This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker

Introduced by Bodum in 1958, the Santos vacuum coffeemaker has fascinated generations of passionate coffee drinkers. Water heats in the lower chamber, creating vapor pressure that forces the boiling water up to mix with the coffee grounds; the coffeemaker is then removed from the heat and vacuum pressure draws the brewed coffee downward, through a strainer, and into the bottom chamber for serving. Stovetop vacuum-brewing system produces a rich, flavorful brew that rivals that from a French press. Clear glass allows you to watch the dramatic brewing process, with water rising into the funnel, and then returning black coffee into the jug. Made of stovetop-safe borosilicate glass, an extremely strong scratch- and heat-resistant glass that weighs less than standard glassware. Glass will not become cloudy over time. Carafe has stay-cool handle and lid to keep coffee warm. For use on gas and electric stovetops. 32 oz. cap.; brews six 5-oz. cups of coffee. Includes vacuum coffeemaker, plastic lid, glass holder and funnel holder.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Altaron
Chappaqu , NY
July 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
too flimsy
July 6, 2011
Very poorly designed. The glass is so thin that it breaks or cracks easily. You really don't want to feel like you're doing delicate surgery when making a pot of coffee
Avoid at all costs
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 2 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilDarcy
Savannah, GA
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
not for the faint-hearted
June 5, 2011
As the reviews show, this coffeemaker is not for the faint-hearted. I buy gourmet coffee, like a nice Yirgacheffe, and anyone who enjoys fine coffee will attest to the fact that vacuum coffeemakers make the very best tasting coffee. Bodum has made electric versions of the vacuum coffeemaker off and on over the years but they are hard to find currently. Mine is wearing out. As a fallback, I use the stove top version to enjoy the smooth rich taste that comes from these excellent coffeemakers. You'll enjoy great coffee while having a great conversation piece coffeemaker at the same time.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
starbuckszombie
Raleigh, NC
Posted June 11, 2011
Do you like the electric one better?
I have had several of the electric Santos that have all worn out. I bought the stovetop and don't like it as much as the electric. I just wanted to get your opinion on this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cedainty
Sauk County, WI
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Great coffee maker
April 22, 2011
I'm 68 and I grew up with coffee made in a vacuum coffee pot. This system makes the BEST coffee around.
I've owned them for a long time, until Cory went out of business, or I could no longer get the filter mechanism.
This pot is stylish and well made. Follow the directions. Add the top bowl when the water starts to boil. The water from the lower bowl goes up the neck of the upper bowl and brews the coffee.
Turn off the heat shortly after the water is in the upper bowl begins to bubble. If you use an electric stove, turn the heat off immediately after the water reaches the top bowl.
My stove is gas and I use a solid diffuser. It retains some heat so I turn the fire off very soon.
The directions say you can use "ANY GRIND." This is true but the finer the grind, the stronger the coffee. Just don't use 'espresso' grind.
Hope this helps. This is a great coffee maker.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design, great coffee
Review 4 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gdcoffeesearcher
San Francisco
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Not a good buy
February 15, 2011
Pot too clumsy to handle. Not all boiling water goes up to top chamber if you take off heat (as directed) when it starts to boil.. Coffee then is weak after all water it drips down. If this wasn't a gift, I would have returned.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
cfeelover1
Danville, CA
Posted July 25, 2011
Product is just for show!
One must not call a critic "laughable" if the review has deemed this product is not well designed. Many of us are quite aware of GOOD vacuum process, but this maker is not worth the effort unless it's for show. The coffee produced is flavored coffee water - nothing more
0points
Customer avatar
Realdad
Allentown, PA
Posted March 1, 2011
A time honored and accepted way to brew coffee
Please do NOT take someone's inability to "handle" two glass items as a condemnation of this product!! Generations of my family have used this method to brew our coffee all with great success! It is laughable that the person does not understand the vacuum process and assumes that the coffee will be weak...not so. Water must remain in the bottom carafe. We have used a special blend of coffee, measured correctly, with ongoing, GREAT results. The process is something for generations to enjoy to watch, as well.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oodiepup
Fort Worth, TX
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Great smooth and very tasty coffee!
February 2, 2011
This coffee maker makes the smoothest, tastiest pot of coffee if you use it correctly. If you follow the directions that come with the pot you should get great results. Coffee goes in the top chamber and water goes in the bottom, heat water until most of it boils up to the top chamber. You them move the pot off the heat and the brewed coffee will make it's way back to the bottom. You are now able to remove the top part which will have cooled down enough that you just use your hands and place it on the provided stand. This does require a little bit of work but you now have a great pot of coffee!
Review 6 for Bodum Santos Stovetop Vacuum Coffee Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TMend
Danville, CA
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
14of 31found this review helpful.
Poor product
January 20, 2011
Save your money. This coffee maker is awkward to handle. You need mitts to take the top part off when coffee is done. Placing it down safely can be a mess. Coffee boils much too long before it drips down. Tastes like dishwater when it's done.