This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press

Coffee made in this classic French press stays hot long after brewing, thanks to the insulating effect of its double wall of clear glass. By extracting all of the essential oils and acids, the plunger-style pot also yields coffee with the truest flavor. The preferred brewing method of professional coffee tasters. Classic Chambord design is simple to use. Operated manually, the French press infuses freshly ground coffee with boiling water inside the glass cylinder. Three-part stainless-steel filter lowers to strain the coffee and separate it from the grounds. Double-walled cylinder is secured within a stainless-steel frame. Fitted with a safety lid and stay-cool Santoprene handle. Heat-resistant borosilicate glass carafe is easy to clean. Yields 8 cups of perfectly brewed coffee. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
12 of 21(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
Review 1 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JoanneLS
,Folsom
,CA
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Terrible Product!!
March 18, 2013
Leaks when you pour the coffee! I am returning to Williams Sonoma. To spend $100 on an inferior product is ridiculous. Doesn't WS test the products that they sell??! Very disappointed.
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eliz51
,Jacksonville
,FL
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
8 Cup Disaster
August 16, 2012
I ordered this in the mail. It arrived in several pieces--poor package wrapping. Returned it to store. After one day it began to leak. The rubber seal fell off. I returned to store again and chose a different one. I feel for all this effort I should have received a free or discounted pot!
Review 3 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Telluride
,Telluride
,CO
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Gasket melted onto Glass
July 13, 2012
Received as wedding registry gift. upon opening product out of box, gasket was melted onto inside of glass. Had to force pieces apart, but didn't want to use with melted plastic. W-S service was great, immediately sent me a replacement. 2nd one arrived with same problem. Again, W-S service was great and will exchange for gift card. Will not try a 3rd time! Although I've owned a variety of Bodum products for 20 years, I will not purchase one again.
Cons: Quality, repeatedly defective
Review 4 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JoeCoffee
,Minneapolis
,MN
May 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
poor product
May 26, 2012
Owned for 1.5 years. First silicone gasket tore upon opening the box. Second tore about 3 months ago. They do not offer this as a replacement part. I have already purchased my second glass beaker, as they crack easily. Now I have a hot, leaky mess. $150 in, I am done with this brand. Poorly designed product.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 5 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RattyCotsMom
,Germantown
,WI
Wisconsin
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Choice!
October 3, 2011
I am thrilled with my French Press. Simply make sure you warm up the glass with warm water for a few minutes. Be careful not to pour "boiling" water in the glass when making coffee. Use a plastic spoon or spatula to mix and there is no need to worry about the glass cracking. This French Press makes delicious tasting coffee. I will never use an electric coffee maker again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 6 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
geauxmarine
September 14, 2011
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Quality not consistent with price
September 14, 2011
This would be a great coffee press if the glass was durable.
The press works very well, makes great coffee, and is very stylish. After using it only a dozen or less times, the glass broke while cleaning it. I was very disappointed to discover that the replacement beaker is $50. I will not be replacing the glass, since it seems it would be a continuous problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 7 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MlpsMN
Minneapolis, MN
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
GLASS BREAKS, 50.00 to REPLACE!
August 14, 2011
The glass on this press BREAKS! JUST CRACKS! Guess what...it is 50.00 to replace...Make SURE you keep your receipt!
Doesn't matter how good the coffee is - the glass and glass replacement is NOT worth it! Also, water gets between the stainless and glass and rust will appear.
I am sorry WS...we are breaking up! I expected more from you!
