This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Blood Orange Tree

Our potted blood orange tree can be grown and harvested on a patio or in a sunny kitchen. A relative of the beloved navel orange, the blood orange is treasured for its sweet-tart flavor, its striking deep-red flesh and the brilliant tang of its zest. It complements seafood and other entrees, adds creative possibilities to juices and desserts, and can be eaten right off the tree. The white flowers are most notable for their creamy, delicate, tropical fragrance. Shipped to you from the California grower in a 6" diam. terra-cotta pot, the tree arrives approx. 18" high and can eventually reach a mature height of 4 or 5 feet; the tree may not bear fruit the first year. Care instructions are included. The tree can only be shipped within the 48 contiguous states. Agricultural regulations prohibit shipments to Florida and Texas.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blood Orange Tree
Review 1 for Blood Orange Tree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LeslieM
,Chicago
,IL
July 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Inexplicably died
July 13, 2013
I had this plant for a month before the green leaves started falling off. Every day for a week I put the plant outside in sunny weather ranging from 75 to 82 degrees. The plant started growing like crazy--it was absolutely beautiful. I was careful with watering and misting the plant. When I woke up the morning of the 8th day, however, several leaves had fallen off. By the next night all the leaves had fallen off.
I tried reviving it with fresh fertilizer, misting, careful watering, and an indoor plant light, but the trunk of the tree and the branches turned browned and eventually dried out. After two months, this tree was dead.
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: Not Durable
Review 2 for Blood Orange Tree
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kreilly
,Syracuse
,ny
January 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Just average
January 12, 2012
I bought this tree over 3 years ago with high hopes of salads, dinners and juice. Unfortunately the tree was very small the first year and took almost a year to "mature". The next year it bloomed beautifully and the smell was AMAZING! Small fruit took shape and began to grow. Once the size of a golf ball and still green the fruit would fall off. Not one fruit ever matured to the point of eating and since this one bloom I have yet to have another. Not sure what to do with the tree but as a fruit tree its been disappointing.
Review 3 for Blood Orange Tree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LDSMomof5
League City, TX
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fabulous gift
July 15, 2011
This was a gift for my Dad, since he really doesn't need anything I thought it would be something fun. I remembered having a kumquat tree when I was little - he remembered it too. He said it was so pretty and was delivered so quickly. I am so pleased.
Pros: Quality, Size, Appearance
Review 4 for Blood Orange Tree
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JudiT65
Greenville, SC
June 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Healthy little tree but no blooms yet
June 29, 2011
The orange tree came in prompt order and packed well. I was a little disappointed it was not in bloom and still is not in bloom nor a bud in sight but it is healthy, so I will just have to wait. I am now looking for a liquid fertilizer for the blood orange with the zinc, magnesium, iron combo. Having zero luck! Sure hope it has fruit this year as promised.
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: no blooms or buds
Review 5 for Blood Orange Tree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
erinbh
Colorado
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't wait for oranges!
February 14, 2011
I bought this item as a present for my husband who is always on the lookout for blood oranges. The item arrived quicker than expected and was in good shape (no wilting etc). We had to move it around the house several times to find just the right spot for it, but it is doing great. Looking forward to the first bloom!
Review 6 for Blood Orange Tree
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KBNC
North Carolina
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
So far so good
June 22, 2010
We recieved this tree about 2 weks ago, it arrived a little "wilted" but bouncede back after a few days. It seems to be doing well.
We will know better a year from now.
Review 7 for Blood Orange Tree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gloverhouse
North Orange County, CA
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My own tree - awsome
June 8, 2010
Everything was as promised and I look forward to my first crop
Review 8 for Blood Orange Tree
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dray
NY
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Blood Orange Tree
May 14, 2010
Sorry to hear your tree dying, perhaps you can try this below.
Citrus trees/plants need to dry out a bit before watering. If you keep your tree moist all the time its most likely suffering from root rot. This will cause the leaves to yellow and fall off because its not able to breathe. In a sense its drowning. The soil must be well draining to allow air movement around the roots. As the water drains out it will pull in fresh oxygen to the trees roots.
Review 9 for Blood Orange Tree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blckhawk1234
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome Buy
May 3, 2010
Beautiful Tree, and delicious oranges. Great idea for a gift. I would def recommend this.
Review 10 for Blood Orange Tree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
galinagirl
New Jersey
April 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
13of 18found this review helpful.
Blood Orange Tree
April 13, 2010
I am very disappointed with this purchase. I have followed the directions exactly as stated. Each day more leaves fall off of my small tree. I have only had it for 2 weeks. For the price I paid this is unacceptable. I wish I spent my $70 on something else. I suspect this plant will not have any leaves on it by next week.