This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press

Popularized by Jorgen Bodum in the 1970s, the French press is preferred by professional coffee tasters, who maintain that the plunger-style pot yields coffee with the truest flavor.French-press brewing allows maximum extraction of essential oils and acids from coffee for rich, true flavor.Insulated stainless-steel carafe keeps coffee warm for over two hours.Fine-mesh filter keeps grounds out of your cup.Stay-cool nonslip Santoprene handle and base.Simple to use and easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
3.241 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
15 of 29(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
Review 1 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danieljamesMN
,Blaine
,MN
Blaine, MN
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
All in how you hold it.
December 3, 2012
I received this as a Christmas present. I was initially disappointed because I encountered the same problem that I've seen on several other reviews: this press can drip. Since the insulated pot does a GREAT job at keeping coffee warm, I was content to overlook the issue and compensate by holding a paper towel close to the spout and pouring over a countertop.
I began to wonder what was causing the drip, and if there was something more I could do to make it so it didn't drip. The drip seems to be caused by the narrowness of the channel in the pouring spout. I've been pouring straight out of the spout, and have had zero problems with dripping since. All in all, a great press, once I figured this out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
xwkax
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Durable French Press
October 28, 2012
The stainless carafe is an Improvement over the glass version. I wish the plunger was metal rather than plastic. But hasn't had an effect on the flavor that I can tell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Assembly
Review 3 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tottle
,St. Petersburg
,FL
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My best coffee maker
September 5, 2012
i've been searching for the perfect cup of coffee for many years and thought i needed to spend many hundreds of dollars for the perfect machine UNTIL I found this beautiful, simple and perfect french press. I love that it is all stainless so that i do not have to worry about breaking any glass. It is very simple to use and simple to clean. It keeps my coffee hotter and for a longer period of time than any coffee pot I have ever owned. There were reviews about spilling/dripping when pouring - you must pour slowly like pouring from a measuring cup. This is the best and best looking coffee maker i have ever had and i bought a second one for my office!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, gorgeous
Review 4 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mapack04
,Raleigh
,NC
July 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Poor Pour - drip drip drip
July 9, 2012
Drips a lot when it pours, lid doesn't fit correctly, coffee tastes like plastic, very expensive for such poor quality.
I have purchased two glass Bodum coffee presses in the past and loved the quality but wanted something a little nicer with a thermal base. I was very excited to get this higher end press, however, the Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press was a huge let down. The first time I used the press it leaked all over my table. Since then, I've had to hold the lid onto the base to keep the dripping to a minimum. Unlike the less expensive versions that have a metal press inside, this one has a cheap plastic press that makes my coffee taste like plastic. Yuck!! I am very disappointed and I would recommend avoiding this press and buying one with a metal press and a lid that works! This one is not worth the money.
Cons: Quality, leaks when pours
Review 5 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lisakthrives
,Canandaigua
,NY
April 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome---Buy It!
April 19, 2012
I have been using this french press for two weeks, and we love it! We bought a Keurig in August, and finally just threw in the towel on that---yuck!
We were debating between a percolator and a french press, and I bought this thermal french press because it was sexy looking and I have serious issues with luke warm coffee! I love the look of this, it keeps the coffee hot for an hour or so, and it's super easy to clean, etc.
I'm not sure about the issues other people had with the pouring---it pours just fine for me, no spilling at all. It feels like high quality materials and I anticipate using it everyday!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stacylovestocook
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, PA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Does not keep coffee hot
January 2, 2012
I got this pot a couple of months ago because I love using a coffee press for coffee, but I would also love to have the coffee stay hot longer. Unfortunately, this does not keep my coffee hot any longer than our regular coffee presses. And it is significantly smaller, so I am thinking about returning it altogether. I would be better off making the coffee in my press and then pouring it into a thermal carafe. In fact, I have essentially stopped using it.
The only reason that I gave it 2 stars instead of one is that it actually makes good coffee. It just doesn't do anything to keep it warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Size, does not keep coffee warm
Review 7 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TAGH
,Dillsburg
,PA
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointing
December 18, 2011
Received as a christmas gift 25 Dec. 2010. This review is being done 15 Dec 2011. Liked it. Used it. Coffee pours all over the place so I hold a paper towel beneath the spout while pouring. Also, stainless steel lid came apart from plastic assembly that fits inside top. Now I have to repair it. Made in china by the way.
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CoffeeLover33
,Weaverville
,CA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
We love our unbreakable french press.
December 6, 2011
This french press is a real improvement over the ones with a glass sleeve inside of a metal frame. It is very sturdy and keeps the coffee warm. My one criticism is the filter. It would be great if Bodum made a filter with multiple layers like other french press manufactors I have seen. The coffee ends up less grainy.
Pros: Durable, Design
Review 9 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ed11
2009
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
overcoming its shortcomings
February 7, 2011
We purchased this french press a few years ago and are pleased with the coffee it brews and its ability to keep the coffee hot for a half hour or so. However, it has its shortcomings. One must pour the coffee very slowly to avoid spilling the coffee over everything. We remedy this situation by lifting the cover up slightly when pouring to get a normal, fast pour without spilling. The metal cover also has a very weak connection to the inner plastic cover - ours just broke apart. We were able to repair it for a $1.30 with three 1/2" stainless steel machine screws, locking nuts and washers purchased from a local hardware store. Drill three, equally-spaced holes about 3/4" from the center through the metal and plastic covers after aligning the metal cover arrow to the plastic strainer opening. It works fine now, but it needs better engineering.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Ell5
Posted February 25, 2011
The Arabica makes good coffee, but it leaks every time you pour a cup of coffee. It's wasteful and very messy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JTorres
New Jersey
March 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Don't love
March 12, 2010
I usually love French Press coffee out and was so excited to be able to make it at home. I find that if I don't boil the water the coffee is cold, and if i do boil it burns the grounds and tastes bitter. I also find that the coffee has a metal taste (I am thinking as a result of the press being stainless steel and not glass).
Review 11 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jj0413
Sag Harbor NY
February 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
not worth the price
February 25, 2010
I purchased this very pretty french press and had to return it. Every time we used it coffee went everywhere. It leaks . We even tried using different sized coffee grounds and pouring very slowly . Spilling coffee on your countertops first thing in the mourning is not fun!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
crpeter
SC
Posted March 1, 2011
It's a major leaker
Works well and the coffee is good but the shape of the vessel causes major leakage EVERY single time. Looks pretty, but function? Not so much.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SusanGF
Alexandria, VA
February 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Messy to use
February 15, 2010
Keeps coffee warm longer than glass model BUT the spout drips coffee everytime I pour a cup of coffee. This wastes coffee and creates a puddle of coffee to clean up. I quickly learned I needed to pour the coffee over the kitchen sink. I would have returned this product, but I had already used it.
Review 13 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mamaloveshomefood
Colorado Springs
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Its ok, but not worth the $$$
January 13, 2010
I received this french press as a gift, and I do like it, but I don't LOVE it. In my opinion, for $100 I should LOVE it. I would not pay that much for this press. It is a very attractive press, looks beautiful sitting out which is nice. It does keep coffee HOT for about 25 minutes and warm for up to an hour. However; it leaks. About 75% of the time when I pour a cup of coffee, it leaks in dribbles and sometimes in streams. It is not user error, as I've tried adjusting the lid, etc. I think it's the unusual angle of the pour spout. For the cost to benefit ration, I would recommend the Bodum "Young Press" . Also, the description boasts that you can use it as an elegant jug, and that may be so - but as the host of a party, you'd be refilling it all the time. It only produces four (4) 8 oz cups at once.
Review 14 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alpet
Jackson, WY
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
pour me a cup
January 2, 2010
This works okay, as intended. The spout tends to dribble and you better be spot on about the plunger.
My unit came with a dent in the side. It does what it's supposed to, but that was disappointing to give as a Christmas present. I'll keep it because I don't want to waste the fossil fuel to return it.
Review 15 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Boston, MA
November 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Huge mess when you pour & lid has plastic inside
November 25, 2009
Unless you pour coffee incredibly slow, it spills all over the place -- I'd say we lose about a cup of coffee for each pot we make, just in what drips out. To clarify a previous comments, this doesn't happen because whoever is pouring isn't positioning the lid correctly -- this happens when you have the lid lined up properly, so it's clearly just a design flaw.
Also, the press is made partially of plastic, which was a HUGE disappointment. Plenty of Bodum french presses are entirely metal and I was shocked that they chose to use plastic on this one -- one of the main reasons I wanted this press was to avoid heating plastic. I called Bodum and they said it was not an option for this model -- but I've seem other brands of french presses that are entirely metal -- buy one of those!
Hope this is helpful....
Review 16 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rklauncher
Oak Brook , IL
July 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Quick fresh coffee
July 20, 2009
Needed a way to make more cups at one time. The eight cup press works great. Have made as few as two cups in the new press. So, we replaced the small press.
Liquid stays hot for a reasonable time frame.
Some pouring dribbles at first so we slowed down and no dribbles.
Easy to clean
Review 17 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cynd
Pittsford, NY
July 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Drip Less
July 10, 2009
I have two other Bodum French Press coffepots, both glass, and decided to purchase the stainless because I thought it was a bit more attractive when used tableside for dinner parties. The major problem I seem to have is that unless I pour extremely slowly, it drips all over the tablecloth and makes a complete mess of spilled coffee.
Review 18 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tracey
Colorado
April 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
good coffee
April 26, 2009
Takes a few times to adjust the strength. I found it best to boil the water (instructions say not to), and use 8 TBLs of coffee per pot. Really delicious and easy. recommend.
Review 19 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pattysoandso
Tampa, FL
April 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love it, but wish it was bigger
April 18, 2009
This is the first French-press coffee pot I have ever owned. I must say that I really love it. It makes coffee that I find to be far superior to my drip maker and even better than that which my Italian stove-top espresso maker produces, I must say. The coffee stays nice and hot for some time, albeit around my home coffee does not sit around for very long before its drunk. It's very elegant looking and is very easy to clean. The only draw back to this pot is that I wish it were bigger -- even another 6 or 8 ounces.
Review 20 for Bodum Arabica Thermal French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luce559
Toronto, ON
April 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A Good Investment
April 11, 2009
I feel that I've made a good choice in purchasing the Bodum Arabica two days ago. I like to drink coffee, but didn't want to spend several hundreds of dollars on a big and bulky machine. This french press suits my needs absolutely wonderfully, since I don't have to worry about pitching leftover coffee. Cleaning the press is also quick and easy. The water dries without the watermarks, and looks very nice on the counter top all day long. I would recommend it to those that want to moderate the amount of coffee they consume.
page1 2 next