Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press

Using the simple plunger technique of French-press brewing, this pot allows you to control coffee strength by turning a knob on the lid.Heat-resistant carafe of German borosilicate glass, framed in polished-stainless steel-stand.Comfortable stay-cool handle and knob made of high-quality plastic.Flavor-lock filter screen lets you control brewing strength with a turn of the knob.Fine stainless-steel mesh filter keeps grounds out of your cup.Simple to use and easy to clean.Stated cup capacity is based on traditional French coffee cups, which are smaller than American cups.
Average Customer Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
22 of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
Review 1 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dreamajeanie
,sicklerville
,nj
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
coffee convert
April 15, 2013
Before Bonjour... I drank coffee MAYBE 1-2x mo. Had an automatic coffee maker that was large, took up space, and I hated cleaning. One cup of coffee did not = the hassle.
After Bonjour... I drink a perfect cup of coffee almost everyday!!! The french press is ultra small- takes up no space, makes great coffee, is easy to use, and easier to clean!
The only thing I would have liked is if they had markings on the side of the carafe for cup measurements. Great Product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 2 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Schmoopie
November 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its just what I am asking for.
November 6, 2012
I love coffee and need to have my coffee in the morning. A dear colleague of mine taught me how to use French Press. Since I moved from Ohio to California with my mini car, I got rid of my big giant coffee machine. I was torn if I should spend another hundreds of dollars for another fancy machine or go with the old traditional way. I am glad that I did. It definitely takes couple times of trying to get the proportion exactly right but once you know the way you want. It's just right!!! The only thing I would say about the design was that when you pull all the way up, its not staying that way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Quiet
Review 3 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NurseR
,Charlotte
,NC
October 29, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite for Coffee
October 29, 2012
The French Press was a requested birthday gift to my daughter. Having used my French Press quite often as she was growing up, she remembered the great coffee and wanted one of her own. I ordered it through Williams Sonoma knowing it would be safely shipped to her rather than my risking personal shipping. Well..so much for that...it arrived in pieces!
However, it was replaced at her local store but only after her visit to two locations. Next time, I should consider a gift card! After all that, thankfully, she does love the Bonjour French Press.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cucciola
,green valley
,ca
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great reliable coffee press
September 8, 2011
good product and makes a wonderful gift if accompanied with the frother. I have given several for wedding, birthday, and new apartment/home gifts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 5 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
smsmith35
Minnesota
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breaks Easily
August 14, 2011
Love French Press coffee; received this one as a gift; lasted 4 days and then cracked while hand washing. Recommend a sturdier product over this one.
Cons: Fragile
Review 6 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
mount Vernon, OH
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glass Broke
August 10, 2011
This is a nice press. We use it about 2-3 times per week. Sometimes we hand wash it, but most of the time put it in the dishwasher. I took it out of the dishwasher yeserday and it broke in a million pieces. I am going to buy another one, but we will hand was this one always. I do believe the dishwasher makes the glass weak. This is the second one that has just broken. I can't say for sure that the first one was this kind though. I can't remeber. It makes really awesome coffee though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 7 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bagypsy
Trinity FL
August 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It`s a great start !!
August 6, 2011
This is our first French Press so I don`t have a lot to compare to. However, it`s great for starters. Being a novice, I didn`t realize how good the coffee would be; hindsight is always 20/20. We enjoy large mugs of coffee on our weekends, hence, a larger one probably would have been a wiser move. Complaints...not really. Hand washing is not a problem since the quality is so good. Have sent one to our son in VA and he`s a fan for sure.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Size
Review 8 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nursejen
Stillwater, OK
June 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
French Press Newby
June 9, 2011
The Bonjour is my first French Press and thus my first time to make my own French Press coffee. I am pleased with the process and think the coffee is turning out well considering my lack of experience. I am carefully washing the carafe by hand. Would like it if the 2nd and 3rd cup were as hot as the first. I think it's a good purchase - I gave it 4 stars because I think its fragile, but I really don't have anything to compare it with. I don't have any regrets.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile
Review 9 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mundorefic
May 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Coffee
May 16, 2011
I love this french press. It's superior to other similar brands. I have had it for 5 years and I hand wash it, which is simple. I did just recent broke the top part of the glass because I wan't paying attention. So I reserached all the other brands and looked at them all in the store, and they just don't look like the quality of the Bonjour. They all say french presses are all the same, but I really don't think so.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Design
Review 10 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
batteshe
Michigan
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Carafe defect in frother
March 9, 2011
My french press is great. Unfortunately the milk frother that came with it was broken upon me taking it out of the box. It was a clearanced item that I didn't take out of the box immediately, so I don't have the receipt anymore--does anyone know what the return policy on something like that is? I don't really want to return it--I *want* the piece so would rather be able to exchange. Of course Bonjour does not cover the glass in their warranty. :(
Review 11 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debra3
Mill Creek, WA
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hand wash only!
