Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings

Classic dinnerware like this is popular in Parisian bistros and brasseries. Made of fully glazed porcelain, the pieces are larger and heavier than standard tableware and are sturdy enough to go under the broiler. The 5-piece place setting includes an 11 1/4" dinner plate, 9" salad plate, 9" soup/pasta bowl, 11-oz. cup and 6 1/2" saucer. The 20-piece place setting includes four each of the following pieces: 11 1/4" dinner plate, 9" salad plate, 9" soup/pasta bowl, 11-oz. cup and 6 1/2" saucer. The 16-piece place setting includes 4 each of the following pieces: 11 1/4" dinner plate, 9" salad plate, 9" soup/pasta bowl and 13-oz. x 4" high mug. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Made in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
Review 1 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FormerBride
March 1, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Forever Dishes!
March 1, 2014
I registered for these dishes for my wedding in 1995, have used them daily for our family (now 5 of us), and just now ordered a few pieces to replace chipped ones. They are beautiful, extremely durable, and a classic design. I chose the cereal bowls over the rim-soup bowls, and the mugs over the coffee cups (personal preference). Only con: they are on the heavy side and quite large, so if you have vintage cupboards, you may have trouble fitting the dinner plates inside. You will never regret purchasing these, unless you're a person who likes to buy new dishes every few years! :)
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Weight, Size
Review 2 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinS
,Grass Valley,
,CA
February 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these
February 25, 2013
I have used these dishes for about a year now and I am really happy with them. My last dishes from another company quickly got marks from my stainless flatware. After all this time there is not one mark (using the same flatware) or chip on these dishes. They look like new. The only caveat I would list is that they are heavier than other dishes which isn't a problem for me but might be for someone else.
Pros: still like new after one year
Cons: heavier than i expected
Review 3 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melprophet
,NY
,NY
December 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice, but the plates are big
December 15, 2012
Just got these, and we really like them a lot. They look great, have weight to them and seem to be durable rather than fragile. My only minor word of warning is that the dinner plates are very large, and much to our surprise, don't fit well in our dishwasher. They have to be put in the dishwasher leaning to the side, otherwise they block that thing that spins and shoots the water around inside the washer.
Pros: great looking, Durable
Cons: very large plates
Review 4 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samm5892
,Elgin
,OK
April 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different shade
April 27, 2012
We ordered some additional pieces to round out our exist set and replace two plates that were dropped. The outer bands of the new pieces are lighter in color, wider, and the band edges are less crisp than what we already have. That said, if these plates hold up as well as the ones we already have, I'll still be happy. I would have ranked them a five but for the band differences.
Pros: Durable
Cons: band shade different
Review 5 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
libbyd
April 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, but need a smaller bowl
April 3, 2012
We've had these dishes for about 15 years and love them. I'm back for more plates, now that my kids are big enough to use them. I was thrilled to see the new breakfast bowls until I realized they're virtually the same size as the other bowls. Please make smaller bowls. We end up eating too much ice cream!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Design
Review 6 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PushawKa
,Hudson
,ME
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wish they made bread plates
December 6, 2011
I can't recommend the dishes more highly. Have used and abused them for years and not a chip. However, the salad plate is too big to work on small tables as a bread plate and they don't make a bread plate. A BIG drawback for those with smaller tables.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: no bread plates
Review 7 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
,Houston
,TX
Texas
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
20 Years On
November 23, 2011
I purchased two sets (service for 8) in the early '90s and they are by far the best dinnerware i've ever owned, not to mention a very good bargain. None of the pieces have broken, chipped, scratched or faded in any way. We use them daily and wash them in the dishwasher. We have not had a single problem. I have given several of these sets as gifts and received not one complaint. They are simply awesome. If you like the style BUY THEM!
Review 8 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LivesInIndy
,Indianapolis
,IN
November 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
22 Years and still wonderful!
November 11, 2011
Never could I have imagined that when I registered for the Brasserie Dinnerware for my "everyday dishes" 22 years ago, that every plate and bowl would be in near perfect condition. I logged on today to replace 4 mugs. These dishes have been with my family for 22 years as I said. They have survived 3 boys, now 21, 18 and 14 years old. My husband asked me this morning how many mugs we have which prompted me to replace the few that have been lost. I LOVE these dishes. No chips, no cracks, impressive!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: can't think of one!
Review 9 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homecook28
Los Angeles, CA
October 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even better than I hoped!
October 20, 2011
We registered for, and received, 12 of the cereal bowls, dinner and salad plates. It's the perfect everyday set that can be dressed up for occasions. They are beautiful, sturdy, but not so "bulky" that they're ugly. We've been washing them in the dishwasher for months and they look just as good as new, no scratches or chips.
