Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base

Made from Burgundy wine, balsamic vinegar, aromatic vegetables and herbs that are simmered together for hours, our convenient base makes it easy to prepare succulent braised short ribs with the deep, rich flavors of the traditional preparation.For foolproof preparation of savory, satisfying short ribs.High-quality ingredients are simmered together for hours.Easy to use: simply brown beef ribs, add base and simmer.24.5 oz. (enough for 4 lb. of short ribs).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Inmykitchen
,Durango
,CO
September 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Short Rib Braise
September 25, 2014
It did not thrill me but it may someone else. The meat was from our local area naturally raised and puchased from our specialty butcher therefore I know the combination was the best possible. I do have another bottle and will try when deep winter sets in perhaps I will come away with a different opinion.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GingerM
,Chesterfield
,VA
August 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome sauce
August 26, 2014
I have used this sauce several times...I love it, it is always a hit with guests and it is SO easy!! Brown the meat--iron clad crock pot is GREAT for this, pour the sauce on...dinner in 8 hours!! Match it with brown rice or mash potatoes and Caesar salad!! This sauce/recipe makes your guests think you are the Barefoot Contessa!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndreaSpat
,Cranston
,RI
Rhode Island
August 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Short Rib Braising Base
August 13, 2014
Thie braising base is excellent. All I had to do was trim the fat off the short ribs, brown the ribs in my Fagor Multicooker for 10 minutes, and then pour the braising base into the cooker and turn it to slow cook for 6-7 hours. So easy and creates a really delicious dish. Even my 7-yr old picky eater loves the tender and delicious meat.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHaze12
,Oklahoma City
,OK
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
People will be begging to come for dinner...
February 20, 2014
If a younger, less experienced cook asks me what to cook for company, (or even a seasoned cook) I tell them to run to Williams Sonoma and buy a jar of this sauce, and make short ribs. He or she will look like a rock star and and their guests will eat a fabulous meal. I use this sauce often. By the time I purchase all the ingredients, and take the time to prepare it, and I have many times, I've spent far more money and a lot more time. So, for times when you just want a fantastic easy meal, keep this on hand. It's worth every penny.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time2shop
,NJ
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yuuummmyyy!!!
December 16, 2013
I just took the short ribs out of the oven 1 1/2 hours early because they were already falling off the bone thanks to this sauce. I've made short ribs before using fresh veggies and wine and I think these are even better. At first, I thought that the sauce may be a bit too vinegary for my taste, but as the ribs cook longer, the sauce mellows and I think it will be great over mashed potatoes. Next time, I think I'll add carrots too just to fill it out a bit. My extremely picky daughter tried the ribs and said "Yum" and that's rare!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meriam
,Sarasota
,FL
June 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than my own!
June 1, 2013
As an accomplished cook, I never thought I'd prefer another's sauce, especially a pre-prepared sauce, over my own. But these braising sauces, for the most part, are exceptional and every bit as good as anything I can make at home. The Short Rib, Osso Buco, Belgian Beer and Onion and the Beef Bourguignonne braising sauces are real work-savers as well as being delicious. With a slow-cooker and your own meat, you get outstanding flavor with none of the bother. And a jar is more than enough sauce for even large batches of meat.
For entertaining when you're not in the mood to cook it yourself, let Williams-Sonoma do it for you. They're wonderful!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelgov
,Austin
,TX
Austin, TX
April 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love, love
April 3, 2013
I absolutely love the short rib braising base. It has a great flavor, received many compliments from family and friends and it's extremely easy. I've made more ribs than the recommended amount and added extra cup of beef broth and red wine and the taste is still great. I follow the in oven method and the meat comes out soft, falling off the bone everytime. Definitely recommend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rabjudge
,Corralitos
,CA
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Equals Short Ribs from Ad Hoc
February 28, 2013
This braising base makes short ribs as good as the recipe in Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc cookbook. It actually tastes a lot like the Ad Hoc recipe, and doesn't require a good bottle of wine. You can save the wine to drink with the short ribs.
We love it!!!!
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BarbaraAR
,Livermore
,CA
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's with all the stars?
August 4, 2012
Braised short ribs are my favorite meals.
I was so looking forward to trying this one and was so disappointed.
For the price I was expecting something special. The ingredients sounded great but it tasted more like red wine vinegar than red wine.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
waldo
,cedar falls
,Ia
March 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You are gonna love this sauce!!
March 3, 2012
wonderful...I served with mashed root vegetables(potatoes and parsnips) fit for dinner guests!!! I have done from scratch with a fair amount of time and effort..and this was better!
I thought it was a bit pricey...but I always buy something when I get to a city where there is a Williams Sonoma...(none in my city) and now I order it online. it is worth the price...only.wish the shipping was free!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BiCoastalFoodie
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Staple in My Cupboard
January 8, 2012
I absolutely love this sauce. I have made it for casual dinner parties with friends as well as a double-jar batches for big holiday get-togethers with family. I use organic, boneless short ribs and pair it with mashed potatoes or buttered egg noodles as well as roasted brussels sprouts. This impressive, yet easy meal gets rave reviews every time.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor