Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates

With its classic blue band, dinnerware like this is a common, comforting staple in Parisian bistros and brasseries. Made of fully glazed porcelain, the pieces are larger and heavier than standard tableware and are sturdy enough to go under the broiler. Made of high-fired porecelain. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. Set of four. Made in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
Review 1 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Stow
,MA
April 27, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
April 27, 2016
I purchased 12 pieces of each and i am very happy with the quality. On time delivery.
Best set I've ever bought.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Design, Color
Review 2 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
December 30, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shoddy quality control
December 30, 2015
When I received my first set of these plates, underneath the finish there were deep grooves (like indents that you could run your fingers over) running across some of the plates, as if the plates weren't fired correctly. I ordered a replacement. This second set I received had tiny scratches on the plates, and tiny bubbles in the glaze. Some of the plates didn't have as dark of a blue rim as others. It's going to be too much of a hassle to return yet another set. I'm not sure of the "amazing quality" other reviewers have talked about. Another con is that because these are so thick and large, they take up a lot of room in the cupboard when stacked, so keep that in mind if you have small cupboards. The upside is that the blue and white is gorgeous. The color is bright, cool white, not cream as shown in one of the photos.
Review 3 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
October 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome plates
October 10, 2015
Bought set about two years ago.
We could not be happier
Great in Microwave
Heavy bowls
Great investment
Only complaint platter costs too much
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Personalization, Design, Color, great in microwave
Review 4 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Island
,NY
February 22, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless dinnerware
February 22, 2015
I recently purchased these dishes as well as the mugs, cups and saucers, salad plates and cereal bowls and could not be more pleased with them all. Yes as other reviews said they are heavier and larger than other dishes but I think that is what makes these so great. They still fit in my cabinets just as well as previous dishes. The quality is impeccable they feel sturdy and I know I will have them for years to come. I love the classic style and I also love that these dishes are also oven and broiler safe. I would definitely recommend this entire set. If you are hesitant go for it you will not be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mentor
,OH
October 24, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French dining
October 24, 2014
I purchased these additional dishes to add to my set because I was going to entertain more than 8 and love the clean look of these brasserie dishes. I mix them with every color and they blend beautifully with every seasonal decor. They are heavy and sturdy and I always get many compliments on them.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 6 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Flushing, Queens
,NY
April 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My very favorite dishes!
April 30, 2013
I ordered 2 sets of these beautiful dishes; I received both but 2 of the dished in one of the boxes were broken, I immediately called customer service and to my delight not only was the representative extremely nice and friendly but she immediately shipped another set at no CHARGE!! I'll definitely keep shopping at Williams-Sonoma!!!!
Pros: excellent customer service
Review 7 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Providence
,RI
November 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the dishes I've longed for
November 22, 2012
These are the dishes I've always wanted--just the simple white with a blue border. They are good looking and sturdy and set off any food well. I'll be using them for years to come.
Pros: handsome, functional
Review 8 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Magnifique!
October 4, 2012
A while back, a friend of mine had me over for dinner and when the plates came out, I remarked on how much the Brasserie plates reminded me of home in Paris. 'They're from Williams Sonoma. I've had 'em for years, they're amazing.' Indeed they were, so when I got my own place recently, I decided I had to order them. The plates are very nice, and large enough to contain even the largest of dinners. The simple, classic look ensures that these plates are going to be used for a lifetime. And the high quality construction guarantees they will not depreciate.
Review 9 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Little Rock
,Ar
August 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought these to last
August 12, 2012
And I think they will. Wanted plates only to add to my everyday china. These go great and are nice and heavy. I want these to be the last plates I'll ever need and they seem durable enough to do that. Only downside is they have a slight blue tint to the white china, which you can really see when plates are against my other white china
Pros: Durable
Cons: seem to have slight bluish hue to them.
Review 10 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ponte Vedra Beach
,FL
August 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brasserie IS QUALITY....
August 10, 2012
We recently gave our kitchen a makeover and decided to "update" our dinnerware to compliment our French Country motif. After much consideration, I decided to purchase many pieces from the Brasserie Blue-Banded collection, including the dinner plates, salad plates, cups and saucers, canisters, cream & sugar, butter dish, salt & pepper shakers and several other pieces. I prefer buying this "a la carte" only paying for pieces you really want. I love cooking at home; we really use our kitchen and this china is fabulous! It is a very heavy grade of porcelain that feels very sturdy and will not easily "chip" like some of the cheaper "imitation" sets do. I also like the "neutral" feeling it gives (even tho it has a blue stripe...what doesn't go with blue?!). It has a real "french bistro" look of what you'd expect to find in a Parisian Cafe. If you are looking for quality craftsmanship and something that you can expand with your needs...this is it!
Pros: very sturdy feeling, very good styling
Review 11 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,West Springfield
,MA
May 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Plates!!
May 8, 2012
Very happy to add to my set of four. These plates good great and microwave safe. Using them for daily use.
Review 12 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Granger
,IN
May 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Value
May 5, 2012
I recently bought a set of 12 dinner plates and 12 salad plates. After using them for 4 months, I have been extremely pleased with the product. I was especially pleased with how cool the plates are when removing them from a microwave. My previous dishes were too hot to handle. These do not even require a pot holder. The food is hot but not the plate- great!
I highly recommend the Brasserie. It can be used formally or informally depending on your needs. It is versatile, clean looking, easy to clean, and a nice complement to your table.
Review 13 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boston
,MA
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sturdy simple dinnerware
January 17, 2012
This is exactly as pictured and is simple, sturdy, and serviceable. The website said that delivery would be delayed, but it was not. It arrived in timely fashion with the sugar and creamer, as scheduled.
Review 14 for Brasserie Blue-Banded Porcelain Dinner Plates
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 7, 2012
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
17 years and still perfect!
January 7, 2012
We got our Brasserie Blue dinnerware (12 place settings) in 1994. After more than 17 years, we love it just as much today as we did back then. Given the option to choose again, we'd pick these dishes in a heartbeat. Thanks for such a beautifully made product!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design