Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker

Get a great cup of espresso - from bean to brew - in less than a minute. This espresso maker grinds the beans right before brewing, and its interchangeable filters and a choice of automatic or manual operation ensure perfect results from beginner and connoisseur alike. Choose from automatic and manual settings. Built-in conical sintered-steel burr grinder produces precise grinds (15 settings from fine to coarse). Airtight round coffee bean hopper preserves freshness and aroma. Razor-precise grind dosing dispenses the correct amount of coffee for either single or double shots and can be adjusted to your preferences. Integrated tamper with pressure guide. Low-pressure preinfusion of coffee for optimal extraction. Adjustable brew temperature. A 15-bar Italian-made pressure pump ensures maximum extraction of flavor from the coffee. Water filter eliminates impurities for better-tasting coffee. 360-degree swivel steam wand with frothing nozzle froths milk for lattes and cappuccinos. Two interchangeable sets of forged commercial-style filters: dual-wall filters create consistently perfect crema for beginners; single-wall filters allow more experienced brewers to experiment with grind size, volume and tamp force. Extra-large water tank and dedicated hot-water outlet. Dry-puck feature removes excess water from grinds after extraction, resulting in an easily removable "puck" for fast cleanup. Includes a traditional stainless-steel frothing pitcher, scoop and cleaning kit. Built-in storage tray holds accessories when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DougPM
,Ballwin
,MO
October 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not one touch, but great nonetheless
October 9, 2014
My husband bought this for my birthday. A friend of ours has a Jura fully automatic which we love but we did not want to spend that much money. The Breville makes great espresso and it only took three or four tries to get it right.
This is not for someone who wants a one-touch system. Definitely takes some work and cleaning isn't trivial; however, if these aren't deal breakers then it's an awesome machine.
Pros: Quality, Speed, Design
Cons: time consuming to clean
Review 2 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SEADecaf
,Seattle
,WA
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consistent and reliable
April 7, 2014
I have been using this machine for about 4 months now and it does a great job making espresso and steaming milk. The grinder is convenient and works well. Having the pressure dial is crucial to really figuring out methodology. The first machine I had to return because the dial didn't work, but no problem on the 2nd machine. Only negative is that I'm constantly filling up the water bin. It needs to be larger. Other than that, really good product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: water bin is too small
Review 3 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brian1383
,Grand Rapids
,MI
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality Pump/Boiler
March 10, 2014
I am returning my second one tomorrow. Both have had the pumps fail. I know others have reviewed this positively, but there are obviously quality control issues at the manufacturer. Avoid this product and opt for another brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BelAirGuy
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great value
January 31, 2014
I've used this machine for over a year now, and it has exceeded my expectations. The coffee is much fresher and tastier (and cheaper) than from a pod machine, with only a little more effort.
Forget the double wall filter that they include for beginners, you won't get a great cup from it, you have to learn to use the single wall filter. It's not difficult and I enjoy the 5-minute ritual of fiddling with it each morning for the perfect macchiato or espresso longo.
Everything needed was included with the machine, including a great frothing pitcher. It's easy to maintain, and lets me control everything to get my fix just the way I, and my guests, like it. Having pulled over 400 drinks so far, I feel I've already gotten my money's worth and then some.
Pros: Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GGeri
,OC
,CA
Irvine, CA
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this espresso machine!
January 30, 2014
I couldn't be happier with Breville's espresso maker with Illy coffee beans. The best combo! My lattes taste just as good as some of my favorite coffee bars (like Portola Coffee Lab and Intelligensia). The frother is so easy to use and it heats up the milk very quickly. The only part that is a bit of extra work, is cleaning the wand. The milk dries up on it, so you have to use a warm, soapy sponge and then rinse it off with a wet towel to keep it shiny and completely clean. Sometimes I get lazy and just heat the milk in the microwave and pour it into the deep, dark espresso. I'm not a coffee snob, but now I just cannot drink any coffee. Making espresso and lattes with this machine will really spoil you, but it's SO worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, convenient built-in grinder
Review 6 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LatteLove
,Milwaukee
,WI
January 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My morning ritual
January 26, 2014
I bought this after 3 machines didn't cut it. This machine was my "pipe dream", until I realized that in the long run, this machine would actually save me money.
