Boos Round Cutting Block

Made in the USA, this butcher-style maple block features a perimeter well to catch juices while you're carving a roast. The reverse side offers a flat surface for chopping vegetables or presenting sliced meats. Crafted from sustainably harvested North American hard rock maple, durable enough to withstand daily use yet gentle on knife edges. Laminated end-grain construction provides exceptional strength and durability. Stainless-steel band and handles ease lifting. Doubles as an impressive presentation piece. Made by John Boos & Co., the leading manufacturer of butcher blocks and a staple of the commercial cooking industry since 1887. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Boos Round Cutting Block
Review 1 for Boos Round Cutting Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hingbee
Temecula, CA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Disappointment!
April 7, 2011
I waited a long time for this to go on sale, and jumped to purchase when the opportunity presented last summer. I held it for a Christmas gift, and then followed instructions religiously, by making sure that it had several coats of mineral oil before using. I was also careful not to get it too wet, but it consequently it sucked up THREE BOTTLES of mineral oil. That would still not have been a problem, but I recently noticed that the stainless band has become very loose...the wood obviously shrunk! Although it still looks OK from a distance, it was obviously cut from green wood. I was under the impression that Boos was a quality product, but based on my experience, that is obviously not the case. I'm thinking of returning it to WS, simply because the loose band will undoubtedly collect food residue over time.
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Boos Round Cutting Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dkamac
Westfield, MA
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos Round Cutting Block
March 11, 2011
I purchased this cutting block on-line in October 2010. I followed all manufacturer's directions on use and care along with regularly treating the surface with a mineral oil. My board has developed cracks and seperations between the wood blocks that comprise it. I am planning on returning it next week and will try to replace it with a different Block.
Review 3 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trix
Virginia Beach, VA
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos Round Cutting/Cheese Board is Gorgeous!
March 9, 2011
I saw this cutting board at a friend's house. She used it for serving a variety of cheeses. I've spent the past 2 years searching for one exactly like it so I was delighted to discover it at Williams-Sonoma. It's heavy, beautifully made and should last for a lifetime if not longer! Well worth the investment!
Review 4 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromPcola
Pensacola, FL
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best chopping block ever.
February 4, 2011
I have used the Boos round cutting block every day since I have received it. Most other culinary shops carried the Boos round cutting block but only Williams-Sonoma had one that could utilize both sides. This was a big plus since one side is for carving meats and the other for cutting fruits and vegetables. I would recommend this cutting block to everyone. It is worth the money.
Review 5 for Boos Round Cutting Block
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lmpatte2
Houston, TX
July 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as titled, described, or pictured.
July 15, 2010
This board is beautiful but misrepresented. My biggest issue is with the title. Calling it "Boos Reversible Cutting Board" is very misleading, as it is NOT intended to be reversible. There's even big black text stamped directly onto the wood across the middle of the back that reads, "Bottom. Non-Cutting Surface"! Also, its dimensions as listed on the WS website are incorrect. It is slightly less than 15.5 inches in diameter (not 16), and is 2.5 inches thick (not 2). Other discrepancies: The board I received does not have the uniform pattern of squares like the board in the picture. The end grain pieces are rectangles of varying sizes, arranged somewhat irregularly. (I like the way it looks though, so I didn't mind that little surprise.) Lastly, the juice-catching indent/ trench is wider than it is on the board pictured (it's 1 inch wide.. wider than the outermost margin of wood around it.) Not a big deal for me, but it does reduce your total cutting surface some.
Review 6 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barbaraKlim
montrose pa
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hurray for boos!
January 6, 2010
this is the most beautiful cutting board I have ever seen..........high end quality.......
Review 7 for Boos Round Cutting Block
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bogey
Oro Valley, AZ
October 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos Reversible Cutting Board
October 19, 2009
Having previously owned the WS Maple Cutting Board, for half the price, I was very disappointed. I have owned my maple cutting board for nearly six years without any problems (and I live in AZ). When the Boos Reversible arrived the metal piece around the board was loose, though tight at the handles. WS is sending a new one, I hope the replacment doesn't have the same problem. Until I receive a perfect board, I would not recommend.
Review 8 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosilynn
Island in South Puget Sound
July 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and practical
July 30, 2009
This board is both serviceable, practical, and beautiful. I use one side for veggies and the other for meats. I rinse immeadiately after use with hot water, which I do with all wood items I use in my kitchen. I use 1/2 a lemon to disinfect it from time to time, standing the board on end to dry. All my counters are Boos butcher block which I had finished with Profin (which I bought at Dalys in Seattle), so I like the look of wood. This cutting board, which I leave in the middle of my farm table, keeps the finish on my counters pristine (which I don't use for cutting). It looks wonderful and functions well. If you can afford this high end cutting board, don't pass it up. I didn't, and I am very happy with the product.
Review 9 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teadreams
Point Washington, Fl
June 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I always knew I would love it!
June 20, 2009
Yep! After salivating for this cutting board for 4-5 years and now having purchased it, it's just like I dreamed it would be. Remember folks, wood is wood. It is going to retain some odors from some foods. You must be patient and learn how to remove these properly and in a timely way.
Thank you, W-S
Review 10 for Boos Round Cutting Block
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maia
March 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Board
March 9, 2009
I almost didn't buy this board because of the previous comment. It's also not an inexpensive board. But looking at it's beauty and how well I thought it would function for me I decided to go ahead. I'm sure glad I did. It's not only very beautiful it's very functional as well. After going back to wood my knives feel so nice against the wood and are lasting longer between sharpening. I adore the handles and ring around the wood and they also look to be adjustable. I haven't noticed smells except ever so slightly. I cook with mostly vegetables which includes lots of onions and fresh spices and this board does the job beautifully with hardly no smells left behind at all. It really soaked up the oil the first time but haven't had to do it again for a while now. I get so many comments on it's beauty. I leave it on my counter it's so nice. It was worth every penny, sad their getting rid of them. I've been using this board since Dec 2008
Review 11 for Boos Round Cutting Block
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kris11
Military
December 28, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Board
December 28, 2008
I would have given this board 5 stars, but I am having a problem with the board retaining odors. I clean my board after each use and oil often. I have tried using lemons and salt (recommended on manufacturer Web site), vinegar and water, and even sanding the top and re-oiling. Nothing seems to work. I have another John Boos board and highly recommend their products. I will use a plastic board for smelly items in the future (onions, garlic, peppers, etc.). The board feels good under the knife, doesn't leave a lot of marks, and keeps a sharp edge on cutlery. If odors are not a concern, I recommend this product.