John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards

Handcrafted in the USA from North American yellow birch, these reversible boards by John McLeod Ltd. feature a carving side with a well and a prep side for all-purpose chopping.Made of sustainably harvested yellow birch.Carving side has deep channel and well for capturing juices.Prep side has a shallow groove to catch juices and seeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
Review 1 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beachgirl63
,West Columbia
,SC
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice looking cutting board
December 29, 2012
The cutting board is a lovely piece of wood and seems to do a good job so far. However, be aware that there are imperfections in the wood and is not smooth on entire surface. I paid for personalization and was very disappointed in how small they did it on such a large board. I would not recommend the expense to personalize this particular item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
QualityGal
,Beaverton
,OR
September 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wood warped after first few washes
September 3, 2012
I had high expectations of this board and looked forward to using when I purchased it. After few light washes (only surface wash, no submerge), the board warped so when I placed it back on my counter it wobbled.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Shape
Cons: warped
Review 3 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RChauvin
,St Petersburg
,FL
St Petersburg, FL
January 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent cutting board
January 20, 2012
When I first got the product I was more than happy with the appearance and it still looks great. Mine needed sanding before applying the first coat of mineral oil. Rinsing off the board is easy and there are no stains on the board. I love being able to cut vegetables, fruit and herbs on my lap while watching TV. The recessed oval area holds small amounts of discards.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Shape, Weight, can use on lap
Review 4 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IntheKitchwithLin
Atascadero, CA
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Wood Perfect for Cutting
August 13, 2011
This cutting board is a really beautiful piece of wood. Using mineral oil on it as directed makes the grain even more beautiful and will preserve it for years to come and I plan on using it that long.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Shape
Review 5 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sisto
Davidson, North Carolina
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Permanent Counter Fixture
January 9, 2010
Attractive on counter. Use this board daily for food preparation. The carving side does exactly what it is desighed to do. Keeps meat juicies from running on table or counter; base protects your carving blade, etc. Even used board to serve hot snacks during New Year celebration.
Review 6 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Italgal
the Illinois Valley
December 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Substantial carving board
December 31, 2009
This is a very substantial carving board that looks great, and can be used year 'round - from carving those holiday turkeys, to cutting up and serving items hot off the grill. The deep ridges around the rim are ample to hold any meat drippings. It is nice to have a carving board that looks attractive enough to serve off of.
Review 7 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hellostarling
September 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great cutting and carving board
September 1, 2009
I've been using this board nearly every day since we got it. It's incredibly versatile and just the right size...large enough to have some weight and not slide around but small enough that you can pick it up and rinse it at the sink. The surface is tough, but it shows just a little more wear and is a little more absorbent than I'd like...but otherwise, perfection!
Review 8 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paulie
Chicago, IL
April 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reversible Chopping Board
April 20, 2009
The chopping and carving board I purchased is the larger one but I love it! It's extremely well made and looks great too. I love the dripping groove to catch the juices as it makes clean up so much easier. I also love that you can flip it over to use the other side at any time during cooking preparation. I'd recommend this purchase to anyone!
Review 9 for John McLeod Birchwood Reversible Carving & Prep Boards
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Plano,TX
December 16, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent
December 16, 2008
Excellent cutting tool. Highly recommend. The board complements my beautiful kitchen. I no longer have to deal with messy juices.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RChauvin
St Petersburg, FL
Posted January 20, 2012
Why a 4 star rating?
Your review makes the product sound quite satisfactory but gave no "con" to give a 4 star rating.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)