This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker

In 1933, Alfonso Bialetti revolutionized home coffee brewing in Italy with this iconic stovetop espresso maker. The Bialetti company continues its tradition of innovation with this stovetop pot made in Italy exclusively for Williams-Sonoma.Simple all-in-one brewing and milk frothing on the stovetop - simply add water to the lower chamber and ground espresso to the filter, then add milk to the pitcher.As the water heats up, powerful steam pressure brews the espresso and combines it with steamed, frothed milk.A push-button valve easily adjusts for making cappuccino or latte.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.338 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
142 of 240(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
Review 1 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMMT
,Orlando
,FL
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
You want this product!
October 16, 2012
I have had this product for quite some time now. The first time I used it, I kept my fingers crossed and just hoped that I didn't explode anything. It was so easy that I just couldn't believe that I did it all on my own. I love cappuccinos and lattes, especially lattes. It is so easy, just add water, expresso coffee grounds, and milk (I have used half and half as well). If you want flavor, just get the syrups and pre-put them in the mug. I have an electric stove and was worried that it wouldn't work, but it does.....start with a cold stove and turn it on...its that simple. I did have an issue with the aerator, but I called Bialetti and within days I received a new one. They were awesome and I only missed my lattes for a couple of days. I'm telling you, if you like lattes, cappuccinos, and simplicity, this is a great way to go...I thank my mom over and over for this gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed, Design
Review 2 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kerti80
,Aviano, Italy
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful little cappuccino maker!
July 5, 2012
I just got my Bialetti and I've already used it 4x. I love it!! I've used mine to make cappuccino. When you push the center button down for cappuccino, be aware that when the button pops back up after the espresso mixes with the milk; the milk froths quickly but turn the heat down from medium to low so the coffee gets nice and hot. It takes right at 4 minutes for gas stoves.
I figured that out after the first time, but it's an easy fix and make delicious cappuccino and living in Italy it saves me $3/day...I have quite the cappuccino habit! and Williams & Sonoma sells the Illy Espresso which is very popular here. It tastes wonderful. It's a medium roast I believe.
I mixed part half and half cream and part 1% milk and the frothed milk was creamy and amazing!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gina2
,Minnetonka
,MN
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Makes Great Cappuccino - Broke After Eight Months
January 22, 2012
I'm on my second one, after my first Mukka Express aerator broke. The last few times I tried to make a cappuccino, the aerater never popped up to put espresso into the milk. During my last attempt, espresso sprayed onto ceiling and walls (I had to repaint white ceiling).
Bialetti is a great brand. I use the Moka Express. I was very shocked this happened, especially since I hadn't used it much because I generally go to a local coffee shop every day.
The Mukka Express did make a delicious cappuccino the few times it worked for me.
Williams Sonoma allowed me to return my first one. The woman told me that I should contact Bialetti directly so the company knows the issue.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, delicious cappuccino
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, aerator broke
Review 4 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mikeymike
Rohnert Park, CA
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great little coffee maker!
July 12, 2011
Easy to use and keep clean. Too bad, though, it only makes 2 demi or 1 real cup at a time. It also is hotter than hot when trying to reload for multiple cups. Be careful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, fun!!
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JacksonDebbie
Jackson, WI
July 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
VERY EASY TO USE & CLEAN!
July 7, 2011
Definately watch the video on this website before getting, well worth it, much better than the book instructions, (make it seem too hard). Works just like they say, no problems for me. TIP: The book does say make 3 cups and discard before enjoying your first cup, seems like a waste of coffee, but I did it. AND, it's a CUTE machine!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Quiet, Assembly
Review 6 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladiejade
Bronx, NY
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE MY COFFEE!!!
March 8, 2011
Bought 2 of the Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Makers after I received one as a gift and my mom and brother love it - what a great cup of coffee/cappuccino - quick, easy and delicious!!!!!
Review 7 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ElGata
No. California
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Leaked too bad to use
February 27, 2011
I received this as a gift and haven't been able to make even one cup of coffee. It leaked so bad it put out the flame on my burner. I watched the video and did everything right but it leaks too bad to use. What a waste of good money!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MDHy
New Mexico
Posted November 11, 2011
Troubleshooting tips for latte failure/leaks
I find it can be temperamental at times, the trouble is either a gap in the gasket or grit in the threads of the screwing parts.
Tips: Make sure the rubber gaskets are flat and seated properly, not gapping, the air tight seal depends on it.
Most of all after each use, keep threads of both screwing parts and the rubber gaskets completely free of grounds. To clean after use, I use an old toothbrush and scrub around to get rid of any loose particles. As you use it, and clean it, it will be easier to tighten without having to have a grip of steel to loosen it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sarah668
Madison, WI
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Fun to use!
February 27, 2011
This cappuccino maker is fun to use and watch! It is a user sensitive devise, so the success relies heavily on you. I'll admit that a couple times I've messed it up and it leak a little by the threads - possibly too many coffee grinds or a coffee ground was stuck in a seal or a touch too much milk and it overflowed just a little. I curse if off and start over because the results are so worth it. You will save yourself money (freedom from Starbucks runs) by having this. I like that you can easily clean this compared to an electric espresso machine because you can take everything to the sink and rinse it off. The 2 year warranty is great too, better than alot of devices out there that only give you 1 year and finding replacement parts, (when the time comes) is a cinch as well Writing this is making me thirsty. I think I'll go have another cappuccino. Enjoy!
Review 9 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
upstatedoc
Elmsford, NY
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointed
February 21, 2011
I love Bialetti espresso makers and wanted to give this a try (all in one) since I love cappuccinos. What a disappointment. This is the second one and it leaks and does not make decent froth. All is does is mix the milk with the coffee. I will stick to my manual Bialetti Tuttocrema. It is a little more effort but it is dependable and makes thick froth.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sarah668
Madison, WI
Posted February 28, 2011
Espresso messo
I found that when mine would leak, it would be because (out of habit from using the other bialetti espresso makers) I mounded the coffee. Which basically meant there was too much coffee in the filter that the water couldn't pass through. I did this many times until I realized this and since I stop doing that and only put a level amount (not pressed - just shake the base until it settles) than it's worked beautifully!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dini
cambridge
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
using for years
February 14, 2011
we have the all aluminum version which doesn't seem as much fun as the glass top.. it never fails, once you get the hang of it, there are replacement parts which are convenient to buy, bad about the warranty thing oh well.. actually we haven't had to replace any of the parts.. like the hands on aspect..we've been using bialetti espresso makers for years as well..
Review 11 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
same
Los Angeles
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
It's Junk. It will break 8 months after you buy it
December 29, 2010
this is the 2nd one of these things that I've bought. They last about 8 months and then break. I'm sorry I didn't listen to other reviews on this site that said the same thing.
If you want a latte maker that breaks about 8 months after you buy it, then the Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker is for you.
Believe me when I tell you it's junk. Stay away.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sarah668
Madison, WI
Posted February 22, 2011
What broke?
I'm looking to buy this, but you don't say what broke on yours and what makes it junk because of that. Did the glass break? A replacement part? I'm wondering if this is as bad as it sounds or if you just didn't want to buy a replacement part? This looks fun to use compared to the all aluminum version of this. My concern is the durablility of the glass and not the other parts, as is seems that they can be replaced by warranty or by buying the cheap replacment part to once again make this a functioning cappuccino maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susienc919
Raleigh NC
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
My favorite espresso maker by far
October 2, 2010
I do see many reviewers saying the part broke or it wasnt hot enough. I like mine pretty hot and leaving it on for the extra 2 minutes works perfectly. As for the broken parts, if you took time to fill out the warranty card and mail it in(or do it online which is faster) you have a few years for broken parts or anything else.
Ive owned MANY espresso/cappucino makers over the years and altho this one only really makes 2 at a time, it is by far the best one Ive owned. If you want to make iced lattes, you leave the thing up instead of down for the cappucino. You want to make espresso, not cappucino...so just make the espresso leaving the thing up, and pour it over iced milk and whatever Torani flavoring ou wish! I love iced vanilla lattes :)
You can use Ghirradilli chocolate powder, mix with equal parts water and make it a liquid, add it to the empty cup or the cold milk if making a latte...and pour the coffee over it and stir.