There was a bit of a learning curve when I got it home and out of the box, but the instructions were easy to follow. It took a little practice figuring out the right grind level for the beans I was using - and if you are like me and like trying different beans, this is will be an ongoing experience. I don't mind, but some people might get frustrated.
I read some reviews that said that this machine's grinder stopped working after a few weeks - I've had no issues, but I do regularly dust it out when it gets empty, so maybe that helps.
The steamer works quickly, so I save some time in the morning. The espresso machine pulls a perfect shot just about every time - assuming I got the grind level right!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 7 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMTM
,Orlando
,FL
December 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Skeptical at First
December 24, 2013
Admittedly, this was a substantial amount of money to spend to make coffee; so yes, I was skeptical. Plus, it looked like a lot of work-Starbucks is much easier;-) However, my husband, who has been a coffee drinker much longer than I, had hopes that this machine would help me cut back my 3x/week visit to Starbucks. We also seriously considered a Nespresso machine.
There is a learning curve with the Breville. We couldn't be happier with our choice. I love having the ability to froth my milk and the Breville has reduced my trips to Starbucks.
Pros: Design
Cons: Temperamental
Review 8 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maddiemillie
,Ri
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We LOVE It
November 7, 2013
We got this as a wedding gift and it's a game changer. It makes every morning better. We have had it for about a month now and my husband has become quite the barista! The milk foaming took a week or so to get down but he's got it down and it's better then anything you could buy. It comes with everything you need so don't worry about anything. The coffee grinder is a dream come true for him. The machine knows how much automatically to grind depending on how many shots your making and you can adjust if need be. The whole thing is really adjustable in many ways so you can have your expresso or latte any way you like. I vote go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dgtenor
,New york
,Ny
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful machine
October 31, 2013
This machine is designed beautifully. It's easy to use and easy to adjust. Once you turn it on its ready to brew in less than 60 seconds. As far as home espresso machines go it is not that loud. The automatic grinder does make a bit of a mess but it's well worth it. It pulls a beautiful shot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,Arlington
,VA
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
4of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dead On Arrival
August 29, 2013
Grinder didn't work from the start. Extra star for great looks, good documentation and included accessories.
The machine also seemed to work nicely other than the grinder (didn't actually pull a shot - just went through the setup process), but the grinder lock indicator didn't work.
One million stars for Williams-Sonoma's return policy though. It's why I'll never buy anything I can get at Williams-Sonoma anywhere else. Ever.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Abeiis
Irvine, CA
Posted December 19, 2013
No fair review
It is a great opportunity to submit a review as openly and honestly as we can - when I see this 2 star review for a grinder mal functioned (reason unknown), and without considering or reviewing the rest of the functions of the unit, one question the fairness of the review. By the way, how is the replacement unit? did you update your review... No - I expect that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EspressoLover2
August 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic cup of cappa
August 28, 2013
This machine is fantastic. It is SO easy to use that my husband used it for the first time at 6a while running out the door for a flight without any problems. The grinder works great so far although I'm aware of the issues others have had with oily beans so I'm planning to clean it frequently and we have hard water so I will definitely run vinegar through it monthly. We had our last Breville espresso machine for the past 7 years and this one is far more user friendly.
Review 12 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alatte
,LA
,Ca
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke down 2x in less than 2 years
April 16, 2013
Terrific machine when it works. Can achieve very good espresso shots and micro foam. Really liked it a lot.
My first one, the grinder broke within 2 months. I exchanged it and the grinder was fine. 1 year and 7 months later, it wouldn't extract. Me and my repair man had to chase Breville for over 6 weeks (many calls and many different people) just to order a computer board replacement. That is supposed to take 2 weeks to arrive. If it shows up, great. This will be my back up machine. After 6 weeks of not getting effective communication from Breville, I had given up and bought a Miele cm 5200. My repair man kept on it and a few days later found the magic person who could get him a new computer board.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, pretty looking, great espresso
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, friendly but near incompetent customer service
Review 13 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shorterstory06
,New York
,NY
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Machine
April 5, 2013
I purchased this machine after my Illy machine died.