February 12, 2011
I have had my french press for at least 5 years, and have never had a single problem with breakage or threading. I would never put this into a dishwasher, it hand washes quickly and easily and has remained scratch free. I have read all of the other reviews, and it seems as if putting it into the dishwasher is the entire reason for breakage, in addition to shipping issues. Please, if you love coffee as we do, use this wonderful french press and hand wash it with care!
Review 12 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cstar
Tampa, FL
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great French Press
January 3, 2011
I ended up buying this french press when my other one broke, and was very pleasantly surprised. I really appreciate the ability to close the beans off from the brewed coffee- I can just take the press to the table and everyone is able to pour coffee when they want without it becoming too bitter. I have had this press for about 8 months now and have not had any problems with the glass scratching or breaking (I hand wash it in the sink after use). The design is also slimmer than my previous one bought at Starbucks, so it will easily fit anywhere. The only thing I wish it came with would be markings on the press to measure cups of water.
Review 13 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
azoomi
Wilmette IL
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This carafe must be defective
December 29, 2010
I have not used this product yet, but have had two of them in my possession and both have cracked almost spontaneously! It is really weird. The first was a gift that was broken when I opened it on Xmas Day (even though the giver swears it was never dropped!) I took it back, they were nice at the store, gave me a new one, and I left it in the car while I visited my sister, then when I got it home (it was still in the box in the bag and had not even been TOUCHED!) this one was shattered too! Be careful - I don't think this glass carafe meets specifications at all.
Review 14 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nycshopper
new york city, ny
December 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great, but weak glass
December 3, 2010
while i love the freshness of grinding the coffee bean and making coffee from that each time, this has been a great coffee press overall; much easier cleanup and maintenance. however, one day there was a hairline crack coming out of the dishwasher which was super disappointing. there is no option to replace just the glass portion, i wonder if the store will replace it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
kslatte
Chicago
Posted March 1, 2011
Replacement
Mine broke and I contacted the company and they told me where to get a replacement. It was about $5. Too bad that WS doesn't offer that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pigatron
Brooklyn, NY
October 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Subpar Quality
October 22, 2010
My husband had been using and enjoying this press for a few months until one day the rod would no longer thread onto the filter assembly. The problem occured spontaneously and was not preceded by any cross threading or attempt to "force" the rod to thread. We had to throw out the press. It was especially disappointing because when the press arrived in the mail, the glass was broken in a thousand pieces and I had to exchange it for a new one at a WS store, so all that effort was ultimately in vain.
Review 16 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianGirl
Florida
March 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee Every Time
March 28, 2010
I love my french press. It makes flawless coffee perfection every time.
Review 17 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeeinChitown
Chicago, IL
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Like A Charm
March 24, 2010
It's a wonderful product. Does exactly what I want it to do. Hardly any coffee grounds appear in your cup and the ability to close off the brewing process is a good one. I love it.
One down-side: it arrived in a million pieces due to a HORRIBLE packing job. Took it to the W&S Store and they exchanged it for one that was all put together.
Review 18 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
howfan
Cannon Falls,MN
March 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pot, fragile glass
March 18, 2010
I have been making French Press coffee for six years now and love it. Having gone through several cheaper models I decided it was time to step up to something better. While I like the features on this Press, the built-in filter and the design of the strainer, the glass simply broke while in the dishwasher. It lasted me two months. I'm going back to the cheap models.
Review 19 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JoeH
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good coffee but broke after only 6 months
January 13, 2010
We received this french press as a gift about 6 months ago. We really enjoyed it at first because the coffee is better then our standard drip coffee maker. However we pulled the "dishwasher safe" press out of the dishwasher and it had a hairline crack the whole length of the glass. So while it does make good coffee it is of very poor quality.
Review 20 for Bonjour Maximus 8-Cup French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrandiBrianna
La Jolla, CA
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A perfect wedding gift for anyone
December 27, 2009
I'm not a coffee drinker but I like to entertain and be able to offer coffee after dinner. I put this french press on my wedding registry because it's so much smaller than an electric coffee maker. Also, I use it with loose leaf teas (because I am a big tea drinker), yummy! I love this french press and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who likes coffee and even to people who don't like coffee and have no need for another appliance they won't use.
page1 2 next