Review 13 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kofelvr
Oakland, CA
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Do Not Buy
September 13, 2010
Unfortunately, I have to agree with many of the the other unhappy Mukka owners. The product just doesn't hold up. I had one for a year and then the frothing valve broke. The next one shot espresso onto my ceiling twice so Wms. Sonoma replaced it for me. That one lasted 5 months before it stopped working and all the water blew out the safety valve. Wms. Sonoma replaced it again and now this one is boiling over every time. Unfortunately, the salesperson is trying to tell me that I'm leaving it on the stove too long, but it they would watch their own video and read the owner's manual, you should be able to leave it on the stove for at least one minute after it is finished to further heat the coffee. The product is very temperamental. Great concept, but unfortunately it just doesn't hold up at all! Don't buy!
Review 14 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thelaw
Orlando, FL
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This cappuccino/latte maker is great!
September 8, 2010
This cappuccino maker has already paid for itself by saving trips to Starbucks. You get a much better froth if you use whole milk or cream, but the flavor from it is fabulous every time. Haven't figured out the magic formula for iced lattes yet though.
Review 15 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cafeupallday
August 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
no probs here
August 22, 2010
i love this thing. I'm not having any issues with the leakage or tightening problems reported here. Then again, I've had several bialetti's throughout the years so know them well. I think part of the problem is to ensure that you have no coffee grounds on the edges, which prevents the machianatto from getting a good seal or forces you to screw down the carafe too hard.
Review 16 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EMSG
Austin, Texas
August 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Cappuccino Maker
August 22, 2010
We were very exited about the cappuccino maker but we did not have the expected results. Following all instructions leave us drinking lukewarm coffee. Also many times when we open the Bialtetti to clean we find dry coffee grinds resulting on weak coffe.
Review 17 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thecook100
connecticut
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Buy a real espresso maker
August 10, 2010
It will make good capuncino and lattes. Problems:
1. Hard to clean
2. Inconsistent frothing
3. Leaks
4. Cannot disassemble to clean thoroughly
5. Top attachment sheered off
Useful life: 2 months
Now buying a real machine.
If you only have Cappucinos once i a while it is okay
No for everyday use at all.
Review 18 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yukari
Chappaqua, NY
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Can't Take Apart!
August 7, 2010
I just came back from Italy and thought that it would be nice to buy this cappuccino maker. However, like everyone else, when I made my first few pots, coffee leaked out of the bottom part.
After cleaning the pot carefully, rubbing a little olive oil on the treads and screwing on the top as tightly as humanly possible, I made a few good cups of cappuccino.
Now the problem is that I cannot unwind the top and bottom parts. The pot has been sitting in my sink for 2 days, while I attempt to take it apart. I have done everything recommended, but it is still stuck on.
I decided that saving my arms, not having anxiety over leaking coffee all over my stove and ease was worth buying a Gaggia maker. I'll let you know how it works out!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BradS
Sausalito, CA
Posted January 19, 2011
GREAT MACHINE -- Ignore Bad Reviews
This is a great machine, well made and works flawlessly --- Negative reviews --> got to be user errors. We have purchased two of these, one for home and one for the Boat. Has never let us down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mdog
Minneapolis, MN
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
IT LEAKS!!
July 31, 2010
Ever since I bought this I have had serious trouble with it leaking. The coffee leaks out from the bottom half and most of it ends up on my stove and not in the carrafe. I've made sure the heat is high enough but not too high, that there are no grounds on the threads, that it's tight enough, and that the water level is correct and all to no avail! I'm returning mine and hoping to get one that actually works so I don't spend my mornings before work cleaning up the mess! I will say that when it does work, the cappuccino tastes great!
Review 20 for Bialetti Mukka Glass Stovetop Cappuccino Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Howie1976
Stillwater, Oklahoma
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Cool Cappuccino Maker
July 6, 2010
This is the second Bialetti Cappuccino maker I've purchased. The first was not the glass top. It's the same great quality product but really cool because you can see the whole process. It's slightly smaller than the non glass top maker. Just like the first one I purchased, you have to get the liquid amounts just right or you have spillage but once you have that down it's awsome. I purchased this one so I could do two cappuccinos at the same time when I have company.
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next