Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black

Cooks with exacting preferences for grinding salt and pepper will enjoy using these French mills, which allow you to choose your preferred grind by turning the base ring to one of six settings from ultrafine to coarse.Peugeot's u'Select feature lets you choose your preferred grind, with six settings from ultrafine to coarse.Pepper mill's case-hardened-steel mechanism cracks peppercorns before grinding for an even grind and rich aroma.Salt mill's stainless-steel grinding mechanism is engineered to resist corrosion.Made of beechwood with a matte black finish and stainless-steel accents.
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
15 of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
Review 1 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WKitchen
,al
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Company has terrible customer service
October 29, 2013
I bought this pepper mill and was satisfied until the grinding mechanism broke. I was told at the store that i would have to contact Puegot in order to get it repaired. This Company literally has the worst customer service i have ever seen. I'm surprised that Williams Sonoma would have anything to do with them. I have been waiting for 3 weeks now for any response from the company. I've sent emails with the information they requested and called and left messages. I simply cannot get an answer. Bottom line......not worth the purchase if there is noone to stand behind it!!
Cons: Quality, terrible customer service
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted April 3, 2014
Contact us again
Please give us a second chance to help you with your mill.
This is the contact information for Peugeot US Offices:
-- email:info-usa@psp-peugeot.com ;
-- phone: 708-667-7610.
Thank you,
Peugeot USA
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SharAnn
,Sunrise
,FL
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pepper Mill
September 7, 2013
I had one of these pepper mills long ago and had to take it back to get the updated version a few years back due to the markings for the size of pepper disappeared after time. This one I have now is just now disappearing...I think they need to engrave the markings to be as permanent as my pepper mill has been...I have no problems with mine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, pepper size indicators wear off
Review 3 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PenS56
,Fort Wayne
,IN
August 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
August 2, 2013
I was very excited to receive this pepper mill for Mother's Day. After a year or so of working it is completely jammed. It became progressively more difficult to use until it no longer rotates at all.
Cons: no longer working
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted April 3, 2014
Contact information
We hope you will try to contact Peugeot's office in the US so we can assist you with your mill.
Email: info-usa@psp-peugeot.com
Phone: 708-667-7610
Thank you,
Peugeot USA
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carasmom
Ohio
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peugeot French Pepper Mill
May 13, 2011
I received this as a gift, and I love the way it works. It has the capability to grind peppercorns to a powder, even finer than sand. I am very impressed with the quality, sturdy construction and sleek design, and ease of use. Also looks pretty darn nice next to the black and stainless Cuisinart electrics :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pueblo
Portland Oregon
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pepper mill collector
May 10, 2011
The complaints about the jamming of the grind selection are related to not loosening the nut when going to larger grind. These mills are the best I've seen in 50 years.
Pros: Durable, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 6 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jgirl561
North Carolina
April 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible - buyer beware!
April 13, 2011
I've had both the salt and pepper grinders for about a year. They worked well in the store and for a couple of months at home, but they have become increasingly difficult to use, to the point that I now have to have my husband attempt to change the grind setting and try to do the grinding since the mechanisms are so difficult to turn and seem to be jammed. We also have purchased only the recommended Williams-Sonoma brand salt and pepper to use in them, so I can't imagine what the problem is except that they are very poor quality.
Cons: Difficult to Use, do not work properly
Review 7 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frannie2
Metairie, LA
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LUV, LUV LUV IT!!!
March 21, 2011
This is the best pepper mill I have ever used. I've had it for more than 4 years and use it every day and night. Wouldn't be without it!!
Review 8 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CMCM
California
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was great for awhile
January 14, 2011
I've had it for about two years, thought it would be the best mill available. The first year it was fantastic. Then it got cranky. The markings on the bottom (indicating grind type) started to wear off. It became impossible to change the grind setting...so now it's stuck on the fine grind setting. Grinding is also very difficult...you need rather a lot of hand strength to twist it. It will only turn if the knob on top is fairly loose. I wrote Peugeot to see if they will honor the lifetime warranty and fix or replace it. I'm truly disappointed in this grinder as I expected so much more and certainly a longer functional life than a year.
