Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards

An exceptionally hard cutting board provides a stable work surface and also helps protect finely honed blades. Sturdy construction - with the edge grain creating the work surface - gives this board a commercial-quality toughness to withstand years of use. Crafted in the USA from sustainably harvested North American hard rock maple, walnut, or cherry. Edge-grain construction holds up to years of slicing and chopping. This NSF-certified board meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Made by John Boos & Co., the leading manufacturer of butcher blocks and a staple of the commercial cooking industry since 1887.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
51 of 61(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
Review 1 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
January 23, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
January 23, 2014
The Best Cutting Boards Ever!
I have three of the Boos Cutting Boards. I reserve one for meats only and the other two for fruits and vegetables.
Your knives edges will retain their edge and sharpness longer with these professional cutting boards.
Treat yourself to the best this new year.
Remember to care for your Boos Board with recommended Boos Mineral Oil.
Happy Cooking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yoga
,amesbury
,ma
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful cutting Board
November 30, 2013
i ordered the small and i am very happy with
my purchase. i recently bought a Shun
Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife and
needed a good quality chopping board for my expensive knife....i used the Boos board cream on it and let it soak in over night before I used it. I also oil it frequently with mineral oil.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cucuzzo
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Performs Well
October 15, 2013
In my experience, Boos makes a good cutting board and this is no exception. I have two of these boards, one small for daily usage and the other larger model for when I need to spread out. If you make sure to seal it and keep it oiled every six months or year and don't abuse it ( no dishwasher) this board can potentially outlast you. If you don't mind spending more, this board is available in Walnut ( harder and darker look) as well. Get a bottle of cutting board oil or Boos Board Cream to treat it if you don't already have it. Made in USA
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Shape, made in usa
Review 4 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos cutting board
February 21, 2013
I think this board is excellent! I bought the small as I have limited counter space. My only complaint is that I wish the small size was a tiny bit bigger - maybe 2 inches each way.
Concerning complaints about the board being rough: I oiled the board immediately when I received it. The grain did raise a bit after the first use/wash but I treated it again (with Boos Board Cream, letting it soak in all night) and have had no problems at all. These boards should last a long time with proper care. The cutting surface is great, nice and solid and knives just work better on the right board! Wish I had room for a large one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 5 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JasonA
,Hoboken
,NJ
Hoboken, NJ
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Board
February 11, 2013
You need plenty of counter space for this board. It's big, but that's why you're buying it. Stuff you're chopping won't run away from you in the process. It actually looks good left out or propped against the wall. Remember to season it with mineral oil cream and keep it clean between tomatoes and peppers. Great if you have the room, and doubles as counter if you don't have the room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 6 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good basic board....
February 3, 2013
I am a cutting board collector. Admittedly an inadvertent one. In my quest to find the perfect, daily use cutting board I now own 6 wooden boards and countless plastic ones.
This Boos board missed the mark for me. It does have a rough surface as other reviewers have mentioned. I am surprised by the Boos company's quality control oversight.
I bought the medium sized board and it's just to bulky to move around much but that's my fault not the board's which is why I still gave it 4 stars. For me its become a shelf to store things on and I occasionally use it if I need something big.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight
Review 7 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
April 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but I expected more
April 20, 2012
We've got the medium cutting board and it's exactly the right size. I've been using it regularly for the last few weeks and have noticed a few things. The good: It's substantial enough to stay anchored on the counter, my knives barely scuff the surface and it doesn't feel cramped. The "eh": The surface is rougher than any other board I've owned and although I've used the Boos cream on the board twice already, it's still one thirsty piece of wood. So, I like the board so far, but I can't really say I love it.
Pros: Size, Weight
Review 8 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mrroadtramp
,Wetumpka
,AL
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
5of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a winner
March 19, 2012
This cutting board looks nice but the surface is rough like it had never been sanded before shipping I have been putting a lot of mineral oil in it to help but the wood is so dry that it soaks it up as fast as I apply it. Yesterday I sat a my pasta pan on it and it burnt the wood, now I have dark brown circles on it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Size, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, burns
Review 9 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brooklynite
,Brooklyn
,NY
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality cutting board
March 12, 2012
I bought the 18"x24" board from WS. I'm a frequent WS customer and expect better quality products than this.
