This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bistro Francais Butter Dish

A stroll through Paris reveals the city's celebrated bistros, where cozy tables are often set with blue-and-white ceramic butter dishes like this one. Ours is made of durable earthenware with a hand-painted blue rim. It's labeled with the French beurre (butter). Includes cover with loop handle. Microwavable and dishwasher safe. 7 1/4" x 5 1/2" x 4 1/4" high. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
Review 1 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parisbound00
,Antioch
,TN
February 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is so French
February 21, 2013
I have it sitting on my kitchen counter. It looks so French. I like that it has the ring on the top for easy grasping.
Review 2 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catnip1960
,New York
,NY
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this butter dish
February 20, 2013
Perfect butter dish. Looks good on the table or in the frig.
Review 3 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nami
,Portland
February 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cute butter dish!
February 16, 2013
Was looking for a classic looking butter dish, with a touch of whimsical. This one worked perfectly. Would recommend this butter dish.
Review 4 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tonto
,Downingtown
,Pa
February 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Everyday butter dish
February 12, 2013
I purchased this butter dish on sale. I love the large loop for picking up the butter dish cover. I was surprised to find that the dish is just slightly undersized for the full stick of butter. This can be fixed by lopping off a tablespoon or so, or purchasing the smaller quarter sized butter sticks. I worry if I drop it it will shatter on my granite counter-tops as it feels somewhat fragile.
Pros: large loop for grasping the top
Cons: slightly undersized to fit a stick of butter, feels somewhat fragile to me
Review 5 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenskitchen
,Austin
,TX
February 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A perfect butter dish!
February 8, 2013
I loved this French butter dish when I saw it online, but loved it more once I opened it and started using it. It is the best butter dish I have ever had! A great value!
Review 6 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yogagram
,loudonville
,oh
January 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
great butter dish
January 22, 2013
i really like this item. quality is excellent like you expect from william-sonoma.
Cons: it is smaller than a stick of butter
Review 7 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
breathless
,Indianapolis
,IN
January 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
QUAINT AND CHARMING
January 14, 2013
I am very happy with my french butter dish. It is eye appealing, roomy and convenient for holding my butter portions. I have received many compliments on it. Of course it is not made in France but it sure looks like a French product. The handle on top makes it very accessable to get at the butter, especially when cooking.
I would hate to have to go back to my old butter dish.
Pros: looks great
Cons: none
Review 8 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mully
,Hillsboro, OR
January 10, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love this dish!
January 10, 2013
I am always looking for items that will make our meal time "special". This butter dish and the accompanying pieces that go with it are adorable. I read the comments made by others that the top wasn't secure and the butter cube did not fit the dish. This item was just too cute to not give it a try. The top doesn't fit tightly ~ but neither do the tops to my other butter dishes. And to solve the issue of a cube not fitting, slice it to fit. Works for me!
Review 9 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyLBM
,Lake San Marcos
,CA
November 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
fun and functional
November 22, 2012
I really like this butter dish. My every day dishes are white with a cobalt blue rim so it goes with them perfectly. A big plus is that it's a good size for the chunkier sticks of butter now being sold.
Pros: Shape
Review 10 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
towerpower
,IL
October 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Boo for this Beurre
October 11, 2012
This product will be returned. A standard stick of butter does not fit because the base is too small. The lid does not fit on securely - it shifts around and doesn't seem to fully cover the base. Also, the lettering on mine was really fuzzy, not crisp. Worst product I've ever received from Williams-Sonoma.
Cons: not the right size for standard butter
Review 11 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cinti
,Cincinnati
,OH
September 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Cute but not so practical
September 3, 2012
I liked the idea of an attractive butter dish to replace my plastic, snap top one. However, this one does not close adequately, in my opinion. I didn't expect it to be airtight but I did expect the top and bottom to meet smoothly. Mine has gaps between top and bottom and I am concerned about fridge smells tainting the butter flavor of my Land o Lakes. I plan to return it this week.
Pros: nice looking
Cons: doesn't seal well
Review 12 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovesfrenchcookware
,Groveland
,MA
August 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
total disappointment
August 14, 2012
I love anything French so when I saw that Williams Sonoma had a cute butter dish with butter printed in French I had to get it. An added bonus was that it was on sale. The dish itself doesn't even hold one stick of butter.The butter has to be cut in half to fit in the bottom part of the dish. The cover slides all over the place since it does not fit properly on top of the dish. All in all it is
the worst purchase I ever made from Williams. It is going back!!
Pros: none
Cons: poorly made and not worth the price even on sale
Review 13 for Bistro Francais Butter Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThomM
,Apple Valley
,Ca
July 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Beurre Butter dish
July 27, 2012
This dish is of excellent quality ceramic. the nicest feature for me is the deep well in which the butter stick is place. If the butter softens or melts( I live in the very hot Mojave Desert in California), the butter stays in the dish and does not spill over. The handle is a nice feature, too
Cons: none so far