Review 9 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nitehawk
South Texas
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it, at first
January 11, 2011
I Loved it at frist, then after a few months had to keep unscrewing it to grind the pepper only fine comes out. I'm not a happy camper..
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Nitehawk22
South Texas
Posted January 6, 2014
Sorry for neg. comment
I'm sorry for my negative comment. I totally take it back Five stars !! I love my Peugeot pepper mill. I just didn't understand it back then. I still have it and use it on a daily bases. I will buy again and again !!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Peyes
Visalia, CA
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor grind adjustment
December 6, 2010
Nice grinder, but it is difficult to adjust. I have to empty the grinder and refill to adjust to larger grind.
Review 11 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodstuff
massachusetts
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Customer Service from Peugeot
October 18, 2010
I first purchased these (both salt and pepper mills) at WS a few years ago. They are beautiful. I loved them, but after a while, I was not able to adjust the grind. Then they seemed to get stuck frequently, and wouldn't work at all. I finally decided to contact Peugeot (they have a lifetime warranty). They requested that I send them back to the company for evaluation. I spent all of $8 on shipping, and two weeks later received two brand new, updated mills. They said the original ones were "not functioning properly". I really like the newer version, and so far they have worked beautifully. If you have had trouble with yours, I highly recommend contacting Peugeot, especially if you have the older version (it had a continuous grind adjustment dial as opposed to the six distinct settings on the newer one). I was going to take a star away because of the problems I had, but given the response from Peugeot, I am happy to give them 5 stars.
Review 12 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dondilyon
New York City
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it while it worked!
August 30, 2010
I balked at spending $80 (plus tax) on a pepper mill but did it anyway because I thought the adjustable grinding mechanism would be worth it. While it worked, I LOVED it but now the adjustable mechanism is nonfunctional - for a while I was able to adjust the grind by loosening the screw at the top but now that no longer works. In short, I now get only one grind. What a waste of money!!!
Review 13 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lqgolfer
La Quinta, Ca
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointing
July 31, 2010
I have had my mill for a few years now and it was great for a while, but no longer grinds pepper effectively. I expected it to be much more durable considering the price. I did initially recommend this mill to friends who also purchased it but am now sorry I did so.
Review 14 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mschrank
San Francisco, CA
June 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very durable
June 1, 2010
I have had these grinders for a few years now. They have loosened up to the point that the pepper adjustment doesn't work. the paint has also chipped quite a bit.
I couldn't recommend these.
Review 15 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinFL
Punta Gorda, FL
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE BEST
January 23, 2010
Without a doubt, this is the best pepper mill I've ever used. Smooth grinding, large well, more than enough grind choices, classic design, great balance, fits any hand comfortably. All other mills pale next to this one!
Review 16 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatF
Endwell, NY
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-8points
0of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Gift
January 6, 2010
Excellent service. My daughter-in-law was thrilled with this gift for her new kitchen.
Review 17 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
obrien65
nj
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!
December 14, 2009
Not only is this beautiful and well made, it's highly functional. I've had this for a few months now and it is pricey ( I winced while buying it ) but it's absolutely worth it. My husband hates coarsely ground pepper on his food so the super fine setting is perfect for him and I am able chose from the 4 other settings for my cooking needs! I had a Willams bound which only came with three setting and it was way too much effort to get minimum amounts of pepper. This is perfect!
Review 18 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marlin
Walnut Creek, CA
November 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lifetime Buy
November 11, 2009
You'll never have to buy another pepper mill again. Super solid!
Review 19 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wagner
Baltimore,MD
August 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the price!!!
August 24, 2009
We have owned this pepper mill for about 5 years and LOVE it. We take it to our summer home and would not be without it, especially when the fresh summer tomatoes come in. We have given it for several wedding gifts. The last one, my niece, loved it so much she has requested the matching salt mill for Christmas.
Review 20 for Peugeot Chateauneuf Adjustable Salt & Pepper Mills, Black
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WifeofCook
Georgetown, TX
August 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Quality and Performance
August 7, 2009
I gave this to my husband a couple of years ago for Christmas because he wanted a dependable, adjustable, and sturdy pepper mill. He has been very pleased with the product. I have also enjoyed it -- it is totally up to Williams-Sonoma standards.
page1 2 next