The dinner plates are perfect for an entree and sides/salad; the salad plates are bigger than a dinner roll plate, and are appropriate for salad, a sandwich, or anything else smaller than a full entree. The bowls are great for cereal, oatmeal, pasta, soup, or salad (all things we've put in them). The cereal bowls and breakfast bowls are about the same size, so deciding between the two was merely a matter of taste, not size (somehow I thought the breakfast bowls looked smaller online).
All in all, a set we're happy to have and know will last us years and years!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaMarebear
,Boulder
,CO
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most durable china ever
September 21, 2011
I bought this china when Williams Sonoma first offered it for sale and I'm still using it. The only item I need to replace are the bread and butter dishes due to dropping them on a tile floor! The rest of the china is still like new and I have 18 place settings . I have the original bowls but they don't have the extra stripe on them. I am a long time customer of Williams Sonoma and love the store.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Review 11 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BetsyCooker
,Santa Barbara
,Ca
Santa Barbara, CA
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A product that's ALL it's cracked up to be!
September 21, 2011
Bought these dishes the day they introduced the green banded service years ago, and have never been disappointed. They are durable, great size, color never fades, no visible wear after years of daily family use. Please bring back the green color WS, and the large soup mugs that look like over-sized coffee cups with saucers. Great dishes-you will never be sorry you bought them!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength
Review 12 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScienceChik
,Boulder
,CO
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent porcelain, nice and heavy.
September 12, 2011
I received my dinnerware set and four cereal bowls today and I am even more pleased with them than I had hoped. The porcelain is hefty and substantial, not flimsy like "those other guys." Since this pattern is not in stores, I was a little leery about buying sight unseen, but I chose well. The dinner plates are of a generous but not gaudy size. The salad/dessert plates are just the right size for that AND for smaller meals. The 13-oz. mugs are bigger by 3 ounces than "the other guys'" mugs. I am just thrilled.
Pros: Quality, Size, Weight
Review 13 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kuuipo
Sacramento, CA
August 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dishes Ever
August 6, 2011
I bought this set 10 years ago with the deep red trim that they offered at the time (please bring that color back, WS!). After a decade of daily use and thousands of trips through the microwave and dishwasher, they still look brand new. No chips, no cracks, no scratches, no color loss around the border, and no coffee stains in the mugs. These dishes are worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Weight
Review 14 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finchie
Chicago
July 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dishes when you are serving large portions
July 22, 2011
I purchased this item over twenty years ago when I moved into my first apartment. I have a complete set for eight people and I thought they discontinued this product. Over the years I have broken a few pieces and I am happy to know that I will be able to replace them. However, I noticed that they no longer offer the larger individual pasta bowls or the serving dishes to this collection. I would also like to have the bread and butter plate available to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, large size plate
Review 15 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NoPoMoMcC
Alaska
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Everyday Dishes
March 26, 2011
We bought the full set of these dishes a few years ago and love them. They have held up well and are classy and timeless looking. Like others, I do wish that the line was expanded to include bread plates, serverware, etc. A little nit pick thing that I do have is that the sugar dish does not have a notched lid for the sugar spoon to sit in it. It may be a small thing to some, but I got used to that little frill and really liked it!
Overall, I love these and will be back to buy more if the need arises.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 16 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMF325
Santa Barbara, CA
March 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these dishes
March 6, 2011
These have held up with daily use for several years now. I wish there were bread and butter plates, salad plates, and serving pieces. I would be supremely happy if I could complete my settings with those pieces. These are great dishes; very sturdy and attractive. Highly recommend.
Review 17 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love2run
Raleigh, NC
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like new after 13+ years
February 20, 2011
I chose this dinnerware as my everyday dishes when I got married in 1997. These dishes are used everyday and still look great. I do wish there were dessert/bread plates I could add to my place settings.
Review 18 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buick8
Columbus Ohio
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dinner Service Ever...
January 25, 2011
Purchased my first set in 1994 to replace the "college stuff". I added many pieces until its discontinue. Over the weekend I tipped a cereal bowl off the counter and broke it. Imagine my suprise when I discovered Brasserie is being made again. 16 years of service framing meals and it still looks great. THANK YOU WS for bringing this back!
Review 19 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Montana
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
look great, but want more options
January 3, 2011
I got service for 12 and love them, but I too wish there was a small dessert or bread plate. any chance of adding to the line up?
Review 20 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinnerware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrissyB
NC
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dinnerware
January 2, 2011
Love these place settings. Have had them for about 3 1/2 years and they do still look beautiful and new. Really agree with whoever suggested the butter dish, and I would also like salt and pepper shakers added to the set!
page1 2 next