I followed the Boo's instructions that came with it - used the Boo's Mystery Oil once a month, washed and dried the board by hand, cleaned up spills and staining liquids almost immediately - even with this care, the board became warped and cracked in less than a year. I have a gourmet kitchen where the board lived away from the heat source and on a wood countertop, so there's no good reason why a maple end grain board should do this, other than poor craftsmanship. Cheap glue is my best guess by the looks of the splits in the board.
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Enthous
St. Paul, MN
Posted March 11, 2014
Is this the board you bought?
Your review refers to an end-grain board and the boards described on this page are edge-grain. I'm wondering of the review wound up on the wrong page.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cesmorris
,Fairfax Station
,VA
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is one HUGE cutting board
February 27, 2012
This is a really high quality item that will be sure to last a lifetime. However, really think about the size you need as this board is much larger than I thought it would be. The dimensions are accurate as advertised, it is just that I really didn’t think about how big and heavy the “large” one actually is. I probably could have gotten the medium.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Strength
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 11 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginnack
,Nantucket
,MA
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lovely gift
January 11, 2012
I gave this cutting board to my brother-in-law for Christmas. He absolutely loved it. The monogram made it look even more special. It is a pretty yet functional gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 12 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bucca
November 11, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big and Best
November 11, 2011
A cook knows the cutting board is the center of the kitchen; the Boos Block goes from beginning prep to flour to breads and end cheeses. It handles olive oil and seasonings terrifically without an immediate need to clean when entertaining. I've had one for eight years which is still going strong. If you seek a hardwood board to use, as opposed to serve small plates to seated guests, size matters. Any of the large Boos Block lines available are great if you happen to find, as significantly-sized boards are an extremely difficult find and on backorder at many kitchen shops. Raised in an Italian household taught to cook our own food, restaurants were a simple no. There is not a day I don't use this board, and just purchased one for my noted teachers as a thank you!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Weight
Review 13 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatysCookin
Virginia
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Medium is huge!
August 8, 2011
This board is great and everything I wanted..just didn't realize how huge a medium is!!!
Pros: Quality, Strength, Versatile, Weight
Review 14 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrWilson6
Florida
July 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wooden Board warps over time
July 17, 2011
Although my large board warped even though I kept it oiled, when I took it to the store they said they could replace it, but if you just flip it over it will straighten out. I decided to try it, and it was fine in a few days. Now I'm careful to flip it over every few days. I really like the large size because it keeps spills off the counter and gives you plenty of room for pots while cutting.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
peek
small town, USA
Posted October 15, 2011
board warps
Cons: states it's difficul to clean. In what way?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carollynn
NJ
March 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this board
March 29, 2011
This is one big, heavy board! After a lifetime buying the thin, $20 generic supermarket cutting boards, I wasn't expecting something so big and solid. But this board is gorgeous. I don't stash it in a cabinet, but instead keep it out on the countertop as an accessory and it's always there when I need it. It makes a great board for rolling out dough without ending up with a sticky mess. Even though it's pretty heavy, I still carry it with me when I visit people and know I'll be helping with the cooking. It's worth the exercise!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 16 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AtHomeCook
Falls Church, VA
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2 Boos Boards Split
January 28, 2011
We registered, and received, 2 different sized Boos boards, for our wedding. They have been baby'd, gently used and gently washed, always oiled, and both have split within a year! So dissappointed b/c they are so lovely and we assumed the quality would last a lifetime. We own a much cheaper and very plain wood cutting board from my mother, that we never care about, never oiled, etc. and it's lasted for a decade so far, looking exactly the same, with no splits. Returning both my Boos blocks this weekend.
Review 17 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greenwichct
January 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice product
January 15, 2011
This is a very substantial cutting board - I'm looking forward to having it for years and getting good use out of it...
Review 18 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simpson
st Louis
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boos Boards
January 9, 2011
I have used Boos Boards for 20 years or so.... Love them. A few years back I had a small issue with one of them, I have several Boos boards you know... When I called the Company.... They sent me a replacement board and in a few days I was back on track. The company seems to really care about their products and customers. By the way, I love Williams-Sonoma, and glad to see you open on Sundays. It is my only day off.
Review 19 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Birmingham, Al
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
January 4, 2011
Got lots of compliments immediately and they work great.
And prompt delivery during Christmas.
Review 20 for Boos Edge-Grain Rectangular Cutting Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ajcohen
New York, New York
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
first great cutting board
December 30, 2010
wonderful to use, great size, very gentle on my shun knives... it's a little bulky which makes cleaning hard, but overall a wonderful board.
page1 2 3 4 next