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SLeMon
Huntsville, AL
May 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
glass cracked
May 28, 2011
I love the French coffee press in general but within a month the glass cracked when pouring water in it. I did buy the water warmer from Sonoma made especially for French Presses so I assume the water was not too hot. I am going to try to have Sonoma replace it or give it one more shot by buying a new one as I love the coffee result.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: glass cracked
Review 9 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ORgirl
Eugene, Oregon
April 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great French Press
April 12, 2011
We love the taste of french press coffee and I have the regular bodum press, but I am a stickler for hot coffee and it wasn't best for that. So, I ordered this. It is a bit bigger than I expected, and very stylish. It does keep the coffee hotter, although not burning hot (which would be my ultimate desire). I like the locking cap, too, which helps with keeping the liquid warmer. I am glad I made the purchase. Best of the french presses.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile
Review 10 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jester065
Waialua Hawaii
March 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Bodum bummer
March 30, 2011
We purchased this French pressed and loved it. The third time we used it I put the hot water in and went to get something from the car. When I returned there was coffee all over the counter. I e mailed Bodum being the press was less than a week old. The responded they don’t warranty the glass and advised me to bring it back to the William Sonoma where I purchased it. William Sonoma replaced it. It was frustrating that Bodum does not stand by its product, but comforting that William Sonoma stands behind what they sell.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile, customer service
Review 11 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designerone
Buffalo,NY
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Less is more
February 7, 2011
The ultimate green machine...no electricity, easy to maintain, well designed and the best part is wonderfully aromatic coffee.
Review 12 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Verena
Chicago, IL
August 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Great quality, however, smaller than described
August 20, 2010
After realizing that most drip coffee makers have interiors that tend to be constructed out of BPA-laden plastic (and since BPA leaches, this is not something you want your boiling water to drip into), we made the switch to this coffee press.
The coffee is great, and the press is of excellent quality - intuitive to use, well constructed, durable and dishwasher safe. The only down-side is that the 8-cups referenced in the size description refer to 6oz cups - your typical, American-sized coffee cup is more like 16oz - so we usually only get about two cups out of this per brew, which makes it hard to use this for a crowd.
Review 13 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CafeDeCostaRica
Hightstown, NJ
December 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superb!
December 30, 2009
The Chambord Double Wall Coffee Maker produces a superb cup of coffee! Not only does it make great coffee it looks great on the table as well. My husband picked a winner this Christmas!
Review 14 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CookieGood
December 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
8of 15found this review helpful.
NOT good until the last drop
December 11, 2009
Our first double-walled French Press by the Bodum company cracked within two months. This double-walled model also cracked after about three months. We would not recommend a double-walled French press by this company.
Review 15 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXNOK
Edmond, OK
November 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
BEST COFFEE EVER!!!
November 23, 2009
I will never drink a cup of coffee ever again from my electric coffee maker! This make the BEST coffee EVER!!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Edbusa
Posted December 5, 2010
I thought perculators were the best way to brew coffee. Since I've started using the french press, I realized there is no other way !! The absolute best cup I've ever tasted!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slicky
Hacienda Heights, CA
November 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Great French Press
November 20, 2009
This is my first french press and it is easy to use, constructed well and even easier to clean. The doubled wall glass container keeps the coffee hot during the first and second serving and the press assembly comes apart for easy cleaning. Ever since I got this press, I haven't used my coffee maker!!
Review 17 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PVB38
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
August 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Coffee Ever
August 31, 2009
The Bodum French Press makes the best coffee. The double-wall feature definitely keeps the coffee hot longer.
Review 18 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackk
Houston, TX
May 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Simply the best
May 19, 2009
I owned and used one of these back in the late 70s and have just fully circled back to the French press. In the meantime, I think I owned just about every overly hyped coffee machine and none lived up to their claims of superior flavor when compared to this simple French system. This is simply the best coffee maker you can own.
Review 19 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
March 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
LOVE IT!
March 11, 2009
Keeps coffee warm for a good 30 - 40 minutes! Should have bought it a long time ago!!
Review 20 for Bodum 8-Cup Double-Walled French Press
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
February 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Everyday luxury
February 9, 2009
My hubby and I love the French Press. It a treat we can look forward to every morning (especially with the WS chocolate croissants!). It is easy to use and clean. This is for making 2-3 cups at a time.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
rocksana
Tulsa, OK
Posted December 30, 2010
I got one of these for Christmas. It was on my wedding registry but we didn't get it at the time. I like it, but I have one problem with it. You can't just make one cup of coffe. The press does not go all the way down so only half a cup comes out. My husband does not drink coffee so I would be wasting to make more than one cup. I'm considering returning it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next