coffee for optimal extraction. Adjustable brew temperature. A 15-bar Italian-made pressure pump ensures maximum extraction of flavor from the coffee. Water filter eliminates impurities for better-tasting coffee. 360-degree swivel steam wand with frothing nozzle froths milk for lattes and cappuccinos. Two interchangeable sets of forged commercial-style filters: dual-wall filters create consistently perfect crema for beginners; single-wall filters allow more experienced brewers to experiment with grind size, volume and tamp force. Extra-large water tank and dedicated hot-water outlet. Dry-puck feature removes excess water from grinds after extraction, resulting in an easily removable "puck" for fast cleanup. Includes a traditional stainless-steel frothing pitcher, scoop and cleaning kit. Built-in storage tray holds accessories when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
24 of 30(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
April 11, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great espresso, terrible machine
April 11, 2016
My machine gave me trouble at about the 10 month mark. I wasted a lot of expensive beans over the next four months. Not sure how this product has such a high rating because a little research will show that my experience is not atypical. Buyer beware.
Review 2 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Nazareth
,PA
April 9, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Some Like It Hot
April 9, 2016
When I was looking to buy an espresso maker, I wanted a good one and this one had excellent reviews. I don't know if it is my espresso maker in particular, but I cannot get a hot cup of espresso from this machine. I talked to someone at Breville and they were very nice and walked me through the procedure. They tried to blame the beans that I was using... Well, I have tried other beans and ground espresso. I still have yet to get a hot cup of espresso. Last night, I had a cup of espresso at friends' house - they have a Nepresso - the espresso was hot and delicious, much better than I have been able to get from this very expensive machine. Get the Nepresso - I sure wish I did!! I am going to look into returning it as soon as I finish this review.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Loud, Quality, Size, Difficult to Store, espresso quality
Review 3 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Des Moines
,IA
April 4, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2ND BREVILLE EXPRESSO MAKER
April 4, 2016
This is our second Breville Expresso Maker and we have been totally impress with this upgrade...If you're having any doubts about purchasing this particular machine, please don't!! I can assure you, it's worth every single dime!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 4 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Lansing
,Mi
January 5, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My second Breville machine, much poorer performanc
January 5, 2016
After owning my first machine for many years, I was excited to get a new one. The first machine still worked after almost 10 years, and now has a new home and still works great. This new machine however didn't make it to the second year without a problem causing the espresso to not come out of the machine any longer. I have worked with the company to resolve the problem following their instructions to a T. Nothing has seemed to work therefore I have a less than two-year-old machine that no longer works. They want me to send it in as they claim they are the only ones who can fix it, however the warranty is only for one year. It's expensive to ship the machine to California from the East Coast. Not to mention the time without the machine. Very sad about this purchase.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Oldmommy66
LA
Posted February 2, 2016
Thank you!
I appreciate your relaying your negative experience with trying to get the machine fixed. The last thing I need is a troublesome machine that is supposed to make me happier and my life easier. :( Is it naive of me to think Williams-Sonoma should have gone to bat for you???? They actually took back a non-returnable sale machine--different brand--months after I had purchased it when it failed to produce hot coffee.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CT
October 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Espresso just like in Italy
October 17, 2015
Got this for my husband, 25th silver anniversary and he says its the best gift I ever gave him. We share a "moment" every day together. Super easy to use. I got a fantastic tutorial at the store from Carla. Customer service could not have been any better. My only complaint is its just a bit messy before the coffee actually gets tamped down properly. This could be our learning curve. Overall, I would highly recommend this model. Oh, and for you tea drinkers, the hot water spout is PERFECT!!!! Ciao!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Cons: slightly messy
Review 6 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Three Rivers
,Mi
February 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expresso heaven
February 14, 2015
Love my new machine. It is a piece of art on the counter. It is a learning curve operating it, but once figured out, I am enjoying great expresso, laittes etc! It is like a new kitchen toy!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Park Ridge
,IL
January 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Espresso Every Time!
January 19, 2015
Picked this up for myself for Christmas. Once I adjusted the grind and consistency AND (this is important) figured out the right amount of pressure to tamp down the dose, I was pulling perfect beverages. The machine is easy to use and clean but you need to keep up with it to keep everything running smoothly. A huge improvement over what I was using. This is the real deal not some pretend machine that looks nice but doesn't really make good espresso.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hattiesburg
,Ms
January 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expresso machine
January 8, 2015
Got it for my wife, she loves it. one issue, water filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Quiet
Review 9 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,San Ramon
,CA
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great espresso
January 4, 2015
I received the 870XL before Christmas and just love this espresso machine. After some experimentation between grind size and amount of coffee, the machine worked well. You do have to clean out the drip tray at least 2 times per week if you make two espresso drinks per day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Columbus
,OH
December 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
makes good espresso!
December 9, 2014
We got this to replace a $100 DeLonghi and it was a dramatic upgrade. It is about three years old now and we are starting to have problems with the grinder when we began to use oily beans. Its getting to the point where we are thinking of getting a new grinder because it costs less than shipping it to Breville to fix. Other than that, we are in love with it and the drinks we make with it and still think its worth buying. I just wish we knew about the oily beans and took more steps in cleaning it between uses.
Pros: Quality, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BenH
Seattle, WA
Posted December 30, 2014
Cleaning
Did you try running uncooked, dried rice through the grinder? That can help clean it out if it's become oily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Ballwin
,MO
October 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not one touch, but great nonetheless
October 9, 2014
My husband bought this for my birthday. A friend of ours has a Jura fully automatic which we love but we did not want to spend that much money. The Breville makes great espresso and it only took three or four tries to get it right.