At first it was intimidating but once you read the manuel it is smooth sailing! This machine goes above and beyond. I have my Illy machine for four years and it was a great "learning" espresso. This is without a step up. I have not used the grinder yet and I purchased Lavazzo espresso from the local food store which works absolutely perfectly. Everything I have made so far is better then even the ones I get at restaurants or coffee shops!
I love all the accessories and tool it comes with and the endless possibilities.
I read all the reviews and at first I was apprehensive but totally worth the money!
Also it only takes 45 seconds to warm up and easy clean up to! Will never buy another product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 14 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,NC
December 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very satisfied
December 16, 2012
I've had two other Breville expresso makers that both worked for me for over 10 years. One finally began to fade so I bought this one and am very impressed with it. So far I've only used the default settings and the "easy" filter basket but it makes beautiful expresso with thick creama. I've also used the same process to make a full cup of coffee (Americano) and it works great. In the past, I've had problems with grinders not doing well with oily beans like the Starbucks French Roast but this grinder has no problems. So far I love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tonylomb
,Raleigh
,NC
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
6 months and still loving it
November 4, 2012
Great machine, feel confident in buying it.
During my research I noticed 2 main negatives which I have not experienced.
Some posts talk about the onboard grinder being unreliable. I have not had an issues with it. Keep it dry, and DO NOT adjust it while it is stationary. If the grinder has beans in it, run the grinder to adjust it, or adjust it when it is empty.
Others talked about coffee temperature. It is not an issue unless you are looking for coffee which will melt your face off.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 16 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetArts
,Avon
,NY
October 30, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
October 30, 2012
I purchased this to use in a small bakery a year ago. It's wonderful to use and makes a great cuppa! My 15 year old is officially the town's best barista. It's a little slow for a high volume business, but just right for our place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Speed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
October 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazingly easy
October 3, 2012
I was a little worried that this machine would be difficult to operate. But my goodness, my 16-year old daughter is using this machine everyday! And so are the adults in the family using this machine! Furthermore, the machine is so easy to clean.
I read about the problems with oily beans, so we have been cleaning the grinder. So we have not had a problem with it seizing up.
The milk frother works very well and the coffee tastes as if it was made by a professional.
The machine is a very reasonable size for my small kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 18 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SignLightingWorld
,Boulder
,CO
June 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Espresso Machine
June 16, 2012
I had never made an espresso in my life. After 1 week of adjusting settings slightly, I made the best Mocha Latte I ever tasted. I've read many reviews on this machine. Several complained about the grinder not working. The problem is most likely oily coffee beans. I use high quality organic beans that are dry or only slightly oily & never have a problem. Once my brother brought beans he wanted me to try & they clogged the grinder. they were just too oily. We unclogged the grinder & went back to dryer beans & no problems since. 2 years & it has paid for itself more than 4 times over. I choose organic beans, organic milk & organic chocolate for my perfect organic Latte that I just can't get at any coffee shop. Love it & getting a second one for our business. Also love the Breville juice fountain!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
almostthere
Salt Lake City
Posted November 11, 2012
Who Knew?
Wow, I just got back from Germany and Italy and now can't wake up without the thought of the wonderful expresso I had there. I was reading the reviews of this machine and now know why my old machine doesn't work so hot. Oily content in beans. Maybe everyone already knew this but I didn't. Thanks for your very helpful review. I am on my way to William Sonoma this cold, snowy morning for my very exciting purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curtis44520
,chagrin falls
,oh
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best there is
February 6, 2012
Ive been through so many of these machines its crazy. Finally found this one and cant be happier. Ive had the $1800 automatics and like this better. Its dependable, makes awesome espresso, and is easy to use. Ive had it for 1.5 years and am finally writing this review to help people make an informed decision. If you like great lattes and perfect espresso without all the complicated easy to break equipment then this unit is for you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Breville Barista Express Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
starbucksgenny
,Elyria
,OH
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just as good as Starbucks..:)
January 14, 2012
It took a few times to get it right. At first I thought... "I can't do this" "well, I may be going back to Starbucks everyday"...those were my thoughts when I was getting acclimated to this machine. I want easy or not at all. Wow, this machine is wonderful. Getting the espresso right was not hard at all, leading to a perfect cup every time...I use Starbucks beans to get my coffee flavor and Ghirardelli and Hershey's Dark Choc. to get my mocha taste..:)) Thank you, Breville. You saved me tons of money..:))