Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake

The heavenly contrast between the caramelized, crispy exterior and rich, delicate interior is what make this lemon poppy seed pound cake one of the finest we've ever tasted. Thanks to generous quantities of butter, eggs and almond paste in the batter, the cake is exceptionally tender and moist, with a mild almond flavor and floral notes of orange blossom water. After baking, the cake is brushed with a glaze of crystallized sugar and lemon juice that adds tang and crunch. A packet of confectioners' sugar is also included for dusting over the cake just before serving. A full 12 inches long, allowing generous slices per person, the pound cake is perfect for brunch, afternoon tea and dessert. It's made by The Bread Project in Emeryville, California, a nonprofit that trains people with limited resources in the art of baking and helps them develop expert job skills for working in the food industry. 12" x 3 3/4" x 2 1/2" high (3 lb. 2 oz. total). Serves 11-14. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
Review 1 for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Madison
,WI
Madison, WI
May 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this cake is just ok
May 26, 2015
This cake was nice, but I was not as impressed as other reviewers. This is a dense cake, nice poppy seed flavor but I did not notice much lemon. I would not order again.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
March 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Ever Lemon Poppy Seed Cake
March 16, 2015
What an awesome cake! So moist and so flavorable! Everyone that tried it absolutely loved it - I had to hide a big piece for myself which I thoroughly enjoyed. I will definitely reorder this cake and my friends also plan to order the cake. Try it - you'll be glad you did.
Review 3 for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
May 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ridiculously Good!!
May 28, 2014
So you think pound cake, who wants to eat another boring plain old pound cake - This cake is anything but that ! This cake is very moist bursting with rich flavor, very decadent all the way around,and the citrus glaze is fantastic. I 've served this cake for dessert after a realy nice formal meal. It got rave reviews by all. I have also sent this cake out as gifts - again rave reviews, everyone loved it!!
Review 4 for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Florida
April 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!
April 2, 2014
We loved this cake! Moist, rich, with a crunchy tangy crust. Great lemon flavor with a hint of almond. And this cake is HUGE! The Bread Project is a wonderful non-profit. A win-win for all!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Lemon Almond Poppy Seed Pound Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadent and For a Good Cause
August 7, 2013
I wish all of my dessert choices could go to help the less privileged, but this one can. The lemon pound cake from The Bread Project is incredible, melts in your mouth, with a delectable crunchy sweet finish on the outer edges. My wife dreams about the stuff. Highly recommended. And the proceeds go to help a wonderful organization provide job training and jobs to those in need. Win Win!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, proceeds to charity