This is not for someone who wants a one-touch system. Definitely takes some work and cleaning isn't trivial; however, if these aren't deal breakers then it's an awesome machine.
Pros: Quality, Speed, Design
Cons: time consuming to clean
Review 12 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consistent and reliable
April 7, 2014
I have been using this machine for about 4 months now and it does a great job making espresso and steaming milk. The grinder is convenient and works well. Having the pressure dial is crucial to really figuring out methodology. The first machine I had to return because the dial didn't work, but no problem on the 2nd machine. Only negative is that I'm constantly filling up the water bin. It needs to be larger. Other than that, really good product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: water bin is too small
Review 13 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Grand Rapids
,MI
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
14of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Pump/Boiler
March 10, 2014
I am returning my second one tomorrow. Both have had the pumps fail. I know others have reviewed this positively, but there are obviously quality control issues at the manufacturer. Avoid this product and opt for another brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 14 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great value
January 31, 2014
I've used this machine for over a year now, and it has exceeded my expectations. The coffee is much fresher and tastier (and cheaper) than from a pod machine, with only a little more effort.
Forget the double wall filter that they include for beginners, you won't get a great cup from it, you have to learn to use the single wall filter. It's not difficult and I enjoy the 5-minute ritual of fiddling with it each morning for the perfect macchiato or espresso longo.
Everything needed was included with the machine, including a great frothing pitcher. It's easy to maintain, and lets me control everything to get my fix just the way I, and my guests, like it. Having pulled over 400 drinks so far, I feel I've already gotten my money's worth and then some.
Pros: Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,OC
,CA
Irvine, CA
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this espresso machine!
January 30, 2014
I couldn't be happier with Breville's espresso maker with Illy coffee beans. The best combo! My lattes taste just as good as some of my favorite coffee bars (like Portola Coffee Lab and Intelligensia). The frother is so easy to use and it heats up the milk very quickly. The only part that is a bit of extra work, is cleaning the wand. The milk dries up on it, so you have to use a warm, soapy sponge and then rinse it off with a wet towel to keep it shiny and completely clean. Sometimes I get lazy and just heat the milk in the microwave and pour it into the deep, dark espresso. I'm not a coffee snob, but now I just cannot drink any coffee. Making espresso and lattes with this machine will really spoil you, but it's SO worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, convenient built-in grinder
Review 16 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Milwaukee
,WI
January 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My morning ritual
January 26, 2014
I bought this after 3 machines didn't cut it. This machine was my "pipe dream", until I realized that in the long run, this machine would actually save me money.
There was a bit of a learning curve when I got it home and out of the box, but the instructions were easy to follow. It took a little practice figuring out the right grind level for the beans I was using - and if you are like me and like trying different beans, this is will be an ongoing experience. I don't mind, but some people might get frustrated.
I read some reviews that said that this machine's grinder stopped working after a few weeks - I've had no issues, but I do regularly dust it out when it gets empty, so maybe that helps.
The steamer works quickly, so I save some time in the morning. The espresso machine pulls a perfect shot just about every time - assuming I got the grind level right!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AlohaOahu
Honolulu
Posted February 21, 2016
grinder
This and any grinder will have a serious problem if any of the beans get damp. This is the best grinder I've ever owned in 40 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orlando
,FL
December 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Skeptical at First
December 24, 2013
Admittedly, this was a substantial amount of money to spend to make coffee; so yes, I was skeptical. Plus, it looked like a lot of work-Starbucks is much easier;-) However, my husband, who has been a coffee drinker much longer than I, had hopes that this machine would help me cut back my 3x/week visit to Starbucks. We also seriously considered a Nespresso machine.
There is a learning curve with the Breville. We couldn't be happier with our choice. I love having the ability to froth my milk and the Breville has reduced my trips to Starbucks.
Pros: Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 18 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ri
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We LOVE It
November 7, 2013
We got this as a wedding gift and it's a game changer. It makes every morning better. We have had it for about a month now and my husband has become quite the barista! The milk foaming took a week or so to get down but he's got it down and it's better then anything you could buy. It comes with everything you need so don't worry about anything. The coffee grinder is a dream come true for him. The machine knows how much automatically to grind depending on how many shots your making and you can adjust if need be. The whole thing is really adjustable in many ways so you can have your expresso or latte any way you like. I vote go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 19 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New york
,Ny
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful machine
October 31, 2013
This machine is designed beautifully. It's easy to use and easy to adjust. Once you turn it on its ready to brew in less than 60 seconds. As far as home espresso machines go it is not that loud. The automatic grinder does make a bit of a mess but it's well worth it. It pulls a beautiful shot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Arlington
,VA
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
5of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dead On Arrival
August 29, 2013
Grinder didn't work from the start. Extra star for great looks, good documentation and included accessories.
The machine also seemed to work nicely other than the grinder (didn't actually pull a shot - just went through the setup process), but the grinder lock indicator didn't work.
One million stars for Williams-Sonoma's return policy though. It's why I'll never buy anything I can get at Williams-Sonoma anywhere else. Ever.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Abeiis
Irvine, CA
Posted December 19, 2013
No fair review
It is a great opportunity to submit a review as openly and honestly as we can - when I see this 2 star review for a grinder mal functioned (reason unknown), and without considering or reviewing the rest of the functions of the unit, one question the fairness of the review. By the way, how is the replacement unit? did you update your review... No - I expect that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next