This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper

Black peppercorns acquire southern Kentucky flavor in this seasoning from Louisville's Bourbon Barrel Foods, whose products reflect the rich heritage of Kentucky's Bourbon Country. Smoked over wood from oak bourbon barrels, the peppercorns offer natural citrus and pine flavors with the perfect hint of smokiness. 2 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper
Review 1 for Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
All you really need
June 10, 2012
Skip everything else. This is for the purists who want to enhance their food, not mask it. Lovely peppery bourbon seasonoing. Great on burgers (no need for anything else) or steaks.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: none
Review 2 for Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Lovely and not over powering
May 21, 2012
I LOVE smokey flavoured foods and this has a lovely smooth smokiness (think smoked salmon rather than grilled meats).
So far I've used int in a stir-fry, on mashed potatoes and on oven roasted chicken breasts. My advice is this is more of a table pepper than a cooking pepper as I found the flavour to get lost a bit in cooking - especially if you something as strong as a teriyaki sauce like I did for my stir-fry. But it added a noticeable delicious flavour to my mash potatoes and chicken after they were cooked.
I recommend the smoked olive oil also found on this site if you want to infuse smokey flavour while you cook. A little goes a long way.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
My New Favorite Seasoning
January 31, 2012
I love freshly ground black pepper, and make heavy use of my peppermill. Bourbon Barrel Foods Smoked Pepper takes pepper to the next level. So far, I've used it in pea soup, baked halibut with panko crumbs, and homemade lowfat blue cheese dressing. It has added a new dimension to the flavor profile of these recipes. I was truly blown away by the freshness of the pre-ground pepper, which, I have always avoided. I don't think I can be without this product, and I hope that W-S carries it forever!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 4 for Bourbon Barrel Foods, Smoked Pepper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dylansfunkymom
January 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Insanely Addictive
January 8, 2012
I'm a Louisville native whose family has been addicted to the Bourbon Barrel Foods Smoked Pepper and Sea Salt for a while now! We use it on EVERYTHING and have given it as gifts many times. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it has been added to the W-S inventory! Their products are truly unique and fabulous!!
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift