Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

Classic dinnerware like this is popular in Parisian bistros and brasseries. Made of fully glazed porcelain, the pieces are larger and heavier than standard tableware and are sturdy enough to go under the broiler. They are available with red fillet border. A 16-piece place setting includes 4 each of the following pieces: an 11 1/4" dinner plate, 9" salad plate, 9" soup/pasta bowl and 13-oz. x 4" high mug. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Four place settings. Made in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
May 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Basic Versatile Dinnerware With Retro Touch
May 6, 2015
I purchased two sets of 4 pc place settings. Unfortunately some of the dishes broke in shipping die to improper packing. WS replaced the items no question, but it showed me how fragile the handles on the tea cups are! Also the rimmed soup bowls are really shallow, and not useful for "soup as a meal" nights. But outside of that, I love the red band and they look adorable in my retro kitchen, as well as they will look lovely on my Christmas table this year!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile, Size
Review 2 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lynchburg, VA
,VA
October 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So pretty and durable
October 5, 2014
I first bought these red-banded settings in 1995, after seeing them in a store around Valentine's Day. I bought a service for 16, and added to it with 11" pasta bowls (no longer offered) and mugs, which at the time were not part of the place setting. I also have soup bowls w/ saucers. In 19 years I've broken 2 pieces -- each time, my fault -- and when I tried to replace them, the red had been discontinued. I am so happy to see it back on the "menu" again, and have just added 16 of the 9" salad/pasta bowls to my collection. Those are new to the WS offering, since I bought my set. After all this time, the originals still look practically brand new, and I do not baby them. We use them every day and they hold up great. I do have a little wear on some of the red striping -- not enough to really notice if it weren't pointed out and after 19 years, nothing to worry about. I hope WS will continue to offer this product in red for years to come.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MeredithC
Rio Rancho, NM
Posted May 2, 2015
Great Review~
Thank you, Christie, for such a glowing and complete review. I'm thinking of changing my whole kitchen theme to red and was looking around for appropriate dinnerware. You've sold me on this beautiful set!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oakland
,CA
March 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeds My Expectations
March 23, 2013
I am very pleased with this decision. The red color can be easily used for holiday entertaining, and the plate can be dressed up for formal, or used in its informal elegance for every day. The design is classic, and plan to use these for years.
Pros: modern, clean, timeless
Cons: needs serving pieces
Review 4 for Brasserie Red-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cranston
,RI
November 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
17 years - still beautiful!
November 19, 2012
I purchased my Brasserie place settings 17 years ago. I've never had a single chip. This dinnerware is so durable. My original place settings were for around 12 or 14 and today I have 24 place settings. The family has grown. Its been so nice to be able to add over the years without worry that the design getting discontinued. I have the blue. For such a relatively small investment you probably have dinnerware for life.
Pros: Durable, chip resistant, maintain lusture, beautiful