Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

A staple in Parisian bistros and brasseries, our dinnerware features a striking red fillet border. Made of fully-glazed porcelain, the pieces are larger and heavier than standard tableware and are sturdy enough to go under the broiler for years of dedicated service. Made of high-fired porcelain. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. 5-piece place setting includes a dinner plate, salad plate, soup plate and cup with saucer. 20-piece set contains four 5-piece place settings. 16-piece set includes four 4-piece sets: dinner plate, salad plate, soup bowl and mug. Additional pieces available in sets of four. Made in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
May 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Basic Versatile Dinnerware With Retro Touch
May 6, 2015
I purchased two sets of 4 pc place settings. Unfortunately some of the dishes broke in shipping die to improper packing. WS replaced the items no question, but it showed me how fragile the handles on the tea cups are! Also the rimmed soup bowls are really shallow, and not useful for "soup as a meal" nights. But outside of that, I love the red band and they look adorable in my retro kitchen, as well as they will look lovely on my Christmas table this year!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile, Size
Review 2 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lynchburg, VA
,VA
October 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So pretty and durable
October 5, 2014
I first bought these red-banded settings in 1995, after seeing them in a store around Valentine's Day. I bought a service for 16, and added to it with 11" pasta bowls (no longer offered) and mugs, which at the time were not part of the place setting. I also have soup bowls w/ saucers. In 19 years I've broken 2 pieces -- each time, my fault -- and when I tried to replace them, the red had been discontinued. I am so happy to see it back on the "menu" again, and have just added 16 of the 9" salad/pasta bowls to my collection. Those are new to the WS offering, since I bought my set. After all this time, the originals still look practically brand new, and I do not baby them. We use them every day and they hold up great. I do have a little wear on some of the red striping -- not enough to really notice if it weren't pointed out and after 19 years, nothing to worry about. I hope WS will continue to offer this product in red for years to come.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Lisboeta
virginia beach
Posted February 12, 2016
Brasserie Blue-Banded Dinnerware
I also bought the brasserie blue-banded dinnerware in 1996, and since then have only broken a cereal bowl and a mug. This is my everyday use dinnerware and it still looks brand new after 20 years! I am so happy that the collection has been reintroduced because just yesterday I broke a cereal bowl.
0points
Customer avatar
MeredithC
Rio Rancho, NM
Posted May 2, 2015
Great Review~
Thank you, Christie, for such a glowing and complete review. I'm thinking of changing my whole kitchen theme to red and was looking around for appropriate dinnerware. You've sold me on this beautiful set!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oakland
,CA
March 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds My Expectations
March 23, 2013
I am very pleased with this decision. The red color can be easily used for holiday entertaining, and the plate can be dressed up for formal, or used in its informal elegance for every day. The design is classic, and plan to use these for years.
Pros: modern, clean, timeless
Cons: needs serving pieces
Review 4 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cranston
,RI
November 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
17 years - still beautiful!
November 19, 2012
I purchased my Brasserie place settings 17 years ago. I've never had a single chip. This dinnerware is so durable. My original place settings were for around 12 or 14 and today I have 24 place settings. The family has grown. Its been so nice to be able to add over the years without worry that the design getting discontinued. I have the blue. For such a relatively small investment you probably have dinnerware for life.
Pros: Durable, chip resistant, maintain lusture, beautiful