Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base

Made from Burgundy wine, balsamic vinegar, aromatic vegetables and herbs that are simmered together for hours, our convenient base makes it easy to prepare succulent braised short ribs with the deep, rich flavors of the traditional preparation.For foolproof preparation of savory, satisfying short ribs.High-quality ingredients are simmered together for hours.Easy to use: simply brown beef ribs, add base and simmer.24.5 oz. (enough for 4 lb. of short ribs).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
40 of 44(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHaze12
,Oklahoma City
,OK
February 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
People will be begging to come for dinner...
February 20, 2014
If a younger, less experienced cook asks me what to cook for company, (or even a seasoned cook) I tell them to run to Williams Sonoma and buy a jar of this sauce, and make short ribs. He or she will look like a rock star and and their guests will eat a fabulous meal. I use this sauce often. By the time I purchase all the ingredients, and take the time to prepare it, and I have many times, I've spent far more money and a lot more time. So, for times when you just want a fantastic easy meal, keep this on hand. It's worth every penny.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time2shop
,NJ
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yuuummmyyy!!!
December 16, 2013
I just took the short ribs out of the oven 1 1/2 hours early because they were already falling off the bone thanks to this sauce. I've made short ribs before using fresh veggies and wine and I think these are even better. At first, I thought that the sauce may be a bit too vinegary for my taste, but as the ribs cook longer, the sauce mellows and I think it will be great over mashed potatoes. Next time, I think I'll add carrots too just to fill it out a bit. My extremely picky daughter tried the ribs and said "Yum" and that's rare!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meriam
,Sarasota
,FL
June 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than my own!
June 1, 2013
As an accomplished cook, I never thought I'd prefer another's sauce, especially a pre-prepared sauce, over my own. But these braising sauces, for the most part, are exceptional and every bit as good as anything I can make at home. The Short Rib, Osso Buco, Belgian Beer and Onion and the Beef Bourguignonne braising sauces are real work-savers as well as being delicious. With a slow-cooker and your own meat, you get outstanding flavor with none of the bother. And a jar is more than enough sauce for even large batches of meat.
For entertaining when you're not in the mood to cook it yourself, let Williams-Sonoma do it for you. They're wonderful!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelgov
,Austin
,TX
Austin, TX
April 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love, love
April 3, 2013
I absolutely love the short rib braising base. It has a great flavor, received many compliments from family and friends and it's extremely easy. I've made more ribs than the recommended amount and added extra cup of beef broth and red wine and the taste is still great. I follow the in oven method and the meat comes out soft, falling off the bone everytime. Definitely recommend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rabjudge
,Corralitos
,CA
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Equals Short Ribs from Ad Hoc
February 28, 2013
This braising base makes short ribs as good as the recipe in Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc cookbook. It actually tastes a lot like the Ad Hoc recipe, and doesn't require a good bottle of wine. You can save the wine to drink with the short ribs.
We love it!!!!
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BarbaraAR
,Livermore
,CA
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's with all the stars?
August 4, 2012
Braised short ribs are my favorite meals.
I was so looking forward to trying this one and was so disappointed.
For the price I was expecting something special. The ingredients sounded great but it tasted more like red wine vinegar than red wine.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
waldo
,cedar falls
,Ia
March 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You are gonna love this sauce!!
March 3, 2012
wonderful...I served with mashed root vegetables(potatoes and parsnips) fit for dinner guests!!! I have done from scratch with a fair amount of time and effort..and this was better!
I thought it was a bit pricey...but I always buy something when I get to a city where there is a Williams Sonoma...(none in my city) and now I order it online. it is worth the price...only.wish the shipping was free!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BiCoastalFoodie
,Hoboken
,NJ
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Staple in My Cupboard
January 8, 2012
I absolutely love this sauce. I have made it for casual dinner parties with friends as well as a double-jar batches for big holiday get-togethers with family. I use organic, boneless short ribs and pair it with mashed potatoes or buttered egg noodles as well as roasted brussels sprouts. This impressive, yet easy meal gets rave reviews every time.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fife24
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Base!
October 18, 2011
I have used this Short Rib Braising Base twice now, both times in my slow cooker with short ribs. It is OUTSTANDING. This is one of those things that I wish I could make as well from scratch, but it's not likely. The base is rich and wonderful.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: a bit pricey.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxxx
,Franklin Lakes
,NJ
October 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Gourmet Comfort Food Taste
October 13, 2011
I made this for an elegant New Year's Eve dinner for two and I must say no reservations needed. Stay home, enjoy the aroma that fills your house, set out the "good china" and be prepared for a gourmet delight. The flavor of this sauce is outstanding just add extra veggies, like potatos, leeks and carrots or make garlic mashed potatos on the side with a mixed green citrus- cranberry salad and enjoy. Too good to be this easy. Bon Appetite.
Pros: one jar goes a long way
Cons: price high
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DinerDeb
La Quinta, CA
August 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perhaps the Best Short Ribs w/ this Braising Base
August 9, 2011
Having made short ribs several times and eating them at wonderful restaurants across the U.S., this brasing base might just top many of these restaurants' short ribs! My husband says the short ribs I've made with this base are the absolute best ever. Using this base makes preparing short ribs a breeze. Plan on using more than the directions call for if you want extra sauce for the ribs. I do!
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefAli
Novi mi
July 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Quick
July 21, 2011
I had read a recommendation about the short rib sauce in a food magazine article so I thought I'd give it a try. The dish was very simple to make and the results were amazing. My 9 and 11 year old children loved it. The sauce is rich and delicious and plentiful and I 'm going to try to use it for other meats as well.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SJacks
Oakdale, CA
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic and Easy
June 13, 2011
Made this in my slow cooker with boneless-fat removed ribs. Everyone loved it.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoldFond
Chicago
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Sauce for Short Ribs
May 23, 2011
After loosing interest in brown gravy shorts, this delicious sauce brought them back. I bought 2 jars; 2nd go 'round was MUCH better: bone-in shorts, LeC's Dutch, sauce, ample s/p in flour dredging mix (I didn't season the meat), 1 tsp WS hickory smoked sea salt ( I put it in everything I can) during simmering.1st: boneless shorts, sauce, Crock-force issue. I had one more chance. 3rd-hr sample-WhatASample! The shorts were loose & tender & floating in the (oh yeah) Finger-Licking Sauce.It's the Bones also. OK, I tweaked it but it made the sauce more desirable to me for I knew W-S wouldn't disappoint me! Buying 3 jars next time.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SophieVictoire
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kids Loved It!
May 3, 2011
I prepared this exactly as suggested and I really appreciated the ease. My picky kids loved it! This one is a keeper!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bluesun
Canton, MI
April 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Short Rib Braising Base
April 5, 2011
The sauce didn't have any zip. After 6 hrs. of simmering, I expected it to have a little tang, but it really didn't have any flavor at all.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharronG
Brunswick Hills, OH
March 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great ribs!
March 27, 2011
used it for slow cooking spare ribs. after 6+ hours of cooking, removed from the pot and smothered in delicious bbq sauce. delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nicksmom
Santa Barbara
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious!
March 15, 2011
Must say this is a winner. I don't usually write reviews but this sauce is excellent and deserved comment.
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChefSue
Kailua Kona, HI
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Way too much vinegar!
March 1, 2011
I'm with the crowd that found this entirely too acerbic. Even after cooking a couple of rounds of carrots to pull out the vinegar, the most pronounced flavor was still dot dot dot Vinegar. I had used a chuck roast rather than short ribs, so after consulting several cook sites, wound up tossing in a little brown sugar, some ginger & juniper berries, and called it "Sauerbraten." The company was very impressed, but I was exhausted from trying to rescue what had at first tasted more acidic than a salad vinaigrette.
Is it possible that quality control could be at fault? It's hard to understand how some cooks have found it mild & pleasant, compared to the contents of my jar.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BarbaraAR
Livermore, CA
Posted August 8, 2012
Well said!
I hadn't read this review when I wrote mine but it is exactly my experience!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Short Rib Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aabb
DE
February 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simplicity can't be beat
February 26, 2011
I like this sauce quite a lot. It did not completely bowl me over but my expectations may have been raised too high by the spectacular reviews.s That having been said, the simplicity of the prep is really hard to beat. Under an hour -- everything in the slow cooker. 7 hours later, you have a meal.
page1 2 3 next