This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press

Popularized by Jorgen Bodum in the 1970s, the French press is preferred by professional coffee tasters, who maintain that the plunger-style pot yields coffee with the truest flavor.French-press brewing allows maximum extraction of essential oils and acids from coffee for rich, true flavor.Insulated stainless-steel carafe keeps coffee warm for over two hours.Fine-mesh filter keeps grounds out of your cup.Stay-cool nonslip Santoprene handle and base.Simple to use and easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
Review 1 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danieljamesMN
,Blaine
,MN
Blaine, MN
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
All in how you hold it.
December 3, 2012
I received this as a Christmas present. I was initially disappointed because I encountered the same problem that I've seen on several other reviews: this press can drip. Since the insulated pot does a GREAT job at keeping coffee warm, I was content to overlook the issue and compensate by holding a paper towel close to the spout and pouring over a countertop.
I began to wonder what was causing the drip, and if there was something more I could do to make it so it didn't drip. The drip seems to be caused by the narrowness of the channel in the pouring spout. I've been pouring straight out of the spout, and have had zero problems with dripping since. All in all, a great press, once I figured this out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xwkax
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Durable French Press
October 28, 2012
The stainless carafe is an Improvement over the glass version. I wish the plunger was metal rather than plastic. But hasn't had an effect on the flavor that I can tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tottle
,St. Petersburg
,FL
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My best coffee maker
September 5, 2012
i've been searching for the perfect cup of coffee for many years and thought i needed to spend many hundreds of dollars for the perfect machine UNTIL I found this beautiful, simple and perfect french press. I love that it is all stainless so that i do not have to worry about breaking any glass. It is very simple to use and simple to clean. It keeps my coffee hotter and for a longer period of time than any coffee pot I have ever owned. There were reviews about spilling/dripping when pouring - you must pour slowly like pouring from a measuring cup. This is the best and best looking coffee maker i have ever had and i bought a second one for my office!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, gorgeous
Review 4 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mapack04
,Raleigh
,NC
July 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Poor Pour - drip drip drip
July 9, 2012
Drips a lot when it pours, lid doesn't fit correctly, coffee tastes like plastic, very expensive for such poor quality.
I have purchased two glass Bodum coffee presses in the past and loved the quality but wanted something a little nicer with a thermal base. I was very excited to get this higher end press, however, the Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press was a huge let down. The first time I used the press it leaked all over my table. Since then, I've had to hold the lid onto the base to keep the dripping to a minimum. Unlike the less expensive versions that have a metal press inside, this one has a cheap plastic press that makes my coffee taste like plastic. Yuck!! I am very disappointed and I would recommend avoiding this press and buying one with a metal press and a lid that works! This one is not worth the money.
Cons: Quality, leaks when pours
Review 5 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lisakthrives
,Canandaigua
,NY
April 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome---Buy It!
April 19, 2012
I have been using this french press for two weeks, and we love it! We bought a Keurig in August, and finally just threw in the towel on that---yuck!
We were debating between a percolator and a french press, and I bought this thermal french press because it was sexy looking and I have serious issues with luke warm coffee! I love the look of this, it keeps the coffee hot for an hour or so, and it's super easy to clean, etc.
I'm not sure about the issues other people had with the pouring---it pours just fine for me, no spilling at all. It feels like high quality materials and I anticipate using it everyday!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stacylovestocook
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, PA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Does not keep coffee hot
January 2, 2012
I got this pot a couple of months ago because I love using a coffee press for coffee, but I would also love to have the coffee stay hot longer. Unfortunately, this does not keep my coffee hot any longer than our regular coffee presses. And it is significantly smaller, so I am thinking about returning it altogether. I would be better off making the coffee in my press and then pouring it into a thermal carafe. In fact, I have essentially stopped using it.
The only reason that I gave it 2 stars instead of one is that it actually makes good coffee. It just doesn't do anything to keep it warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Size, does not keep coffee warm